Novotel Basel City Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 3,499 reviews
Novotel Basel City
See on a map
+ 20 Services

Hotel extras

  • Modern design and good transport links to the exhibition center

  • Homemade delicacies in the designer restaurant

  • Spacious, modern rooms, including five rooms for guests with reduced mobility

  • Seven flexible meeting rooms for events of all kinds

  • Children's play areas and attractive family services

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shopPaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Boat excursions (Nearby)
  • Jogging track (Nearby)
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Basel City

Grosspeterstrasse 12
4052
basel
switzerland

Tel: +41613066868

Fax: (+41)61/3066869

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BASEL MULHOUSE EUROAIRPORT At 10km / 6 miles

  • By train

    BASEL At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS :47.545049, 7.599613

Your meetings and events

Our air-conditioned conference and seminar rooms are bathed in natural light and feature state-of-the-art conference equipment. They provide space for up to 250 people. Five rooms can be combined into an area of 344 sq. ft. to 2067 sq. ft.With the Meeting@Novotel offer, Novotel promises the right solution to meet every need.

  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Soundproof

  • Meeting room

  • Syndicated room

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Office

  • Day light

  • Slide projector

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Airconditioned meeting room

Go back to tab

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs.

Accessible room

Family Room with a queen size bed and sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Patio, Courtyard side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive Room with queen size bed and sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 34
  • Views: City side, Courtyard side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)
Accessible room

Next twin room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Our restaurants and bars

GOURMETBAR

Type of cuisine: International

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOURMETBAR BY NOVOTEL

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

International and regional delicacies await you at this trendy yet cozy bar, complete with reading corners for lounging and spaces for working.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Basel City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

3,499 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

562 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Freddy L. Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All good in general except that Staff does not warn you of the huge noise due to construction next to hotel

Acceptable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Prince C. Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good breakfast, good location Room, corridors etc crazy overheated, no AC, only open the window to let in noise as well as fresh air. Many services odd like laundry. Poor room service food selection

Dear «Prince C.» Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Basel City. I am sorry that your latest stay with us did not meet your expectations. You are right about the AC, as winters are quiet cold in Switzerland, the AC is switched to heating during this year period. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies; we would have been pleased to allocate you a quieter room, would we have been aware that you were disturbed by the traffic noise. I am saddened to read your comments about Charline’s hospitality and service; she is a trustworthy staff member, well known for her attentiveness and friendliness. I have reviewed your feedback with her, be assured that she apologizes that her attitude did not satisfy your expectations. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Do not hesitate to contact us by e-mail could we help you with your invoice. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

A great business trip

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As always everything was up to my expectations you do have a very friendly staff.

Dear Mr. Z., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon after the situation which is going on. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Clean and professional

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andrea F. Business - 06/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is the third time in a raw that I come to the Novotel Basel City. The personnel is professional and kind, rooms are always tide and clean.

Dear Andrea, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Never again!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Caroline K. Couples - 01/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms too warm to sleep!!! They could not support because this is the general heating of the building. They did not even try to offer us another room with airco!!! We asked for a quiet room, we got a room next to the train tracks and the busy street!! Next morning they asked us why we did not request a room ok the other side.... we left very tired and upset!! We will not book this hotel ever again. We were not offered any compensation! Not even a coffee!! Never again!! Very disappointed!!

Dear Ms. K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Basel City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Indeed, as you have already mentioned we have switched our AC system from cooling to heating according to the winter season. This is why we could not offer your a room with cooling function. Novotel Basel City has opend just in 2014. All windows are triple classed and sound proved. Furthermore the 4. floor is the second highest floor of the bulindg. Because of the construction on the yard side we preferred to provide you a high room. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Nevertheless I would like to compensate your disappointing. I took note that you have booked fortunately directly with us. I kindly ask you to confirm that I can enroll our free membership card for you. I will immediately credit 1000 compensation points to your account and exceptionally re-credit also the reward points for your stay with us. This points can be used in the future for stays in Accor hotels world wide. Once again we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Friendly staff, good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anastasia Families - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The trip didn’t start well: on arrival I have found out that I booked a room for next week. The staff wasn’t flustered for even a second and the young lady at the reception has helped me to change the booking. All as expected: service at good level, underground parking with a ticket you can use to come in and out as many times you need. Nice breakfast l.

Dear Mrs. F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Comfortable and warm

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Hawwau Business - 16/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was so easy. The room was perfect. The shower was divine. It was so good to come back to my room and relax after a long day out. Staff were so friendly and helpful!

Dear Mrs. G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Dependable quality

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Alasdair Families - 16/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff, location and breakfast all excellent. Only issue is room temperature....too hot! Even at full ac at 18 degrees

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Unfortunately our air condition is at the moment in winter mode, so there is only the possibility to heat up the room. Please don`t hesitate to call us at the reception next time. We will come upstairs and open the window to get fresh cold air. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paul S. Business - 16/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel room was cosy and clean. The restaurant/bar was inviting and menu good value Reception team were friendly and welcoming

Dear Mr. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Breakfast could be better!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Aaron Business - 15/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed at the hotel for 3 mornings and every morning the breakfast remains the same dishes. I hope there could be alternate changes each day. This is the only complaint I have and otherwise the hotel is fantastic. Keep up the good work.

Dear Aaron, Thank you for the nice review of our hotel! We will forward your information to our kitchen chef. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Business visit

Customer review rating 4.5/5

John S. Business - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good hotel to stay for business visit

Dear Mr. S., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Excellent Staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mr C. W. Business - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was the first time I've stayed at an Accor hotel. The staff were excellent, the breakfast was delicious and the room & hotel were very well appointed. The whole place was spotless from top to bottom. I was very impressed, and I've already booked my next visit!

Dear Mr. W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Good value

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lucie Business - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hello. The stay, cleanliness and staff is very nice. I also appreciate that staff opens windows for me although it is not a norm. but I have issue to upload the points in my Accor member account. I already sent e-mail 2 times, filled the template and always no answer, no points... Can you please improve the communication flow? thank you. Lucie

Dear Mrs. R., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your words regarding our staff and cleanliness. We regret, that something didn`t went well with your e-mail. We hope you had the correct e-mail address h8…, we checked our account and could n`t find anything. We checked your ALL profile, and we saw you got the points already for your last stay. Sometimes this procedure, takes a few days. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

3 nights for business. Staff were excellent, helpful and pleasant and very quick to resolve any questions. Love the minimal design. Wish the rooms hadn't been so hot. I recommend promoting you have a small gym as I couldn't find that info prior to my travel

Dear Mr. S., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Decent

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lena Business - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Serves its purpose but nothing to write home about

Dear Mrs. S., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Very kids friendly

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Vanessa T. Families - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very kids friendly, polite, welcoming

Dear Mrs. T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Basel City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

The stay was very good. But I was not happy with the invoicing.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kay Business - 31/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My flight got canceled where I could not make the stay on the first day. So I got charged of "not showing." After the payment of full 4 days + 1 no show, I got charged again for not showing. I had to point out that I got double payment to get the credit. Furthermore, our company Ascensia Diabetes Care have the corporate relationship with Novotel Basel City. I was upset to know that we are charged fully for "not showing"

Dear Kay, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Basel City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the over-payment, which we have refunded directly after receiving your e-mail. Be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. At Novotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us as it is to answer your queries; We do have a contracted rate for the Ascensia employees as you've mentioned, however as for every contract there are terms of sale and those doesn't include any wave of fees in case of no-show but a free cancellation until the arrival day, 06:00 p.m. local time. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Great customer service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Johan D. P. Business - 30/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly reception and customer service.

Dear Mr. Du P., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

good hotel...two things would make it better

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Maureen C. Business - 27/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good experience needs more powerful hair dryers and more space around sink

Dear Mrs. C., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will forward the information about the more powerful hair dryers to the maintenance service, and next time when they have to order new hair dyers, they will have the information. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Billal Al Kahlout Front Office Manager Novotel Basel City

Great weekly stay with you.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

René Z. Business - 26/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I usually stay at least once a week for 2 or 3 nights with you at your location in Basel.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby