Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.9/5 1,917 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • Five fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 100 guests

  • Gallery restaurant serving international cuisine

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Just 25 minutes to LONDON Kings Cross by rail

  • Located nearby the M25, M1 and A1 with complimentary onsite parking for 100 cars

Hotel location

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Roehyde Way
Hertfordshire
AL10 9AF hatfield
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)1707/266033

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LUTON At 30km / 18 miles

  • By train

    HATFIELD At 4.83km / 3 miles

GPS:51.745675, -0.241452

Companies

  • BAY TRADING COMPANY 5.15 km / 3.2 mi
  • BOOKER BELMONT 4.83 km / 3.0 mi
  • BRITISH AEROSPACE 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • BRITISH NURSING ASC 4.18 km / 2.6 mi
  • COMPUTER CENTRE 7.72 km / 4.8 mi
  • DATEX OHMEDA 4.51 km / 2.8 mi
  • LAFARGE 14.0 km / 8.7 mi
  • MITSUBISHI ELECTRIC 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • POLICE HQ 5.63 km / 3.5 mi
  • SDX BUSINESS SOL 9.49 km / 5.9 mi
  • SMITHKLINE 22.69 km / 14.1 mi
  • T MOBILE 4.83 km / 3.0 mi
  • TESCO 2.25 km / 1.4 mi
  • VODAFONE 9.49 km / 5.9 mi
  • XEROX 17.86 km / 11.1 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

THE GALLERY RESTAURANT

In the mornings, we serve our delicious English breakfast, with a choice of your favourite items. Enjoy dinner in The Gallery Restaurant with our delicious, seasonal restaurant menus.

Your meetings and events

The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel can offer you total flexibility in planning and budgeting for your conference. The hotel has four conference rooms to choose from, offering flexible space to meet your requirements.We cater for events from two to thirty, with rooms suitable for settings such as U-shape, Theatre, Classroom, Boardroom, Cabaret, Dinner and Reception. Our largest Suite is ideal for banqueting functions.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 30 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Syndicate rooms

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

All rooms have Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels - FREE WiFi - Hairdryer - Direct Dial Telephone - Complimentary Tea & Coffee making facilities Why not upgrade to a Junior Suite? You can enjoy all the same facilities as a standard room, plus larger work desk with modem business phone, relaxing lounge area with bed settee and large screen TV

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

1,917 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

873 reviews

Relocated when we arrived

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Kathy Families - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Relocated to a holiday inn express which did not match ‘like for like’ what eight of us had paid for. The hotel could have telephoned one of us the night before when the hotel closed, to stop each of us having to undertake long journeys. We have used this hotel many t8mes before and feel our treatment could definitely have been improved by a courtesy call, or even returning our many telephone calls trying to find out what was happening. Well over two weeks after our ‘stay’ we are still waiting.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We are so sorry that we were unable to accommodate you and your friends , unfortunately this situation was out of our control resulting in you being booked out of our hotel , to an alternative venue in St Albans We are saddened of course to hear of your experience at the Holiday Inn, and hope we can welcome you all back in the near future, were you can enjoy a pleasurable and relaxing stay , that you have over the years become used to when visiting us here at The Mercure Hatfield.. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies for this unprecedented situation. Sincerely, Katherine

Well connected!

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anil C. Solo - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am a regular guest staying from since 2021 & found this property A Heritage Soul Refreshing Calm with scrumptious variety of food, Freshly brewed coffee lounge!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Katherine

Ideal location for our mini break

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Pauline T. Friends - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A slightly unusually stay but handled well due to a health and saftey issue. Relocation was smooth and no additional cost to us

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Terrible

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Kim K. Families - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite arranging the hotel months in advance I was changed to 2 different hotels after the original booking. Each hotel change was to a worse hotel and the price did not change to reflect the deteriorating standard. We were finally placed in an awful Best Western. Towels were dirty, rooms were grubby, restaurant was closed and not serving an evening meal. Absolutely terrible. Children did not want to eat the breakfast. Sister wore her socks in the shower. I did not create a fuss as it was a long planned trip to Harry Potter Studios. I would have preferred the hotel to have been cancelled and for me to have sorted but I assumed standard would as minimum meet original booking (where we had a pool, restaurant etc). I'm very unhappy with the hotel we were placed in.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I am so sorry that due to the hotel having to close suddenly that the hotel you were relocated to fell so short of your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, this is certainly not a position we wanted to be in and was totally out of our control. We had hoped that the hotel you were placed in would of been of a similar property to ourselves, but clearly from your comments this was not the case. Once again we would like to offer our deepest apologies for this. Sincerely, Katherine

Understaffed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Charlotte C. Friends - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Visited as part of a wedding party. Room wasn’t particularly clean (long black hairs attached to the bathmat) and needed redecorating as quite dated. The following morning each breakfast table was covered with dirty plates so we had to stack them up at one end of the table where they stayed for the entirety of our breakfast. We could have asked the staff to clear them and clean the table but it was obvious they were run off of their feet so just put up with it. The breakfast was very disappointing when it eventually arrived and then we had to ask for cutlery. Also noticed staff handling dirty plates then going straight into the kitchen and putting toast in the toaster without any kind of hand hygiene in between. Definitely not covid secure. Won’t be recommending or staying ever again.

well located to Herts University

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Andrea Families - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I miss fruits and cakes on a Breakfast, I understand we are in Covid times, but I miss more options!

Dear ANDREA T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Operations Manager

Poor room, poor breakfast

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Prof D. Solo - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was a disappointing stay. The location of the hotel is good, and the facilities are advertised. The staff work incredibly hard - there are not enough people. But two aspects were poor. First, the room I was allocated was disappointing. On the ground floor, there was a great deal of noise from the corridor. Outside the room is the terrace for the bar - people stood outside my room all evening, and they were being allowed to smoke, which was blowing into my room. Breakfast was a debacle. One of the options was mini-croissants, with a warning this would take 15 minutes. It actually took 45 minutes for them to appear, apparently because the ovens hadn't been turned on. I recognise that things are challenging at the moment, but it was a disappointing stay.

Lovely Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Clare T. Solo - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a lovely stay for a wedding I was invited to, the staff were first class in their courtesy and helpfulness Craig is the most hardworking person I have ever met!

Dear Clare, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Operations Manager

Nice room

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Clive A. Couples - 27/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely room with very comfortable bed. It was a shame the restaurant was closed due to a wedding and that we were not informed until a day after our booking. Also not sure why the room has a coffee machine but no pods.

Dear CLIVE A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Good wedding venu

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ij Couples - 27/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable bed, blackout curtains and everything to do with wedding we attended was excellent.

Dear IAN W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and especially Amber, the receptionist on duty. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Operations Manager

Room was comfortable

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Elly Couples - 27/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was comfortable. Service and breakfast service was poor.

Dear ELLIE H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As with most hospitality venues and hotels, we are short staffed and have a very new team, I am sorry if they came across as unhelpful, training is ongoing. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Well located

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Paul B. Families - 24/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were excellent! However the hotel is a little tired (holes in carpet, stains, ceiling in restaurant peeling, windows not shutting well, etc. etc.)

great food

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Pg Business - 24/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

all fine

It was the worst place I have ever been we left after 10 minutes of arrival there was drunk people shouting outside

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

twoodward876 22/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

I will tell everyone not to bother the room stunk of cigarette smoke, the receptionist wasn't helpful at all just looked at me and said I can't find your reservation, id paid over £140 for that we left as soon as we arrived avoid it like the plague!!!! And I will be getting a refund take a look at my Google reviews there's a few followers on there.

Dear twoodward876 I am sorry you had to write this review. My staff are usually complimented on their level of service to guests, this is most unusual. We have a strict non smoking policy in the hotel, all windows in rooms are opened during and after servicing. I will contact you via email.

Accessible isn’t so accessible

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Deepa Families - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked two rooms and chose this hotel as my father has difficulty walking and doing steps. I rang before booking to ask how to reserve a accessible room with walk in shower or wet room and was assured of that adding my requests to the notes for the hotel would suffice. I did this as well as adding on both sections when ‘checking in’ online also. We arrived late at the hotel after attending a function at a nearby hotel (whom didn’t have accessible rooms - hence booking Mercure) the receptionist was hugely helpful and did her best as could see the request on my booking. The room we were allocated for my parents was 126 which was on the ground floor with a shower cubicle (although it did have a step to get into it) this room is a long distance waking down 2 very very long corridors one of which has a real slope on it (no hand rails) and through numerous fire doors and at the far end of the hotel. Which really isn’t accessible when you struggle to walk and have a Zimmer frame. I went back to reception to see if there was any alternatives but nothing else suitable was available although the receptionist tried her hardest to look for alternatives. If offering accessible rooms please make them accessible!

Bed was decent but there were some issues.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jack Business - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bed was decent however the overall facilities in the room were not of a standard hotel anymore e.g no air con, so had to rely on the windows, which didnt open due to faults, the bath room had a lot of mould around the grout and shower screen which I would not expect from a named brand. Also there was no Mini fridge to store drinks etc. The Food was good especially the dinner, the breakfast less so in terms of portion size for the amount you pay. Its a shame as normally the hotels are top notch but this one certainly has its issues.

Well placed and mainly comfortable hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Chris Business - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay with you was good as it ever is hence I continue to come back! It is really the staff here that make the difference. It is quite obvious that staffing levels are low but despite that the existing staff pull out all the stops to serve and keep cheerful. Location parking and the staff are the main reasons I stay in this hotel. The rooms would be greatly improved if some form of air-conditioning was installed as in the summer the rooms are usually very hot and at the very least a fan is needed.The extend the checkout facility is also a great advantage to me. Mobile phone signal can be a little difficult depending on what room you’re staying in and the Wi-Fi is adequate if not excellent. Overall however I always enjoy my stays at this hotel and that is why I continue to come back again and again.

Good stay,

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent, staff so helpful even though understaffed because of functions but never had to wait to long but overall lovely break

Dear Paul, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Operations Manager

room ok . decor a bit dated. bar poor . access from A1M difficult with no clear signage

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Steve Solo - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

well located for university which was purpose of visit but expensive and pricing very confusing. had to change date of visit and rebook. Room originally £66 but rebooked and it becomes £89 , room only with no breakfast. reception and bar area poor. as a "murder mystery" evening was on , every seat in that area was taken and standing to have a drink for an hour was not acceptable. access and signage from A1 M very difficul t with no signs

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As a business we do have varying rates for different days of the week which is why your rate did vary from your original booking. At the hotel we always strive to provide a superior service for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are so sorry to hear that due to us having a Murder Mystery Event at the hotel this resulted in slow service in the bar . Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Katherine

Bit tired but ok

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Ks Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lady on reception when we arrived was lovely. The gentleman on the reception that evening was not! Bathroom could do with a good scrub. Bed not great but ok.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby