Information message

Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster 3 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 5,187 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Our hotel has newly renovated its rooms.

  • "The Flave" offers a cozy and modern ambience for a drink or a meal.

  • The entire hotel is air-conditioned.

  • The hotel captivates through its central location in the old town.

  • The hotel has 3 meeting rooms for up to 140 people.

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster

Auf der Zinnen 1
79098 freiburg
germany

Tel: +4976138510

Fax: (+49)761/3851666

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • 4 :  Europaplatz

  • LINIE 5 :  EUROPAPLATZ

  • By plane

    BADEN BADEN At 90km / 56.25 miles

  • By plane

    MULHOUSE At 70km / 43.5 miles

  • By plane

    STRASBOURG ENTZHEIM At 90km / 56.25 miles

  • By helicopter

    FLUGPLATZ FREIBURG At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By car

    FREIBURG MITTE At 8km / 5 miles

  • By car

    FREIBURG NORD At 8km / 5 miles

  • By car

    FREIBURG SÜD At 10km / 6.25 miles

  • By train

    HAUPTBAHNHOF At 1km / 0.63 miles

GPS :47.99752, 7.854613

Companies

  • MICRONAS 8.0 km / 4.97 mi
  • PFIZER 8.0 km / 4.97 mi
  • SIEMENS 0.3 km / 0.19 mi

Hotel services

MUENSTERBLICK

Modernity typifies the atmosphere in our "Münsterblick" restaurant where our chefs conjure up delightful regional dishes. Come and enjoy your meal on our terrace while soaking up some warm rays of sunshine.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 3 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Self service business center
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 117 rooms
    • One room for people with reduced mobility
    • 7 family rooms
    • No connecting room
    • No non-smoking room
    • 6 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • German
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Wi-Fi
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Umbrellas
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Safe deposit box at reception
    • Safe deposit box at reception
Access to property
  • Parkhaus am Karlsplatz Additional charge
    • Near the property
Well-being
  • smile X Additional charge
    • Nearby

Your meetings and events

The Mercure Freiburg am Münster' VDR certificate stands for proven, guaranteed quality - a prerequisite for the success of your business events or private celebrations at our hotel.The entire event area is equipped with latest technology and free Wi-Fi. The 3 meeting rooms are open up tosufficient space for up to 240 participants. You can count on our professional support in planning and hosting your event, and we will gladly take all of your requirements into account.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 140 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Soundproof

  • Lectern

  • WIFI access

  • Slide projector

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Choose between comfort and privilege rooms at the 3-star Mercure Hotel Freiburg Minster. For your stay with family, spacious rooms are available. All 117 rooms have AC and are non-smoking. Two children On request, up to 12 years of age sleep free of charge in the parents ' room. Baby cots are optional. Your pet is welcome (10 EUR/night).

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

5,187 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,132 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Stephanie Y. Families - 22/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mercure hotel. The room was spacious and well furnished and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We visited the bar for a cocktail and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great position. It is ideally situated for exploring the city but also a few minutes to access to the Schlossburg hills. If you don’t fancy a big breakfast, there is a very nice smoothie bar just outside the hotel too. The only reason I didn't score 10 was that one of the lifts was not working for the whole week we were there and meant that we were waiting for the only working lift for quite a while.

Dear Stephanie, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Constructive criticism helps us to improve our service. We understand you very well because of the broken lift. Please allow us to express our apologies. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one with working lift, of course. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Excellent weekend.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Russ Couples - 20/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice weekend trip and the hotel was excellent. Not spoilt by excessive covid measures. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very well equipped (maybe a bit small) with good wifi and we had a good view of the Munster. The only slight gripe was the lifts. Only one was working so it took an age to get to and from the room.

Dear Russell, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. First we would like to apologize for the broken lift. We understand your anger about this. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Convenient location, comfortable stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Paulokla 15/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Good points: Clean and spacious room with air conditioning. Close to restaurants and shops Possibility to open the window for ventilation Good choice at breakfast Bad point: No mini fridge in the room

Dear Paulokla, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. In fact our rooms do not have a mini bar. A vending machine stuffed with cold drinks and snacks conduce to replacement. We hope you still felt comfortable. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Great location, comfortable stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paul Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Close to the old town, restaurants and shops. Room of good size. Good choices at breakfast. Efficient and helpful staff. Will come back for my future visits.

Dear Chi Hong L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Larisa Families - 18/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of the hotel is strategic. The room was spacious and clean. The personnel was friendly. The breakfast was good. Unfortunately, one of the two elevators broke the evening we arrived and remained unrepaired until at least the day we left. There were problems with getting Wi-Fi access codes - the ones issued on the arrival stopped working the day after. The new code worked for another 24 hours. One of the towels was missing after the daily cleaning.

Dear Larisa, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. We understand your displeasure with the elevators. Unfortunately there were delivery problems with the spare parts for the broken lift. Also for the trouble with your wifi and the missing towel we would like to apologize. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be better as the previous one. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Good location, stylish room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

G Families - 10/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Family visit to Freiburg, city center location was very practical. Pragmatic rate for a family of three (rather than taking two rooms).

Dear Gregory, many thanks for leaving your feedback/ comments/ thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. On request, we would have gladly given you several Internet access points.We hope you still felt comfortable. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards and stay healhty Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Suprisingly good

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Wasin B. Solo - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay at the Mercure Freibrug was decent and pleasant as expected! Comfy bed and a clean bathroom in a modern setting. Would definitely choose this hotel next visit.

Dear Wasin, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Thank your for praising us this way. We hope we can welcome you in the near future. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Good location to explore the city of Freiburg

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Helpful knowledgable and friendly staff

Dear Raimund, many thanks for leaving your thougts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. We would like to share your praise with our colleagues. In the hope that you and your family will honor us again soon, we remain Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Well located , good stay well decorated room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mobby Solo - 30/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly receptionist well decorated room with some nice ideas from the interior decorators side Horrible breakfast!!!!

Dear Norbert, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Unfortunately you were not satisfied with our breaktfast. Due to Corona, we had to severely limit our breakfast buffet. We understand your criticism and would like to apologize for it. We hope you still felt comfortable. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Nice Hotel, Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Antonio Families - 29/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

All was perfect. Just a bit poor breakfast but within Covid Time is understandable. The girl at breakfast place did not speak English but she was however kind .

Dear Antonio, many thanks for leaving your feedback on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. We're also grateful for your understanding regarding Covid-troubles. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Manager Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Great Find

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Susan B. Couples - 19/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel, centrally located in the old part of Freiburg with parking below the hotel. We had a lovely corner room with balcony looking over the Cathedral. Spotlessly clean, great bed and linen and staff could not have been more helpful including recommending and booking for us dinner in a nearby Stubli which was excellent. We will definitely be using this as a stopover again.

Dear Steven, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Thank you for praising us this way. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Arnaud V. Solo - 14/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, room size was fine. Just a very strong smell in the the room which is not very nice. Window was opened at my arrival probably to make this strong smell going away. Once I closed the window it became annoying.

Dear Arnaud, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We will certainly reinforce the level of cleanliness with our housekeeping team as we understand that this is very important to us and for our guests. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards and stay healthy Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

nice, centrally placed hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Richard P Couples - 27/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

A very nice hotel situated on the edge of the old town centre on the side of a small shopping mall and a short walk over a footbridge to a park leading to the hills looking over Freiburg. The room was quite large and a nice bathroom. Parking is under the shopping mall. The hotel lift goes down to the 1st level of the car park but this was full after 10am each day. On arrival mid afternoon there was plenty of space on level -2 but the lift from there brings you into the mall and the hotel entrance is hidden round a corner by the main road. We walked past it twice! The windows have the name of the hotel restaurant on them (sorry can't remember name) rather than "Mercure". On checking out the receptionist will give you a special cheaper PARKING RATE of €9.90 per day and pro rata for part days.

Dear Richard, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Thank you for praising us so much. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hopefully visit us again soon. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Great hotel in Freiburg

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

867bm Solo travel - 22/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is located a couple of streets away from the cathedral, and about 20 minutes on foot from the train station. The rooms are well maintained, neat clean and quite spacious. Buffet breakfast has good selection and there are lots of eating places in town. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

Dear guest, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Hopefully see you soon again. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Good hotel with an unbeatable location in Freiburg

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Sjur B Couples - 20/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

The Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster holds good Mercure standard. We had a nice room with a good view of parts of the old town and a side view of the Cathedral. The location is unbeatable, on the outskirts of the old town and within very easy walking distance of all the main down sights and restaurants. Those arriving by car will appreciate the fact that the hotel is located above a public garage and the hotel offers some reduction on the price of parking. Those arriving by car should be aware of the environmental regulations; you will need a German Umweltplakette of adequate category. The hotel is currently under renovation and some common areas are still in progress, while some rooms are yet unavailable because of the works. However, the works seem to progress well and should not deter anyone from opting for this hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Dear Sjur, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. We are happy about your understanding while the renovation - that's really kind of you. Thank you also for praising our staff in this way. We hope we can welcome you soon again. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

The best location you could find.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

pennyserelea Solo travel - 08/10/2018 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is in the centre of the city, you feel that you can reach everything in few minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable, people very friendly. This hotel is my favorite everytime I visit Freiburg.

Dear guest, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Your positive feedback makes us proud. We hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Pleasant and conveniently located hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

ch2013 Friends getaway - 19/12/2017 TripAdvisor review

We stayed one night during the Freiburg Christmas Market. The hotel is very conveniently located, just 5 minutes walk to the cathedral and 10 mins to the Christmas Market. The room was clean and the breakfast buffet was copious. The waiting staff were super friendly and efficient. I can highly recommend this hotel!

Dear guest, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. Thank you also for praising us in this way and your further recommendation. We hope we will be a part of your future travels. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Good location, that's all

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Sandra S Couples - 29/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

Excellent location within 5 min walk of Alte Stadt, cathedral, city park, and the Scloss. Comfortable hotel, typical chain hotel with everything you need. You are paying for the location as nothing special to support higher cost. Breakfast is not included, neither is parking. Parking is conveniently located under hotel in safe public parking garage. Front desk efficient but the least friendly in all the hotels we stayed in during our visit. Hotel room was clean, no issues at all with accommodations provided. Straight forward, nothing special.

Dear Sandra, many thanks for leaving your thoughts on here. Unfortunately you were not satisfied with all the services and your stay. Please allow us to express our apologies for these inconveniences. We hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Comfortable stay in a lovely location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

MarianneSWinchester Solo travel - 21/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

Hotel lovely and cosy on the inside - very good quality. Nice and clean. A very quiet night's sleep, which was great. A good location for all parts of the pretty city of Freiburg. I'd definitely stay here again.

Dear Marianne, many thanks for leaving your thougts on here. We were happy to read about your experience and we are glad that you had a good overall stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your lovely feedback. We hope we can welcome you in the near future. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Nice hotel with some not so great details

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

DeborahHockenheim Couples - 24/08/2017 TripAdvisor review

I am an American with permanent residence in Germany. I have an ID that I carry. I am only required to carry that within Germany. I do not have to carry a passport. However, and this was the first time I encountered this in 5 years, the desk clerk insisted I was required by law to produce a passport! That was ridiculous. Fortunately, due to a recent trip out of country, I had it, but that was so stupid. My shower head could not be tightened and it was very inconvenient to shower. Otherwise, it was a nice hotel with a good breakfast.

Dear Deborah, many thanks for leaving your thougts on here. All our employees of the reception have the instruction to note the passport (or ID Card number or drivers lisence number) in the registration form. This is not a handle of our hotel - rather lawmaking in Germany. Nevertheless we wouldn't like to annoy you. We hope we will be a part of your future travels. Kind regards Sarah Metzger Guest Relation Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby