Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel 4.5 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 12,007 reviews

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See on a map
+ 26 Services

Hotel extras

  • Steps from "Eat Street" bars and restaurants

  • Indoor pool, fitness centre, hot tub

  • Complimentary geothermal mineral pool access

  • Light-filled restaurant, hot breakfast buffet

  • Clarke's Bar with lake-view terrace

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Thermal Spa
  • Fitness centre
  • Jacuzzi
  • Babysitting on request
  • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 11 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Lake End
Tutanekai Street
3010
rotorua
new zealand

Tel: +6473463888

Fax: (+64)7/3471888

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • TUTANEKAI ST. :  STATE HWY 5 TOURISM CTR BUS

  • TUTANEKAI ST... :  STATE HWY 33 TOURISM CTR BUS

  • By plane

    HAMILTON At 80km / 49.71 miles

  • By plane

    ROTORUA At 8km / 5 miles

GPS :-38.132935, 176.25143

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by benefiting from the Novotel network

  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Flipchart

  • Soundproof

  • Screen

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Hotel connected to conv. centre

  • High speed transmission line

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Junior Suite 1 King Bed Lake View

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 41 / 441 sq ft
  • Views: Lake side *
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Executive Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 72 / 775 sq ft
  • Views: Lake side, City side *
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Royal Suite - 3 Bedroom Apartment

  • Max. number of persons: 6
  • Area: From 245 / 2637 sq ft
  • Views: Lake side, Panorama view *
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Microwave
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone(...)
Suites

Our restaurants and bars

ATLAS CAFE & RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Atlas Restaurant brings the world to you with a tantalizing array of flavours. Our seasonal menus inspired by international dishes and local produce incorporate organic or gluten free combinations and healthy choice items to assist our diners wellbeing.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

11:30 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:30 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CLARKE'S BAR

Non contractual photo

Catch up with family or friends in a relaxed atmosphere and enjoy our fine range of wine and beer or relax with a cocktail. A good place for pre dinner drinks or just to unwind after a hard day's work.

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

12,007 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,085 reviews

Average Stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Siddharth G. Couples - 07/04/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location is ideal to walk around to good restaurants and lake. The hotel has a public geothermal spa bath which can be enjoyed during the stay. Even with the lakeside view room, the lake is not available from the bed, its only available from 1 particular corner of the room. The pot in our bathroom had constant leaking water and it looked old with brown water stains due to leaking water. The staff was not warm and welcoming and their response was quite cold.

Dear Siddharth G., Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. Happy to see that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. I do, however, apologies for the issues with the toilet in your bathroom. Our maintenance team has already looked into that. So sorry for the inconvenience it caused you! I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again at some stage in the near future. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

excellent

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Geoff S. Business - 31/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

short but sweet

Dear Geoff S, Thank you for your awesome review! I will make sure to share your feedback with the team as they work hard to deliver a high quality guest experience. We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Nice clean room with excellent bedding!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

M. F. Couples - 28/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Efficient, well-located, helpful staff.

Dear M F., Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We were pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to welcome you back to stay again on your next visit to Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Meh Couples - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Short 2 day stay, hotel well located, staff very friendly and helpful. Shame about the building works by the lake (nothing to do with hotel) but it would have been nice to be told a lake view room was actually a roadworks view room.

Dear MEH, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon! Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Poor Customer Service

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Sydney K. Couples - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival I asked for assistance with our luggage (I am 82). Reception pointed to a trolly and indicated that I must do it myself. I reported that the hand basin in the bathroom did not clear quickly - no one came until the 3rd and final day.

Dear Sydney K., Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside. I am sorry to see that some aspects of the stay did not meet your expectations and for the inconvenience that occurred during your check-in process. Please know that this feedback will be shared with the team to discuss and improve. Again, so sorry for the inconvenience! I trust that you travelled safely and enjoyed your time in Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Bill R. Couples - 24/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always welcoming, friendly staff, also the room we where given was a wonderful experience.

Dear Bill R., Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am really pleased to read such a positive feedback and to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the team members and we hope to welcome you again very soon. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Fantastic stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ngarimu R. Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

From check in to check out the experience was relaxing and stress free. Even with COVID-19 looming over our heads, disinfectant and strategies were in place to help prevent any issues. Of course it comes down to individuals playing their part too, but overall I was happy with my experience. The rooms were spotless, bed and pillow was very comfortable and breakfast was devine, costly, but there was plenty of variety with lots of healthy options. Thank you Novatel.

Dear Ngarimu R., Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Enjoyable stop over

Customer review rating 4.2/5

J A. M. Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everyone helpful. Dining room staff let us sit away from other dinners due to our age (over 70) both for dinner & breakfast.

Dear JA M., Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We were pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to welcome you back to stay again on your next visit to Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Kapai

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ramari T. M. Families - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Accor membership it’s a part of their hotel chains amazing

Dear Ramari Tehemara M., Thank you for your awesome review. Happy to see you enjoyed your stay! I will make sure to share your feedback with the team as they work hard to deliver a high quality guest experience. We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Diane H. Families - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very satisfied with cleanliness of room and staff welcome under the existing virus that is troubling Nz .

Dear Diane H., Thank you for your lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and facilities to your liking. I will make sure to share your feedback with the team as they work hard to deliver a high quality guest experience. We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Rotorua. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Well located but rather tired

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Heather Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I sent two emails prior to our stay requesting a certain room configuration (neither were answered). On arrival we were checked in by a trainee and the duty manager and allocated our room. The room unfortunately featured a queen size bed rather than an extra-large double bed that we had requested. On top of that the room reeked of stale cigarette smoke which drove us to request a room transfer. We were advised that the hotel's description of a extra-large double bed is in fact a queen. We decided to go back to two double beds and were allocated room 527 (if I recall correctly). We had to go back to the old room to repack. Unfortunately the keys for the old room didn't work anymore which necessitated another trip to reception. We then successfully moved into our new room but observed the tired nature of the furniture, e.g. the stain damage on the bedside cabinets. Similarly the duvet cover (which is a sheet) had food stains on it that were hidden by the way it was folded. We also found out that one of the keys for the new room had not been activated, so after the pool we needed to return to reception for this to be sorted. We have stayed a number of times over a number of years and have noticed the gradual removal of amenities. The most recent being the sauna. However because of the Novotel's location and thermal pools, it remains our accommodation of choice when in Rotorua.

Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. However, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for your experience, especially the issues with your room. That is definitely not our standard at all and this will be taken very seriously to make sure we improve on the qualities of our services to all of our valued guests. Please get in touch with me when you plan your next visit so that we can take good care of you. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Nice hotel BUT....

Customer review rating 4.2/5

L. D. Families - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked and paid for a room for 3 people but only got 2 bath towels and 2 pool towels. We asked reception for the missing towels and were told housekeeping would deliver them. They never turned up.

Dear L. D., Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I do apologies for not having enough towels in your room and also for the long wait to check in. I have taken your comments on board. Rest assured corrective action will be taken and I will personally look into this and I will share it with my team so that we can constantly improve. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Good stay in trying times

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Simon F. Couples - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel although very quiet. Only problem was with reception

Dear Simon F., Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the service from our staff at the front desk, and I will address this with the team directly - we pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I do apologies if you felt that we did not deliver on this occasion. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again at some stage in the near future. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Great staff

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Leanne Families - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a few health issues with my mum whilst staying there and the staff were very professional and very helpful

Dear Leanne, Thank you for your awesome review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am so glad to see you received such wonderful service from our staff, especially to assist with your mum. I do hope that she is better now. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Tired corporate anonymous cavern with annoying keycard lifts. Happy helpful staff.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

David M. Couples - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Looks modern, but is getting tired inside. Poor building design, Vast entrance chamber with usually one registration clerk holding the fort. We had pre-paid and this gave problems: 1) hotel gave us a room off the peg which was not as described when booked; this was changed without rancour. 2)Pre booking with breakfast produced a smiling but irritating demand for signatures after a long hike there as they treated us like liars and had to phone front desk which you can hear ringing echoing 250yards away but not picked up. Once past the polite ‘guard’ you pick up a coffee and trudge another 50yards to a table near the hot food. Foods OK and staff will tweak menu to suit guests. Again though, the monumental architecture bites as you find yourself making the 50yds tramp to refill your cup. Rooms clean but tired fittings and shaver socket frazzled and sizzled (Had been for quite a long time I’d guess).

Dear David M., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside. I am really sorry to hear that you've encountered so many issues during your stay with us. It is always disappointing when we failed to provide our usual standard of service to our valued guests and we will learn from your comments to make sure we improve our services. Please get in touch with me when you plan your next visit so that we can take good care of you. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

A great stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

H L. Families - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We left Rydges Hotel in disgust after being given dirty rooms. Novotel staff bent over backwards to help us as we arrived without a booking. Great location too.

Dear H L., Thank you so much for your kind words! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

A nice rest

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Raymond M. Couples - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The receptionist Emma was great. The place was as quiet as a cemetery and the bar did not open until 3pm. Restaurant was great. Our toilet needs a new washer in the toilet cistern as it leaks. Otherwise great.

Dear Raymond M., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay. I do apologies for some aspects of your room not meeting your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. I have asked our Duty Manager to look into your account to make sure it is correct and to contact you if there are any problems. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Average stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tracey Families - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean room, however facilities are dated

Dear Tracey, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay. I do apologies for the bathroom not meeting your expectations. I have asked our maintenance team to look into this as soon as possible. So sorry for the inconvenience it caused you! I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again at some stage in the near future. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Facilities good but service has some issues

Customer review rating 4.2/5

B W. Business - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have an account with Novotel but it seems that is not enough and I had to put my credit card down as security. I had booked a full charge back but when going to breakfast in the morning I am asked to then pay for it there and then. This was similar to an even worse experience in Auckland the week before when the staff made a mistake with my booking and made me wait 30min while they sorted a larger group who arrived after me. I was booked for a full charge back and then again asked to put my CC down and again asked to pay for my breakfast in the breakfast area. This is not a seamless system and frustrating for any customer.

Dear B W., Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see your comments about your account and also your experience in the restaurant. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback on board and will look into it as soon as possible. I want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the hotel, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at our hotel in the future. I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager

Great location in the thermal town

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Friends - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is right by the lake and Eat St. Lovely sized rooms, comfy beds and good food. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your kind review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and facilities to your liking. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel. Sincerely, Edward Judd General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby