Hotel - Novotel Wien City
Novotel Hotel Novotel Hotel

Novotel Wien City Hotel

4.0/5 1,777 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Polish
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Cash machine (Nearby)
    • Currency exchange
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Bicycles rental  (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • Web Corner on a Mac
See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

CAP GEMINI1.9 km / 1.18 mi OMV1.9 km / 1.18 mi RAIFFEISEN1.7 km / 1.06 mi SIEMENS2.9 km / 1.8 mi
IBM1.3 km / 0.81 mi OPEC1.3 km / 0.81 mi SAP1.9 km / 1.18 mi UNIQA0.1 km / 0.06 mi

Exhibition centre

WIEN MESSE4 km / 2.49 mi

Our rooms

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

  • 124 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 4 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Web TV
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Fax machine
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.4/5 ALL Rating 1,373 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Wien City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,777 reviews
giannis159753 26/01/2020 TripAdvisor review
« Poor experience »

I stayed at this hotel Jan. 2020 (couple). I am a huge fan of accor hotels and I almost always choose this hospitality company. I am a GOLD member of accor hotels. My stay was not what I was expecting. I did not have an upgrade or a privileged room but this is not the case. I was not happy with the overall experience. Cleaning service was only for getting the rubbish and nothing more, not even refill the 3 coffee capsules. I wouldn’t be satisfied even without being a gold member. The service is not comparable with other hotels at this group that I have visited in other counties. The welcome-drink/voucher for the bar says that you cannot get champagne or cocktails but when you go to the bar you can just get a glass of wine or a beer.

ilir32020 Family - 05/01/2020 TripAdvisor review
« A good hotel in the center of Vienna »

The hotel is good for both business and family trips. However, there was a queue to get into the restaurant for breakfast. Otherwise, things were fine. The rooms were clean and warm, the breakfast very good and the service also good.

martinsD7271QX Family - 02/01/2020 TripAdvisor review
« Good location, nice clean rooms, über-busy breakfast buffet »

+ Great location, nice clean rooms, superfriendly attentive staff at the breakfast buffet! - No replenishing of toiletries when room was cleaned, had to write a note to ask for more shampoo. Only tea in room, no coffee, first time I see that at a Novotel. Very busy breakfast buffet, restaurant seems to small for the hotel, had to wait at least 10 min every morning for a table.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your detailed feedback with us and for being our guest at Novotel Wien City. First of all, we hope you had a wonderful stay in Vienna and at our hotel. We appreciate all kinds of comments and suggestions for improvement and I will definitely share them with my colleagues. We are happy, that our location, the rooms and the restaurant team made your stay more enjoyable. Nevertheless, let me express my sincere apologies for any inconvenience which affected your stay negatively. It shouldn't occur that our guests have to take care for themselves to replenish the toiletries. I will definitely forward this experience to our housekeeping team. In terms of the coffee, we don't offer it in every category. But we are sorry, if this wasn't communicated properly. Concerning the waiting times at the breakfast, we would like to apologize if your daily planning has been affected by it. Unfortunately our restaurant is rather small due to the building structure. There will be a restructuring of the public sector, but unfortunately there are no concrete plans yet. Anyway, we hope that the positive aspects outweigh and that we will get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Couples - 05/12/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Short break »

This was our first time in Vienna but not the first time using Novotel properties,I was very disappointed with the standard when comparing to the Novotel Alster Hamburg which is totally 4* I found having to use the WC in a vacant room due to refurb not acceptable due to the fact other guest just walked in, the cleanliness was bad due to the gents one getting a wet floor which you stood in.No coffee in the room till requested and to top it paper cups to drink from.I will give credit to Marcus the barman he was very attentive gave great customer service and tips for our stay. As I stated earlier having stayed at Novotel Alster Hamburg many times to compare the Wein City did not reach the 4* in my opinion.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and your impressions about your stay with us and for being our guest at Novotel Wien City. First of all, we hope you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel eventhough we possibly didn't fulfill your expectations. We appreciate all kinds of comments and suggestions for improvement and I will definitely share your kind words with our restaurant team. in terms of the public sanitary facilities we would like to inform you that we had a fire in our cellar which concerned the toilet and our sauna. Therefore this area is under construction and the toilets are now on the first floor. Unfortunately, this is a necessary exceptional situation until the construction work is completed. We are sorry if this has reduced your comfort. Regarding the amenities in the room, we do not serve coffee in every category, but if the coffee was forgotten, let me express my sincere apologies. I will forward your experience to our housekeeping team. Unfortunately, there can be minor errors on days with many arrivals and departures, as these days are very challenging for our team. However, we are aware that this is not an appropriate excuse. If you want to share any further suggestions for improvement with us, we would be thankful, if you write us an e-mail. Anyway, we hope that you took some positive impressions from your stay with you and that we will get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Family - 17/11/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Excellent hotel »

We had a lovely stay with our family at the Novotel Wien City. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient and our rooms were very clean and furnished in the usual modern Novotel style (they looked like they had been recently renovated). The breakfast selection was amazing and so was the quality of the food. The hotel is located a 10-minute walk from the old town which makes it easily accessible but also suitably removed from it. We would definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and would stay there again in the future.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and your recommendation. We hope that we provided you the stay you wished for and I will definitely share your kind comments with my colleagues. We are looking forward to have you as our guest again someday. Our doors are always open. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Anonymous Business - 02/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Fantastic »

Very Kind and Great Staff

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Giacomo Daniel D., thank you so much for your great review and your kind words, which I will definitely share with my colleagues. We are so happy, that you especially liked our team and felt in good hands. We hope that we will get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Jeffrey F Couples - 13/10/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Great Location »

This hotel is perfectly placed for tourists, its on the right on the city fringe, 5 minutes walk to the City, 3 minutes to the metro and trams! The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. The restaurant is also good value and has an excellent choice, and reasonably priced.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive feedback and for choosing Novotel Wien City. It is great to read, that you liked so many aspects about your stay and that you took many good experiences with you. We are happy, that you especially liked the location, the room and the restaurant, which made your stay hopefully even more enjoyable. We would be thankful to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Business - 08/10/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Still a great hotel which needs to improve though to not lose its flair »

All in all still a great hotel. Rooms are rather small but modern and some are newly renovated. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. However, cleanliness of the restaurant has suffered over recent months. Place mats in the restaurant were full of stains (even at 6am in the morning!) not only on my table but also neighbouring ones. Not being able to find a clean table for breakfast is a major turn-off and below what you would expect from a 4-star hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your impressions about your stay with us. We really appreciate all kinds of comments and also your suggestions for improvement. First of all, it is great to read, that you especially liked the room and our team, which I will definitely share with my colleagues. Nevertheless, let me express my sincere apologies, if we weren't able to meet all of your expectations. It shouldn't occur, that your comfort is lowered by a possible lack of cleanliness. I will forward your experience to our restaurant team. Unfortunately, a forecast of the number of guests at the breakfast is rather difficult, because it depends from many aspects, such as the weekday etc. Therefore we introduced the "breakfast traffic light", which should be a helpful tool for our guests and the team to estimate the peaktimes. But this is not an adequate excuse for your situation and we hope that it didn't affect your stay too negatively. Anyway, we hope that the positive experiences outweigh and that we will get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Family - 01/10/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Bad Check in process and service »

I was not aware that they require original cc that made purchase never been ask that before then when I ask why was not in the invoice or the email reservation they claim it was there we check could don’t it give them a new cc wanna hold the amount in my new card as well of the other calming it could be fraud and could be a fake card after looking into my bag found original car but i was already call a liar and a Scammer I never got and apology from staff about their poor service other then that hotel was ok

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay with us and for choosing Novotel Wien City. First of all, we hope you had an enjoyable time in Vienna despite the inconveniences you faced. Let me express my sincere apologies if it affected your stay negatively and lowered your comfort. It shouldn't occur that our guests have the feeling that they face a lack of information or misunderstandings. We tried to reconstruct your situation in the team. We are sincerely sorry, if you didn't feel well informed or somehow not appreciated by our Front Office Manager. Some aspects are daily business for us which may cause explanations to be a little shorter. In this case, our guests are always welcome to ask questions. Unfortunately, that might just have been a misunderstanding. So that you also get to know our point of view, we have tried to work out an explanation for this situation again. We are required to check the card at check-in according to our specifications. This is because of credit card security reasons, also for your own/our guest's safety, so that no one has the opportunity to make bookings with a foreign credit card. We are sorry for the confusion and hope that the solution was also adequate for you then. Another option that our Front Office Manager also offered you, would have been to get a credit on the card and pay directly at the front desk. But we hope you were satisfied with the first option and it didn't cause any problems. Therefore you are always welcome to write us an e-mail with further feedback or suggestions for improvement. We hope that we have now presented the system a bit more transparent and I will, of course, forward your experience. Anyway, it would be great, if you also faced some positive experiences and we would be happy, to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Family - 15/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Great localisation, close to underground, friendly staff »

As outlined in the title, the hotel localisation is really great. This is within a walking distance to the Inner Stadt of Vienna and 2 min walk to the underground station. The people who work in the hotel are making your stay a pleasure. All our questions were answered. I definitely recommend this hotel anyone and I will be coming bak when visiting Vienna.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your great feedback and for being our guest. It is always great to receive such kind comments and I will also share them with my colleagues. We are happy that you especially liked the location and our team. We hope that we provided you a wonderful time in Vienna and at Novotel Wien City. Our doors are always open for your next stay. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Family - 14/08/2019 TripAdvisor review
« VERY LOW LEVEL OF MANAGEMENT »

Dirty room. They did not leave enough shampoo and soap and no coffee at all every day in the room. Unpolite and rude staff in the reception. Very weak management, as the manager looks that she does not control the staff. NO respect for customers...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and your impressions with us. We hope that you had a good time in Vienna despite those inconveniences. First of all, let me express my sincere apologies for any uncomfortable situation and for not fulfilling your expectations. It shouldn't occur that our guests feel uncomfortable due to a lack of cleanliness. I will definitely share your comments with our housekeeping team. We also talked about your review and your experiences with our general manager. Obviously, there has been a misunderstanding during your stay. Unfortunately, as you had the experience that the amenities were forgotten to replenish or were in too less, our Manager wanted to send you a basket with many guest supplies as an excuse. She didn't want to disrespect you in any way, but moreover to give your stay a positive turn. We would like to apologize if you felt personally offended, but we ask for your understanding. In terms of the control of our team, our General Manager and our Deputy Manager take samples of the rooms every day, but on days with many departures and arrivals it can occur, that they focus on these rooms and can't control all of our 124 rooms. Again, we would like to apologize, if you felt disrespected our uncomfortable at any time of your stay. I will definitely share your comment with my colleagues. Nevertheless, we hope that your stay wasn't affected too negatively and that we get the chance of better serve you another time. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Family - 07/07/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Very good hotel but breakfast needs a big improvement »

Excellent location, very clean and spacious rooms, very helpful and nice staff but you really need to improve the breakfast buffet. In the other Novotels we stayed,we had an amazing buffet breakfast but not here unfortunately. No variety in the warm dishes (such as pancakes, waffles, different kinds of eggs), very limited variety of cheese and the cold cuts and cheese slices that were displayed were from the previous days (i.e. dry). Besides the breakfast, we were very happy with the hotel and the lovely employees. Thank you for all your help and the beautiful experience,❤

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind words and your impressions. Moreover we are also thankful for your suggestions for improvement. We are happy, that you felt in good hands and had a wonderful time at Novotel Wien City. It is also great, that you especially liked the location, the rooms and the cleanliness. Nevertheless, let me express my sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations. I will definitely forward your comments to our restaurant team. It shouldn't occur that the breakfast affects the stay of our guests negatively. Anyway, we would like to have you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Andreas D. Business - 20/06/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Business trip to Vienna »

As all the last time in Vienna at Novotel Wien City - everything perfect !!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Lieber Herr D., vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr tolles Feedback, welches ich sehr gerne an unser Team weiterleite. Es freut uns, dass Sie unser Gast waren und sich sehr wohl in Wien und im Novotel Wien City gefühlt haben. Unsere Türen stehen jederzeit wieder für Sie offen. Herzliche Grüße aus Wien, Michaela Kaineder

Couples - 11/06/2019 TripAdvisor review
« My Stay at Novotel Wien City »

Hotel was well-situated, just 1 minute walk from Metro station and 2 stops from Stephanplatz. Hotel was clean and room size was acceptable. Service was friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel but there were a few nice cafes nearby.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your impressions with us. We are happy, that you had a wonderful stay and would be very grateful to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Anonymous Couples - 01/06/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very hard bed made for poor sleep. Lack of benefits offered to us as gold members.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Adrian G., thank you very much for your feedback and your impressions about your stay. First of all, let me express my sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations, especially as a Gold Member. Unfortunately, an upgrade is only possible, if a room is available. Unfortunately, an upgrade is only possible if a room is available. As the Thursday during your stay was a holiday in Austria, we were unfortunately fully booked at this time. Again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. I will also share your comments with my colleagues. Anyway, we hope that you had a good time in Vienna and at Novotel Wien City. Our doors are always open for your next stay and we will try our best to better serve you then. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Chris Business - 21/05/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« efficient business stay »

room was clean and all right - some renovation work seems to go on, which was not disturbing but there was a smell in the lobby and staircase as if it had burnt somewhere in the basement,

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Sehr geehrter Herr S., wir danken Ihnen vielmals, dass Sie sich nach Ihrem Aufenthalt im Novotel Wien City die Zeit genommen haben, uns zu schreiben. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich in unseren neu renovierten Zimmern wohlgefühlt haben. Wir möchten uns aber entschuldigen, falls wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht zur Gänze erfüllen konnten. Ihre Kommentare sind deshalb für uns sehr wichtig. Leider kam es am 10. Mai 2019 zu einem Brand in unserem Hotel, weshalb wir zurzeit noch etwas unter den Folgen leiden u.a. dem Geruch. Wir hoffen aber, dass es dadurch nicht zu einer Beeinträchtigung gekommen ist. Haben Sie nochmals vielen Dank für Ihre Anmerkungen. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Michaela Kaineder

76mnm Couples - 21/05/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Great hotel & Great location »

Me & my wife stay 3 nights at this hotel. The location is great 10 minutes by walking to the city center. Near to the underground train. The room was clean and very nice. The room just renovated lately. I’m definitely recommend this place

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your detailed feedback. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive comments. We are happy, that you and your family had a comfortable stay. I also shared your kind words with my colleagues. We hope to get the chance of welcoming you as our guest again someday. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Couples - 20/03/2019 TripAdvisor review
« newly renovated, very good hotel »

Having read the previous reviews after having already booked the Novotel City Wien, I got a bit nervous. Well, time to clear it up. Novotel is an excellent hotel. I stayed for four nights in a recently renovated room. Very clean, comfortable and spacious (room 616). No queue at breakfast in any of the four days (Thu - Sun). The food variety is really good (maybe some improvement in the hot food area is needed). Personnel was friendly and helpful. The underground parking is pretty easy to access, as there are signposts outside and a location map is made available at the hotel's reception. I feel the recent critics (dated Dec 2018 and Jan 2019) are not applicable anymore.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for being our guest and writing such a positive review. We are really happy that you felt comfortable and had a nice stay. We hope to get the chance of welcoming you again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Roving45874696796 Couples - 20/03/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Nice enough, but not quite as expected »

I was there for two nights and I have to say that all in all the place is nice. The position is great, very close to the city center and the train station that connects with the airport. The room was clean and a lot of different choices were offered at breakfast. BUT there were a few things that left me a bit puzzled: I was requested a deposit at the check-in (although I had already paid the full amount in advance), and after providing two credit cards (Maestro, Visa), it turned out that I could only pay via Mastercard. This was of course not mentioned in advanced, and really bothered me to see that they wouldn't try to find a solution. Also, the room was much smaller than expected.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time of writing a detailed feedback. We are really sorry, that we weren't able to fulfill all of your expectations. If you have any further feedback or questions about your stay, do not hesitate to contact us via h6154-gr@accor.com. Nevertheless, we hope to have you as our guest again. Best regards, Michaela Kaineder

Couples - 10/01/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Good hotel but complicated parking system and poor customer service »

The hotel was typical of mid range standards. The room was spacious and in good condition. However when we arrived there was no-one at reception for 5-10 minutes. This was important as the hotel parking arrangements are not nearby and you will be unlikely to find them without guidance. Even with directions, the parking garage pedestrian exits are confusing. On return we were given a parking chip that was supposed to open the doors to get to our car, but it did not work. There are several locked gates you need to get through and they are not well signposted. Reception was not very helpful when we had to return to the hotel to get access to the garage. Overall very poor attitude and customer service. Would not recommend this hotel if you bring your own car.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jon W, Thank you very much for taking time and writing us a review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expactations; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Please rest assured that we took steps to increase our customer service. We would be very happy to get the chance of welcoming you again and better serve you next time. Best regards, Magdalena Gussner, BA

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
ALL - Accor Live Limitless
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into ALL - Accor Live Limitless points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates