Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 10,147 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 21 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 ottawa
canada

Fax: (+1)7604765

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS: 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS:45.425818, -75.689128

Companies

  • BABCOCK 1.1 km / 0.68 mi
  • CPSA 0.65 km / 0.4 mi
  • CROSSEY ENGINEERING 13.0 km / 8.08 mi
  • DELOITTE 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • KPMG 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • MDS AERO SUPPORT 7.7 km / 4.78 mi
  • NATIONAL DEFENCE HEADQUARTERS 0.55 km / 0.34 mi
  • NORR LIMITED 0.65 km / 0.4 mi
  • PWC 1.6 km / 0.99 mi
  • SHOPIFY 0.9 km / 0.56 mi
  • THALES 15.0 km / 9.32 mi
  • XEROX 5.1 km / 3.17 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is inspired by a farm to table mentality. Our chef uses local produce to create an ever changing menu. The Bar is stocked with local craft beers, a creative selection of wines and exciting house made cocktails.

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel networkOur years of experience have let us build a great expertise in meetings organization.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 180 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Meeting room

  • Audio and video equipment

  • WIFI access

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • High speed transmission line

  • Video equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

10,147 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,929 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 26/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was great. Customer service amazing

Dear Kris V., Thank you for giving us a great rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay! It is such a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the customer service, as we always strive to give the best possible experience to our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ml Couples - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It's the perfect location for a short trip in Ottawa. Very near resturants and interesting shops. Room is clean, washroom is impeccable. Staff is great! Only downside is that the TV is on the far side right and not situated in the middle of the bed, and the coffee/coffee maker is terrible. Being able to store our bags after checkout is definitely a huge plus!!! Overall, we'd be happy to stay again in Novotel Ottawa.

Dear Marie Grace L., Thank you for giving us a great rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. It is such a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed the customer service, as we always strive to give the best possible experience to our guests. Our location is truly unbeatable, as everything is within walking distance from us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Centrally located.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Valerie P. Business - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Close to the Byward Market and across from the Rideau Centre. A little noisy during the day as hotel renovation s are occurring.

Dear Valerie P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. It is great that you got to experience our great location, with everything within walking distance. We have just currently undergone renovations in the hallways, but rest assured if we have the opportunity to host you again, please get in touch so we can avoid this for any future stays with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Extremely great overall experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jake Couples - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My girlfriend and I came to Novotel for our anniversary and your hotel was more than accommodating for anything we asked for and our expectations were exceeded.

Dear Jake, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It sounds like you had a great time with us for your anniversary. I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a great experience working with our staff, as we always strive to give the best customer service. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It means so much when our customers share their experiences and we cannot wait to welcome you back into our hotel for another great stay! Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Comfortable and stress free stay. Also location is well considering the errands I needed to complete

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dina Business - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very prompt and professional. Quality customer service and care with respect.

Dear Dina E., Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It sounds like you had a great time with us during your stay, and you were also able to take advantage of our wonderful location in downtown Ottawa. I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a great experience working with our staff, as we always strive to give the best customer service. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It means so much when our customers share their experiences and we cannot wait to welcome you back into our hotel in the future! Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Perfect for Downtown.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David C. Business - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

6 night stay. Love the hotel, great rooms and right in the middle of downtown.

Dear David C., It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please take a moment to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor by following this link: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/UserReviewEdit-g155004-d182984-ehttp:__2F____2F__www__2E__tripadvisor__2E__ca__2F__Hotel__5F__Review__2D__g155004__2D__d182984__2D__Reviews__2D__Novotel__5F__Ottawa__2D__Ottawa__5F__Ontario__2E__html-Novotel_Ottawa-Ottawa_Ontario.html Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Chef K. M. Solo - 21/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The only problem I had , was that the doors to the rooms slam to hard and make a loud noise that could wake you up at night when guest next door comes at 2 in the morning, should be fixed.

Dear Kim M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre! Please take a moment to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor by following this link: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/UserReviewEdit-g155004-d182984-ehttp:__2F____2F__www__2E__tripadvisor__2E__ca__2F__Hotel__5F__Review__2D__g155004__2D__d182984__2D__Reviews__2D__Novotel__5F__Ottawa__2D__Ottawa__5F__Ontario__2E__html-Novotel_Ottawa-Ottawa_Ontario.html Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Excellent location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect location in the heart of Ottawa. In walking distance to many tourist attractions including the parliament, the Rideau Center and many restaurants of all budgets. Breakfast is reasonably priced with a nice variety, staff was friendly and very helpful. We did not enjoy the diner restaurant but found it pleasant for a coffee in late afternoon. Again the staff was friendly and accommodating serving us even though the restaurant was not yet open for the day. Overall very nice experience and would return.

Dear Nadia G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is with great pleasure to read that you had an exceptional customer service experience with the breakfast staff. The best start to a day is with a nice breakfast, and even better that you were welcomed in a friendly manner. Please take a moment to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor by following this link: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/UserReviewEdit-g155004-d182984-ehttp:__2F____2F__www__2E__tripadvisor__2E__ca__2F__Hotel__5F__Review__2D__g155004__2D__d182984__2D__Reviews__2D__Novotel__5F__Ottawa__2D__Ottawa__5F__Ontario__2E__html-Novotel_Ottawa-Ottawa_Ontario.html Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Perfect location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Wanda E. Couples - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location and all staff we encountered were great! Room was very clean and loved that the tv was clear! Very environmental conscious, used full size bottles for shampoo and body wash, coffee mugs and etc. Used the pool and workout room and was pleased with both. I gave a 9 because of the parking, it was a bit of a hike from the parkade.

Dear Wanda E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the great location we have! Our hotel encourages sustainability which is why we have switched all the bottles in the room to large shampoo, body wash etc, to encourage our guests to keep a green environment when staying with us! Please take a moment to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor by following this link: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/UserReviewEdit-g155004-d182984-ehttp:__2F____2F__www__2E__tripadvisor__2E__ca__2F__Hotel__5F__Review__2D__g155004__2D__d182984__2D__Reviews__2D__Novotel__5F__Ottawa__2D__Ottawa__5F__Ontario__2E__html-Novotel_Ottawa-Ottawa_Ontario.html Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mekita Business - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located in downtown Ottawa close to all the sights. Comfortable beds and good restaurant. Had to pay for a water, at least one bottle should be provided in the cost of the room. Also no shampoo, conditioner or lotion in the room, just body wash which was also for sale. I don’t usually stay in hotels anymore, I choose Airbnb’s since they’re more comfortable, and this reminded me why, I had to book this at the last minute after I had to extend my trip.

Dear Mekita, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The bottles that were provided in the room are free to use, there is only a charge of $25 should a guest leave with the bottles. Our hotel encourages sustainability, which is why we no longer provide plastic water bottles in the rooms. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Well Located, exceptional team

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Peter B. Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From start to finish - from making my reservation by phone - Jasmine the manager made it a welcoming and great experience. Upon arrival - when I was not able to find the parking lot ( my fault) the person at reception literally walked me to the spot to show me. Very impressed !

Dear Peter B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre, and we thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure to be able to help you with the reservation, and what a delight it was to work with you! I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Well located. Great staff and service

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Km Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I love this Novotel but, understandably due to COVID-19, not everything is the same. But some other things are not due to covid. The bathroom products were not conducive to use in the shower. The restaurant menu was very limited and the wine in the restaurant was not good. I tried three different wines.

Great location, Clean & very comfortable.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John H. Couples - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect hotel for a short stay in Ottawa. Very clean, contemporary decor and furnishings. Convenient for most things of interest downtown and very good value. We will definitely use the Novotel on our next visit to Ottawa.

Dear John H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre, and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Ottawa again! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good location, good comfy bed, clean ,quiet ,would recommend it.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 18/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was great

Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at the Novotel Ottawa! We value your input and encourage you to let us know more details about your next experience with us, should we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Close to dining, shopping and market area.

Dear Patricia, Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location, right in downtown Ottawa! We hope to see you again very soon for another relaxing evening! Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Prefer N. T. S. Friends - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed three nights at the Novotel. Customer service was mediocre, housekeeping was slow to come in and service the room. Felt safe with the card-locked elevator. A little bit of frustration with the check out process and they way they pre-charge a credit card for services potentially utilized. I did not utilize parking or the breakfast buffet yet still was pre-charged $150 for the three nights and still waiting to be reimbursed for this. Should be an option to pre-charge vs. not as I knew I wouldn't be utilizing these extra services.

Dear Michayla S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we take the proper precautions in high traffic areas. A $50/night incidental fee is mandatory for all guests, regardless if any extra charges are incurred, as this is also a damage deposit should any incident occur in any room. The incidental fee is an authorization placed on the card at check in, which is then released automatically at checkout; depending on your bank, it could take between 3-5 business days. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Complaint

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

jjtor2021 10/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

There were many public health and safey violations. Only 1 of 3 small elevators working. Packed elevators, long waits. Room not clean on check-in. Buffet no protection, utensils not changed, no sanitizing or gloves. Dirty dishes.

Dear customer, Thank you again for your comment regarding your stay. As previously explained, we have indeed had a maintenance of our elevators which resulted in two of the three available elevators being blocked. For the restaurant, and more precisely the breakfast, we strictly follow the Ontario rules which allows us to have our breakfast buffet open. Each customer must wear a mask as soon as they leave their table and must have an up-to-date vaccination passport which is checked before they can enter the restaurant. Sincerely

Steps away from Byward Market

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peepeee 14/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Liked our superior King bed rm. It was Very spacious and clean. We will always stay at Novotel as Rideau Centre and Byward Market are steps away fr the hotel. Lots of good restaurants close by. Unv of Ottawa Is also walkable

Average stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Krisadd77 26/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at Novotel Ottawa Aug 20-23. We had 2 rooms booked for us and 2 older kids. Parking our truck in the under ground hotel parking was challenging. There were not many spaces we could fit our Ford F-150 and we luckily found the last spot big enough. Our rooms were directly across form the ice machine and our first night sleep was very bad as the ice machine was used constantly until 1am. Traffic noise was very bad in this room too. We asked to be moved and they did find us 2 new rooms away from ice machines and seemed to be much quieter side for traffic noise. Much better the following 2 nights. The rooms were clean and updated but no fans in bathrooms and not enough towels. Restaurant was good/average typical breakfast buffet. The location was fantastic for walking everywhere. The pool was fully booked for our first day at check in but we booked 2 time slots for the next 2 days. Overall our stay was good/average. We probably wouldn’t stay there again mostly because of the parking issue with our vehicle.

Wonderful location and beautiful room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Go56921818130 04/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We came for a girls weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was great, location was excellent, right by The Byward Market and shopping. Sights all walkable from location. Will definitely be back. Great job with all the Covid protocols, felt very safe.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

Fairmont Château Laurier

4 stars

At 423 m

See the hotel