Information message

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 14,087 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE NSF certified hotel

  • Terrace overlooking the Amstel river

  • Just 15 kilometres from Schiphol Airport

  • Bicycle rentals available

  • This hotel is cashless, only card payments are accepted

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Local Convenience Store onsite called 'STACH' Open 24/7
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Boat excursions (nearby)
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 11 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

Joan Muyskenweg 10
1096 CJ amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31207219176

Fax: (+31)20/6948735

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • OVERAMSTEL :  51 OVERAMSTEL /EXIT JOAN MUYSKENWEG

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 17km / 10.63 miles

  • By plane

    EINDHOVEN At 200km / 125 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    SCHIPHOL INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 16.99km / 10.56 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 17km / 10.56 miles

  • By car

    S109 RAI At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By car

    S110 AMSTEL At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By car

    S111 WEESPERTREKVAART AMSTEL At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 2.6km / 1.62 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 4.1km / 2.55 miles

GPS :52.335579, 4.913228

Companies

  • ABN AMRO BANK HEADOFFICE 3.8 km / 2.36 mi
  • DELTA LLOYD 1.27 km / 0.79 mi
  • DWR 1.51 km / 0.94 mi
  • HONEYWELL 1.42 km / 0.88 mi
  • ING 1.5 km / 0.93 mi
  • INTRALOX 1.42 km / 0.88 mi
  • LEVI STRAUSS 0.1 km / 0.06 mi
  • MC DONALDS 1.35 km / 0.84 mi
  • MCI WORLDCOM 0.1 km / 0.06 mi
  • NUON 0.87 km / 0.54 mi
  • PHILIPS HEADOFFICE 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • PWC 1.51 km / 0.94 mi
  • VISA 1.0 km / 0.0 mi
  • WORLD FASHION CENTRE 1.79 km / 1.11 mi
  • WTC 1.77 km / 1.1 mi

Your meetings and events

The 10 meeting rooms in the hotel all have Wi-Fi, and meeting facilities and can accommodate a maximum of 350 people. Take advantage of our expertise to make your meeting a success.

Room descriptions and layouts

11 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 350 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • High speed transmission line

  • Hotel connected to conv. centre

  • Slide projector

  • Overhead projector

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Whether you opt for the Standard room, the spacious Privilege room or the Standard Suite with a view over the Amstel, we at Mercure have done everything possible to ensure you have a pleasant stay!

Our restaurants and bars

FLOOR RESTAURANT & LOUNGE

Type of cuisine: International

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you can even relax on the terrace!

Menu (PDF)
  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

FLOOR BAR & LOUNGE

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you cna even realx on the terrace!

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

14,087 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,759 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Wonderfull hospitality.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Monica H. Solo - 30/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved the room. Catered for my every need. Comfortable bed and very nice linen. The shower was great. The staff were amazing! They went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I felt like one of the family. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Dear Monica H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michelle Schilderman Team member Front Office

The best team!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

M. A. Couples - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing!!! The lady who made our check-in and check-out is an absolute pearl! Nice, friendly, helpful, she was welcoming us as we were special! Thank you the front office manager for the lively card and waffles we found in our room! The Room! Amazing view, cosy and decorated for our special occasion.

Dear Ameal M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Valeria Gonzalez The Front Office Team

Great!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dimitris Business - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have been several times in Mercure Amsterdam city hotel. I have always great time. I receive very good service and I am looking forward to coming back.

Dear Mr. S., Thank you so much for filling out our survey. We appreciate the time you took to write us this lovely review. Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Mercure Amsterdam City. Kind regards, Amy van 't Veer Team Member Front Office

1 year and 4 months happy to stay in my second home!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jm B. Business - 09/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After 1 year and 4 months, it was great to be back and see some familiar faces. The staff of this hotel is a 10 over 10! Still remembered by habits, they all made it a great experience.

Dear mister B. , We very much appreciate your response! It is always a pleasure to have you back. For us its very important to see and hear that we can still provide good customer service. Also the familiar faces light up our day. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Xadim, Front Office

Feeling back home

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 04/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The friendly staff makes you feel home again. After 1,5 years first time back and immediately felt comfortable again. Looking forward to next time

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for our hotel! It warms my heart to read that you feel welcome in our hotel, even after such a long time, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Amy van 't Veer Team Member Front Office

Not up to standards

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Families - 03/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff. Nice room. Terrible breakfast and dinning conditions. I understand that COVID makes it difficult to have a fully operational kitchen. But it is best to be honest with your clients and just let them know that the breakfast and dinner quality will be very low, tables will not be clean, and there will be no choice on the menu. In a hotel like the Mercure, you should let your clients know what to expect in advance.

Dear Mr B., Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not informed during check in about our different way of serving the breakfast during your stay. My apologies for that. I hope to welcome you in the future again for a perfect stay! Lars Onderstal Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.0/5

M Business - 01/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff. Especially the lady at the breakfast.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey. I will personally see to it your compliment about our breakfast employee will be send to her. Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back someday at Mercure hotel Amsterdam City. Kind regards, Amy van 't Veer Team Member Front Office

Really nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Geoffn Couples - 20/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really nice hotel on the outskirts of Amsterdam. Very friendly staff; they made it a pleasant stay.

Dear Geoff, Thank you for taking the time to fill in our online survey. I am very happy to read you enjoyed Amsterdam with us and that our employees created a pleasant stay for you. Thank you for your compliments and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Amy van 't Veer Team Member Front Office

Perfect stay.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Marjet Business - 20/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

New rooms are great and staff extremely friendly!

Dear Jeannet R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team so that we can hopefully improve your next visit with us! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michelle Schilderman

Enjoyed my stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mike Couples - 09/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is located just on the outskirt of the city centre which is easy to get to on the metro, which is a few minute walk from the hotel. The room itself was clean and modern, with a good sized TV, comfy bed and complimentary mini bar.

Dear Mike, Thank you very much for your review and great rating! We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. We hope to welcome you again in the future at Mercure Amsterdam City. Kind regards, Joris Dirks Team Member Front Office

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Shalini B. Couples - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a very nice experience, only the airconditioning didn't work so it was a bit hot.

Dear Shalini B., Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for our hotel! We are really sorry that the A/C was not working in your room. I will forward your comments to our maintenance team so the appropriate measures can be taken to prevent future occurrence. We hereby offer our sincere apologies and we hope that we can welcome you again! We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sarah D. Friends - 23/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was clean and spacious. Was a cashier walk from overamstel station however at first was very hard to find coming off the metro with no internet connection. Overall was a very good service and would definitely recommend!

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to see that you had a good stay at our hotel and that the hotel and its interior were to your liking. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Location not ideal

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John A. Families - 18/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel appears to be in a business district and rather isolated from other facilities. Although the room was very nice there were no wardrobes or chest of drawers merely one rail with 6 hangers on full display. Considering this was a triple room it was obviously insufficient storage for 3 people so most of our clothes had to stay in the suitcases. Also not able to pay cash for anything in the hotel, even a bottle of water had to be paid for by card.

Dear John A., Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and completing our survey. We are sorry to find out that the location did not meet your expectations and that there was not enough space available to hang your clothing. Nevertheless we hope you had a pleasant overall stay and we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Families - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have asked for refund as trip to Amsterdam had to be cancelled due to COVID-19 situation (university open day was cancelled) - my request was refused. In current situation when even Booking.com is providing cancellations and refunds your approach is unacceptable. You lost a guest for the future.

Dear guest, Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the late reply. The current situation has been very unusual and we are incredibly sorry that your trip to Amsterdam had to be cancelled due to the fact that the open day of the university got cancelled. Unfortunately your trip took place just before lockdown was imposed by the Dutch government. We regret to be informed that we lost a future guest due to the way your situation was handled. Nevertheless, we hope you and your family were safe and sound over the last period. Yours sincerely, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 4.0/5

P.k.a. Couples - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On the whole very happy with the hotel. with regards to the bedroom,6004, felt the lighting was very poor. It weas very diddicult to read in bed. P.K.A.

Dear Peter A., Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that it was difficult to read in your bed because of the lighting. Our Maintenance Department was informed about this issue. Nevertheless, we are happy to find out that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

best spa and breakfast ever

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

738sunam 28/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hello you should stay at that hotel specially mercure amsterdam city hotel. The location is quite calm, serein and near the center. The spa- sauna and steambath are really sincerely great. And the breakfast is awesome. Enjoy the hotel!

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our sauna and steam bath. Furthermore, we are glad that the extensive breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recommending us to others! We cannot wait to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Lovely Amsterdam

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

alanhdonnelly 25/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Quiet location. Nice distance from airport and city. Not city centre. If you hadnt breakfast included it was expensive, and no where close by to eat. Overall lovely hotel with great staff and good food. Would definately be back.

Dear Alan, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and that you consider our hotel to be lovely. Your comments will be shared with our staff. For our breakfast we suggest to make use of our a la carte breakfast for your next visit. Here individual items can be ordered should you not want to make use of the extensive buffet. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

perfect

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Trail701866 Couples - 22/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

perfect hospitality throughout the stay (reception, breakfast, restaurant, bar). perfect room and very clean. promise customer Gold kept. effeiciency of the receptionnist on check in and check out related to questions on Booking with point. question sent after the stay regarding a lost item, and response was very quick and clear.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your perfect experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. We are delighted to be informed that you experienced perfect hospitality in all our departments and that you enjoyed your room. It is our aim to treat all guests as best as we can and we are glad to read that you felt happy as a Gold member. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Average hotel, with not friendly bar staff

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Traveler830045 Couples - 08/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Average hotel, doesn't feel like 4 star hotel, apart of lounge area (which is actually really nice). A la Carter menu in the bar - choice is small. Sleep quality afwull. Beds are absolutely old and uncomfortable. We didn't get proper sleep during all our stay. Rooms are much smaller than on picture, literally for two people there is no space even to turn around. I booked DOUBLE room, but got twin room. On the checkout Charged me more than was my booking. Also rude and not friendly some of the bar staff. I was very disappointed with hotel and my choice, will never go back. I would definately advise hotel to make refurb, change beds, and carpets, as our one was with big dirt mark in the middle of the carpet. It's not what you expect from 4 star hotel. By the way metro station is around 12 minutes walking (shuttle you can get on the weekdays only from 9am to10 am, weekends 9am to 11am).

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We highly regret to be informed that you would not want to come back to our hotel after your experience with us. It is our aim to provide comfortable nights sleep and are sorry to find out that the beds were not to your liking and withheld you from substantial sleep. Furthermore, it is possible that the city tax was charged upon checkout, as this is not always included in the rate when booking depending on the booking platform. In regards to the service provided in the bar I would like to inform you that our Food and Beverage Manager was informed about this issue. We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Perfect!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

bexwhite13 Couples - 05/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

From the moment we arrived, we loved it! The staff there are fantastic , so friendly and helpful in every way from travel arrangements to places to eat and visit. Check in was smooth and professional, service was great. A special mention to Michelle from the restaurant area who went the extra mile for my partners birthday on New Years Day, organising balloons, cookies and a lovely note on the bed for our return! Super clean and comfortable room, a lot bigger than many rooms in the Centrum area, very easy to get to the city. I’ve travelled a lot across the world and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Dear Guest, Wow, I am happy to read that my colleague Michelle made your stay at our hotel very special. I will pass on your kind words to her as I know she will love to hear your compliments. At mercure we try to make our guest feel special and I am happy to read that we succeeded in making you and your partner more than just a hotel guest. I hope that you enjoyed Amsterdam, and if you are ever in the neighbourhood again, do not hesitate to come by again. Kind regards, Amy van 't Veer Front Office Supervisor

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby