Sofitel Queenstown - Hotel & Spa Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.7/5 4,717 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
See on a map
+ 22 Services

Hotel extras

  • ALLSAFE, Bureau Veritas certification

  • Central location in town

  • Award-winning day Spa

  • 3 stylish meeting spaces

  • Luxury done the French Way

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Sofitel Queenstown - Hotel & Spa

8 Duke Street
PO Box 1797
9300 queenstown
new zealand

Fax: (+64)3/4500046

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • Intercity Coachlines:  ZQN Terminal

  • State Highway 6: 

  • By plane

    QUEENSTOWN AIRPORT At 7km / 4.35 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    Queenstouw Int. and Dom. Airport At 7km / 4.35 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS:-45.031318, 168.658901

Congress centre

  • Convention Centre 15.0 km / 9.32 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

Your meetings and events

Experience the art de recevoir in each magnifique event at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Sofitels Inspired Meetings Concierge is dedicated to creating unforgettable moments leaving your delegates or guests with a lasting impression.Meeting and event venues set the stage for success with sophisticated atmosphere and the latest technology. Choose from the Boardroom, The Ambassador Room or the La Galerie for traditional and luxurious venues hosting groups of 10 to 118 persons.Alternatively The Cellar is a unique option for boutique meetings interactive wine tastings and private dining welcoming up to 16 guests for a refined soiree or stylish gathering.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 90 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Flipchart

  • Indoor and Outdoor facilities

  • Videoconferencing

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Lectern

  • WIFI access

  • Slide projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Elegantly and luxuriously designed, all rooms feature a Sofitel MyBed, double spa bath, separate rain shower, surround sound entertainment system, espresso machine, under floor heating, WiFi access and special French bathroom amenities.

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Queenstown - Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.7/5

4,717 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

1,883 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Stace Couples - 11/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely experience. We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing I would say is the breakfast didn’t have many options and you have to pay for coffee when you pay 30 dollars a day for breakfast which was basically just cereal and fruit. Otherwise we had a great stay and the room was really nice.

Good location. Handy to everything.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Glennis Couples - 07/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Just a short break of two nights but wished we could have stayed longer.

We’ll located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mr L. P. Families - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

As Platinum members we were upgraded to Remarkable view room. We’ll appointed and lovely bathrooms. For remaining 3 nights we were upgraded to suite. Very pleased with that. Helpful concierge and friendly restaurant staff.

Perfect

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Climber534176 05/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

Great Hotel to stay as I have stayed in Hotels around the world this Sofitel is up with the very best , the staff are excellent nothing is a problem to any of them location is excellent as in the heart of Queenstown food is excellent beds excellent, I would fully recommend this Hotel to anyone.

A good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Dougal Couples - 28/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is well located and provides good service

“Perfectly located”, “fantastic staff”

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gigi Couples - 26/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A beautiful stay. Just perfect.

Nice stay before and after Routeburn Track

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kelly Couples - 24/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed the night before and after our hike on the Routeburn Track. The hotel provided us with breakfast boxes early on the morning of our departure since we had to leave before the restaurant opened. They stored our luggage while on the track and it was waiting in our room when we checked in after. The hotel is very well situated, close to all the shops and restaurants, and 1 min away from the Ultimate Hikes. Overall a great stay, nice room and very helpfull staff.

Very accommodating

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Karen Solo - 20/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. They were all very accommodating Love staying at the Sofitel in Queenstown. Thank you

Absolutely perfect

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Helen S. Couples - 19/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Right from our arrival & meeting Jeremy I have to commend you all for your extremely professional service. Everything down to the smallest detail is taken care of.Thankyou all.Merry Xmas. Regards Helen & Brian

Well located great staff

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Juliet H. Couples - 18/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous hotel, staff were amazing, food in restaurant was excellent. Looked after us so well. Rooms are lovely, the only downside was the beds were very soft and felt worn out and we both left with very bad backs, on our 3rd night my husband was contemplating sleeping on the floor. It did unfortunately ruin the weekend a bit.

Bonjour Mrs Hull, We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent Sofitel Queenstown stay. It was lovely to learn that our wonderful ambassadors truly blew you away with their fine hospitality. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the entire team. I was sorry to read that the bed did not meet your expectations and it has caused some back pain for you and your husband. I will certainly pass this feedback onto our housekeeping team for further investigation. If you would like to share this feedback further, please feel free to contact myself directly. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Well Located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 13/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely 3 nights in a beautiful part of NZ.

Bonjour Mr. M., Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent Sofitel Queenstown experience. I was delighted to read that you had a lovely stay in beautiful Queenstown. I can see from your feedback however, that you found the quality of food and beverages not satisfactory. If you had the opportunity to provide more feedback regarding this I would truly appreciate your comments. Should you wish to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. I hope to welcome you back to Sofitel upon your next venture to Queenstown. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Genevieve Q. Couples - 12/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked to stay for 2 nights, secured our upgraded room which was very well appointed. Fabulous staff and convenient location. Walking distance to everything and very central.

Bonjour Ms Genevieve Q., Thank you for leaving such positive feedback after your recent stay at Sofitel Queenstown. From our central location enabling you to enjoy our beautiful town right on your doorstep to our friendly ambassadors and not to forget your beautifully appointed guest room. I will be sure to take the opportunity to share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel upon your next Queenstown adventure. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

S K. Families - 06/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved every minute. The staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We really enjoyed our time at the Sofitel.

Bonjour Mrs. Karapeeva, Thank you so much for your truly kind feedback regarding your recent Sofitel Queenstown experience. I will be sure to take the opportunity to share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel upon your next Queenstown adventure. Kind Regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Awesome Staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rikki T. Business - 05/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay with the staff going that extra mile so that your stay was relaxing and enjoyable can't recommend them enough so please just go and find out for yourself you wont be disappointed. The Breakfast dining room temp manager Ralph was great made each day with time to chat and explain what was available to do in the area and ask us how we were

Bonjour Mr. T., Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent Sofitel Queenstown experience. It was so nice to know that you had truly relaxing time in our beautiful town. I am thrilled to hear that Ralph was amazing throughout your stay. He is a real asset to our team and I will share your kind comments with him. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Lovely stay; hotel not fully up to speed yet

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John A. M. Couples - 02/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We know the hotel and know that it has an excellent location. Receptionists not up to full speed, but really pleasant and professional. Our junior suite was delightful, as was the welcome platter. The hotel was quite quiet, as expected, except when children were playing on the piano! Breakfast staff delightful and very helpful. We booked into the restaurant (1789) for our anniversary. However, the menu advertised everywhere was not available and we were shown a much restricted 'Level 2 menu' when we sat down. We were so disappointed that we apologised and left to eat elsewhere. (Even though my Accor Plus card would have given us a 50% discount!) Queenstown has far too many restaurants to have to be disappointed with your meal! Sofitel Auckland and Sofitel Wellington are doing much better with their hotel restaurants. I know that they are in a different situation, but the restaurant in Sofitel Queenstown is nicely appointed, but an average menu. Hope it improves!

Bonjour Mr. Hillock, Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay here at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. I can see that you truly enjoyed our central location and your beautifully appointed Junior Suite. However, I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the restaurant menu. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of not having all the products available during your stay. Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the senior management. I am pleased to know that our ambassadors were professional and helpful. We definitely take pride in our staff and your comments will be passed on to them as well. If you had the opportunity, please feel free to contact myself directly to share any further feedback that you may have. Thank you once again and I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Always enjoy Sofitel!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Leigh E. Couples - 02/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed 4nights. Enjoyed the mini break away. The room was the usual good standard. Really enjoy the canapés & wine from 5-7pm option & dinner in the restaurant was lovely. Breakfast was great - flexible to get what I wanted in gluten free. The only complaint which is why I didn’t give 10 is the room service ordering - I requested ‘GLUTEN FREE - Coeliac’, in caps on order form and was served ceasaer salad with croutons with the waitress even saying to my husband that the “salad is definitely gluten free, but I will check the wedges” as she delivered it to our room. When I spotted the croutons we returned it to the kitchen & they replaced it along with the wedges (switched out for fries) as they clearly also contained gluten. This mistake is not what I expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as Sofitel. The staff were very apologetic, but had I not questioned things, especially the wedges (which could have easily been mistakenly eaten) I would have ended up incredibly sick. Overall really happy but the food error was a scary experience.

Bonjour Ms Efferion, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. First of all, please accept my sincere apologies for the mistake with your room service order. This should have never happened and I have passed your feedback onto our Culinary team, who are looking into this issue. I can see however, that you did enjoy the delicious breakfast served each day at our Left Bank Bistro as well as the dinner. I was delighted to read that our front office ambassador was very professional and I will make sure to pass your comments. If you would like to share any further information regarding your recent stay, please feel free to contact myself directly. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Fantastic Location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sandra Couples - 01/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing experience, fantastic professional welcoming staff, with relaxing comfortable luxurious rooms

Bonjour Mrs. K., Thank you so much for your truly kind review, I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. I can see from your comments that our wonderful ambassadors truly blew you away with their fine hospitality. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Very enjoyable stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Ziggy229 29/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

We enjoyed an excellent free upgrade to a suite with great views of the Remarkables, lake and town from our luxurious room. Ralph and his friendly team made sure we were well looked after in the restaurant and lounge. The chateaubriand is a must for everyone’s bucket list!

Bonjour / Tena Koe Ziggy229, Sincerest thanks for your kind feedback and delighted that the team took great care of you! Will also pass your feedback onto Ralph! We look forward to having you back with us again to try the Chateaubriand! Cordialement / Naku noe, na Jeremy Samuels - General Manager Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Great spacious rooms

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kerry K. Friends - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very comfortable

Bonjour Kerry K., Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent Sofitel Queenstown stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Aneta Buda Assistant Manager

Relaxing break

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

GeoffT593 09/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

It was a wonderful break away, thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. The team made the difference - nothing was a problem! Ralph was pleased to see us again and was very good at taking care of us. The breakfast team was awesome, attentive, helpful and cheerful! Reception was a dream, taking care of all our needs - even arranging for us to have a continental breakfast box when we left super early on a trip. The thoughtful touches were appreciated, like our case being taken to our room a lovely welcome snack and drink! Everyone was very pleasant and made us feel very special. My wife enjoyed the Spa visit and our room was also amazing! It was my wife's birthday and she can't stop raving about how good the trip was - we can't wait to be back! Thank you all! Geoff & Ariana

Bonjour / Tena Korua Geoff and Ariana, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read that the team took such great care of you and pleased to see Ralph recognised. Wonderful to hear Ariana enjoyed her birthday celebrations - we look forward to having you both back with us again soon! Cordialement / Naku noe, na Jeremy Samuels - General Manager Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby