ibis Avignon Centre Gare Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 587 reviews

ibis Avignon Centre Gare
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • Downtown, opposite the main gate to the medieval city

  • Right by the SNCF train station and next to the bus station

  • Fully renovated, with rooms with a view over the Palais des Papes

  • Close to the Palais des Papes and the Pont d'Avignon

  • Public paying car park with discount at the train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00


Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Golf (Nearby)Paying
  • Tennis (Nearby)Paying
  • Other sports activitiesPaying
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Web corner
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

ibis Avignon Centre Gare

42 Boulevard Saint-Roch

Tel: +33490853838

Fax: (+33)4/90864481

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00


  • By plane

    AVIGNON CAUMONT At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By plane

    MARSEILLE PROVENCE At 80km / 49.71 miles

  • By car

    23 REMOULINS A9 At 18km / 11.19 miles

  • By car

    24 AVIGNON SUD A7 At 7km / 4.38 miles

  • By car

    AVIGNON NORD A7 At 7km / 4.35 miles

  • By train

    GARE CTRE VILLE At 0.03km / 0.02 miles

  • By train

    GARE TGV COURTINE At 3km / 1.86 miles

GPS :43.942413, 4.807175


  • AGROPARC 10.0 km / 6.21 mi
  • ALINEA 12.0 km / 7.46 mi
  • AUCHAN NORD 12.0 km / 7.46 mi
  • CEA MARCOULE 25.0 km / 15.53 mi
  • FNAC 0.5 km / 0.31 mi
  • H&M 0.5 km / 0.31 mi
  • IKEA 12.0 km / 7.46 mi
  • KP1 5.0 km / 3.11 mi
  • LEROY MERLIN 12.0 km / 7.46 mi
  • METRO 5.0 km / 3.11 mi

Your meetings and events

  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Screen

  • Soundproof

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Video equipment

  • Airconditioned meeting room

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodations

Inviting, modern and cozy, with a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. The ibis room has got everything you need for a pleasant stay

Standard Room with 1 double bed

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13 / 140 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13 / 140 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with one double bed and one single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 14 / 151 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Direct dial telephone

Our restaurants and bars


Type of cuisine: Wine bar

Come and discover our Lounge restaurant and sample the flavors of the ibis Kitchen. Succumb to our selection of sweet and savory food. Fancy a snack? Order at the bar or take to your room 24/7.


18:30 - 22:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun


Non contractual photo

The Bar: a friendly place to get together at any time of day.


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
ibis Avignon Centre Gare

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

587 reviews

Short stay with good memories

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

gcastle196 Couples - 23/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is situated next to the station and just outside the city walls.The car park was good and a reasonable price once you have found the entrance. The room was good and the breakfast in the morning was good. There are plenty of places to eat in the walled city lunch time and dinner.


TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Voyage299085 Couples - 04/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Arrived on 25/6/19 during France's biggest heatwave for years. Great check in from receptionist and a great room initially but after unpacking, found the air conditioning was not working at all,room checked by someone and confirmed not working, so had to swap room from view of beautiful historic Avignon to a view of railway lines. Air con clearly not maintained, would have been nice to have been offered something as simple as a free drink as recompense.

Dear guests, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Avignon Centre Gare. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with air conditioning in your room during your stay It is true that we had 43 °C outside and our first heats of the season. Unfortunately, even with regular maitenance we discover the first problems. We had a few rooms with airco down. This problem had been fixed by now. Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope you will consider the Ibis Avignon central station on your next visit to Avignon so that we can better deliver upon the guest experience you deserve. Nicolas C. Directeur de l'hôtel Ibis Avignon centre gare

Rooms are basic but comfortable.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

michaelbK9114PD Couples - 03/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Rooms are basic but comfortable.Situated around 50 yards from Gare Central and opposite entrance to the old city.Continental breakfast is excellent and was included with our booking.Staff are friendly and obliging.One down side was lack of coffee making in the rooms. Price was right.

Very Bad

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Flyer427615 Solo travel - 06/02/2019 TripAdvisor review

Shame on this hotel , I made to local French authorities big complain regarding cleaning and lies for hotel photos on website and expensive prices , Germany hotels Ibis much much better . Towels were dirty , bathroom walls were dirty, shower was bad , cleaning workers were impolite and untrained . Even breakfast was bad too. I cancelled my second day and moved to another hotel next morning.

Dear traveler, I am very sorry that you experience went well. I am very surprised on your comments. I would react though. About pictures, please go on our website, there are many photos for every kind of rooms. We are not lying on anything. It is our guest right to complain to local autoritues about cleanliness. It is also nice to speak directly to the hotel manager that I am. I am always in favor of live, simple and efficient exchanges with my customers. We do not open the bath towels sent by our launderer and cannot see the stains that will have remained inside. However, we give back to the supplier any non-conforming linen for exchange. At Ibis there is a very precise procedure that we apply to the best of our ability. Regarding the dirty bathroom, I can only regret this failure. We would have been able to change your room again by simply alerting my teams. Being the worst hotel in Europe does not fit. We would not have the score of 4/5 on more than 500 comments or in 22nd place out of 67 hotels in Avignon. The incidents you experienced are isolated and I really regret it. Hoping to have the chance to win you back. Nicolas General manager

Bon rapport qualité prix

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Acevind Couples - 31/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Very short stay to Ibis center,close to railways station,very convenient to go shopping tand visit historical center.you will find a public parking close to the hotel. Friendly people at the front desk.Breakfast ok,beddings as well.

Gateway to Avignon

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

grsb14 Solo travel - 19/10/2018 TripAdvisor review

After TGV then the shuttle train to Gare Central Avignon this IBIS is so convenient.From here you can to step across into the ancient city and enjoy its wonders.Each day starts with an excellent breakfast with a host of options eg: you can squeeze your own orange, lime or lemon juice, or freshly boil eggs to your own selected time. Excellent!

Very unhappy stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Ted W Couples - 19/09/2018 TripAdvisor review

We booked this hotel due to it's location and the fact that there was parking adjacent to the hotel. In the middle of the first night of our stay we were awakened to water poor into our room from the AC system. We called the front desk and after 15 or 20 minutes they arrived with a wet vac to suck the water from the system, dry the floor, and take the towels we had put on the floor. We decided that we would leave a day earlier than booked and we were told that it was not possible to reimburse us for the third night. We left anyway. The room was extremely small and poorly air conditioned. Don't stay there.

Dear Ted, Thank you for sharing your experience. I also received your comment on our internal questionnary. I already replied to you a few days ago. It is true that the first night you had a water leak froim the air conditioning. Despite the fact that this kind of incident happens in the life of a hotel, I easily understand your disappointment. I am delighted that my team was able to act quickly (5 minutes) at 11 PM and that it did not happen in the middle of the night. We checked with you the day after if everything is going good since the incident. Everything went well. You then requested a refund for the end of your stay. Once again, I feel very sorry for what you had to deal with but a leak that my team handled quickly is not a reason for any refund for non flexible rates that you booked. I hope the rest of your trip went well. Best regards Nicolas Manager

Convenient location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

jwb109 Couples - 10/09/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel is convenient for railway station and bus station. The room was adequate but limited for space and I don't consider suitable for anyone having a mobility rollator; Tight for space on bathroom side of the bedroom. I would not class this as 3 star hotel. Slight smell of drains in the bathroom. Acceptable choice of food for breakfast.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliment regarding our situation and our large breakfast buffet. Do you know that we have specific rooms for handicaped persons ? Acording to your coment, you probably did not even ask my team. Those rooms are validated by official companies to greet guest with wheelchairs. We absolutly comply with 3 stars rules in europe. I understand that it is not your point of view. I really hope that you enjoyed the sympathy and professionalism of my teams that you do not mention. Despite your undisputed opinions, I'll be glad to greet you again. Nicolas Manager


TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Flyer427615 Solo travel - 06/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

Dirty bath , Bad towels, using unreal hotel photo , Cheap breakfast. Expensive . I was supposed to stay 2 nights but I canceled the second one and moved to with Grand hotel which is located next to it. Better and cheaper .

Dear guest, We well received all your reviews for your stay with us, with Tripadvisor, google and our customercare service. I well understood that your stay was so hoorible that you claimed a refund. First of all I feel sorry that staying with us was so horrible for you that you had to make a hotel change. To reply to all your disapointments : 1/ We do not have fake photos on our website. You just did not have the room that is shown first. Please ask my colleagues at the front desk. Thay could have show you the latest renovated rooms. 2/ We only had 1 night booked. are you sur do not mix the hotels you stayed in ? 3/ Grand hotel is ofcourse better, it is a 4star hotel, Cheaper...? Probably with all promotions running during summer. We also had some nice promotions. 4/ You arrived claiming a swimming pool that we do not and never had. This is not even written on websites. 5/ Dirty towels : Yes and I regret that my staff did not see it. As soon as you informed us, my housekeepeing manager changed them for you. 6/ Our breakfast is very appreciated by most of our guests... I do not get your disapointment on this point. Can you tell me more ? Thank you Mr E. M and wish you a nice end of trip in Europe. Nicolas Manager

STAY AWAY!!! This place is a dump!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

terryjewellerydesign Couples - 08/06/2018 TripAdvisor review

STAY AWAY! Absolutely the worst hotel in France. We stayed here, unfortunately. No airconditioning, no private parking. No matter what they say they cannot offer these facilities. Find any alternative to this dump! I would sleep in the car rather than stay here. For that matter stay away from any Accor hotel!

Godd day Terry, First of all I feel very sorry that your experience went so bad. I am suprised to read your comment as I did not hear anything when you where here. It is always a possibility to speak with managment on spot. Afetr it is too late to appreciate things and to give us the opportunity to give you satsfaction. I cannot even make a link between this comment and your stay in the hotel. Anyway, I confirm that we have airconditioning in the hotel and this one is in service since april 26th 2018. For the parking, I am also very suprised as we do have two public parkings at the train station and a nice 38% discount at the hotel for on of them for all our guests. Feel free to contact me to give more details ! Nicolas General manager

Love Avignon

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

travelpig_13 Couples - 30/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

Stayed at this hotel many times now .It's what we expect from the Ibis Brand. Bedroom/Bathroom clean & neat. Reception staff are helpful & friendly. Can't comment on breakfast - don't have them, but there is a good sized breakfast/restaurant area with a small selection of lunch/dinner offers. Although there are 30+ TV channels - note that the only one in English is BBC World News! which becomes very boring after a while. Have asked for BBC1 instead but not had any luck. Bar 24/7 is a bit misleading too. You can only get beer & wines up until 11pm. after which only soft drinks & teas/coffees available. Nice pub just inside city walls if you want late drinks. Hotel has good security as is near Central Station - though this location is fine for trips out to lots of interesting places. Also look out for the little electric Balandine bus just inside city walls - takes you all around the town for 50 cnts. All things considered this hotel offers good value for money. We will be back in August!

Wonderful location and helpful staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Eugenio M Couples - 04/04/2018 TripAdvisor review

After a not so good experience at the Ibis Budget of Narbonne, we were delighted by the Avignon Centre Gare Ibis. First of all, the location is perfect for a holiday break in Avignon, right outside of the station and opposite the main boulevard that connects you with the core of the historical city centre. The rooms were small but within what's expected from the Ibis brand. The common areas looked completely new and very stylish. Since it was Easter, they even had some hens in the reception area and chocolates a volonté. Staff were very friendly and helpful: We asked them for a room with a view et voilá, they put us in a room with views of the city centre, including the Palais des Papes. Wonderful! They even left a handwritten note in our room wishing us a good stay. All in all, Ibis Avignon Centre Gare is one of the best deals you can get in your holidays in Provence. Enjoy!

Quintuple glazing, very central BUT very expensive parking

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Capdagde Couples - 13/12/2017 TripAdvisor review

Be careful. There are two red Ibis hotels in Avignon. This one is AT the railway station and has quintuple glazing so you would never know. 5 minutes to lots of restaurants and shops in the old town. 10-15 minutes to the Popes' palace and the bridge. Try to arrive by train as 'reduced' parking is 26€ per night! Wifi UNSECURED and doesn't take Chromecast.

Very hard to find with all the road work going on - even harder to find how to get into hotel!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Russell S Couples - 07/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

Tiny room, basic amenities, decent breakfast, helpful staff. Almost impossible to find the parking lot for the hotel - no signs once you get there either. Getting into the hotel was a challenge as the 'ground' level door (which is below the hotel) is not clearly marked - and the 'buzzer' to request entrance was also not clearly marked.

Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Avignon Centre Gare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The road works are clearly an issue in this period in Avignon and I can apologize for this inconvenience. I hope that my staff and our services in the hotel made a difference to balance your disapointment. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare

High standard at a keen price,

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Paul G Couples - 04/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

Situation.....next to Gare Centre Ville yet a stroll to the old part of the city. Check in very efficient yet friendly and helpful. Bright room with view towards city walls. Extremely clean with comfortable beds. Excellent air conditioning. Breakfast selection appetising and varied. Small quantities on display regularly replenished so always fresh. Good value . Highly recommended.

Thank about your recommandation See you soon en Avignon Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare

Good budget choice

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DavidandSue37 Couples - 05/07/2017 TripAdvisor review

The Ibis Centre Gare is very well located; just turn right as you leave the station and it's 150 yards away, you can't miss it. It's also a short flat walk to the old town, just 5 minutes away. It's great for an overnight stay, but the room we had was too small with too little storage for much longer. They do an excellent breakfast, available until noon, which is also checkout time so very flexible. The hotel is right next to a platform but Avignon is not a busy station and the triple glazing took complete care of any noise. Lastly, the staff are excellent in every way. We would cheerfully stay there again.

Dear David and Sue, In the name of the whole team here I thank you very much for your comments regards your last stay. We hope to see you again soon in Avignon. Sincerely, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare

Clean but small!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Z3632TKtiffanyc Couples - 26/06/2017 TripAdvisor review

Our hotel room was clean and tidy but really small. It was difficult to get in the door to the room with our luggage the hall was so narrow. And the space between foot of bed and wall was too tight to comfortably pass around the bed. Also we had to pay $13/day for parking. We weren't expecting that. Staff was friendly and helpful. We also noticed that the bed linens and our clothes always felt damp in the room...as if the AC didn't have a dehumidifier.

Dear Tiffany CLARKE, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Avignon Centre Gare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. However, please note that the size of our rooms meets the standard of the 3 * standard (14.5m2), they are also air-conditioned and equipped with a comfortable bathroom. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare

A pleasing, relaxing stay.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

mark b Couples - 24/06/2017 TripAdvisor review

For us, travelling by train, the location was excellent. Just a short walk from the station and central so everything we wanted to see and do was easily accessible by foot. The staff we friendly and knowledgeable. I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your last stay with us. It is a pleasure that our hardwork is paying off. Your satisfaction is our priority and your feedback is giving us more motivation to continue to provide the best customer experience posible. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again in Avignon. Best regards, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel Ibis Avignon centre gare

Return to Avignon

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

travelpig_13 Couples - 14/06/2017 TripAdvisor review

First of 2 visits this year - (have stayed this hotel about 6 times before) Reception staff are pleasant & helpful.. Our room was clean & tidy - with a lovely big shower -it's as we have come to expect from this Accor Brand. Can't comment on the breakfasts as we don't usually bother with this meal. Unfortunately can't say much about the "Ibis Kitchen" meals on offer as apart from the cheese plate most others contain meat which we don't eat, but dining/bar areas are clean & fresh looking. The hotel is just across from the local rail & bus stations & a short walk into the old town. Easy shuttle ride from the TGV station, if like us you arrive on the Eurostar. Look out for the little "baladine" bus justinside the city wall. It's only 1 euro for 2 people. Hop on - hop off anywhere on route round the town. Pity there is no outside seating at the Ibis - would just make the hotel & a glass of wine even more appealing in the lovely sunshine!

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare

Great location but not too exceptional

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Leo31251 Family - 27/05/2017 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is conveniently located almost next to Avignon's main train station and just outside the old city, which makes it easy to go everywhere on foot, although at night the station area is not as appealing as during the day. Despite the railway on one side and a busy crossroads on the other, the rooms were so soundproof that we could not hear anything from the outside world; great job! The airconditioned rooms are maintained properly, beds are comfy and most of the basic amenities are there. Cleaning took quite a while; one day we were back after lunch and one of our rooms still had to be cleaned (understaffed or maybe just a busy day?). We would have liked a water kettle/cooker in the rooms, but there is also a hot/cold water dispenser in the lobby. The (continental) breakfast buffet was ok with various breads and viennoiseries (loved the madeleines), cereals, fruits, several sweet and savoury condiments, juices and coffee/chocolate/tea machines. It was possible to boil eggs, but the given cooking times were usually too short, either because the water bath was not hot enough or because the eggs were ice cold. Otherwise, it was a pleasant breakfast to start the day with. Staff was friendly and most could speak some English, but speaking French of course makes the conversation a lot easier.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eric Youf Directeur Hôtel ibis Avignon centre gare
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby