Information message

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 6,058 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
See on a map
+ 21 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 800 guests

  • Walking distance to Manchester Picadilly Station

  • Within walking-distance of Manchester Arena

  • Nearby the famous Arndale shopping Centre

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 13 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Portland Street
M1 4PH manchester
united kingdom

Tel: +4401617511412

Fax: (+)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • PICADILLY GARDENS :  First Manchester

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER AIROPRT At 14.48km / 9 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTERPICADILLY At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS :53.479874, -2.237445

Companies

  • NHS NORTH WEST 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • PANNONE 1.45 km / 0.9 mi
  • ROYAL SUN ALLIANCE 0.48 km / 0.3 mi

Your meetings and events

Make business a breeze with state-of-the-art facilities in the city centre at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. Our International Suite can accommodate 800 conference delegates (theatre style) or 1,000 exhibition guests. Choose from 10 climatecontrolled meeting rooms with complimentary high-speed WIFI. Spread over two floors, most have natural daylight. Getting here is easy the hotel is just 0.2 miles from Manchester Piccadilly railway station and across the road from Piccadilly Gardensbus and tram stations.

Room descriptions and layouts

13 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 800 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Podium

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms are climate-controlled and feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Treat yourself to a top-floor superior room whe re you'll find an interconnecting lounge with sofa, desk, additional television and city centre views. Four poster rooms are also available.

Our restaurants and bars

LEVEL 3 LOUNGE & RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

This individually styled restaurant offers a wide selection of internationally inspired dishes. These range from quick snacks to three course meals and are complemented by a range of fine wines from around the world.

LEVEL 3 LOUNGE

LEVEL 3 Lounge offers a range of wines beers, spirits, cocktails, carefully selected gins and soft drinks. If a full meal feels like too much effort, light meals are available in the lounge allowing you to continue relaxing.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

6,058 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

4,149 reviews

Poor Hotel, Great Location

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

zoes221 09/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The location of the hotel is fantastic, we walked to all bars/restaurants and shops but everything else was disappointing. We arrived having pre-paid for parking with no spaces available as there was a wedding reception on. We managed to finally squeeze on an end which wasn’t really a space in the hope we didn’t lose the rear end of the car! We then queued for 40 mins to check in at reception which after a 6 hour drive and being 8 months pregnant is not ideal. 4 staff members were at reception with 2 staff assisting each customer, both of which were complaining about their rooms. Instead of asking the customers to take a seat while they resolve the issues or ask 1 or 2 members of staff to assist whilst allowing the other staff to deal with the ever growing queue, we were all made to wait for an unacceptable amount of time. Once finally checked in, we went to our room…soon realising why customers were complaining! The rooms are very small, dated and grubby. My bedsheets had dirty marks on them, the carpet is so thin you can almost see the thread. The bathroom was so old and grotty that I felt dirty just stepping inside. The shower head/pressure was non existent and my boyfriend was too tall to stand underneath it so had to use the bath (he’s only 5ft 10). The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. My advice, if you want a good location but happy to stay on hostel conditions, then book. If you are looking for a nice enjoyable stay, I would go elsewhere!

Thank you for the review I am very sorry that we have fallen short on our own expectations for a guest stay with us. We have ensured this feedabck has been shared with the management team to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks

Bank holiday

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Z7998NXdavidm 05/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

I stayed here for 4 nights 27th-31st august 2021 I had a fantastic stay from the moment I checked in friendly professional staff, nice clean room and a fantastic choice of food at breakfast. I look forward to my next stay

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely feedback, its this type of feedback that really motivates the team to ensure everyone gets this experiecne and I have shared with them accordinly. We do hope we can welcome you back soon Thanks

location central for manchester

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Tony K. Business - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

hotel reception and dining bar area were pleasant and well presented but room was tired and in need of some redecoration - bathroom smelled musty and not being able to open windows did not help. food in restaurant in the evening was good value and wholesome - breakfast was great too

Dear Antony Paul K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wes

Brill location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mr P. B. Couples - 01/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice stay. Lovely breakfast. Staff friendly.

Dear Philip B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wes

A stay

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Jason Business - 30/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bad Went to the bar and the waitress didn't know what rose wine was as it wasn't on her menu or what our free drinks vouchers was for . Then disappeared and reappeared sorting magazines Blond haired waitress came over and asked about our order Said we gave it to the girl you was stood with at the till who we tried to give the order to she replied useless agency staff and another 12 minutes later we got a drink Hotels gone down hill stayed twice no points no stays and I'm Gold a few visits off platinum!!

Dear jason h., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We have had an issue with our accor link since upgrading and this is probably why you haven't received any points - let me know when you stayed and I can get this sorted for you. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wes

Very Good

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Gavinontheroad 30/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

great location; the windows are dated and the shower also but I enjoyed overlooking Piccadilly Gardens. The room was comfortable and the restaurant good and I liked the breakfast set up. Very pleasant cleaning lady and the receptionist was welcoming.

Thanks Gavin for your feedback I will ensure the team are aware that they looked after you well and hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Thanks

Condition of hotel was disgusting

Customer review rating 0.5/5

J S. Families - 29/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were rude and condition of hotel no toilet paper in room lift was flooded and heating module fell off the wall.

Dear Jodie S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wes

Mediocre Stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Nutella_Tasha 24/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at this hotel before and had no complaints. This time around it was a disaster. The first room was on the 14th floor and had an amazing view. But the look on the bathroom looked like it had been broken into and didn't work and the bathroom looked like it needed a revamp. We were given another room on the 7th floor that was better but still a bathroom lock that didn't work. We went out and came back around 3am and saw a wet patch outside the bathroom door, on the floor. We say that the ceiling was dripping with water. By then we were too tired to say anything but let the reception know on check out. The staff were great and friendly but I'm glad the room was cheaper then the usual expensive rate. But I still don't think I would stay here again

HI Tasha, Thanks for the feedback we have looked into your issue and maintenance has resolved these issues I am so sorry that you had the misfortune to experience that. Please do reach out to me if you do book again in the future. Thanks

Great hotel but not that clean

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Fionarob76 Business - 22/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Great location, brilliant breakfast, nice staff, but the room was not clean sadly. Other peoples hair around the bathroom, facial and head, and I know it's light housekeeping but the bins could be emptied. I called for housekeeping mid way through my 4 night stay and only got toiletries dropped off. Other hotels at the moment are still doing proper housekeeping, I don't mind light, but I do want sanitary. Also check in took a very long time as only one on the desk with a queue of 6.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review I have rasied the issue with my houeskeeping manager and this should ensure we do not have a repeat of this. We do hope we can welcome you again Thanks

Disappointed

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

PeterD3334 20/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We decided to upgrade to a privilege room as the break was a special event. When we arrived in the room (which was unfortunately next to the noisy lift shaft) we had to report that there was only 1 coffee capsule + biscuit etc and as the phone didn't work I had to queue at reception again. On returning to the room my wife discovered that there was also only 1 towel. I queued at reception again and asked for additional towels. It was clear by this time that the room had been set up for single occupancy. Later when we were going out for the evening we asked for the bath robes that came with the room but we never saw these and were beyond complaining. When going to bed we found that the bedside light didn't work. The room was run down and needed some TLC and we didn't sleep due to the noise from people coming and going all night via the lift. To say I am extremely disappointed is an understatement and how this can be classed as 4 star is beyond me. The only positive was the breakfast.

HI Peter, Thank you for your review I am sorry you are disappointed in your stay I am picking up with the reception team and housekeeping re your stay. If you wish to reach out to me at the hotel then that is ok. I am glad you did enjoy the breakfast thanks

Great location, large bed and friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

NoDisplayName101 19/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Overall the location is perfect for the northern quarter. Parking is very small and some spaces are stacked one behind the other, so you may have to be blocked or block other cars. Rooms are good although run down and need a refresh. Plus, the walls are very thin to the point of hearing full conversations and other “activities”. The location of hotel makes up for all the above comments and the big bed is comfortable, making for an easy night sleep.

Thank you so much for your review I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay we are currently reviwing our car park processes to make this easier for all guests. We dod hope we can welcome you back soon. Thanks

Restaurant Disappointing

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

FPhols 12/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Currently there is no chef so don't pre-book a 3 course meal and look to dine elsewhere in the evening. Issues with basin water temperature (no hot) which were reported and after attention, no cold which was advised on departure. Centrally located suggest you train as if travelling by car you may miss the car park entrance.

Thank you for your feedback, I can assure you that there is indeed a chef at the moment we are simply operating a reduced menu at this time to help with the many issues surrounding hospitality at this time and ensure are team welfare is looked after. On the day in question with regards to the water we had a major mechanical failure which was rectified within 2 hours, however I am sorry this had an impact on your stay and we have put in place measures to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks

Shocking service

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Claire B 12/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Rubbish from checking in to checking out but every time we went to complain always a queue, emailed the hotel once home received nothing back...Hotel completely over booked and staff 9n could not cope.

HI Claire, Thank you for your review and I am sorry we have let you down on this occassion we have reviewed with all departments to ensure your experience is not replicated. If you wish to discuss further please do contact me direct at the hotel. Thanks

Two Night Stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

CreweCrew 08/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We arrived on Tuesday morning at 11.00am, we had booked and paid for an early check in (10.00am) and late checkout (18.00) when booking the hotel online. The reception had no record of my early check in or late check out on our arrival, good job I had printed off my booking confirmation to show reception. We were give room number 1415 top floor opposite the lifts, very small room and very tired looking, room needs a total makeover to bring it up to 4 star standards. When we went to bed in the evening the noise from the lift was terrible, banging and clanking all through the night and it kept us awake. First thing next morning I asked to speak to a manager to get a room change there was no manager available but the very understanding receptionist asked us to come back after 12.00 when rooms had been made up and she would change our room. We agreed and went off to explore Manchester. (This noise didn't just start overnight it must have been there for a long time and I don't think I would have been the only guest to complain about the noise). We called back to reception around 13.00 and as promised the receptionist had arranged another room for us, top floor again 1408, we had been upgraded to a very nice suite, so well done on the upgrade, at least we were away from the lifts and would get a better nights sleep. We booked bed and breakfast, breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice but food could have been hotter. We used the hotel bar on one evening and the service was very slow, we ordered a drink and it was almost 25 minutes before it arrived. When it arrived I said to the waitress I thought she had forgotten about us, she said we were busy and there are only 2 of us on tonight. There were only 5 tables occupied in the bar and I counted 10 customers, I'd hate to think how they would cope if it was really busy?

Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the issues you have experienced we shall ensure we use this feedback constructively as we contine our rebound and train the team accordingly. Thanks

Not a good experience

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Singhsa9 06/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Rooms needs a bit of an uplift, this is not a 4 star hotel as describe. We were told the rooms tea and coffee will not be replenish daily, neither the rooms are not cleaned daily. Breakfast was ok but very basic. No facilities for tourists visiting Manchester. Customer assistance at the information desk was a trainee.

HI Singha, Thank you for your recenbt feedback I am sorry we have not managed to deliver for you on this occassion. Currently as per our brand policy for stay over rooms we are not offerring a daily clean of rooms due to COVID 19 and this is detailed on our welcome letter however replenishments are available on request. I do hope at some point we can welcome you back to show you that this is a one off experience. Thanks

Two Night Stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Iliketrams 02/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Really enjoyed our stay at this iconic hotel. Nice room, great breakfast and attentive staff. Central location and ideal for exploring the city. the staff made us feel very welcome and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Iliketrams thank you so much for the review I am delighted to hear your feedback and delighted to hear the team and the breakfast and room were all great for you. We do hope we can welcome you back soon. Thanks

Not the best

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Cdoc2909 30/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

When I arrived, first impressions were generally good. I went to reception, the girl was very pleasant. Then it went downhill somewhat. I was asked to pay for my room again, despite having paid already, there was no note on the system which is weird as I booked through the app. I was then asked to pay £10 for a late checkout, which my loyalty status states is free. No welcome drink or welcome tray provided which my loyalty status guarantees. Despite arranging the late checkout, housekeeping didn’t seem to know and tried to enter the room twice. The room itself is somewhat tired, broken tiles in the bathroom, massive crack in the sink and an unsightly damp stain on the ceiling near the front door. I don’t think I’d recommend or stay there again. A lot of work required to bring it up to scratch.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback I am sorry that on numerous areas we ahve let you down. We shall ensure we use your feedback from your stay to make the required improvements and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Average stay

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Danielle S. (. U. B. W. Couples - 04/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived and our booking wasn’t on the system so we ended up with a room we didn’t want, which was fine. Complimentary drinks given, while eating our meal in the evening we had Random men who we didn’t know and didn’t work at the hotel ask about our meal, strange. Sleep was lovely, breakfast again wasn’t on the system so they tried to turn us away before it was sorted ans again we had paid for breakfast on our booking, and we paid for late check out but as we got back to our room at 12 our keys wouldn’t let us access the lifts or our room, We had to go all the way back to reception. Not ideal. Won’t be staying again.

Dear Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry to hear that you had a few issues with your stay, we do sincerely apologise about this. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Nice central location and hotel staff were excellent

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nas Couples - 02/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Apart from an initial incident where I was locked in room toilet at start of my stay for which the staff including Charles were extremely apologetic we enjoyed our stay. We dined at the restaurant with nice view of the city park and breakfast both nights - the team on duty were very friendly and always smiling.

Dear Naseer M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wes

Good location, great staff but hotel looking somewhat tired.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Tony N. Couples - 29/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Initially quite annoyed as I booked for my wife and myself but only given towels, tea and coffee for one. One lift out of commission which waits quite long. Staff were very helpful especially in restaurant.

Dear Anthony N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as valuable actions to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. With being a member, we do have benefits at each stage of membership. Once you move into Silver status then we can look at these as options. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wes

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby