Hotel - Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

3.5/5 1,165 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Sauna
    • Solarium

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-24:00

Business services

  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

IMPERIAL WAR MUSEUM13.03 km / 8.1 mi MEN ARENA15.45 km / 9.6 mi ROUNDTHORN BUS PARK6.6 km / 4.1 mi SHARSTON IND EST9.82 km / 6.1 mi UNI OF MANCHESTER17.06 km / 10.6 mi WITHINGTON HOSPITAL11.59 km / 7.2 mi
JODRELL BANK22.53 km / 14 mi QUARRY BANK MILL12.39 km / 7.7 mi SALFORD UNIVERSITY14.97 km / 9.3 mi SIEMENS12.07 km / 7.5 mi WATERS4.02 km / 2.5 mi WYTHENSHAW HOSPITAL6.44 km / 4 mi

Exhibition and convention centre

GMEX14.32 km / 8.9 mi

Your meetings and events

The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel can offer you total flexibility in planning and budgeting for your conference. The hotel has five conference rooms.We cater for events from two to one hundred and seventy five, with rooms suitable for settings such as U-shape, Theatre, Classroom, Boardroom, Cabaret, Dinner and Reception.Our largest function rooms are ideal for a host of parties, banquets and life celebration events. Your organiser will act as a single 'one-to-one' point of contact for you and take all the hassle and work off your hands.

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Meeting Room
Room name Surface area Height Theatre style U-shaped Room Board-room Classroom style Banquet
BOARDROOM 16 m2 1 m 12 6 8 6 8
EXECUTIVE SUITE 31 m2 2 m 50 18 24 20 28
TRAFFORD SUITE 40 m2 3 m 50 18 20 12 40
CHESHIRE SUITE 120 m2 10 m 120 35 48 50 120
MARLBOROUGH SUITE 120 m2 3 m 120 30 40 50 120
    • Flipchart
    • Audio and video equipment
    • Podium
    • Lectern
    • Day light
    • WIFI access
    • Syndicate rooms
    • Airconditioned meeting room
    • Slide projector
    • Video equipment
    • Overhead projector
    • Wedding ceremony

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Equipment in the meeting rooms

Our rooms

87 en suite comfortable, modern bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and triples. All rooms offer flat screen LCD TV's with Freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, hairdryer and free WiFi

  • 87 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 12 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
3.7/5 ALL Rating 1,995 reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,165 reviews
Business - 15/12/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Very tired room »

Never stayed before. Pleasant from the outside, festive reception and reception staff that were very customer friendly. However room was very tired, carpet worn, chair in room grubby, shower area stained and worst of all, shower not working, which I only discovered when in there. Basically the hotel / cold handle on the shower transpired to be broken, and therefore literally was only hot to scolding water. I could avoid this but there are people who could have got hurt. On my way out I reported and was told the duty manager would look at it! They must have literally just done that as it was no different in the morning. Surely the cleaner would have reported it so disappointed.

J A. P. Families - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Satisfied »

Good hotel . Passage way to room (103) required painting. Room excellent though unable to turn down heater and the tiles on the bathroom floor were bit poor as there was no shower screen seal to stop water coming through.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JOHN P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Anonymous Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Excellent »

Great Staff and service

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SIMON J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looks like I owe you a pint for writing such a good review !!!!!!!!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Perveen H. Business - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Ms »

Very disappointing in room quality, my first ever stay at a mecure hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear PERVEEN h., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I did however notice you booked a standard room but we also have Superior and Privilege rooms which may better suit your needs if you were considering a future visit. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Anonymous Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« a very run down hotel with a sad feeling »

OK but bed was not comfortable; pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, room not well appointed with sockets; air conditioning unit looked dangerous with exposed wires; view outside window was a concrete wall! route down to room very 1970s in décor. Was surprised on arrival to find people/staff - not sure which - smoking outside entrances. A very shabby feel to the whole experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ANGELA W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Regrettably there are no immediate plans for a major refurbishment but do have some smaller plans for various improvements through the next few months. Sadly smoking around entrances seems to be a standard these days but agree this is not good first impression but despite our best efforts this does continue. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Mary G. Couples - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Room below standard I would have expected »

Paid to book in early. Only one room available. Time pressure suggested we accept. Perpetual background noise of hotel heating system which was very troubling at night. Heating not working but room temp was acceptable. Bathroom fan not working. Check out kind and efficient price of breakfast taken off our bill. Breakfast was best part of stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear MARY G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence but pleased we made an adjustment to you bill by way of compensation. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Liz W. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Booking in was an issue but once that problem was resolved, all was very good »

I booked two rooms in my name but at the point of booking gave the receptionist the names of guets. I provided the reservation numbers to our guests but upon their arrival at the Hotel, they were told there were no reservations for them. Eventually the Manager was called and reservations found.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ELIZABETH W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Pleased to know that after the initial booking issue things went well. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Amy F. Couples - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Lovely way to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. »

The hotel was lovely and the staff were accommodating. The room was hot during the night so had to sleep with the window open, which wasn’t a problem until the morning and you could hear a delivery happening around 7am. The room itself however was lovely and other than the issue with heat, it couldn’t be faulted. Great location, walking distance to both hale and Altrincham.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear AMY F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Deliveries should not be made at such an early hour and whilst it is of little consolation to you now I will be taking this up with the offending supplier. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Anne Business - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was okay, the sheets are clean but the toilet can add lotion or slippers to its amenities

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ANNE V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. At this hotel we have standard, superior and privilege rooms, superior and privilege rooms have a larger footprint and privilege rooms come with many extras including robe, slippers, additional toiletries, fridge with complimentary soft drinks, in-room safe and Nespresso coffee machine, Whilst these rooms do carry supplementary charges it may suit your needs better if you are considering any return visits. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Mr A. Couples - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for one night, bed was comfortable, pool and breakfast great .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear CARL A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Tired hotel with lower standards than most Mercure »

Font desk not manned - staff chatting in a back room, single glazed windows that knocked in their frames all night, no room service not even bar snacks after 9pm. Clean decor but v old.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear KIRSTIE W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Sadly there are no immediate plans to replace windows but we are undertaking some smaller projects over the next few months which I hope will help with presentation. Most concerned to learn of your comments about lack of food as this should not be the case and whilst I realise it is of little consolation to you now I will quickly address this. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

D. S. Families - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« heating in room did not work »

It was a cold weekend. We told reception heating in room and bathroom not working. The person who came to look said it would come on. It didn't. We got a portable heater. We reported the heating again on checking out. Room 56. Arrangement with local taxi firm unsatisfactory. We had to cancel and walk to our destination On arrival the check in person struggled to find our booking. Out local hosts were told we were not booked in. They wanted to leave a gift and couldn't. Not very welcoming

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear s. D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Anonymous Solo - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a very pleasant stay at the Mercure hotel.Only disappointment at breakfast the soft boiled egg was hard boiled.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear HELEN L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Will however buy the chef a clock or timer to ensure eggs are cooked to guests preference. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

L K. Families - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

fine

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear LESLIE k., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Sue &. R. Couples - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Overnight Moroccan return »

First use of Manchester Airport, landed 12mn having booked Bowden to journey home Friday am. Great choice; minutes from airport, night manager extremely helpful in relocating us to ground-floor room. All satisfactory, breakfast adequate and staff very attentive of all needs. Definitely choose again for this scenario; though please note, not ideal if as we did, needing your heavy luggage. Access from car-park to hotel via main entrance or rear involves flights of stairs, no lift to 1st floor but very steep flight of curving stairs, hence need of room relocation.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SUE G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Pleased that the night staff were able to allocate a ground floor room thus avoiding the stairs. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Jackie E. Families - 29/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Staff great room good and food lovely »

We always love staying at this hotel before we fly out for our holidays staff are friendly and rooms a very clean , we always a an evening meal and the food is very nice and great value for money

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear NICHOLA G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Sue Families - 28/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« We enjoyed our stay. »

Nice room, comfortable beds, good bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. It just needs some refurbishment!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SUSAN W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Adrian B. Families - 28/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was ok, but not as good as I expected at all.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ADRIAN B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Whilst there is little of a specific nature within the feedback I can see some areas where scores awarded were low and will work on these to look for ways to improve. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Peter Business - 25/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« A quiet hotel in a posh area, the hotel needs quite some maintenance to become posh too »

The hotel has enough free parking. the ground floor is traditional but renovated, the rest of the hotel needs some maintenance too. Executive rooms are of good size, breakfast is traditional but good, dinner was okay, better then expected but still needs some improvement.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear PETRUS N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sadly there are no current plans for a major refurbishment program but there are a number of smaller projects taking place to improve product and appearance. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Sofia Solo - 20/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really comfortable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear SOFIA B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
ALL - Accor Live Limitless
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into ALL - Accor Live Limitless points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates