Hotel - Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Novotel Hotel Novotel Hotel

Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel

4.0/5 1,864 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Public indoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • Chinese Mandarin
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Italian
    • Portuguese
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • Early Check in from 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine
    • Currency exchange

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Jacuzzi

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:00-22:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:00-22:30

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Dear Customer, Please be advised that due to annual maintenance and cleaning , the hotel pool and hot tub will be closed from April 8-14, 2019. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused and appreciate your understanding. Novotel Ottawa Team

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

BABCOCK1.1 km / 0.68 mi CROSSEY ENGINEERING13 km / 8.08 mi KPMG0.9 km / 0.56 mi NATIONAL DEFENCE HEADQUARTERS0.55 km / 0.34 mi PWC1.6 km / 0.99 mi THALES15 km / 9.32 mi
CPSA0.65 km / 0.4 mi DELOITTE0.9 km / 0.56 mi MDS AERO SUPPORT7.7 km / 4.78 mi NORR LIMITED0.65 km / 0.4 mi SHOPIFY0.9 km / 0.56 mi XEROX5.1 km / 3.17 mi

Congress centre

GOVERNMENT CONFERENCE CENTRE0.3 km / 0.19 mi OTTAWA CONGRESS CENTRE0.25 km / 0.16 mi SHAW CENTRE0.3 km / 0.19 mi

Exhibition centre

LANSDOWNE STADIUM15 km / 9.38 mi

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel networkOur years of experience have let us build a great expertise in meetings organization.

Novotel Ottawa City Centre Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
MOONLIGHT 20 m2 2 m 0 0 8 0 0
TWILIGHT 32 m2 2 m 0 14 16 0 0
ZENITH 33 m2 2 m 0 14 16 0 0
SUNSET 69 m2 2 m 65 25 30 30 50
DAWN 78 m2 2 m 80 30 35 35 60
AURORA 90 m2 2 m 100 35 40 65 80
MORNING LIGHT 167 m2 2 m 180 65 75 100 140
    • Screen
    • Flipchart
    • Meeting room
    • Videoconferencing
    • Audio and video equipment
    • Podium
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Airconditioned meeting room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Slide projector
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV with pay movies, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, MP3 alarm clock, tea/coffee.Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, HDMI & screen mirroring capability, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, bathrobe & slippers, hair dryer, free local calls & bottled water.

  • 283 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 196 family rooms
  • 8 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • Ice machine
    • 110/120 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Baby bed
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Web TV
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Video games on TV in room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Suite TV
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.3/5 ALL Rating 9,183 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,864 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2019
24/02/2020 TripAdvisor review
« Friendly staff, outstanding breakfast, convenient location »

We stayed here for a week as a family holiday starting with Winterlude. We took in ice skating on the Rideau Canal, and outside Ottawa City Hall for which the location was perfect. It is opposite the Rideau Centre, which has an excellent food court - although it shuts at 6pm. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast. The breakfast manager from Sunday to Thursday was exceptionally welcoming. The chef - who did the best pancakes ever - was really accommodating and helpful to all of us. Particularly with our 10-year old daughter. He also did great omelettes with ingredients that you pick out yourself. The French pastries - apparently shipped from France - have that genuine taste and texture. I know this - having spend a lot of time in France. It is fair to say that the Novotel Ottawa delivered one of the nicest breakfast experiences I have ever had in a hotel. And I have had a lot of hotel breakfasts over the years. In general the staff at the Albion Rooms and the Reception were friendly and helpful. The Albion Rooms is a nice bar and restaurant. Their local beer selection is outstanding. The food was reasonably priced and nicely presented. The menu was probably a little "off-beat" for some tastes and there were only a couple of options for my vegetarian wife. Our room on the 9th floor was fine. Pretty standard for a Novotel. Just minor quibbles. It didn't have a hand towel rail. Our room was close to the elevator. The noise wasn't too intrusive, but it was there. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Ottawa and I would definitely go back there again.

Challenger Business - 20/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Nice hotel. Great location »

Have stayed here before. Great service. Comfy firm beds. Clean room. Only issue was the room was very warm and I could not get the controls to make it cooler. I was there in February too.

Fm Business - 20/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Nice stay »

I was in Ottawa on work trip and stayed for one night at Novotel. I really a hair dryer which was at the bathroom so I was really satisfied with that. My room was clean and there were plenty of towels. The internet speech was good as well. Thanks.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs M., Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Anonymous Business - 20/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« well located »

Good wifi connection and in-room safe were important features.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.We are very glad to see that you had a comfortable stay with our Wifi connection and the in-room safe. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Gary M. Business - 19/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great location, very friendly staff, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast!! »

I had a wonderful few days stay in your hotel while I was in Ottawa for a work conference. The staff were friendly and courteous, the breakfast was fantastic. Special mention to I believe Ignado who was a pleasure to deal with each morning. All in all it was a wonderful stay and I would be happy to stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with Ignacio and all the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Tony Couples - 19/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« good location »

excellent stay. Perfect location and check in staff was very helpful. Parking was a bit of a challenge but likely due mainly to it being family day weekend and Winterlude. Rooms were clean and comfortable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Anonymous Families - 19/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Friendly staff, reasonable rooms but a few missing details »

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and room was clean. Was missing conditioner and cream in room and was really chilly when we arrived. Also went to the pool one day and there wasn’t towels. Checked several times over our hour and an half time playing but never arrived and a giant basket of dirty towels wasn’t picked up

Anonymous Business - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great stay »

Great front desk check in assistance.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Robert Couples - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great Location »

I was visiting Ottawa to attend a hockey game, although not located near the game in Kanata, it was close to dedicated ground transportation to the game. It is located close to the Rideau Centre and the By Town market. The parking is a bit pricey(28.00) and is rather cramped although did include in/out privileges. I was satisfied with my stay and would book again.

Anonymous Families - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Well located, clean, helpful staff. »

Thank you. We were well looked after in a clean, well located and helpful hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr R., What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Anon Business - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Alright »

The only real issue with this hotel is that the door locks are battery operated and can die leaving you stranded until they are able to replace the battery

Tim Business - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great Location »

Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week stay. Close to everything.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Brian Business - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great room and service »

The room was very good and service very friendly and efficient

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Anonymous Couples - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The AC was off and could not be activated. The window could not be opened. Result as too warm and stuffy.

Business - 17/02/2020 TripAdvisor review
« cellent! »

I loved the renovations they made and the Albion Room was great, with great food. My room was very nice and loved the walk in shower in the bathroom. I had everything I needed although I would have preferred a fridge rather than a wine fridge.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kiy0ty, Thank you for the 5 Stars... we are so very happy to see you had a wonderful stay. The fridge, we provide additional fridges upon request and will be happy to assist you for your next stay. Regards Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Dawn B. Business - 16/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Well Located and comfotable »

Great location, excellent food and very comfortable bed.

Anonymous Business - 15/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Disappointing stay »

Overall I was disappointed with this stay. I booked two rooms and there were issues from the start of the booking right up until we checked out. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. The elevator into the lobby from the parking garage was broken making the only way out was by several flights of stairs while carrying luggage. A recent foot injury made this very difficult and I should have changed hotels as soon as I found out it was inaccessible. The rooms were promoted as recently renovated and upon checkin we were each asked if we would like a king room (like we booked) in the old part of the hotel or if we’d like double beds in the renovated section. I said I would like a king — like I booked — but in the renovated section. The checkin staff checked her computer and said she was able to give me one on a higher floor. It turned out to be the 5th floor, which I’ve never considered a high floor. The room itself was nice but the renovation was clearly done as cheaply as possible. The walkin shower stall was so cheap the plastic floor liner creaked and bent under your feet. There was not shelf to put your soap or shower accessory. And the door of the shower didn’t close properly and as a result the entire bathroom floor was flooded. My colleague in a room down the hall experienced the same flooding issue. I was also disappointed with the toiletries provided. I see you were using large bottles rather than small individual servings — which I appreciate from an environmental perspective — but there wasn’t any body moisturizer nor hair conditioner. I travel a lot and know those are staple items. The bar fridge contained one can of beer. Having it stocked or at the very least providing bottles of water for sale (or even free) in the room would have been appreciated. The city of Ottawa began snowplowing snow that lasted for hours. The noise from the street into our rooms was very disturbing and prevented us from sleeping. My colleague in the room down the hall called the front desk who answered the phone rudely yelling about the city of Ottawa and that there was nothing they could do. The staff on the phone didn’t say hello or front desk or use any pleasantries. Instead she went right into yelling into the phone. My colleague was taken aback and upset by this. She asked the staff if she knew when this relocating of snow banks typically ends. She did not and at that point offered my colleague a room on the quiet side of the hotel. Why weren’t we automatically placed in a room on the quiet side of the hotel? We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was very good and the service in the restaurant was very attentive. Overall the experience was a negative one and I would not recommend this hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Erika D., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Exceptional service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies,as I see that there were many issues , not just 1 on this stay. I see from your reservation that a king size classic room was booked at the Caubo rate. We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our upgraded rooms , please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address your comments to the relevant departments. The service you also mention your colleague received is not tolerated and be know that we will address this to prevent any such occurrence. We have updated your profile to have a quite room allocated to you moving forward and Erika, our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance and we hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Olivia Business - 15/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Very thin walls, hard to sleep with so much noise. »

There were renovations in the room next to me which woke me up very early - this wasn't ideal and the walls were so this so it just sounded like someone was drilling inside my room. There's also nothing in the mini fridge which was disappointing. The prices on the menu had changed at the restaurant that hadn't been updated on the menus which meant I was charged more than anticipated. The walls are also extremely thin - I could hear the room next to me while they were in the bathroom which was quite uncomfortable. This was a work trip so I didn't have to pay and I was only in the room to sleep, but if I were on holiday I would have been very disappointed.

Anonymous Families - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« great location »

had a great time as usual

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs P., Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Tammy P. Business - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Heat issues »

The heat was set at 24.6 the entire stay. I was unable to adjust the temp gauge, there was no air conditioner to cool it off and the small window opened in the wrong direction to allow any cool air in. The front desk clerk provided a fan however it did nothing more than move the warm air around. It was a very uncomfortable stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Tammy P., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Exceptional service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies with regards the room temperature not being suitable to you. I am happy that the team were able to offer you a fan however we could have offered you a room move if the situation had not improved, enabling you to have a more comfortable stay. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address your comments with our maintenance department. Tammy, our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. I have made note in your profile to make sure these areas are checked for you to have a fantastic stay. Please contact me directly and we will be happy to make you reservation with a complimentary upgrade for you. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
ALL - Accor Live Limitless
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into ALL - Accor Live Limitless points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates