Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa

Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.8/5 1,100 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • The Yard restaurant serves international cuisine

  • A fitness centre, including a spa, sauna and steam room

  • Indoor-heated swimming pool for all guests

  • Seven meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 600 guests

  • Central location, with excellent travel links

Hotel location

Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa

119 Norfolk street
S1 2JE SHEFFIELD
United Kingdom

  • BUS:  ARUNDEL GATE

  • SUPERTRAM:  SHEFFIELD STAT.

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER At 67.9km / 42.19 miles

  • By plane

    NOTTINGHAM At 61.2km / 38.03 miles

  • By plane

    SHEFFIELD At 9.3km / 5.78 miles

  • By train

    SHEFFIELD At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS:53.380455, -1.468413

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

THE YARD

The Yard at St. Pauls adds more variety to your meal, offering contemporary British cuisine including quality steaks as well as the freshest and most beautifully prepared fish and seafood delicacies.

Your meetings and events

With outstanding comfort and ultra-modern facilities, this jewel in glass and stone at the heart of Sheffield is the epitome of 21st century style. It is Sheffeld's largest hotel-based conference and banqueting facility and among the most impressive venues in the north of England. Accommodating up to 550, its ten conference suites are superbly designed in a contemporary style and feature state-of-the-art multimedia presentation and communications facilities.

Room descriptions and layouts

12 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 550 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

With 169 bedrooms, guests are offered a range of accommodation options including privilege rooms, spacious suites, interconnecting rooms and enhanced accessibility. Each room features a range of facilities such as air conditioning and WiFi . Every bedroom is in line with 4-star standards but some suites offer particularly inspiring views over the city, designed with panoramic windows so guests can enjoy and absorb every detail.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.8/5  1,100 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,460 reviews

Not ready at check in, Wrong room, false advertising, unclean

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Sc Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Got there at 3:20, room not ready, Paid for a junior suite, hotel gave us a basic double room, moved us after an hour with an apology and a free drink each, free drinks had clauses. Advertised Starbucks drinks, don't sell Starbucks drinks. Paid for rose petals, they were in the wrong room, plastic, distasteful and not worth £14. Room was dirty, marks on the bed, carpet was shabby which you wouldn't expect in a £250 room per night, no coffee pods, no mineral water. Bed was 2 doubles pushed together, uncomfortable as you ended up in the middle. Very disappointed, would not return.

Good location and enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

F Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of the hotel is very good because it’s in close proximity with the city centre. Our stay was very nice and enjoyable with zero complaints. The staff were approachable and very helpful.

Small Misses

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Frequent T. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The person checking me in didn’t understand my request to reduce my stay by one night, she was trying to tell me that the hotel counted two nights as three and I had to argue and eventually get a refund for a night later in the week. I tried to eat dinner in the bar and after waiting 10 minutes I went to Browns, this was after I spent that time watching two people behind the bar socializing - one of them seated doing nothing. Now for my recurring frustration, which has been worse since the pandemic - the espresso pods never seem to get stocked or restocked; I always have to get them from the front desk. All and all, its still the best hotel in Sheffield.

Another good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Philip Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, spacious and comfortable hotel. Friendly and efficient staff.

Bad experience

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Matthew C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed at the Mercure Hotel Friday May 13th the night before my wedding. I had called earlier in the week to request a Twin room as I was staying with my best man. However when I arrived to the room it was a double room. The receptionist said they will send someone to change our bed to a twin, but when the housekeeper arrived, she explained that our bed could not be made into two beds. We then had to go back to reception and she said we can move to another room but first had to get our luggage from our double room and come back to reception and then she gave us the keys to our new twin room. This experience has soured my view of Mercure and to have this happen the night before I get married added extra stress that could have been avoided.

Enjoyable Visit to Sheffield

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Barry Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay as always. Swift check-in, helpful staff and a big comfy bed!

Please note that We CANCELLED THE RESERVATION on Friday 12th May

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

DaveW7022TQ TripAdvisor review

I tried to phone the Hotel 0114 278 2000 at least 10 times and sent many emails to the Hotel - Victoria Camm on Friday 12th May and the morning of 13th May explaining the reason and requesting Refund all charges to my Mastercard. I have received no response from the Hotel to failed phone calls or to the emails. I consider that the staff at St Pauls's Hotel and Accor are seriously at fault - they need to review their administrative practices and correct for the deficiencies in their Reception Section and Telephone Switchboard Sections. You have permission to publicise but I have no wish for it. I want an apology and Refund. I have previously and since stayed at Accor Hotelsr Mercure, Novohotel and IBIS all OK!

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michelle Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel right in the centre of Sheffield. Staff were very helpful. Our room was a good size with a massive bed. An unexpected benefit was a bath, most hotels only have showers nowadays

Good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Simon Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were great

Disappointment

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Rosy Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Severely understaffed No one manning the desk the majority of the time Broken air con Broken toilet Tired and dated rooms Bar not open when said it’s would be

Great Location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Matt B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel. Only let down by our room being next to the lifts, of which we could hear the noisy motors all night.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Melanie C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Have stayed a number of times at St Paul’s over a 4 year period visiting our daughter. First time back after the pandemic and hotel looked noticeably more tired. Could definitely do with a freshen up/refurbishment of guest rooms. No coffee machine in room. Fridge door broken.

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Helen C. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant stay! Room well equipped! Bath & shower excellent! Fridge too! Breakfast delicious &staff helpful & friendly!

Satisfactory

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Wardy Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located. The breakfast was distinctly average with the fresh fruit out of a tin and tasteless. The most disappointing aspect though was that my room (125) smelt of stale cigarette smoke.

Very comfortable stay in pleasant city centre location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Martin Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Professional reception staff, large modern clean room, light and airy restaurant overlooking the winter gardens, excellent breakfast

Could be better

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Craig Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay let down by niggly failures. I’d speculate that there may have been staffing problems. So bar service on Friday evening was positively glacial speed. In fact bar closed early Sat evening for a few hours. Smallish issues with room reported but not dealt with promptly- safe not working, I suspect it needed new batteries. After room cleaning we were left with only one towel in bathroom, but we were delivered another but I had to visit reception to report it as phone not answered. Room and hotel was clean. Staff pleasant but I suspect spread a bit thin as hotel was busy. Breakfast very good.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Wendy M. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

A very present stay. Room well up to expected standard and staff very present and attentive

Terrible stay

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

First room - no air conditioning and lock on door broke Second room - bathroom full of hairs - disgusting

Best spot in Sheffield

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Clive Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Sheffield doesn’t have a wealth of choice for good hotels, this is the best

failing on the detail

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

booked multiple rooms, so not a "one-off". TVs in 3 rooms failed to tune, poor reception quality. Offer of an engineer next day but not what was expected. Dirty cups in room and at breakfast. Sometimes difficult to get an answer on the phone..... just gave up.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby