Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 5,585 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • Grade II listed building with original features

  • Two dedicated meeting rooms accommodating 120 guests

  • Stunning architectural features throughout

  • Central location, ten minutes from shops & cruise terminals

  • Nearby to Southampton train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

34 - 35 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2HN
southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442380386460

Fax: (+44)2380/386470

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • CITY LINK BUS :  FREE BUS SOUTHAMPTON STA

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON AIRPORT At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By boat

    FERRY TERMINAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

  • By train

    SOUTHAMPTON CENTRAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :50.900261, -1.403921

Companies

  • ABP 1.61 km / 1.0 mi
  • ASDA 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • B AND Q 9.17 km / 5.7 mi
  • BACARDI 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
  • BOND PEARCE 1.29 km / 0.8 mi
  • BRITISH AM TOBACCO 4.02 km / 2.5 mi
  • ERICSSON 7.56 km / 4.7 mi
  • GE AVIATION 11.0 km / 7.0 mi
  • HSBC 3.7 km / 2.3 mi
  • IKEA 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LBG 3.22 km / 2.0 mi
  • MEARCHERS GLOBAL 8.05 km / 5.0 mi
  • MOL 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • NATWEST 1.61 km / 1.0 mi
  • ORDINANCE SURVEY 5.31 km / 3.3 mi
  • SKANDIA 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
Companies

Your meetings and events

The hotel offers two meeting rooms, all with a classic design, with capacities ranging from one-to-one interviews to theatre-style for 125 or sit-down formal meals for 100Our meeting packages include complimentary stationery and confectionery, mineral water, flipcharts, screens and LCD projectors.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 100 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel's 99 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with Two Single Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 1 double bed and sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron(...)

Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine(...)

Accessible Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

SIGNATURE

Type of cuisine: International

Signature has a contemporary design and feel. The menu will offer a range of dishes to cater for all, using fresh locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast served 6.30 - 9.30 Monday - Friday and 7.30 - 10.30 Saturday, Sundays and Bank Holidays

Lunch

11:00 - 18:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

OAK BAR

Non contractual photo

Modern design serving a wide range of drinks the perfect place to relax and unwind. Lounge menu available every day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

5,585 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

2,135 reviews

Ok stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 30/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was tiny for a premium room - not as advertised.

Well located with parking in the city centre.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Bob O. Business - 24/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always looked after by the staff.

Dear Mr O., Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experiences, it is always a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton Hotel Manager

Quiet stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Jr Couples - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very quiet due to covid which was quite nice to be honest, the receptionist was very helpful, shame not much choice for food, so ate out, missed just having a drink in the bar but glad of the fridge so we brought drinks into the room. Breakfast was continental would have been nice to have been told this before stay but it was ok. Room was perfect glad we upgraded made our stay, lovely big room with view over high street could see the lovely xmas lights.

Dear Ms R., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Good stay under the current circumstances. We stay every year so not. Spot on the previous experiences but you did well.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Josephine Couples - 20/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Completely different from usual but ok under circumstances Lots of facilities missing, please note the continental breakfast could do with more than one toaster

Dear Ms B., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your understanding with the changes we have needed to make during this time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Central hotel

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Ruth Couples - 17/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is superbly located in the city centre with the added bonus of private parking. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room well appointed and the bed really comfortable.

Dear Ms C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lauren Sutton Hotel Manager

Very central location; thank you for the upgrade to a quiet room.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Matt T. Couples - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very kindly, we were upgraded on request. We were a bit concerned about some of the noise comments on the Hotels.com site. Your staff responded immediately.

Dear Mr T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lauren Sutton Hotel Manager

Absolutely fine

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Kevanhalford Couples - 13/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We knew it would not be quite the same

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences, and I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I apologise once again you were not informed at the time of booking about the breakfast, but appreciate your understanding in the matter. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when all our services are fully operational once again. Kind regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Comfortable room

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Nick Business - 12/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was given the opportunity of an upgraded room which was appreciated.

Dear Mr N., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry the food and beverage left you disappointed this time, we hope this improves with your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

My wife who was there as an NHS worker found it comfortable and convenient

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Dr R. O. Business - 09/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

no problems encountered except we booked as a couple and after having booked the train ticket from London - your hotelgot in touch and said I was not allowed to accompany her - although this was not raised when i booked.

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and pleased your wife enjoyed her stay with us while working in the area. I apologise you were unable to accompany your wife, following the government imposed restrictions of the national lockdown, all hospitality sites could remain open to accept travellers needing accommodation for work purposes only. If a booking was made for two but only one was here for work the business and couple could have indeed been fined. An automatic note should have come through when once booked and then a follow up reminder between 24hrs to day of arrival. We do look forward to welcoming you both to the property in the future. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Tiny room

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Stephen M. Friends - 07/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had recently attained Accor gold status and was looking forward to a possible room upgrade as is listed as a benefit of this status. Not only was this not offered but the standard room we received (108) was the smallest of any Mercure I have ever stayed in, smaller than an Ibis room, and indeed smaller than the room given to our friend who only has silver status. The bed was tiny - not great for two fairly tall adults!

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry that you left disappointed. Congratulations on reaching Gold member status. Looking at your booking I can only apologise as this had not been updated in our system, it was still showing as silver, I will pick this up with Accor membership for future stays. Due to the age of the building, all rooms are of a different size and lay out but all finished to the same standard, many appreciate the charm and quirk of this character. I appreciate the room was not to your liking, so have added a note to your profile for future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Average

Customer review rating 3.9/5

John V. Families - 07/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Old tired room. Carpet stained and rucked up. Very average.

Dear Mr V., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry that you left disappointed. I am pleased however our maintenance team were able to help with the TV, as we know you did not want to move rooms as you were really pleased with the bed. We have been and will continue our process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Luke Business - 05/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Found my stay great nice room polite staff.

Dear Mr O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Disappointing

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Tim W. Business - 03/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The rooms were physically clean but in my daughters room, the shower, sink and toilet were obviously blocked somewhere in the drainage. My room had residue of the someone having used the toilet and it not having been flushed away, which I did when I noticed it. The receptionist was informed that housekeeping or maintenance needed to be advised. But no real apology was offered, which in reality was not really her fault as either she did not know what was appropriate or she didn’t care. So all in all it was very disappointing and not what I, as a regular hotel user would expect and unless there is no other alternative I would avoid Mercure properties. Which is sad as the reason I chose this hotel is because I had stayed there many years ago when it was a Forte hotel.

Terrible room

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Kevin W. Families - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was booked because we undertook a flying visit to family, and The Dolphin was a 30 second walk away. The room (which was an upgrade) was poor, with the imprint of a pair of buttock on the was, a carpet that I would be ashamed to put on a compost heap, and a filthy bathroom with grouting missing and a shower that flooded the room. The only reason for the 2rating is that the bed was at least comfortable.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Julia R. Couples - 29/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly efficient staff and all measures taken to help provide a Covid safe environment

Amazing customer service

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Lisa K. Families - 27/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely staff at front desk! Helpful, polite and professional! Breakfast was lovely too.. the area it’s self... hmm a little strange! Very strange people outside! Seems rough and I’m from London haha

Not 4 star standard

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Gareth Couples - 25/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is well-located for the ferry port and is also a short walk away from the railway and coach stations. The staff on the whole are friendly (big shout-out to the young Australian lady who dealt with us professionally and with genuine warmth), however the hotel itself is very disappointing. We enjoy travelling and also travel with work, so are well-used to staying in hotels and knowing what to expect. We were both shocked that the hotel has been awarded 4 stars by the AA. We had three different rooms during our stay. The first two were very tired and unkempt. There were cracked tiles in the bathrooms, dodgy flushes on the toilets, curtains not hung properly, stained and worn carpets, scuffed walls, thick dust in parts...in one of the rooms the hot and cold taps were labelled incorrectly causing my partner to burn himself. The final room we had was in a better state of repair. There was a little dust on the window sills, but it was much better than the previous rooms. The bathroom had clearly had work done on it to modernise it, and the toilet flush was working to perfection! The sink taps in the bathroom were both lukewarm, rather than one hot and one cold. The mattress was the worst thing in our final room. The side nearest the window was seriously sunken. My partner was on that side and whilst he thought it would be okay initially (he tends to prefer softer beds than me), he did confess towards the end of the week that it was getting uncomfortable for him. Neither of us could face moving rooms, or the embarrassment of explaining our problems to reception yet again, so he put up with it. We had arranged breakfast as part of our stay, but again this disappointed us somewhat. My drink order every morning was black coffee, but I was given white coffee on two days, and on another my black coffee arrived with lots of floating bits in the cup. Some days we were given stirrers for our drinks, some days not. Some days we were offered sugar, some days not. We ordered from both the continental menu and cooked breakfast menu, but didn’t receive our continental options. Once the food had been placed in front of us, the waiter vanished off and didn’t come back to check everything was alright, otherwise we could have asked about the missing continental elements (and also the missing ketchup — again, a bit of a pattern). The room itself ought to be cleaned regularly. I happened to spot a Hula Hoop on the floor of the breakfast room upon arrival. It was still there on the day of our departure. This truly was a disappointing stay, and has made us question whether to use Mercure in future if this is the standard to be expected at their 4 star hotels. As I said at the start, on the whole the staff were friendly, but the hotel itself needs a lot of work doing to it. Certainly would choose a different hotel should we need to visit Southampton in the future.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Andy C. Couples - 25/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay as ever was great. The only let down was the lack of policing of the wearing of masks in public areas. This put us off as it needs to be adhered to and enforced by the staff.

Good Location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Annette M. Couples - 24/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice, clean & comfortable hotel would definitely stay there again, only downside was that the taps in the bath had been fixed to only work the shower so couldn’t run a bath.

Well located in the city

Customer review rating 3.9/5

S F. Couples - 22/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff and responsive to our needs. Unfortunately the room was tired and run down in need of a refurb.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby