Hotel - Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Sofitel Hotel Sofitel Hotel

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel

4.5/5 3,125 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Public indoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Italian
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Overnight shoe shine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Currency exchange
    • Beauty salon
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Hammam (Paying)
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
  • Golf course 18 holes  (Nearby)
  • Boat excursions

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24h
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24h

Business services

  • 20 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

ALLIANZ0.4 km / 0.25 mi ASTRA ZENECA18.8 km / 11.68 mi BANK JULIUS BAER0.3 km / 0.19 mi DELOITTE0.6 km / 0.37 mi ENGEL & VOELKERS0.3 km / 0.19 mi GOOGLE0.8 km / 0.5 mi HAMBURG MANNHEIMER7.2 km / 4.47 mi KUEHNE & NAGEL1.6 km / 0.99 mi SAP1.6 km / 0.99 mi UNILEVER DT. GMBH1.3 km / 0.81 mi
AP MOELLER MAERSK1.3 km / 0.81 mi AXELSPRINGER VERLAG1 km / 0.62 mi BEIERSDORF AG5.7 km / 3.54 mi DEUTSCHE BANK0.1 km / 0.06 mi FRESHFIELDS0.1 km / 0.06 mi GRUNER UND JAHR1 km / 0.62 mi HAPAG LLYOD1 km / 0.62 mi OTTO VERSAND12 km / 7.46 mi TCHIBO10 km / 6.21 mi USB0.8 km / 0.5 mi

Congress centre

HAMBURG MESSE UND CONGRESS1 km / 0.62 mi

Exhibition and convention centre

FAIR AND EXHIBITION2.5 km / 1.55 mi

Your meetings and events

The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall hotel is the ideal hotel for your conferences, meetings or Christmas celebrations in Hamburg, with space for up to 400 guests. Our meeting room provides the perfect setting for small gatherings of up to 10 people.Our 19 meeting rooms in Hamburg feature natural light, air-conditioning, the latest conference technology and WIFI, and can be arranged to suit your needs. These rooms combine comfort with functionality and a modern design.A business center is at your disposal and your Sofitel Magnifique Meetings concierge is on hand to help plan and host meals, breaks and leisure activities for meetings, celebrations, seminars and conferences in Hamburg - all tailored to your requirements.

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
SAAL 3 24 m2 3 m 16 12 12 12 10
SAAL 4 24 m2 3 m 16 12 12 12 10
SAAL 5 24 m2 3 m 16 12 12 12 10
SAAL 6 24 m2 3 m 16 12 12 12 10
SAAL-11 24 m2 3 m 16 12 0 12 10
SAAL-12 24 m2 3 m 16 12 0 12 10
SAAL-13 24 m2 3 m 16 12 0 12 10
SAAL-14 24 m2 3 m 16 12 0 12 10
SAAL-19 32 m2 3 m 10 0 0 0 0
SAAL 7 33 m2 3 m 30 13 12 15 20
SAAL 8 33 m2 3 m 30 13 12 15 20
SAAL 9 33 m2 3 m 30 13 12 15 20
SAAL-10 33 m2 3 m 30 13 0 15 20
SAAL-15 33 m2 3 m 30 13 0 15 20
SAAL-16 33 m2 3 m 30 13 0 15 20
SAAL-17 33 m2 3 m 30 13 0 15 20
SAAL-18 33 m2 3 m 30 13 0 15 20
SAAL 1 216 m2 4 m 150 35 100 100 120
SAAL 2 216 m2 4 m 170 45 50 110 140
SAAL 1 + 2 433 m2 4 m 400 80 220 220 260
    • Screen
    • Flipchart
    • Soundproof
    • Podium
    • Lectern
    • Day light
    • Slide projector
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector
    • Airconditioned meeting room
    • WIFI access
    • Simultaneous interpreting

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

The 241 spacious rooms, from Classic to Luxury Suites, have magnificent marble bathrooms, soft dressing gowns, WIFI and 24-hour room service. Some rooms in this first-class accommodation in the center of Hamburg offer views of the canal.

  • 241 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 7 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Turn down service
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • Cordless telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • WIFI in your room
    • Phone with 2 handsets in room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.5/5 ALL Rating 6,730 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,125 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2019
Raul E. Business - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« More than expected »

Lovely location and amazing room and spa

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. E., Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Danny C. Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« everything »

nice hotel, very clean and very good breakfast!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear danny c., Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Many of our guests appreciate the large and fresh selection of different delicacies on our breakfast buffet and we are very happy that you enjoyed them too. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg. We sincerely invite you to follow the news around the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Anonymous Couples - 12/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Met our expectations of a good business hotel »

Overall good experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Eleanor J. Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Lovely, relaxing, quiet stay »

The hotel was lovely, very clean, welcoming, quiet and a relaxing environment. Rooms very quiet! The spa was amazing! We opted for room only and there was plenty of options nearby for breakfast. Brilliantly connected with many transport options within one minute walk. Would definitely return!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Eleanor J., Thank you so much for the great review of our Hotel. We are glad to hear, that you have been impressed by the cleanliness of your room as well as the facilities in our hotel. Our housekeeping team works with passion to contribute to a perfect stay for our guests. We will forward the compliments to the team. For us there is no greater Feedback, than hearing that our guest leave the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall amazed and satisfied. We hope we can welcome you very soon in our hotel again and would like to invite you to follow us on Facebook or Instagram to stay tuned about the latest news from our hotel. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

T. Couples - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Charming room over the water »

Overall great experience, well located in the hart of Hamburg, allowing easy discovery of the touristic places and districts. Close to U and S Bahn. Main option of restaurants and bakeries in the surrounding allowing us to taste Hamburg delicacy. Good services (clean room, welcome reception, umbrellas,...)

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear T., Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Bill Couples - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Excellent hotel, nice staff, excellent location »

This was a return visit because we'd always been very pleased with our previous stays. This visit was just as good.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Bill, Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

Tom Business - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Super evening and night »

Altijd super in sofitel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Geachte Tom Bedankt voor je positieve feedback We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Uys M. Business - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Good, not excellent »

Good, however I was unable to use the in room WiFi internet which is essential for business travel. Despite several contacts with front desk to ask for help it was not resolved. The hotel IT gentleman never arrived. My pc has no issues elsewhere accessing hotel WiFi login portals. I stay in hotels upwards of 100 days per year

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Uys M., thank you so much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations at your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. This is definitely not our standard and we hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Graeme J. Business - 02/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Fantastic service and very cool room »

Excellent service from the minute I walked in all the way to breakfast the next day.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Graeme J., Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

M. Business - 29/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Very nice time »

Nice time due to comfortable bedroom & Swimming pool, Hammam, sona

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. M., Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our main focus points regarding our room amenities is indeed the bed and bedding set. That’s why we are very happy about the fact that our exclusive MyBed concept turned your night to magnificent sleeping experience. We are also happy to hear that your experience with our Seagull Spa area was marvellous. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Ma… Business - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Overall nice hotel but the room was not what I expected »

Especially the SPA is lovely but the rooms are rather old and not what I expect from a 5 star hotel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ma…, thank you so much for your positive review regarding our Spa. Whether in the steam bath, the sauna, our fitness area or our canyon pool, our guests love staying at the Seagull Spa and we are very happy to hear that you as well had a great time during your visit. In order to guarantee our guest the perfect stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, there is nothing more important for our than your direct feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay hasn’t completely met your expectations. We hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Patrick Business - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Very good stay »

I enjoyed the breakfast and the pool area

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Many of our guests appreciate the large and fresh selection of different delicacies on our breakfast buffet and we are very happy that you enjoyed them too. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Seagull Spa area. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg. We sincerely invite you to follow the news around the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Gorazd Solo - 24/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Overall satisfactory, but not great. »

My two day stay was pleasant and the quality of everything was quite high. I guess the athmospere was a bit soless and the staff a bit robotic. Great spa.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gorazd, thank you so much for your positive review as well as your feedback regarding your experience with our staff. We are constantly working on improving ourselves and therefor gratefully accept your feedback. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing spa area to the fullest. We hope we can welcome you again very soon in our hotel and turn your pleasent stay into an unforgettable one. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Mrs D. I. Business - 23/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Satisfied after the change of my room »

When I arrived at 20:30, I discovered that my room had no bath and there was no large duvet/cover on my bed (only the 2 small ones). I requested to have another room with a bath and a large duvet, at the very beginning, it has been rejected because the hotel was fully booked. But, I insisted and finally I got another room with a large duvet. It's not the first time that I have the kind of issues, in December, I got the same problem with the duvet.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. I., Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you once again decided to stay with us. At the same time, we are sorry that we could not meet your expectations this time. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your room. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We are excited to welcome you back to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall soon. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

C. S. Business - 22/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Comfortable »

Quick check in and check out, extremely helpful staff, neat and tidy rooms, good service.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. S., Thank you very much for your review. Because we are constantly trying to provide the best service possible to all of our guests, we are more than happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon again! Best regards Your Sofitel Hotel Team

Anonymous Business - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Had a comfortable stay as always. »

I spent 2 Nights on Business. Unfortunately the Spa Area was closed during the days I was there.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear guest, Thannk you very much for your positve review. We are sorry to read that you were not able to use our spa area. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Emil Friends - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« It was fine »

It's a fine hotel and great spa with good location in Hamborg. But had expected more of a 5 star hotel. Broken lamp cover on bathroom Cross machine in exercise room out of order Forgot to put towels in my room after cleaning

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Emil, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Seagull Spa area as well as the central location. It’s indeed one of our great perks of staying in the middle of the city and being able to enjoy a quite stay by the water at the same time. Moreover, our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your room. Please be assured that this is not up to our standard and we will take the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again! We hope we can welcome you very soon in our hotel. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Anonymous Couples - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« very good as expected »

Service has been good as allways. We are your frequent guests.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

Kurt S. Couples - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« A night´at sofitel »

As allways we had a wonderfull stay at Sofitel Am Alter Wall. T

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. S., Thank you very much for your positive review. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Anonymous Business - 17/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleasant, really nice hotel and staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that we could meet your expectations and turned your stay with us into an unforgettable experience. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hamburg. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
ALL - Accor Live Limitless
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into ALL - Accor Live Limitless points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates