Information message

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 2,836 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Certified Hotel.

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 220 guests

  • On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym facilities

  • Situated eight miles from Manchester city centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

Manchester Road
Castleton
OL11 2XZ rochdale
united kingdom

Tel: +4401706630788

Fax: (+44)01706516781

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • ROCHDALE :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • By plane

    LEEDS/BRADFORD At 47.8km / 29.7 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER INTL AIRP At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER PICADILLY At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER VICTORIA At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    ROCHDALE At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS :53.581386, -2.175206

Hotel services

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • 2 Restaurants
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet
    • Express
    • Room service
    • Breakfast à la carte
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 11 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Business center is wheelchair accessible
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 81 rooms
    • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 15 family rooms
    • 4 connecting rooms
    • 81 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Laundromat
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High speed transmission line
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Porter
    • Porter
Well-being
  • Spa Natural Pool
    • Covered
  • Spa Natural Fitness Centre
    • On site

Your meetings and events

A range of conference and event spaces gives us the flexibility to host events ranging from one-to-one interviews to board meetings, large conferences and exhibitions, to corporate entertaining and banquets.All of our nine event rooms provide the ideal environment for creative thought and productive meetings.The largest room, the Hopwood Suite, is bathed in natural daylight and can accommodate up to 220 guests. Our Springhill Suite, which was added to the hotel in 2005, is modern, stylish and fully air conditioned.

Room descriptions and layouts

12 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 250 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Flipchart

  • Indoor and Outdoor facilities

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Slide projector

  • Overhead projector

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel has 81 contemporary rooms, all with wireless internet and satellite TV. Some executive rooms are available which are decorated and fitted to very high standards and include complimentary bathrobes, mineral water, designer toiletries and a four-piece bathroom suite.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

2,836 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,783 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Spa stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely spa experience - great facilities

Dear Hazel B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Excellent spa, lovely rooms, excellent food, excellent staff.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

C P. Friends - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the stay was good just a couple of things that could be improved on. No bathrobe or slippers in room despite being told in an e-Mail they would be. Went to the spa to get them to be told we had to go to reception for them. As I had an early treatment very limited time to go in the pool due to time wasted. In the evening food was late due to another function taking place. However the food and staff were excellent.

Dear Christine P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. I am really sorry to learn we failed to delivered the basic during your stay. Please leave it with me. I will personally address your experience with our house keeping team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. Perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly when planning a future visit to Norton, so I can personally ensure that your next stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Good stay.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tina C. Friends - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely stay with friends, 2nd time going to Mercure. The hotel staff are friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast has plenty of choice. Stayed for dirty dancing, only complaint was there wasn't a great deal of choice for the meal, but still overall a very good night. Will definitely be staying again.

Dear Tina c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Best Regards, Rama Arimilly.

Friendly staff

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Yvonne X. Couples - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here once before, there seems to be lack of communication as to where or whom you get your bathrobe for the spa . There was a cracked tile in the hydrotherapy pool which I cut my elbow on , this was reported and I was told it would be dealt with that evening, it wasn’t

Dear Yvonne S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. We investigated hydro pool, further to your feedback. Our night's team emptied the hydro pool and investigated the tile you are referring to. I can confirm that there are no cracked tiles found. the pool is now filled back and back to use as normal. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Susan R. Friends - 09/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

As I explained in my e-mail to the hotel dissatisfied with the price we paid and the service we received. Paid for 25 mins spa treatment only received 15 mins no robes or slippers asked for towels to be sent to the spa reception none arrived. Receptionist not very helpful she could have informed us when we checked in that there was a laundry issue other guests had robes and slippers should not have provided some and not others food was ok had better. As this was a reunion of friends getting together having not seen each other for 2 years and one friend who was getting over cancer it was a very disappointing experience. I am sorry to say would not recommend your hotel. Regards Susan R.

Dear Susan R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Relaxing and enjoyable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Durham B. Couples - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked for my partners birthday, enjoyed three course meal, spa, massages and mud rasul. Added touch with rose petals on the bed

Dear Durham B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

A restful experience supported by kind and caring staff!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Pauline Families - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were celebrating my mother's 86th birthday with an overnight spa stay. Our accessibility room was very comfy and the staff always ensured our needs we're met.

Dear Pauline H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Great Location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Pete Business - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It's a great location for my work, and getting to know the friendly staff now - Carol makes me welcome.

Dear Peter w., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. thank you for recognizing Carol's efforts. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Janet Solo - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room upgrade by helpful and sympathetic receptionist due to unforeseen circumstances, room, bed and pillows very comfortable. Dinner menu a little limited, but very good choice at breakfast.

Dear Janet H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Satisfactory

Customer review rating 3.5/5

T A. Couples - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean and basic

Dear Toni A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Good facilities and a comfortable bed.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tessa Business - 29/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The experience was nice. I was able to use the gym/pool/spa. The room was clean and comfortable and the restaurant was good. They did run out of a lot of food on the second night though, which was a shame.

Dear Tessa J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about food on second night. I will certainly address with relevant team leader. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager
Customer review rating 3.0/5

Maureen Families - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff wonderful and very helpful. However I had requested a twin room but given a room with a double bed and a pull out bed as an alternative. My daughter found the pull out bed too short as her feet hung over the end. I find a hotel that cannot provide a twin room is very unsatisfactory.

Dear Maureen L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Very good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mrs J. S. Couples - 27/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful. The room was lovely and had everything provided.

Dear Joy s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Great facilities

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 26/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a two night stay with two treatments in the spa. Hotel was great, spa was lovely and had a lovely walk during our stay.

Dear Sean M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

H. Families - 26/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was beautiful, plenty of towels. Staff lovely and breakfast was one of the nicest I’d had

Dear Hoyle H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Friendly clean hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John P. Friends - 25/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great wedding experience for my family

Dear Jane P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Strange times........

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

779craig 28/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Staff were lovely and room was comfortable..... spa was really nice but unfortunately the hotel was limited as to what they could do due to the cover 19...... overall very happy with hotel and especially the staff!!!!

Dear Craig Thank you for taking time to share your rating and feedback further to your recent visit to us. Totally agree with your comments being in strange times. Thank you for understanding the current limitations we placed in our club for the safety of our guests & staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future Best Regards Rama Arimilly

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mrs58 26/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We chose this hotel for the location and had also been recommended it by Rochdale FC. Football match was booked for my husbands birthday. We arrived way before our check in time but the receptionist allowed us to complete paperwork, gave us our key and left our suitcase in store room. A notice was displayed saying there would be a wedding that evening and might be noise. We asked where our room was and was shown it was on the top floor well away from the party room!! We had a coffee in the lounge and before we had finished drinking it the receptionist came and told us our room was ready!! Beautifully furnished Privilege room with "Happy Birthday" spelt out in rose petals on the bed along with towels made into elephants. Complimentary water and cola inroom as well as hand made chocs. Ordered sandwiches about 19.30 in bar which took quite a while to arrive, probably due to wedding and other guests staying there. Great breakfast full English and continental. Proper thick bread for toast and individual jars of jams etc. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Dear Guest, Wow what a fantastic detailed review!! Thank you for taking the time share your feedback in regards to your recent visit to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us, as it is only by receiving such information from guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. It is the goal of our team here at the Mercure Norton Grange that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, which give us the opportunity to establish a long-lasting relationship. Once again thank you for taking time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Best Regards, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

A chilly welcome!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

tonyJ3126PB 01/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

My enduring impression is of being cold. Watching the curtains moving in the draft along corridors; feeling the draft in the dining room; turning the heating up in the room to 30° for six hours to get it warm enough. It was January in North Manchester: surely the outside temperature hadn't taken the hotel by surprise! The room was clean, everything worked, the toiletries were fine, the bed comfortable: if the temperature had been right, this could have been somewhere to come back to. At dinner the ossobuco was off: in fact chef had decided a while ago to take it off the menu but the menu hadn't been changed yet. Food prepared from fresh - the steak, for example - was fine; the rest felt a bit reheated. Away from the reception desk, staff were great: chatty and friendly without being intrusive. But reception at check-in was a bit grudging, while at check-out we had to wait five minutes while the person on the desk dealt with an irate departed guest on the phone: no getting help from a colleague to check us out, no apology when the call was over. I wouldn't say I'd never stay there again, but next time I'm staying in the area I'll look to see what alternatives there are before booking this hotel. Checking out

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback further to your recent visit here with us at Mercure Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies in some areas. I will personally address the areas you mentioned in your feedback with all relevant departments. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Restaurant very poor food quality.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

ianwbryant Business - 31/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Infrastructure especially rooms nicely refurbished, comfortable and quiet. I have stayed many times at Norton Grange and generally eat out. However, on Monday 27th January we decided to give the restaurant a try. Menu looked appealing. However, food was terrible for 2 of our party of 4. The curry was rejected as it looked like boiled chicken chunks, no sauce. Represented with some curry sauce but frankly still a disgrace. The other bad meal was the Thai dish and presented dry, lacking in prawns and pretty tasteless - another disgrace. We will stay again for comfortable rooms and location convenience but definitely not have dinner. Hence low service rating and value for money.

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking time to share your constructive feedback further to your recent visit here with us at Mercure Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am glad to learn you enjoyed our fully refurbished bed rooms. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in relation to food; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will certainly address this our chef & work on improvement in this regard. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby