ibis Saarbruecken City

ibis Saarbruecken City 2 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 88 reviews

See on a map


Hotel extras

  • calm and central location

  • 24 hour service at the reception

  • Central station and city center within walking distance

  • Optimal connections to the high way

  • Non-smoking hotel/ Free WiFi throughout the hotel

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

ibis Saarbruecken City

Hohenzollernstrasse 41


  • 29 - 39:  ROONSTRASSE

  • BUS 26 - 46:  BUS 26 - 46 GUTENBERGSTRASSE

  • BUS 29 - 39:  BUS 29 - 39 ROONSTRASSE

  • By plane

    LUXEMBOURG FINDEL At 100km / 62.5 miles

  • By plane

    MANNHEIM NEUOSTHEIM At 150km / 93.75 miles

  • By plane

    SAARBRUECKEN ENSHEIM At 15km / 9.38 miles

  • By car

    LUISENBRUECKE At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

  • By car

    WILH.-HEINRICH-BRUECKE At 0.3km / 0.19 miles

  • By train

    SAARBRUECKEN At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By train

    SAARBRUECKEN /SAARBRUCK At 1km / 0.62 miles

GPS:49.23496, 6.984848


  • PEUGEOT SAARTAL GMBH 5 km / 3.11 mi
  • SIEMENS 2 km / 1.24 mi
  • ZF GETRIEBE GMBH 3 km / 1.86 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
Near the property
  • Car park


The El Sombrero restaurant is situated in the same building as the ibis Saarbrücken City Hotel and offers superb Mexican cuisine. The venue is open daily from 5PM and seats up to 100 people and has a beautiful terrace.

Our accommodation(s)

The ibis Saarbrücken City hotel offers 50 contemporary rooms. Our wonderfully comfortable beds ensure that you sleep soundly and enjoy a peaceful night. The rooms also have a functional desk, a flat-screen TV and free WIFI.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
ibis Saarbruecken City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  88 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  425 reviews

Perfect despite Covid

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Gudrun R. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is perfectly located and handling all Covid restrictions very professionally.

Very helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rachel Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I was very grateful to Frau Balabanova for her help and information re various things and it made my stay more comfortable and manageable. Thank you! The room was spacious but the flooring is rather utilitarian even if it is very clean. Perhaps it is due for a refurb. And really appreciated the secure car parking. That's always a bonus.

Dear RACHEL C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Saarbruecken City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice clean hotel, good breakfast, ideal for one night stopover on business trip. Good Mexican restaurant next door yo the hotel

Dear PADDY L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Saarbruecken City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,


Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL


Sehr geehrter Herr K. wir danken Ihnen vielmals für Ihre Anmerkungen zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im ibis Saarbruecken City. Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen

Run down, broken hotel with good customer service

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Owen W. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had to change rooms three times due to noise, broken door locks and lights. Not acceptable. The customer service however was good.

Dear OWEN w., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Saarbruecken City. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Hotel in Saarbrücken

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

cicerotamaral Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

This is the second time I went to this hotel. I really loved the service, the room, and the breakfast. This is a cozy and agreable hotel. Certainlty I will return. In my opinion this is the one's of the best hotel I have ever been in Germany. You should go and try.

Thank you for your nice comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you very soon again in our hotel. Best regards.

Good stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

nooshinboostani Business - TripAdvisor review

A good hotel for a short stay with acceptable service and not so expensive. The breakfast is good and the staff very polite. The hotel is very well situated in the city, near the rail stations, restaurants and shopping areas.

Thank you very much for your nice comment . We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel .

Bad upkeeping of electrical appliances

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

infoT8510UZ Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

The situation of the hotel was perfect. The breakfast was outstanding. Though the remote controll for the air conditioner was nowhere to be found. A whole night of noise and chills without end. Worst night ever.

Thank you for comment . There is a remote control for air condition in each room. In case of problem you can reach 24hours day and night somebody at the reception to tell your problem.

Saarbruecken City

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Florin_Albu Couples - TripAdvisor review

Good hotel for transit and visiting the region (or shopping). In town, you have no visit for more than 2 hours (walking). Good to make a stop on the way to or from Belgium or the Netherlands (or north of France if you do not want to pay the highway).

Thank you for your comment

You know what you get

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Petter L Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

A typical chain hotel, not too far from the railway station with a very friendly and helpful lady in the reception. A good place for a one night stopover with a fine breakfast. The room was ok, but the bathroom and especially the shower cabin was very small. My rating of 4 is based on comparision with other chain hotels.

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

Average place to stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Annonieeem Couples - TripAdvisor review

Little overpriced for what it is. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is great but there is something missing for this value... staff is not to friendly, they could just say hi when crosing reception instead of we always first saying hi...

Saarbrucken disappointing . Difficult Parking.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

colD2658XE Families - TripAdvisor review

No disabled access. No lift from entrance level.Have to carry baggage up a flight of steps to reach old tiny lift. Not recommended or up to normal Ibid standard. Small dog bared from breakfast room. No advance notice of this rule of the management. Embarised being ordered to leave room in front of many other guests. Adjoining Mexican restaurant was excellent with a very welcoming atmosphere.

Business Traveler

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

323csabat Business - TripAdvisor review

poor old hotel with good location for quite expensive price , service was good at reception but you have to climb trairs till you get to the lift wich is narrow and small,the bathroom was well used, The room was smokers room or something , someone smoke there earlier.

Steve from UK

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Steve S Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

On arrival I was checked in, no wifi information was given to me, the room was very cold the heating was not switched on. I stayed again (pre-booked) a couple of days later and arrived at 10.30pm, this time the night porter checked me in and gave me a wifi code, on entering the room again no heating was switch on so the room was very cold. They had over 120 channels on the tv, one of the best I have come across however only one UK channel, BBC World News which I thought was very poor, this channel is on repeat every hour, come on Ibis where was at least BBC 1 & 2. Would I stay again, yes if the price was right as its right in the city centre but please put the heating on when the room is prepaid in the middle of winter. Was expecting the normal Ibis shower, but here it was just the base with a shower curtain around and not a lot of space. Nice big tv and I liked the wooden flooring so more modern than old carpets. A Le Club Accor platinum card member.

Space for improvements

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Gillenberg Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

In the outskirts of the Saarland capital the Mercure remains an ex Novotel in its rooms. Some renovations are going on but the housekeeping should walk along with some more cleaning activities. For one night okay as an stopover. The splash pool in summer time is okay. Noise rooms from the aisle because of not soundproofed doors. Have some wax for the ears with you. AC was not working. No compensation for me as an Platinum Status holder. Construction works need a little more attention to the Clients from the Management when the rooms are located on same Level or with construction works.

Thank you for your comment but you did make a mistake . We are an Ibis Hotel in Saarbrücken City and we don´t have a Swimming pool. You were at Mercure Hotel and made a comment on the wrong Internet side.

Saarbruecken stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Christopher h Couples - TripAdvisor review

Well situated close to the centre, an easy walk to the river and shops. Next door is a very good Mexican Restaurant and close by there are Chinese and Italian restaurants. The ladies on reception were very helpful with all kinds of local info. Altogether a very pleasant stay in a nice Ibis Hotel

Than you for your nice words. We hope to welcome you very soon in our hotel again.

not recommended

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Dream278023 Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

the location . it s about 10 mins walk from the train station , in a quiet residential street . but the location is right next to a church , the 2 days I stayed there , the church bell start to rang at 7 am , and the last one at 10 pm , I think they rang every 15 mins , but was not in the property during the day , so can t tell you . it was very annoying to not be able to sleep after 7a m . I would not recommend this hotel .

If you're not German, don't go!

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

MagnaManNuneaton Couples - TripAdvisor review

Nicely situated Hotel, but with limited parking at the back. No bar or restaurant but there is a separate Mexican Restaurant on the first floor. Doesn't sell Greman food or even German beer! Carlsberg or Mexican beer and Argentinian Beef, Germany has far better produce to offer. As to the Hotel Staff, if you don't speak fluent German, don't bother. My German isn't great but I can get by in service stations, bars, restaurants and normally hotels. The two people we spoke to on reception appeared to deliberately speak very fast so we had no chance of understanding the detail of what they were saying, and they were very reluctant to speak any English. Definitely not suited to the Hotel trade and an embarassement to Germans and Germany.

City center located

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

799leifa Couples - TripAdvisor review

Well located, but a little noisy rooms because of bad isolated doors to the corridor. For us is the hotel perfect in the city so we can take a walk after a long day in our car. A good breakfast makes the good start of the day.

Favourite stopping-off point

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Robert P Couples - TripAdvisor review

On our motoring tours we always book in here as Saarbruecken's old market place is a favourite spot for people-watching while sinking the excellent local Karlsberg pils. The hotel is located in a quiet area just off the motorway and a 15-minute stroll from the city centre, and cheap street parking is available. Rooms and bathrooms are of above-Ibis size, and a quality buffet breakfast is served in a quiet room which is like a tearoom. Staff are very welcoming.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby