Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

Information message

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.8/5 687 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Bar open daily till 9pm

  • Within five minutes' walk of Russel Square and Holborn Tube and 10 mins walk to Euston

  • Full English Breakfast Available daily

  • Nearby landmarks include the British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Our accommodation(s)

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF LONDON
United Kingdom

Fax: +44 20 7837 3485

  • BUS:  68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE:  PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS:51.520798, -0.123307

Companies

  • BPP 0.56 km / 0.35 mi
  • ITN 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • ITV 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • MCCANN ERICKSON 0.56 km / 0.35 mi
  • MEDIACOM 0.32 km / 0.2 mi
  • MISCHON DE REYA 0.56 km / 0.35 mi
  • NAT HOUSING FED 0.56 km / 0.35 mi
  • NATIONAL RAIL/ATOC 0.48 km / 0.3 mi
  • RCA 0.56 km / 0.35 mi
  • ROY COLL NURSING 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • SOAS 0.24 km / 0.15 mi
  • UNITE 0.32 km / 0.2 mi
  • UNIV OF LONDON 0.32 km / 0.2 mi
  • WARNER BROS 0.32 km / 0.2 mi
  • WSPCA 0.8 km / 0.5 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

Breakfast Non contractual photo

Your meetings and events

The Boardroom is ideal for smaller meetings, interviewing and private dining. Wifi is complimentary and the room is fully airconditioned. 14 boardroom style 15 U-shape 30 Theatre style.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting room

From 1 to 16 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Flipchart

  • Videoconferencing

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Lectern

  • WIFI access

  • Overhead projector

  • Video equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.8/5  687 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  2,738 reviews

Great location, great reception from staff and nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rob Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Really Friendly reception from hotel staff, great location and nice clean hotel.

Dear Rob, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at Mercure Bloomsbury, and appreciate your compliment about the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Friendly, welcoming hotel in excellent central position.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

workmancolin TripAdvisor review

We arrived well before check but our room was ready. Room was comfortable and roomy for central London. Bed was comfortable and hotel is in a great position for sight seeing, bars and restaurants. Had an early start so did not take breakfast.

Underwhelming

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Oliver Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The check in process was fine. Polite and helpful staff. The room itself was very underwhelming and not something I would have expected from a Mercure hotel. The room was spartan and looked more like a Travelodge. There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The mattress felt basic.

Dear Oliver, Thank you for your honest review. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay at Mercure Bloomsbury. Guest feedback is very important to us, and we are saddened to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the fact the housekeeping forgot to place toiletries in your room. We will discuss this with them, and do our best to improve. On a positive side, we are glad that you found our front desk staff helpful and friendly. We hope you could still give us another chance to regain your trust back. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

good location/ good hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Simon S. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

2 night business stay - very handy location. Confortable bed - very small room

Dear Simon. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay, however are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the size of your room. We offer a few different types of rooms, and we might suggest booking a king size room next time you stay with us. These type of rooms are significantly larger than our standard double rooms. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Richard S. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception was very helpful. The breakfast was good and the situation was very convenient for our purpose (tourist).

Dear Richard. Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for all your kind words and compliments. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

N/a Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice staff, lovely room with a nice view and good location. A little small.

Dear valued guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and appreciate your compliment about our staff. We welcome all remarks and suggestions, and will pas your comment about mirrors onto the relevant team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Centrally located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tobias Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff and nice rooms.

Dear Tobias. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your rent stay with us, and that you found our staff assistance helpful. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Nice Hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Oliver Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was located central to where I was working. The Bed had some unevenness and was sinking to one side quite a lot.

Dear Oliver, Thank for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay, and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London. In regards to the mattress we will thoroughly check it, and see what could be done to improve it. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Good Central Location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Np Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Slick check-in. Spotlessly clean room & bathroom. Comfortable mattress & pillows for a good night’s sleep.

Dear Natalie. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay, and highly appreciate your compliments. Our location could not be better indeed. Being situated in the heart of Holborn makes us an excellent choice for business as well as leisure travellers. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Good location but steep portable ramp for wheelchair access

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was good and staff helpful but currently the only entrance to the hotel is via steps and wheelchair users have to have a portable ramp put in place each time they enter or exit the hotel. The ramp is quite steep, too steep to use without assistance and possibly too steep for a power wheelchair. As we were able to book an accessible room we assumed the hotel had an accessible entrance and it would have been helpful to have been told this was not the case. Apparently they plan to put a lift to street level in soon, which would be an improvement.

Dear Joanne, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and appreciate your high ratings for most of the categories. In regards to the ramp, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused, and as previously mentioned are working on improving this. We can confirm with certainty that in the very near future the hotel will be more accessible for wheelchair users. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Nic Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location just needs smarting up.

Dear Nicholas, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a restful stay at Mercury Bloomsbury, and appreciate you giving us high ratings for most of the categories. Some of our rooms come with a mini fridge, and we are working on increasing this number further. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Average

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Jabbar Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall good rooms but breakfast one of the worst

Dear Mr. Jabbar, Thank you for your feedback. We wish you'd had a better stay, however reviews like these show us how we could still improve, and on what to focus our attention. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of our breakfast. We will pass your comments onto the restaurant team. On a positive note we are glad that you were satisfied with the room that had been allocated to you. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Visitor Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good hotel, had everything I needed, clean, pleasant staff

Dear Vicky, Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you liked our hotel, and appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff. Our housekeeping team is indeed working very hard to maintain the highest levels of cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed one week night to attend a conference.

Dear Anita, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you were satisfied with your recent stay at Mercure Bloomsbury, and appreciate your high ratings. In regards to decaff tea ,and coffee please note that they could be provided upon request. We hope to see you again on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Well located and clean. Friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Some of the furniture and doors were scratched and with some damage

Dear Luis, We are glad that you liked our hotel, and appreciate your compliment about the front desk staff. Thank you for brining the fact that some pieces of furnishing in the room had been scratched. We will investigate this, and see what could be done to remove them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Comfortable, good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ajb Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very helpful, location is good, room is very comfortable

Dear Anthony, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that our front desk staff have looked after you during your stay, and that you found their assistance helpful. Our location could not be better indeed. Being situated in the heart of Holborn makes us an excellent choice for leisure as well as for business customers. We hope to see you again on your next trip to London. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good all around

Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very glad that you fully enjoyed your recent stay at Mercure Bloomsbury, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Tomasz / Reception Team

Abysmal room shocking passive aggressive staff on reception on arrival

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I wish I’d stayed somewhere else is perhaps the kindest thing I can say. A rude staff member set the tone, the damaged and damp room confirmed it

Dear Mr. H.. Thank you for your surprisingly selective feedback. As previously explained when members check in online, we still have to ask them to sign the registration card, and present the card they paid with, precisely to avoid a possibility that someone else is using members credit cards without their authorization. Implying that by confirming the identity of arriving guests we are somehow making their payments less secure seems a rather a contradictory conclusion. Further to your complaint - our hotel has a zero tolerance policy for verbal abuse. No matter what membership status of our guests might be no one is allowed to shout at our staff, similarly raising voice or being disrespectful will not be tolerated. Loudly tapping foot to show disapproval to then burst in anger when asked for signature is not a reaction we would normally expect, therefore we had no other options but to present you with a choice to either lower your voice or look for an alternative accommodation. It seems however that for some individuals doubling down, and purposely misrepresenting facts is much easier than apologizing for letting emotions take over. Sincerely Tomasz / Reception Team

Great Location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peter C TripAdvisor review

Carolina greeted us at reception and allowed us to check in early. She was charming and as Accor Club members we were given a bag of special treats. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay from the charming staff and our room was quiet and spotlessly clean. Above all we were in walking distance of all the key places in the west end.

Dear Peter C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review are your recent visit. It is always great to receive nice feedback even at this time when the Hotel is not operating at it pre Covid levels of service. We do however hope to welcome you back when we are back at full operations levels. With Kind regards

Great location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Alexutz_m Business - TripAdvisor review

Great location and wonderful service! Also, very good breakfast choices. The prices are obviously reflecting more the location but in fairness, you don't easily find this quality for this price in central London.

Dear Alexutz, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel after your recent stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the Future. With Warm Regards the Hotel team

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby