Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 4,162 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • 8 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 130 guests

  • 18th Century Georgian oast house with original features

  • Feel Good Health Club with heated pool, steam room and sauna

  • Nearby landmarks include Tunbridge Wells and Hever Castle

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Well-being
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel

8 Tonbridge Road
Pembury
TN2 4QL
tunbridge wells
united kingdom

Tel: +4401892628298

Fax: (+)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 93.33km / 58 miles

  • By train

    HIGHBROMS STATION At 4.83km / 3 miles

GPS :51.146079, 0.311925

Your meetings and events

Take the hard work out of your business presentations in the Georgian surroundings. Conducting business is a relaxed affair in the middle of the Kent countryside. Invite up to 200 delegates for a theatre-style presentation, or use one of our smallerrooms for board meetings and interviews. Our eight conference rooms have complimentary high-speed WIFI and bask in natural daylight. You can hire laptops and audiovisual equipment and we'll provide working lunches and afternoon teas. We also offer200 free on-site parking spaces. When your day's work is done, take to the pool in our health club.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 180 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Videoconferencing

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Lectern

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Our signature suite is the 'Room at the Top' where there's room to sprea d out in the separate lounge area with its own chaise longue, in the king-size bed or in the double-ended bath.

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room

Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Wireless internet in your room

Privilege room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room

Superior room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room

Classic accessible room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

THE MALLOWS

Type of cuisine: International

The Arts Restaurant offers traditional and internationally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts and a selection of fine wines to compliment your meal. You'll find individually styled surroundings which offer a relaxed atmosphere.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

12:30 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE OAST BAR

Non contractual photo

After a hard day what better to help you wind down than enjoying your favorite tipple in the comfortable surroundings in our friendly Oast Bar.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

4,162 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,190 reviews

I was very well located and I had a good stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Bonifacio R. J. Business - 17/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The receptionist was pleasant and the stay was wonderful.

Dear Bonifacio J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comments to the reception team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Perfect experience

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 29/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect experience, staff Friendly and attentive will to help for any needs, following covid rules perfectly

Dear Ernest D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Good stay for business

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Nigel Business - 29/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good even in tier 4

Dear Nigel H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Maise Business - 29/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a good stay, hotel is very quite at the moment for obvious reasons but the staff were still happy and smiling which was nice

Dear Maisie W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Good location.Hard to say more under the circumstances

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anthony C. Couples - 27/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed during tier 4 lockdown so it was it possible to judge the hotel standard

Dear Anthony C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. We will use the comments to learn, review and set measures to improve were necessary. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we all very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

COVID Stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

A Business - 06/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Whilst I appreciate the challenges of opening during the COVID pandemic the substandard cleaning and provisions of cups, tea and coffee for guest was poor

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We have been working hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience within our limits during the pandemic, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Quiet

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 29/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The room was fine but the radiators in the room and bathroom were not working. A very tired looking bathroom.

Dear Victoria P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with all my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and standards. I will certainly update my Maintenance Manager to fix the heater in room 102. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we all very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Poor nights sleep

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Tina W. Business - 28/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was above reception. Disturbed by heavy door (possibly staff reception door), slamming shut each time it was used. 21.00 to 23.00 the worst time, but continued through the night. Due to tiredness, and not wanting to 'dirty' another room, I didn't raise it at the time. I did feed back on check out. Had to ring reception in the morning, as they hadn't delivered a prepaid breakfast. Bathroom looking tired.

Dear Tina W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

dark carpark, service average

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sally Business - 24/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

average

Dear Sally D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will certainly share your review with my team and look into why you did not initially get the black bag for rubbish and your breakfast bag outside your room in the morning. I will also follow up with my reception team as to why none of these issues were resolved once you had made them aware. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Terrible communication

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 12/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked after lockdown was announced, was told the kitchen would be open. Arrived to be told there was no breakfast but still charged the full amount for a service station goody bag.

Dear Matthew H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Great overnight stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Maz Couples - 11/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the place, friendly staff, tasty food, we had the dinner and breakfast deal, swimming pool was clean and spacious, even with social distancing, clean room, convenient location.

Dear Masen Hashem M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Best to expect in these circumstances

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Phil B. Couples - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not as usual and not the hotel experience one seeks

Dear Philip B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always important to receive any feedback and I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide this for us. I will be sure to share your comments with all my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and standards. We will use the comments to learn, review and set measures to improve were necessary. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we all very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

This is a 4star hotel ????

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Tasha Friends - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I fail to see how this hotel could be classed as a 4 star hotel.  The bath was stained and dirty, the bath panel was also dirty with which I imagine to be water marks, considering COVID measures, I would assume it to be gleaming. So no long soak in the bath only a shower due to how filthy it is.  No extractor fan in bathroom so it remained very steamy after a shower and also not pleasant if someone used the bathroom, there was nowhere for the smell to go except into the room.  I booked this hotel purely because it said it was a spa hotel. Other spas I have been to, you could sit around the pool and perhaps enjoy a relaxing time, however that is not what we received. I was not informed that half the small pool would be used for swimming lessons so the few plastic seats were used up by parents watching their children learn. The other half 3 meters wide (at best) was stuffed with 9 other swimmers, I guess no social distancing rules applied here? Unable to swim or relax (again the purpose of booking this hotel).  This was a treat for my daughters 17th birthday with our friends. She wanted a relaxing spa break, a relaxing spa break we did not receive.  I certainly will not be recommending this hotel and I am very disappointed.  I have also sent the above information with photos and instead of a reply, I receive this.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.9/5

B. G. Families - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Have stayed here before as it is 5 mins to my daughter's house. Asked for a quiet room and we were tucked away on ground floor. Prebooked an hour's session at the pool as told only 10 people allowed. In the event there were 11 as locals who have membership just go straight in -maybe when receptionist is busy? Room was fine. Towel rail in bathroom didnt work and no way of turning it on. Paintwork had been redone but nevertheless the room looked a little drab. Cushions etc have been removed due to Covid. Disposable cups etc which is hygienic but I had my own anyway. Breakfast was a booked slot in the restaurant and well spaced tables. My cooked breakfast was lukewarm and unappetising considering so few guests. The staff were very friendly and all wore masks. Of course the atmosphere was not the same -one way systems and no sofas in bar area but understandable in the current situation. The price was much cheaper than usual.

Dear G. B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always important to receive any feedback and I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide this for us. I will be sure to share your comments with all my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and standards. We will use the comments to learn, review and set measures to improve were necessary. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we all very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Nice bath

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Roberts F. Families - 04/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

f. with a dog

Dear Sam O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Good night sleep

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 03/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good bed, decent room

Dear Mia F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Brillant stay again

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Keith B. Couples - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic stay. The staff were brillant, especially Paddy and Ernest, looked after us like royalty. We just love the hotel and can't wait to stay again. Thank you

Dear Keith & Jo b., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Nice stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Tresa Couples - 01/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Felt that the Hotel had done everything to Covid proof. One way system, hand sanitizer everywhere, dining room well spaced, staff all wore masks. Staff all very lovely during a difficult time.

Dear Tresa N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Reasonably priced

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Families - 01/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Swim pool slot over 10 felt unsafe No coat hooks and limited towel hanging hooks in room. Other residents not wearing masks in corridors and staff not doing anything about it.

Dear Lisa P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. We have implemented to allow 10 swimmers per session however we are able to have up to 16 swimmers per session for the size of our pool according to current guidelines. All our guests are asked and advised by our staff to please wear a face mask in our public areas, some guests advise us they are exempt from wearing these due to health conditions. Government guidelines state that they do not have to show any proof to us and we are not permitted to repeatedly ask guests to wear face coverings. Kind regards Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Great hotel

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Natalia Families - 31/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Short stay only, but pleasant. Helpful staff, friendly. Nice hotel, free car park. Nice swimming pool.

Dear Natalia W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby