Information message

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 6,163 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the centre and canal district

  • Ideal for both business and leisure

  • Direct connection to Amsterdam Central Station and RAI

  • Many restaurants and sights within walking distance

  • An ALLSAFE by NSF Euro Consultants S.A. certified hotel.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00


Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available Paying

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Noorderstraat 46
1017 TV amsterdam

Tel: +31206220328

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Metro 52 :  52 Vijzelgracht

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    LELYSTAD At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 15.8km / 9.82 miles

  • By car

    A10 RING EXIT S109 RAI At 6km / 3.75 miles

  • By car

    A10-E22 RINGEXIT S106 OSDORP At 6.5km / 4.06 miles

  • By car

    A2-E35 EXIT S110 AMSTEL At 5.5km / 3.44 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

GPS :52.360944, 4.893435


  • ABN/AMRO HEAD OFFICE 3.3 km / 2.05 mi
  • NATIONAL DUTCH BANK 0.1 km / 0.06 mi
  • PHILIPS HEAD OFFICE 3.5 km / 2.17 mi

Your meetings and events

Let's meet up in our cosy Brainstorm Bar for a professional or informal meeting.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting room

From 1 to 12 


Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Located next to the new metro line 52, just two stops from the Amsterdam Central Station.

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Choose the room that meets your requirements from the room categories on offer. Select from our range of comfortable Classic rooms with a view out over the traditional Amsterdam houses.

Our restaurants and bars


Bring your day to a perfect end with a drink in one of the relaxing armchairs in the bar. The barman will mix you the cocktail of the day every day from 5 pm.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

6,163 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

981 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Nice and quiet place, very well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything ok, the breakfast could be much better. Thanks

Dear Mr. C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have read your remark about our breakfast. We serve our breakfast in buffet style. Could you tell us what you have missed? We would like to work on an improvement. Therefore your feedback is well appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Charles Solo - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location was great being just outside the heavy tourist areas. It was a short walk to dining and the metro, and gave the experience of staying in the canal district.

Dear CHARLES, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I have taken notice of your remarks about the noise level in the room and I will have a look to see if the remarks about the condition of the rooms is due to errors on our side. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are spending a night in Amsyterdam. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District


Customer review rating 2.5/5

William E. Couples - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointed with hotel . Website description of hotel is misleading 1. Room was to small and un inviting 2 noise early in the morning with kids school close by 3 health/safety issues, no quick contact with reception. 4 hotel facilities as per website non existent

Dear Mr e., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The last thing we want is being misleading. I am not sure where you are referring to. I know that the site has info that we have a bar and room-service. This is indeed incorrect as we do not offer this temporarily due to measurements of our hygiene protocols. Is that what you have missed? Were you informed upon check in how to contact the reception? I hope my colleagues gave you the welcome letter upon arrival so you have all the information. Regarding insulation, this is poor indeed. We have single glass in the windows and the building is quite old. Meaning internally sound proofing isn;t the same as in new buidlings. This I can only adress when we will renovate the hotel and I will certainly do so. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Barbara C. Couples - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was very nice and clean. Convenient location to mayor attractions. I will go back definitely

Dear Barbara, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tina L. Friends - 01/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff was young and courteous. They went out of their way to assist us.

Dear Tina, Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your comments with the team. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Amsterdam. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Incredible stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 30/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

What else can I say? The staff was very polite and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast very yummy. We will definitely be coming back!

Too noisy and cold room

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Simon Business - 28/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The receiving was very friendly and kind but the rest was horrible: the room was the number 125, just on the road, with glass thickness like a paper sheet, you could hear all rumors from the road and, people smoking "coffee-cigarettes" just close to my windows during night, I had their smell on my room, impossible to sleep. Moreover the room was unbelievable cold and no warming could be switched on. Another thing totally unbelavable : the light swotcher for the bathroom was at the entrance of the room, pitty that I had to make 4 stairs during the night to go to the entrance door and switch on the light. Never again!

good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

V. F. Families - 27/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room. Hotel location very good. Everything within walking distance.

nice location, kind employees, excellent breakfast (room and choice of food)

Customer review rating 4.5/5

M. Couples - 23/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

see all above - painting on bottom of shower to be refreshed

Good location, small rooms

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Rob Business - 22/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was very small

Visiting 20/8 to 21/8

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Juliette Families - 22/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Appearance upon entry and customer service are fine. Junior suite is a nice space however the hygiene was less because on the lounge sofa were still stains and next to the bathroom cabinet was still dirty. Perhaps good to clean it. At breakfast you didn’t have much choice and that was a shame.

Located in city center near all touristic facilities.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tim Friends - 20/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a nice stay. The one person room was clean and had a good large bed. Do not forget to close the window. The personal was friendly and I was able to get breakfast even after opening hours. In the near vicinity the Leidse Plein, Rijksmuseum and some nice restaurants.

Best Mercure ever!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

wietse2021 Business - 20/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

We have been in quite a few Mercure hotels.... Yet given it's location, it's stylish interior, the wonderful and friendly service and great breakfast, this hotel for us definitely is the best in it's brand! The location was close to the centre and many sites, yet it was nice and quiet at night.

Good hotel, good breakfast but non straight

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

sigalitpearl 28/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at mercure Amsterdam Center Canal District and had a good stay. Non of the hotel stuff told us we had to pay for breakfast which we were sure we had included. At check out we had a surprising great amount we had to pay.... 220 Euros. It sure left a bad taste from the hotel

Dear sigalitpearl, Many thanks for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. We have been in contact via email about the breakfast and came to an agreement about the misunderstanding. Great to read you are looking back on a good stay and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General manager

Great Location with all needs close by

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Penny E 22/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

This place was our last stop before heading home. The hotal was fantastic, great service and close to trains and trams and in a quiet and safe location. Although a few stairs to get to our room is was clean and fresh and the family room was good for the 3 of us. Easy walk to resturants and Van Goh.

Dear Penny E, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Amazing stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

meganhes1 Couples - 26/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Lovely stay in the Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District. Amazing front office staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. The hotel is in the center of Amsterdam. You can go anywhere by foot or by the public transport

Dear meganhes1, Wow!!! A 5 bullet score! Thanks very much for sharing this with TripAdvisor. I'm happy to read that you've had such a wonderful experience. Have a great new year's eve and we wish you a happy and healthy 2020! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

A few glitches but would still recommend.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Alan L Couples - 13/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Stayed for three nights and on arrival there was no shower gel or shampoo. Day 2 and room wasn’t made over. Day 3 it got made over but housekeeping threw away the lids to shave gel and contact lens solution. Saying that, the reception staff were great and the location perfect with good metro connections. Would definitely stay again especially if they can sort out housekeeping.

Dear Alan, Thanks for taking the time to share you're feedback. It seems to me that we have made some mistakes. I'll discuss these remarks with our housekeeping team. I am happy to see that we were able to turn the experience at the reception. I'll share that as well. Hope to see you soon! Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager


TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

francis0510 Couples - 16/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

I use the Accor hotels since years (Europe and abroad). I experienced always a friendly and very helpful staff together with quite stay in my room. This wasn’t the case here. I did not have the feeling I was welcomed, and money was the main concern of the staff. The room was as usual but very noisy, due to the poor quality of the windows.

Dear francis0510, Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. My sincere apologies for that. I'll see if I can retrieve your details so we can address your feeling about the welcome in our hotel to the right person, so we can improve on this. Furthermore I would like to say that we will renovate the hotel end 2020. The renovation includes the change of our windows. As we are situated in a monument, the process of getting the windows approved is long, but we are glad that we have a go for it. I hope you will come back to us the next time you stay in Amsterdam and that we can serve you better. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Nice location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

rusty49 Couples - 14/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

Hotel was clean and great location close to museums. Bathroom sink was cracked and did not drain properly. Staff was great and warm reception. Hotel is a bit aged in hallway carpets which need replacing. Don't buy the in house breakfast, eat locally better value.

Thank you for your stay with us and your feedback. Our sincere apologies that the room wasn't what you can expect from us, I am sorry. In case of any renovation of we will definitely take this into account. Please rest assured that I will forward your feedback to the right department. We hope to see you the next time when you visit Amsterdam.


TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Josune E Couples - 04/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

Lovely stay, the rooms are so comfy and nice staff not only front office , also people from breakfast helped us with everything we needed . Maybe the room size was a bit small but they were so comfy and cozy that it didn’t matter the size anymore. I will come back for sure !!

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kinds words. We are really pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and would be happy to see you back again!

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby