Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca

Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 1,489 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Two children aged 12 or under can stay for free

  • Hold corporate events in our rooms for up to 300 people

  • Kick back and relax by the gym and the outdoor swimming pool

  • 32 minutes by car to the Yellow Line

Hotel location

Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca

Av Lucio Costa 5210, Barra Da Tijuca
22630012 RIO DE JANEIRO
Brazil

  • TERMINAL ALVORADA:  309 ALVORADA

  • By plane

    GALEAO AIRPORT At 34km / 21.13 miles

  • By plane

    SANTOS DUMONT At 37km / 22.99 miles

  • By train

    RODOVIÁRIA At 35km / 21.75 miles

GPS:-23.009833, -43.350742

Companies

  • ABOTT 12 km / 7.46 mi
  • BHS 4 km / 2.49 mi
  • BIOMERIEUX 14 km / 8.7 mi
  • GSK 14.8 km / 9.2 mi
  • HELIBARRA 5.7 km / 3.54 mi
  • LAB BAGO 15 km / 9.32 mi
  • LAB SERVIER 13 km / 8.08 mi
  • LIDER AVIACAO 34 km / 21.13 mi
  • MERCK 15 km / 9.32 mi
  • MODEC 4 km / 2.49 mi
  • PROJAC 6.8 km / 4.23 mi
  • REXAM 8.3 km / 5.16 mi
  • ROCHE 12 km / 7.46 mi
  • SENIOR TAXI AEREO 5.7 km / 3.54 mi
  • WEATHERFORD 8.5 km / 5.28 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

365

In the 365° Restaurant, you can enjoy our menu 24 hours a day, served in all areas of the hotel. Enjoy the freedom to eat however and whenever you want.

Your meetings and events

Meeting@Novotel, making your meetings a success. Whatever type of meeting you are organizing, you can optimize the chances of its success by using the Novotel network. Our years of experience have given us in-depth knowledge of event organization. We have modular rooms that can be adapted to your event's needs.

Room descriptions and layouts

14 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 500 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious and contemporary in design, the Novotel room is truly a place for living and can be adapted to suit all your needs.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  1,489 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  930 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Great place

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Renata M. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good experience, great location, amazing breakfest, beachfront.

Disappointed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

I've stayed at this facility for years. The experience is usually great, except this time. The room conditions were disgusting. Mold in room ceiling, mildew & flies in bathroom, bathroom mirror had dirty spit stains all over & sink was clogged up. The TV is outdated and image is horrible. You cant really watch it. After complaining, had room switched, which sadly had exactly the same issues. The restaurant had no ac. It was really hot during breakfast. The 'do not disturb' sign on my door was ignored & not respected. Housekeeping just opened the door, without knocking and walked in. Even though I complained, it happened twice more. I felt so disrespected. The only positives were the extremely professional and pleasant staff: the front desk receptionist Paulo & Veronica; and the restaurant staff, Alana, Carlos, Leandro & Melissa were amazing. They all worked really hard & tried their best to better guests' experience.

Disappointed

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Marcia D. M. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointed with the quality and horrible condition of the cleaning in general. Bathroom mirrors totally duties, dark shower’s titles, bedroom’s walls and ceiling stains. Bath towels too small, old, with stains and the sheets as well. Old and small tv, just one channel has a good image. Telephone only works to call the reception or to call another room. It doesn’t work to call the hotel restaurant, cleaning lady or to make outside calls. I’ve been staying in this hotel for more than five years in the row, one or two times a year. I like the location and the good staffs that I know by names as Paulo, Verônica, Carlos e Alana. But, unfortunately I think I have to make other choices. This hotel getting worse year by year. I don’t see any Investment or improvement a long those years in take care and respect with the hóspedes.

Terrible hotel and rooms were old

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Catherine Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff was not helpful and did not speak English. We were not even offered a bottle of water in our rooms upon arrival. The room was old and there was mold in the bathroom ceiling.

Stay was great and comfortable

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paula P. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great experience, enjoyed the beach and the hotel amenities, breakfast was delicious.

Terrible

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Andre G. B. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Abandoned hotel, no service room, dirty sheets

Can be better

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mariana C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, fair infrastructure, good meals, but poor service at front desk. Accor employees at front desk were rude, and not customer oriented at more than once. It’s common statement that service in Rio de Janeiro is poor, but this hotel made this statement more real than never!

Bad service at the front desk

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Marcos Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Few people to make checkin and checkout and we need to stay a long time.

Linda vista

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Joao Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Apartamento amplo e limpo

ATENDE AS EXPECTATIVAS

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Flavio L. N. C. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

precisa de retrofit. precisa encantar os hóspedes.

Very good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Nagi N. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean, fast check in, excellent breakfast

Well located, not clean enough, nice treatment, was hoping for more

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Dolores Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Got there earlier than check in time, great welcome from the reception desk, but arriving at the bedroom realized both the towels and the sheets were dirty and overused, plus the pillows were disgusting (2 out of 4 of them). Asked for changes several times during our stay, repeatedly brought terrible towels, seemed more suitable for cleaning floors than people. Was really disappointed, asked the clerks and said the towels were already bought and they were waiting for them... same answer about a generator when the light was cutted off during 4 hours (surely a lie, considering an emergency generator should always be a backup in such a big building). During the week I stayed there, I kept seeing a used cigarette on the flor on my way and back from the elevator, seems like the aspirator wasn't working either.... Beach service should be provided, another excuse was given to me as of why the next door hotel has their beach chairs and parasol on the beach and this hotel doesn't... they provide it but you have to come back and forth with beach towels, at least 2 chairs and parasol every day ...

Need renovation

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Renata Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel need renovation and an improvement in the cleaning team. Curtains are old and with holes. The walls were dirty (I had to change rooms) and the rooms overall are old and need maintenance

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Romero A. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

As a gold customer, I thought that regardless of having made the reservation through an agency and not through the Accor website, I would have the experience of the category. Even though I presented the Accor card, there was a total indifference on the part of the receptionists and to be indifferent I could have chosen any other hotel in the extensive hotel chain in Rio de Janeiro.

I will never stay there again

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Magda L. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The worst experience of my life, the bedroom safe wasn’t working, my iPhone 13pro was stolen from the bedroom together with £500 and an electronic translator device was stolen too. The CCTV was showing the house keeper has been in the room but haven’t changed the bedding or the towels. And some other person came to the room to fell up the frigobar. I WILL NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN!! I will let everyone knows about my experience!

Dear Mr. Nicholas John L. and Mrs.Magda L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Barra da Tijuca. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I reinforce that we will reimburse the goods that you mention have disappeared in your apartment. As for the theft claims, we will leave it to the police authorities to proceed with the investigation, according to the report made by you. The team will follow up with you in the necessary measures and we remain at your disposal. Sincerely, Tatiane Ramos General Manager

Well located, expensive breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Thiago F. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Really well located, with good accommodations, nice attendants however the price of the breakfast is too expensive. Very well attended during the check in and check out, however I would like to pay with my point from accor and was not possible.

Dear Mr. Thiago Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Novotel Team

Medium

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Laura Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was ok. I expected more. I have stayed at Windsor across the street with the same budget and it's way better. I'm Gold status on the All Accor and this was a bad experience: when I asked how to generate points at the restaurant, nobody knew anything. So I paid the bill first and then went to ask the front desk. The answer was: oh you should have paid here. She took a copy of my receipt saying I would receive the points: never did. When I checked out and paid the food/beverages I asked about the points again and they said "it will be on your account in 24hrs". Never happened!

Dear Madam Laura Zechlinski M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Novotel Team

Amazing service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

emerfurlaneto Couples - TripAdvisor review

I Know the Novotel standard, that is very well, but I and my wife feel at home here. The staff are perfects in specially Mr. Zé Carlos that give us a excellent breakfast when we arrived like courtesy for exemple. The location is wonderfull with security. So, they provide everythin that we need. Congratulation!

Prezado Emerson Obrigado pela sua resposta e avaliação.

It's not a Real Novotel

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Silvio Luis C Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

My wife and I went to Rio de Janeiro, to meet some old friends. In last January we were in Mercure Hotel Praia do Pepe, and was very good. At this time we choose Novotel Barra da Tijuca that is in front of our preferred Beach Bar.Location was perfect, but the service and cleanness were terrible. Even with my Gold card, check-in took about 20 minutes, and also the hotel was paid in advanced the receptionist said that they were waiting for baking confirmation.We had no room upgrade; we didn't receive any candy in the room, the room was dirty, the safety box was damaged, there were no face towels in the bathroom.It's not a Real Novotel.PS: If you need I have some room pictures.

Thanks for your coments

I WILL THINK TWICE TO BOOK AGAIN

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

henryassahakuffo Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

I booked for 4 nights and stayed 3 nights. during check out i asked my last night's rate be offset against my little extras but they refused. I was very disappointed and expect this not to happen to anyone else.

Thank you for letting us knows about your experience at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca. We are sorry for not having met your expectations. At Novotel, we aim at providing high-level service to each of our clients, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Be sure that we will take the appropriate measures to handle the issue and avoid future occurrences. Once again, thank you for letting us know about your experience and and to clarify your doubts please, contact: h8184-gm@accor,com.br Sincerely, Ronaldo Grapiglia

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby