Information message

Novotel Abidjan Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.0/5 3,851 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Novotel Abidjan
See on a map
+ 25 Services

Hotel extras

  • Hotel in the Plateau district, meeting rooms

  • Bar and restaurant offering international cuisine, tapas and cocktails.

  • Well-being area with fitness center and outdoor pool

  • Comfortable and spacious bedrooms with WIFI

  • Near the Palais des Congrès and Abidjan Cathedral

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Abidjan

10 Avenue du General de Gaulle
Plateau
01 BP 3718
3718 abidjan
ivory coast

Tel: +2252720318000

Fax: (+225)20318020

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • GARE SUD PLATEAU :  GARE SUD PLATEAU

  • By plane

    FELIX HOUPHOUET BOIGNY At 10km / 6.25 miles - Shuttle free

GPS :5.316425, -4.016372

Companies

  • ALCATEL 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • AMBASSADE DE FRANCE 3.0 km / 1.86 mi
  • AMBASSADE DU CANADA 1.0 km / 0.63 mi
  • ASSURANCES LE MANS 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • BANQUE AFRICAINE DE DEVELOPEMENT 0.5 km / 0.31 mi
  • BANQUES 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • BULL 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • COCA COLA 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • MAERSK 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • SEDCO FOREX 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • WOODIN 0.1 km / 0.06 mi

Hotel services

NRESTAURANT

The Côté Lagune restaurant offers a delicious breakfast buffet, as well as a large variety of tasty dishes prepared with top-quality products at lunchtime and dinner.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
    • Express Additional charge
    • Room service Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 7 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 258 rooms
    • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 37 family rooms
    • 8 connecting rooms
    • 258 non-smoking rooms
    • 9 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Laundry / Valet Services Additional charge
  • Wi-Fi
    • High speed transmission line
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Currency exchange
    • Currency exchange
Access to property
  • Shuttle
    • FELIX HOUPHOUET BOIGNY
    • ABJ Additional charge
  • Public car park
    • On site
    • 70 parking spaces
    • Private
Well-being
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • Outside
    • On site
  • NGym
    • On site
Boutiques/shopping
  • Clothing store
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens library
    • Board games available
    • Video game area
    • Outdoor playground for children
    • Indoor playground for children
    • Play area

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel networkAt the Novotel Abidjan hotel, we are available to offer advice, adapt rooms to suit your particular meeting and make sure all the equipment is in full working order. You can stay relaxed and concentrate on what you are doing; we'll take care of the rest!

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 150 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Soundproof

  • TV with VCR

  • Meeting room

  • Syndicated room

  • Video camera

  • Office

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Slide projector

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • High speed transmission line

  • Video equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Abidjan

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

3,851 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

511 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021
Customer review rating 3.0/5

P Business - 09/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fruits , Juices and deserts were very cold. People with cough cold cannot consume

Dear Pankaj Kumar D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Abidjan. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager
Customer review rating 0.5/5

William D. Business - 18/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I travel for work and get there internet is just not working in my room. At that floor. It doesn’t work in the restaurant either! Only at the lobby… The hotel Manager was very professional and nice in explaining the situation. However need to pingping that unused to always stay at that hotel but the I changed because of internet issues. To my surprise same issues still exist. What a shame.. I ended up missing lot of meetings online ..

Fabulous Novotel Abj

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

ebafai 14/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

A wonderful staff with impressive professionalism. Special mention to: Louise, Edith, Olivia, Hermann, Lesly, Franck, Aimé, Odile, Pauline. With the special attention my family and I received, our stay was simply wonderful. Coming back very soon !

dear Sir BAFAI, It has been a real pleasure for the entire team to serve you and your wonderful family. By the way, we say hello to Ivanna and her little sister. We will always be delighted to welcome you to your home at Novotel Abidjan. thank you very much for choosing us as a host in Abidjan and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. cordially,

Well located, good stay, great director

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mtt Business - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice and quite stay. Good service .

Dear MEHDI T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Abidjan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Manuela Business - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a good stay at Novotel Abidjan. The staff was very nice and willing to help. The internet was not very good, but the room was good and clean. The only issue I had was at the end of my stay. Since I have stayed 20 nights at the hotel, I have requested late check out, which was granted. Unfortunately, when I went to do the check out, I was informed that I had to pay for it.

Dear Manuela Maria C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Abidjan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Nevertheless, we note the point of the free late check-out. we think that a misunderstanding has crept in during your exchange with the person in charge of reception. moreover, i would like to rightly remind you that the late check-out offered is activated at the level of the Silver status. anyway, thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Not as pleasant as I thought

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Patricia Business - 23/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was really looking forward to staying at Novotel Abidjan. As a business traveller, one of my responsibilities is to assess hotels for my international organization. In spite of having other Accor choices, I chose Novotel because of its proximity to my office in the country and because of the gym. Both qualities were acceptable. However, my stay was no as pleasant as I expected for a few reasons, being the main one the inability to communicate with reception personnel. Although they were courteous, most of them could not communicate in English and they had very little knowledge of any questions asked. Later I was told they were new and were being trained. The main problem during my stay was COVID testing. I appreciate the hotel offered the service at their premises, but thinking retrospectively, I would have rather not have it there, as my safety was compromise. The person who did the test seem not to have medical expertise. To make matters worse, even after many requests both face-to-face and in writing, up to now I still have not received an invoice for the COVID Testing. A fellow colleague travelling with me has the same situation and even after more than a week, test results are not uploaded on the system, which almost made it impossible for her to leave the country. Even more, the official tariff for COVID testing is 25,000 CFA but the hotel charged 35,000 CFA. When I requested the invoice, the hotel supposedly could never communicate with the person doing the test and rejected to provide me his contact details and the invoice, claiming the hotel had no responsibility, but I paid Novotel at reception and expected a more professional answer. I definitely would not stay at Novotel again, and or course will not recommend it to my fellow colleagues.

Dear Patricia Berkis P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Abidjan. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. indeed, we have taken good note your point on communication in English. Rest assured that currently courses in English are given to staff in order to improve their level in English. We are sorry that you leave our hotel with this impression of us, since your feedback at your departure time was good… Indeed, ,as you indicated the PCR test costs 25 000 Frs , but only when you do yourself all the administrative procedures online and then go to one of Covid Centers to make the sample. To avoid to our guests this long procedure that may cause stress, the hotel organise a PCR test, with an additional charge of 10 000 Frs (this Amount Is for the doctor transportation who Comes exceptionally for the test). The team should have to explain the two options to the client and let you choose the best option for you. I am sorry for this failure Concerning the invoices, i think it was an misunderstanding. We receive them by email from the doctor since the date you make your test, please find them in attachments. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Ahmed Y. Families - 02/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything is fine except there on the eighth floor my room was smelling bad from the toilet

Dear AHMED ABDUL RAZZAQ y., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Abidjan. we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. however, you have not been notified to reception to resolve the uncomfortable problem you were experiencing, if only now. we are terribly sorry about it We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future in better condition. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Good stay but bad experience at the restaurant

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a pleasant stay but the service at the restaurant is soooo long (above one hour on average) and that is just incredibly painful as we don't have any explanation nor apology in that regard

Dear Victor H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Abidjan. We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay , whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we send them to you with all sincerity. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

no peace found and very slow service

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Joran V. K. Business - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Although it was not my first stay it is a Novotel, I would not recommend this hotel. Which I also did towards my employer for the following reasons: During the weekend quite a crowd in the lobby by singers and market. No attention for the hotel guests. Very slow service both at the table and in room service. Staff eating in the restaurant, not a problem for me but might be good to keep an eye on the well running of the service at the table/ Not too friendly service when I have to sign on the receipt after they came to look for me on the terrace when I decided to light a cigarette(I was already waiting for 40min) Orders for room service arrive very late in the room +1h15min, and they still bring the wrong thing Rats and mice have free rein on the terrace. Breakfast is rarely ready on time. After events, the lobby is a mess and the terraces are rarely cleaned from the previous day. When I paid, there was no friendly greeting or thank you or see you next time. The only real friendly people are the people from Security. If I had to work in my time in Hotels, like it is at Novotel I was fired!

Dear Joran Gui Van K., We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our hotel Novotel Abidjan, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

good atmosphere and nice service team

Customer review rating 3.5/5

P. V. Business - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

i am a regular visitor of the hotel and appreciate the combination of professionalism and friendship

Dear V. P., Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Great experience.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ruphin O. Couples - 04/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was very good and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Abidjan.

Dear Ruphin O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Abidjan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

why did I had to pay twice the room?

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Prayag I. Business - 26/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I paid the room online and was forced to pay cash again at the hotel. I will not come back to Novotel or any of your hotels again.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Chady A. Business - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good hygiene and awesome staff

Dear Chardy a., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Abidjan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Louise ASSI Customers Service Manager

Convenient location

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Solo - 01/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was not impressed with this hotel at all. I stayed one week and did not feel welcomed or comfortable. The price was too expensive for the quality of service received. The air conditioner did not work properly in rooms, room cleaning was mediocre breakfast buffet was empty before closing time and there was not enough staff for the amount of people at the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly but nothing out of the ordinary. I will not return nor will I recommend this hotel. I will not return to this

Dear Michelle A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Abidjan. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Priscillia,

Place to be in Abidjan... Focus Customers service.. Smiling crew. Located in Downtown very calm in the evening.......

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SebastienSambaySGS Business - 05/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

.Place to be in Abidjan... Focus Customers service.. Smiling crew. Located in Downtown very calm in the evening...The view on the Cocody Bay is just Wowww! There is a familiar atmosphere in the hotel... The Gym and the pool will help you to relax at any time of the day...

Thank you Mr Sambay, for your fabulous comments about the Novotel Abidjan and its teams. I am very pleased to read that we have lived up to your expectations. I will not fail to share your appreciation with all the teams. see you soon

Feel welcome

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Rabii_11 Business - 02/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Been surclassed in a suite. Lost my wallet with money and passport in the cafe there, then found it intact at the reception 4 hours later.... The air conditionner in the room/suite was lousy, otherwise every thing was great

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Novotel Abidjan and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are very sorry to read the disturbances caused by the air conditionning unit in your room and not being immediately informed as we would have been able to send a technician and have it repaired in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk for anything we may do for you to fully enjoy your stay among us.

Nice hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

lulu22019 Business - 02/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel was nice. Room was good, and good view of the lagoon. Staff and reception could be more friendly and helpful. The location is nice, at the center of town, and there are many taxis that can take you anywhere usually in front of the hotel.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that we will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company and the tean in the near future.

It can not lock the door

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Vacation58377809471 Solo travel - 28/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

The auto lock is broken and the door can not be locked. The cleaning staff came into the room early in the morning and could not sleep. The approach of the equipment repairer is not good. I felt a bad mood

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do apologies for the inconvénient your had to face during your stay. Concerning the auto lock, We already asked to our technical departement to check the door. Since a maintenance has been done on all our rooms doors. Our maids are starting the room cleaning from 8h30 AM. Next time may I offer you to put the do not distrub sign on your to avoid any incovenient. Or to inform our reception staff that you would prefer to have your room clean in afternoon or at any time suitable for you. wishing to have the pleasure to welcome you again and to meet you personaly. best regards

Novotel Abidjan for business

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

MNTR1 Business - 22/04/2018 TripAdvisor review

I was staying at Novotel Abidjan for business purpose. Unfortunately I notice the following things that need to be improved: - service in room: ro much time waiting for getting beveraqe in the room. - Internet access: not access all the time. - Pick up airport: not possible between 11 am and 2 pm. Unfortunately for me travelling from Nairobi, the only direct flight arrive at 11:25 am. - Drive to the airport: 30 min. late according to the time arrival expected. Positive remarks: Special hanks to the cleaning lady Marie-Solange and to the lady at the reception, Aimée. They have given me an outstanding service.

Dear MNTR1, It has been our pleasure to welcome you at Novotel Abidjan and we thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience that you encountered with regard to the service delays at the room service. Please rest assured I have shared your comments with the respective team members and adequate training in these areas will be carried out to avoid future recurrences. We have also noted that our internet was not satisfactory, with our IT and provided, we are taking appropriate measures to improve the connectivity and speed. Finally, we are currently working with our shuttle service partner to improve the service and the schedule. Your special thanks has been shared with Marie-Solenge and Aimée. I trust you will not let this incidents impair your perception of our service standards and will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the very near future. In the meantime, I remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance. Warm regards, Fabio @Novotel Abidjan

great moment

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

korotoumb Couples - 05/01/2018 TripAdvisor review

I book to enjoy the lagoon view at the end of the year fireworks in Abidjan, the lady at home received me with a smile and an incredible kindness, the view of my room was beautiful !! I found the room service card quite poor and not varied, I was disappointed during an order!

Dear KOROTOUMB, It was a pleasure having you at Novotel Abidjan and we thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed a generous experience and carried with you a splendid memory Abidjan. It is heartening to note your appreciative comments about our service, product and as well as our culinary offerings. It has been a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards, LouiseAbidjan

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby