Pullman Melbourne on Swanston

Pullman Melbourne on Swanston 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.6/5 16 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • The perfect destination for work and pleasure, in the heart of Melbourne city.

  • With the city's best food and fashion on our doorstep, exploring Melbourne's many delights.

  • 204 spacious guest rooms thoughtfully designed to reflect Melbourne's edgy creativity.

  • The Club Lounge and Private Dining Room 1954 located on Level 15, offering breathtaking views.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Pullman Melbourne on Swanston

195 Swanston Street
3000 MELBOURNE
Australia

  • Skybus:  Southern Cross Station

  • ACLAND STREET:  TRAM 16 ACLAND STREET

  • MELBOURNE UNIVERSITY:  TRAM 3 MELBOURNE UNIVERSITY

  • TOORAK ROAD:  TRAM 8 TOORAK ROAD

  • By plane

    AVALON At 60km / 37.29 miles

  • By plane

    TULLAMARINE At 25.01km / 15.54 miles

  • By boat

    SPIRIT OF TASMANIA At 4.51km / 2.8 miles

  • By boat

    YARRA FERRY TERMINAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By helicopter

    MELBOURNE HELIPAD At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By car

    HUME HIGHWAY At 8.05km / 5 miles

  • By car

    MONASH FREEWAY At 4.2km / 0.31 miles

  • By car

    WESTGATE FREEWAY At 6.44km / 4 miles

  • By train

    FLINDERS STREET At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

  • By train

    SPENCER STREET At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:-37.812876, 144.96526

Companies

  • CARLTON AND UNITED BREWRIES 4.01 km / 2.49 mi
  • PARLIAMENT HOUSE 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • TELSTRA 0 km / 0 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms
Near the property
  • Car park

EVA'S RESTAURANT & BAR

Hidden away from the streets of Melbourne, Eva's restaurant & bar brings you heartfelt home-style cooking and fresh seasonal ingredients, with a modern twist reflective of our Melbourne setting. Open for all day dining and drinks.

Your meetings and events

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting room

From 1 to 26 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Our spacious guest rooms have been thoughtfully designed to reflect Melbourne's edgy creativity. All rooms are equipped with a personalised digital concierge service, convenient inclusions to help you feel at home, and beautiful Aspar Aurora Spa products for a touch of in-room pampering. Looking for some additional stress release? Head to our gym for a solo workout or group fitness, or simply do nothing at all and enjoy some much-needed downtime. Pullman Melbourne on Swanston, a truly Melbourne experience

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Pullman Melbourne on Swanston

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.6/5  16 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  97 reviews

Great location, fabulous gym, awesome Executive Club, great service - I’ll be back!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jennifer Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous!!! Great service - excellent!!!!!!

Dear Jennifer, Yay. Yay and more Yay. We are most appreciative of your wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Well positioned but not so good service

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Joydip G. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The check in was perfect, the rooms are beautiful and best part is Evas kitchen they are fabulous, but not so satisfied with after checkout experience not even got my accor points still not even got the email emailed before request. Checkout was not so organized. Atleast expected water bottles as part of room, Not two small bottles as part of mini bar.

Dear Joydip G., Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Appreciate you highlighting aspects of your stay that you enjoyed and what we can improve on. We thank you again for your review and apologies for the inconveniences experienced. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Great experience that we will come back to

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sarah Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Awesome, comfortable

Dear Sarah, Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to your next visit and we hope it would be as comfortable & enjoyable as your previous visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Good location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Brigid Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

It's a good location, bigger rooms and very quiet. The restaurant and bar is fantastic food and drinks and service was amazing. The hotel design and interior is beautiful. A few things were lacking but not sure if this is because it was a covid hotel and they are just adjusting back to having paying customers. At check in worker was pleasant and did her job fine but gave us no info on hotel or the area, didn't make general conversation just asked for id and card and handed over key pretty much, there was offers on in relation to room service Cleaning she didn't mention and didn't explain where the gym, restaurant were etc. Same happened with checking out, weren't asked if the stay was nice, how the time away was, no conversation entered into apart from going over cost and which card to charge and validating parking. Once again she was polite. She did her job something just seemes lacking for front service of a hotel that charges and advertises itself on its website as a luxury five star hotel that charges over $300 a night regularly in comparison to other five star Accor hotels stayed at. In the room robes were missing, the shower had shampoo, conditioner and body wash ,no other amenities in bathroom. I understand Accor are cutting back on this for environmental reasons and this is a great initiative just a small bar of soap at the sink to use is always handy instead of having to go to the shower for body wash. I also forgot to pack moisturizer so I noticed not having those extra amenities that are normally there but I understand if they don't do this any more it just felt as though the room hadn't been fully made up between this and missing robes and I'm use to extra pillows in the cupboard but there weren't any. At night we called and asked for robes and extra pillows. The bedding doesn't seem very quality the blanket felt like a thin sheet and the pillows were pretty sad looking. The extra ones they bought up were much higher quality so don't know what was happening there why they were on the bed in the first place. The restaurant and bar staff were amazing they provided great service. Quality and standard of food and drinks was really really great! Loved eating there for breakfast both days and drink selection was good. Overall the stay was fine nothing really bad but also nothing really great. I only really stay with Accor now because I love the perks of the gold membership and I felt for a 5 star Pullman I had higher expectations, I feel I get a better overall stay from the much cheaper ibis Styles near Melbourne central or the comparitively priced movenpick. With my membership I'm generally always offered late check outs when I check in, a room upgrade and have always had a treat left in the room (which I understand are all extras that I've been lucky to have and shouldn't expect and aren't always possible to do) it's just my friend who stayed and doesn't pay for a membership had previously received all this thing at an Accor hotels the week prior in Adelaide without a paid membership.So while the stay was pleasant I don't think the experience is worth the money charged for me personally because I've had a better experience at other Accor hotels in the city . Once again I'm not left with a bad experience from my stay. I fully understand after being a covid hotel for so long and going back to having the general public stay it would be a pretty hard transition and also I understand the ongoing effects covid is having everywhere on staffing and general running of lots of businesses. The stay was overall pleasant just less the I would expects from a Pullman hotel, an Accor hotels, an Accor plus member experience and a five start hotel. Thanks

Dear Brigid, Many thanks for recently staying with us & for providing a great, lengthy insight into a few aspects of your stay, I will personally be discussing these today with our team and appreciate all your constructive feedback. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

A G. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

very central location and the 15th floor Lounge experience was excellent

Dear A G, Thank you so very much for staying with us. We truly appreciate your kind words on our central location and couldn't be happier to read that you had an excellent experience at our Club Lounge on Level 15. I will be sure to share to your compliments to Aldo, our Club Lounge Manager and his team. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Well located, very comfortable

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Az Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location on Swanston Street almost on Bourke St Mall. Very central to trams in all directions and a great place to start on foot to explore the city. Clean and well appointed hotel room, friendly and attentive staff.

Dear AZ, Thank you for recently staying & providing feedback, this will be discussed with the relevant teams so we may improve both our service / product for our guests in the future. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Well Located, Great Stays !!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gavin U. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is nicely refurbished and clean and most of the stay are super friendly. The Accor Club is amazing including the team (Aldo & Ralph) in the mornings and evenings with fantastic canopies and breakfasts.

Dear Gavin U., Thank you for your great review and for your continuous patronage. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Aldo & Ralph in the Club Lounge. Enjoy your holiday and we look forward to see you again upon your return. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Melbourne Trip

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Ed v TripAdvisor review

Awesome stay in Pullman Hotel in Melbourne Great central location. We loved going to the markets in the free trams and go shopping in the nearby shopping centres, We went with friends, who also loved Melbourne

Dear Ed v, Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. We look forward to see you again for another awesome stay on your next Melbourne-Trip. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Maria Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Dear Maria, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Melbourne on Swanston. So happy that you found our reception to be friendly and helpful, and that you made the most of our central location. We hope to see you again soon for another enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David T. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

No issues at all, 2 bits of feed back. It would be nice to see heated towel rails for guests staying multiple nights fresh towels wouldn’t be required each day. It would be great to have biscuits in the room for those of us who love a cup of tea.

Dear David T., Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive feedback and suggestion. They have been passed on to our Management for their perusal. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Yuki Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

That was for my son birthday stay , and he were so happy to seen he got a birthday card and chocolate for him , thank you

Dear Yuki, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us as part of your son's birthday. I am glad that he enjoyed the card & chocolates from us. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Excellent spot, right in the city

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Leanne M TripAdvisor review

We loved it here. Aldo was amazing and the lounge was the best breakfast we've seen. Loved having Moet and Chandon for brekky. Loved the Chef's delights and loved the staff. Not sure about no spirits, but having a cocktail of the day was great. Staff in the hotel are brilliant. I could have purchased a rollaway for the price per night charged. This could be reviewed, but won't spoil the beautiful upgrade. Very nice new decor. We will be back

Dear Leanne M. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after staying with us recently. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time with us. Truly appreciate your kind words on Aldo, and the service extended by our staff. I will be sure to share this compliments to them. We thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Bad customer service, unclear, staff was not at all helpful

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

JBCM26360 Business - TripAdvisor review

They're having issue with their booking system but blamed the customer instead and demanded a payment for the room that we cancelled even after we give all the proof and explanation of the room cancelation. One of the staff told me that maybe "i was just too tired" while I called and tried to solve the issue. Not helpful and disrespectful. Breakfast staff was also not professional and unhelpful where they missed half of the stuff that was ordered.

Dear JBCM26360, Thank you for recently staying & providing feedback, this will be discussed with the relevant teams so we may improve both our service / product for our guests in the future. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant

Great location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

YvonneC422 TripAdvisor review

I booked this hotel through the main Accor site & there were issues booking so finally got a confirmation the 2nd time I tried to book. Our room wasn't ready when I arrived so I was a bit disappointed about that as I had been travelling early that morning. The room should have been ready to check in @ 2pm but it was after 3.30pm before I got a key. I didn't get an explanation about why the room wasn't ready but Mary @ the front desk was having some kind of coded conversation with housekeeping which I found a bit rude! However this was the only issue i had with the staff as everyone else was very helpful & the staff @ the guest services desk were do informative & helpful every time we needed help. The room itself was great, beds were very comfortable. The only criticism i have is the bathroom was small & very impractical with no where to hang your towels. The hotel has an great location & it is definitely a good choice for a visit to Melbourne.

Dear YvonneC422, Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your experience. Please allow me to apologize for the experience you encountered and for the delay in having your room ready for you on arrival. Rest assured that I have shared your concern to our Front Office Manager for his urgent attention. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you again for providing a review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Very good stay - great service by a charming team.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Andy-Asia2000 TripAdvisor review

I loved my stay at this hotel, so much so that I am planning to come back soon. The ladies of the executive lounge are just absolutely superb, they reminded me of business class experience on Singapore airlines. Thank you Diana, Devyani and Yuki for making my stay so comfortable. The men of the hotel are quite charming and always ready to help, thank you Kevin, Chad and David. Francia and Mira thank you for making the check - in experience effortless. I can't wait to see you all again soon.

Dear Andy-Asia2000, Thank you very much for once again sharing your positive experience on the Tripadvisor forum. It's greatly appreciated by us all. Rest assured that I have personally shared your words of encouragement to the relevant team members, whom were most grateful. We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne for another great stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Wrong Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Toohatd TripAdvisor review

I thought I had booked a room at the Pullman as I know it to be, which is opposite the MCG. I don't think the name highlights enough that there are multiple Pullmans in Melbourne. I turned up to the Pullman only to find out we were booked in at the Swanston Street hotel. This was a little frustrating and would have been a lot worse if the location was imperative. We were running a little late for dinner once we got to the hotel and was a bit flabbergasted that there is no parking so to speak other than valet parking for $60 or self parking in an allocated carpark quite a few blocks away for $20. We chose to park our own car however didn't receive the docket required at checkout to receive the discounted fee of $20.00. My husband had to go back to the hotel to get this in order to avoid an $80 parking fee. This made us late to an appointment. The parking is a real issue !!

Dear Toohatd, Thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry that your reservation was made for the incorrect Pullman Hotel. There are 3 Pullman Hotels in Melbourne. We certainly are being transparent with the fact that we do not have on-site parking. I am sorry that our receptionist didn't advise you on departure about the self-parking fee to be settled at reception and for us to provide you with a ticket to exit the carpark. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and apologies for the inconveniences experienced. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Perfedt Position

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

sharonM719 TripAdvisor review

Great hotel but unfortunately we were woken around 7am to construction work nextdoor to our room After 45 minutes of the banging we notified the front desk they quickly stopped the work but it was then hard to fall back to sleep. The work again started at 9;30am so l wasnt very happy!

Dear sharonM719, Please allow me to apologize for the disturbances experienced during your stay with us recently. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a better experience. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Great value CBD Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Goldfinger100 TripAdvisor review

Chose this place as it would be easy to use the trams to get to concert we were in Melbourne for. Booking process was easy and they provided online check in before we got there. We were driving there so the only issue I had was that we couldnt get to the hotel out front as it was in Swanston street where the trams and pedestrians have right of way and not cars so I had to ring reception to find out where the parking was. It was back up in Russell street and then we walked down with our bags. Once we got there the check in process was efficient and easy and when we went up to our room we found it to be clean, nice, great clean bathroom and comfy bed. Very quiet in room so soundproofing was good as well. Nice size room with a couch and small coffee table near the window. Nothing to complain about and the happy hour downstairs in the restaurant weas great value as well, We had dinner there as well , the meals were certainly not big but were good. Breakfast was good in the morning which was continental and a la carte so we had good choice. again great meals and service was good. Check out was easy, and then we had the trek up hill to the car park which was the only down side of the whole experience. for those who dont have a car, great central CBD location with great rooms and service

Dear Goldfinger100, Thank you for your detailed feedback after staying with us recently. I am sorry to read that we didn't tick all the boxes but we appreciate your compliments and constructive feedback on aspects of your stay that we can improve on. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Satisfied

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

admin226 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at the weekend just gone & enjoyed the property. The only problem we had was the restaurant wasnt well set up for breakfast. The selection was adequate not fantastic. The pricing wasn't good value in my opinion. You paid for either a buffet brekkie or for a cooked brekkie & if you wanted some of each then you were billed for 2 brekkies. Other than that it was great on every front.

Dear admin226, Thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry to read that your overall enjoyment was negatively impacted by your breakfast experience. Our breakfast is at $35.00/ head and that includes the continental buffet and 1 cooked item from the menu. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another satisfactory stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Superb

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

sean290 Business - TripAdvisor review

I am fortunate to stay in quite a few hotels both in Australia and OS for business. I very rarely provide feedback however my stay here a couple of weeks ago was simply exceptional. I had not been at the property since the renovation and it was well appointed. Aldo and Diana made me feel incredibly welcome and at home. They took care of everything and I relaxed immediately after arriving. I had not felt that feeling in some time.

Dear sean290, We are most grateful and appreciative of your time in providing a review after your recent stay with us. We couldn't be happier to read that our team member Aldo and Diana were able to made you feel incredibly welcomes and at home. I will be sure to pass on words of encouragement to them and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby