Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 5,537 reviews

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • Grade II listed building with original features

  • Two dedicated meeting rooms accommodating 120 guests

  • Stunning architectural features throughout

  • Central location, ten minutes from shops & cruise terminals

  • Nearby to Southampton train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

34 - 35 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2HN
southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442380386460

Fax: (+44)2380/386470

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • CITY LINK BUS :  FREE BUS SOUTHAMPTON STA

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON AIRPORT At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By boat

    FERRY TERMINAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

  • By train

    SOUTHAMPTON CENTRAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :50.900261, -1.403921

Companies

  • ABP 1.61 km / 1.0 mi
  • ASDA 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • B AND Q 9.17 km / 5.7 mi
  • BACARDI 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
  • BOND PEARCE 1.29 km / 0.8 mi
  • BRITISH AM TOBACCO 4.02 km / 2.5 mi
  • ERICSSON 7.56 km / 4.7 mi
  • GE AVIATION 11.0 km / 7.0 mi
  • HSBC 3.7 km / 2.3 mi
  • IKEA 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LBG 3.22 km / 2.0 mi
  • MEARCHERS GLOBAL 8.05 km / 5.0 mi
  • MOL 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • NATWEST 1.61 km / 1.0 mi
  • ORDINANCE SURVEY 5.31 km / 3.3 mi
  • SKANDIA 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
Companies

Your meetings and events

The hotel offers two meeting rooms, all with a classic design, with capacities ranging from one-to-one interviews to theatre-style for 125 or sit-down formal meals for 100Our meeting packages include complimentary stationery and confectionery, mineral water, flipcharts, screens and LCD projectors.

meeting rooms

From 1 to 100 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel's 99 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with Two Single Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 1 double bed and sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

Accessible Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

SIGNATURE

Type of cuisine: International

Signature has a contemporary design and feel. The menu will offer a range of dishes to cater for all, using fresh locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast served 6.30 - 9.30 Monday - Friday and 7.30 - 10.30 Saturday, Sundays and Bank Holidays

Lunch

11:00 - 18:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

OAK BAR

Non contractual photo

Modern design serving a wide range of drinks the perfect place to relax and unwind. Lounge menu available every day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

5,537 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

2,130 reviews

Fantastic location,

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Dan R. Business - 24/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well thought out approach to current guidelines. Room was lovely and very clean. Shower was the most powerful I have used in a long time. Fantastic to look around and learn the history of the building. Staff polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend and look forward to my next stay.

Poor quality hotel from mecure

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Robert Couples - 23/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This most certainly isn’t a bash at the overall mecure brand as I often use them and have no bad words to say. However this hotel in the chain was massively understaffed to the point that the recommend to use WhatsApp to order room service to reduce movement around the hotel but a simple drinks order took over an hour and a half before I had to go down to the bar to place the same order but due to shortage in staff had to ring the receptionist for her to appear and serve the drinks. So overall lack of staff to provide for the hotel. Also a lack of adhesive in the bath made it a nightmare and caused a serious accident of myself falling in the bath causing very bad bruising down one side

Not the best stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Pat T 23/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

We have stayed at this hotel many times,but unfortunately this was not the best of experiences. I fully realize the problems with covid but one girl on reception and trying to serve in the bar meant many people waiting at reception to book in(some without face coverings). Our room was as always very clean and the staff are lovely but I feel they are under a lot of pressure.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Penny M. Couples - 22/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had lots of issues with the room. We had a blocked sink, a window that didn't open, a light near the bed that didn't work, a mouth in the glass, only one big bath towel and an old bathroom not like what was shown in the photos!

Good location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Adell C. Couples - 21/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Having worked in the hotel industry for a number of years I wouldn’t personally class it as a 4 star, more a 3. Our room was a nice size but tatty decor was a slight let down. Peeling paint off the wardrobe doors to name one. Sash window is also a safety concern as it opens from the bottom with no safety mechanism or bars on the outside. We will be visiting Southampton again though as our daughter is at university close by.

Time for an upgrade

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Steve Business - 20/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor, very noisy fire doors, poor 'take away breakfast'

Great situation

Customer review rating 3.9/5

John B. Couples - 19/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Warm welcome on arrival by Receptionists. Room was large, comfy & clean, as was bathroom. Situated at the back of the hotel, so no traffic noise. Large car park, which accomodated our Ford Transit. Hotel was a short walk into the centre of Southampton with plenty of eateries, and shops. Southampton has some intersting old city walls, and history. Unfortunately due to COVID, a number of the tourist attractions in the countryside were either closed or had to be booked for a visiting time. COVID also meant that the hotel had a limited menue of pizza/pasta, instead of the excellent menu that it normally offers with good choice.

Great location, nice hotel and friendly staff!

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Ianc Couples - 16/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is the second "special occasion"I have booked this hotel for the wife and I. Brilliant location in Southampton, every thing close by. Had a couple of beers in hotel, all areas covid safe but are at Shanghai 1814 just over the road. Room not massive and a bit dated but bed very comfy for a romantic trip!

Another Good Visit (7-10 Sep 2020)

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Charles M. B. Friends - 15/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff Team as always efficient, friendly, and having to work under the restrictions and limitations of Social Distancing and all that implies in an Hotel setting and environment, doing a great job. Room extremely clean and Public Areas functioning and monitored very well. Back again soon. Our thanks, C.M.B. & P. Brett.

No room in the car park

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Deborah T. Friends - 14/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was ok a little dated. Biggest disappointment was breakfast, stake prepacked food. No mould for cereal and no one to ask for more. Expected a better experience as an Accor member,

Good value

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Jon D. Friends - 13/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Dolphin is a bit tired looking, new decor and carpets would help. That is reflected in the price. The staff were great and the car parking excellent. We went next door to the Wetherspoons for breakfast.

Worst night sleep

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Chelsea Couples - 10/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Between the Gathering of rats outside Our window , to the music entertainment, bottles being recycled and the mould spores on the ceiling and bath tub And the cannon ball that fell in the middle of the bed and no hand soap ? this is was a horrible experience And sleep and disappointed in the mercure chain and I don’t understand how it was four stars .. nor did I receive my points for staying ... as an accor member . We were embarrassed and uncomfortable how to raise this at check out ..

Very poor

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Ap… Couples - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I would like to discuss this with the area manager or preferably the UK manager of Mercure

Short Stay in Southampton

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

David V 06/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

Enjoyed our stay at Mercure Southamption Centre Dolphin and generally in this post Covid lockdown period everything had been done to conform to Government guidelines. However there are a few general observations - I think there could be an improvement in the breakfast arrangement which was very limited and didn't real meet my expectations for an Accor organisation. When a vast majority of restaurants can now provide a reasonable meal out and would consider this a failing at the Dolphin. On a more positive note the staff were friendly and helpful. My last comments, which is not Covid related, I think better warning about accessing the car park could have been made when I booked the hotel and the hot water in our room was only mildly warm at any time.

Good location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Wi Friends - 02/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Close to all restaurants and bars. Really nice hotel but not maintain properly and dirty.

Not what one would expect from a 4* Hotel, more like self catering accommodation

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Richard H. Couples - 02/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Covid precautions in place, but disappointing that this seemed to extend to housekeeping (room not made up after first night; corridors needing hoovering; bathroom not properly cleaned) and catering (brown bag breakfast). Nearby cafes were providing cooked breakfasts - why couldn't the hotel?

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Peter S. Couples - 01/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel dirty , tired decor, short staffed,

Dear Mr s., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry that you left disappointed. Due to the current climate we were offering a bagged continental breakfast which we tried to make as clear as possible during all booking processes, so not to disappoint guests on arrival. I apologise this was not the case for you and do understand your frustrations. We will soon be continuing our process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Neil D. Friends - 01/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good,friendly staff

Dear Mr D., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Terrible lazy service using covid 19 as an excuse.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Helen S. Families - 31/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Never had to make a hotel bed up in my own room in my whole life. The décor was shabby and dirty with cobwebs hanging from light fittings, massive stain on the carpets, broken window panes (in both rooms 27 and 31). The underside of the bath hand rail in room 27 was disgusting. We were given information that no-one would enter the rooms if staying over one night. We had WhatsApp communication which in all fairness did work well, we asked the hotel team to check for a parcel shelf which we had mistakenly left in the carpark, they messaged back to say they'd found it and were keeping it in reception for us. Messaged again asking for more tea/coffee supplies and clean towels, all were delivered but the dirty towels were left in the room and no change of dirty mugs. The water was barely warm, I had to boil kettles for my daughters bath (she is a wheelchair user and warm water is essential for her well being), my husband had to boil water to shave. One evening we returned to the hotel at 11.16pm, the large outside doors were locked and we rang the bell for approximately 10 minutes, before seeing the sign to ring, luckily we had phones which were charged - the doorman gave all sorts of excuses but no offered of apology. Went to the bar and ordered a large wine and diet coke, when given to me I noticed the rim of the glass was dirty, pointed it out to the member of staff who thoroughly inspected it before pouring me another in a clean glass. Not a good example of a Mecure hotel, in fact a disgrace to the chain, also heard other customers complaining of similar issues. Also the positioning of the rooms allowed the smell of the smokers to saturate the rooms, very unpleasant to sleep in, also when we arrived a workman was gloss painting the doors and the smell in the rooms and wing was not acceptable. We have stayed in 3 other hotels since lock down and their policy was to clean, clean, clean, clean bedding each day, clean towels each day and thorough clean of the room each day - much closer to the level of service I would expect and a far more reassuring approach to keeping Covid-19 under control - we will not be staying here again!!

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

James L. Families - 31/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was very friendly & relaxed & very welcoming, apart from a old chap workin in the bar who just looked down his nose at me & my daughter, very unpleasant, but possibly he was haven a bad day, still very unprofessional, I’d possibly stay again

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby