Novotel Ottawa City Centre

Novotel Ottawa City Centre 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 1,155 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 Ottawa
Canada

  • ACCESS: 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS:45.425818, -75.689128

Companies

  • BABCOCK 1.1 km / 0.68 mi
  • CPSA 0.65 km / 0.4 mi
  • CROSSEY ENGINEERING 13 km / 8.08 mi
  • DELOITTE 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • KPMG 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • MDS AERO SUPPORT 7.7 km / 4.78 mi
  • NATIONAL DEFENCE HEADQUARTERS 0.55 km / 0.34 mi
  • NORR LIMITED 0.65 km / 0.4 mi
  • PWC 1.6 km / 0.99 mi
  • SHOPIFY 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • THALES 15 km / 9.32 mi
  • XEROX 5.1 km / 3.17 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Near the property
  • Car park

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

The Albion Rooms Restaurant & Lounge is temporarily closed for inside dining. Room Service remains available

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel network Our years of experience have let us build a great expertise in meetings organization.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 180 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  1,155 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  1,934 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Lovely staff, a few glitches

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Barbara Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

My room was not ready when I arrived. Once in the room, I realized the housekeeping staff forgot to leave me soap and shampoo. Went down to breakfast, not realizing the buffet was not complementary. My scrambled eggs cost over $20.00 (my fault for not asking). Room was nice, clean and modern. The lounge area in the lobby wasn’t particularly welcoming.

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kay Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

I thought the hotel was in a great area - easy access to sightseeing. Overall service from staff was great. They were very helpful when called upon. Room was nice and cozy. The bed was a little hard, but it worked.

Used condom found in room

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Katy S. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here with two small children. Our 2 year old found a used condom in the room, have yet to hear a response from the hotel manager. Not happy. In general the hotel staff seem tired and jaded. Obviously the cleaning staff are not up to snuff.

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Pa… Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent greeting upon arrival...room more than adequate - excellent stay

Well located, good stay, friendly and helpful staffs

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jen Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived around 1pm, and glad the room is ready for us. Staff to check in was friendly and helpful when I asked direction for the tulip fest. Only thing was I booked direct from hotel which I prefer, however found out it can be cheaper to book through other website for the same hotel.

Room good; staff helpful

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great that you have large size bottles for soap, bath gel and shampoo. However the pump mechanism on each bottle is poorly designed. They don't pump! the user has to pull the pump up , then pump down, then pull up etc. repeating this to get the liquid out. Aggravating! there are many pumps available that don't have this issue. Please consider replacing these.

Well located, amazing comfortable room.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was amazing, great check in and check out experience. Room was clean and very modern.

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jo-anne Y. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a top floor King suite, overlooking Parliament. Beautiful view. The room was immaculate, and the shampoo, soap, and lotion are divine. Front desk can provide conditioner. Hot tub was under maintenance, but the pool was refreshing and a good temperature to get your heart rate up without overheating. Concierge is knowledgeable and front desk is very accommodating.

Great BUT…..

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Morti Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

You did well UNTIL…. Not impressed that after checking out and paying the invoice my credit card acct gets an incidental charge applied that would later be removed. Poor judgement with this. I called to inquire as it was not expected and out of the blue. Front desk mentioned the charge would be reversed over next couple of days. IT SHOULDN’T BE APPLIED in the first place! There shouldn’t be a surprise after already paying and checked out.

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was a pleasant stay, nice clean room. Location, location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lisa E. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was fine except I could not connect to the internet. So I could not get updates on my phone. Very frustrating! But the room was fine.

Very confortable and close to byway market

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good bilingual service. Beds were comfortable.

Excellent Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Steve Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable room, friendly staff and fantastic restaurant.

well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Liked the daily cleaning and modern furniture in room

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Y. R. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay. Staff were friendly and very efficient. Location is amazing! Literally steps away from Byward market, Rideau Centre, amazing restaurants and bars and the Parliament buildings. Only drawback was our room was very small. Still comfortable but we should have asked for a room that had a bit more space to walk especially since we shared with kids.

excellent service and good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

service at reception was excellent, room was fine and parking available, nothing to complain about.

Complaint

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

jjtor2021 TripAdvisor review

There were many public health and safey violations. Only 1 of 3 small elevators working. Packed elevators, long waits. Room not clean on check-in. Buffet no protection, utensils not changed, no sanitizing or gloves. Dirty dishes.

Dear customer, Thank you again for your comment regarding your stay. As previously explained, we have indeed had a maintenance of our elevators which resulted in two of the three available elevators being blocked. For the restaurant, and more precisely the breakfast, we strictly follow the Ontario rules which allows us to have our breakfast buffet open. Each customer must wear a mask as soon as they leave their table and must have an up-to-date vaccination passport which is checked before they can enter the restaurant. Sincerely

Steps away from Byward Market

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peepeee TripAdvisor review

Liked our superior King bed rm. It was Very spacious and clean. We will always stay at Novotel as Rideau Centre and Byward Market are steps away fr the hotel. Lots of good restaurants close by. Unv of Ottawa Is also walkable

Average stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Krisadd77 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at Novotel Ottawa Aug 20-23. We had 2 rooms booked for us and 2 older kids. Parking our truck in the under ground hotel parking was challenging. There were not many spaces we could fit our Ford F-150 and we luckily found the last spot big enough. Our rooms were directly across form the ice machine and our first night sleep was very bad as the ice machine was used constantly until 1am. Traffic noise was very bad in this room too. We asked to be moved and they did find us 2 new rooms away from ice machines and seemed to be much quieter side for traffic noise. Much better the following 2 nights. The rooms were clean and updated but no fans in bathrooms and not enough towels. Restaurant was good/average typical breakfast buffet. The location was fantastic for walking everywhere. The pool was fully booked for our first day at check in but we booked 2 time slots for the next 2 days. Overall our stay was good/average. We probably wouldn’t stay there again mostly because of the parking issue with our vehicle.

Wonderful location and beautiful room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Go56921818130 TripAdvisor review

We came for a girls weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was great, location was excellent, right by The Byward Market and shopping. Sights all walkable from location. Will definitely be back. Great job with all the Covid protocols, felt very safe.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby