Information message

Novotel Southampton Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 7,756 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Novotel Southampton
See on a map
+ 10 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links, 1 km from Red Funnel Ferry Port

  • Leisure facilities, including gym, sauna and heated pool. Work area, Free Wifi, 32-inch TV

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 330 guests

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining, Lavish hot breakfast buffet with pancakes

  • 10 meeting and banquet rooms, capable of holding 500 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM Paying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Cash machine
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Southampton

1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442381072800

Fax: (+44)2380/222158

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 

  • By plane

    EASTLEIGH At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 112.64km / 69.99 miles

  • By boat

    RED FUNNEL - TOWN QUAY At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M 27 JUNCTION 3 At 4.83km / 3 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :50.904846, -1.414687

Companies

  • HSBC 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • Quilter 0.0 km / 0.0 mi

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel networkIncredible spaces for incredible work. That's what you'll find at Novotel Southampton. With state-of-the-art facilities tailored to your needs, and a whole host of extras to help you unwind, this is time well spent.The hotel is close to the key transportation hubs and offers the ideal venue for meeting on business.

Room descriptions and layouts

10 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 500 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Meeting room

  • Videoconferencing

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Video equipment

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel. Closed down right now, pub is serving food.

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

BAR

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Southampton

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,756 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,227 reviews

Very convenient

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Cintia J. Families - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Conveniently located at walking distance from town centre, seafront, restaurants

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really good location for the port, and not too far to shops. It was really really hot and the room aircon was not sufficient, but we we given a small desk fan which helped.

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Chris Business - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A brief one night stay that was enjoyable. Room was clean and comfortable with nice breakfast.

Covid Safe

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy to use bookings Web site together with easy collection of key at reception & excelent service in bar/ dining room and all felt Covid safe environment.

Didn't feel safe

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Chris Families - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not my usual pleasant stay at a Novotel. Not entirely the hotels fault but I definitely did not feel safe and secure during this stay. despite the hotel apparently operating to the law (as it was then) and insisting on adults wearing face masks whilst moving around the hotel, my wife and I were in the minority. At breakfast, roughly 60% of adults had no face covering. I saw no one wearing a lanyard. Breakfast was understandably different, due to safety concerns but I cannot understand why this means you have to ask 4 times for a spoon (or indeed any cutlery)! Plus, all the precautions are wonderful, if they actually get done. We were shown to a table that had clearly not been wiped off, let alone sanitised. Cleaners, presumably moving around the whole hotel, were not wearing masks. After all this time, it should be easy to get the basics right?

Ok

Customer review rating 2.5/5

R Families - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for two executive rooms. Phoned in advance to ensure they were adjoining rooms which was confirmed. Checked again when checking in and confirmed to be adjoining rooms. Got to the rooms and they were not adjoining. Neither room was equipped as it should have been for an executive room. One room had no dressing gowns or slippers. The other room had no coffee machine, no bose speaker, no gowns or slippers etc. So just normal rooms and I paid a premium for them. Not enough staff at hotel, 2 people for a full hotel. Rooms not particularly clean either.

Excellent Staff - but manning levels mean they cant achieve the standard they would like

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mg Families - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff always helpful, professional and provide great customer service, but the the level of staffing means they can achieve the level of service they would like - They was evident at breakfast where time slots were booked so the customer flow was controlled.

perfect for a short stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

K.k. Friends - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

the room was clean and had all usual facilities, good breakfast and late check out, although I would say that car park charges should have been included in the price of the room

Great location, near to West Quay for shopping. Facilities are fantastic as you have swimming pool.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Angela E. Solo - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a lovely time, as usual. I don’t have a bath at home to really love the fact that I can have a bath, also that I can have a swim in your pool. I really like the fact that I could have the Pool to myself due to the booking system you have in place. Will you be keeping the booking system in place? I hope so.

Not happy

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Colin D. Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room was very dirty and we don't think it had been cleaned at all, we had no choice but to complain

Average at best

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jonathan H. Business - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great that the hotel stayed open during Covid to support front line workers. Still object that there’s a £10 per night hidden cost to parking. Further object to only 4 disabled spots for such a large hotel (albeit free for blue badge). Breakfast order wrong 2 out of 3 days and stone cold on last day… don’t use room service! On day 3 was informed I was using the wrong form and to stop using it… (1) reception said go to restaurant for form (2) restaurant gave me said form (3) both are wrong… insist on the room service form from reception! I continue to stay there as it stayed open allowing me to cover my front line duties… I know this will have cost the company money to do. I stay out of loyalty, not out of a quality experience

Adequate but not 4 star

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Cameron Couples - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was spotless and the staff friendly. I paid for an executive room as a ‘treat’ however I felt I would have got more for my money in a budget hotel (nothing wrong with budget hotels). The room had no air conditioning and with the safety catches on the windows (which I know are standard for any hotel) barely cooled the room making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a hole in the plaster in the ceiling and the room overall felt that it should have been at least a ‘basic’ rate room rather than ‘executive’. The restaurant, although serving a limited menu due to COVID which is perfectly understandable had all of around 3 options and really tried hard to make it sound ‘fancy’ when in reality it was just basic meals you would expect from anywhere. I will say however that the breakfast was really good it was a good spread so to speak. All in all I would say my stay in the hotel was adequate and the staff were excellent although the room was stupidly overpriced and uncomfortable for an ‘executive’ room. I probably won’t be returning purely on the fact I feel that I can get better value for money elsewhere

Well located. Clean and tidy. Friendly, helpful staff.

Customer review rating 3.0/5

M Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for one night with our three-year-old. The whole reason for booking this particular hotel was the pool. On arrival we were told that 20 min pool slots had to be booked in advance (there was no mention of this when I booked) and it was fully booked that day. By sheer chance, as we were checking in there was a last minute cancellation for the next session (in 5 mins time) so we rushed and were able to have 15 mins in the pool. Otherwise we would have a VERY disappointed toddler to deal with. The room was a good size and clean but it was SO hot! And the windows wouldn't open because the sofa-bed was in the way. Both my husband and I found the bed to be EXTREMELY hard and we both had backache in the morning. Breakfast was lovely - well organised and a good selection.

Absolutely awful H.

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Awful H. Business - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This H. is not up to Novotel standard. From the outset devotion were rude and uninterested in making check in/smooth. The room was in a disgusting state, carpets were stained, furniture tired and worn out, paper cups and a zip lock bag contains some very basic provisions (aware this is a covid measure but for £80 per night this could be better presented at least). The toilet was separate to the sink/shower and all light switches were placed in odd areas. There is no air conditioning and you cannot open the windows as it’s too noisy (again aware near a port but also the police station which meant constant sirens). I was left standing for ages to be seated although restaurant staff were friendly at least. My advice - avoid at all cost. This H. is in desperate need of renovations in all areas. It felt like a hostel.

Not worth it

Customer review rating 2.0/5

None Business - 15/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

No one knows what they are doing. Answers are always “I’m new”, “I’ve been here 7 days”. It took over 5 days for them to adjust figure out how to print out laundry slips. Breakfast was just okay. No centralized air and you need a fan that the hotel will provide. Spotty on the cleaning. Awkward windows that you just can’t keep open. List goes on.

Dirty Room with missing extras I paid more for.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anna M. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very slow check in, couldn’t find my booking. I had to show I’d booked an executive booking. I did the pre check in online so I hoped that it wouldn’t take 20 minutes stood in reception. Went to room, was given WhatsApp number which had a missing digit so had to go back to reception and get correct number. Next issue was there was no dressing gown, slippers, coffee machine or iPod docking station in the room. I paid £20 more for the bigger room with these extras and I had to ask where they were. I was then given a coffee machine and slippers by receptionist from another room. We found 4 black curly hairs in the bathroom and toilet. No guessing what there were. Highly visible in bath and on floor. Breakfast we had as room service. Given no butter, only Margerine. Half a cup of coffee. Luke warm breakfast. No brown sugar for coffee. We left feeling ripped off. I messaged the number to complain about hairs but had no answer.

Not What we payed for

Customer review rating 1.5/5

R. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We payed for an executive room this is what it said we would get "experience combining relaxation and focus. Our executive room treats you like a VIP: Free broadband internet, Nespresso coffee machine, Bose Ipod docking station, bathrobe, slippers and amenities and bottled water. Up to 4 people max 2 adultsve room However we didnt get anythink that was on the list of things in the room." all we got was 2 bottles of water we are not happy at all

Essential Business traveller

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jamesashton019 Business - 18/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived at a booked stay at Ibis, this hotel was closed and was transferred to the Novotel opposite. The reception was helpful and polite. Room was dated but clean, however was very cold despite heating. Lost loyalty stay due to swap - frustrating.

Dear jamesashton019, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Your original booking was made with ibis Budget Southampton, and therefore it is not eligible for loyalty points, as is the case with all bookings at Ibis Budget Hotels. I do apologize if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking. Due to the pandemic you were upgraded complimentary to the Novotel, however the rate that you paid, and the conditions of that booking do still apply. I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager

Very comfortable

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Keitht2 12/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

My room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a very comfortable settee which I later realised was a bed setter. I had an excellent night’s sleep on the best mattress I have ever encountered in an hotel. The shower was also excellent. There was a generous selection of teas and coffee available and, for the first time ever in my experience of an hotel small cartons of fresh semi-skimmed milk. In the past I have been a frequent user of Ibis hotels but on this occasion due to reduced numbers as a result of Covid all Accor guests were accommodated in the Novatel. In the light if my experience here my next bookings will definitely be with Novatel.

Dear Kietht2, thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted to see that you not only enjoyed your stay, but will be continuing to choose Novotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton

Relaxing and convenient stay friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

secretlass 03/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I am a regular here because with novotel you know you're getting quality with convenient location. Friendly staff, delicious breakfast and a swimming pool, whats not to love! The rooms are clean and the mattress is firm and comfortable.

Dear Secretlass, thank you for sharing your kind comments. We are delighted to know that our regulars are happy with our service, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor