Novotel New Plymouth Hobson Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.6/5 4,251 reviews
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
See on a map
+ 22 Services

Hotel extras

  • New Plymouth's newest hotel, rated 4.5 stars, city location.

  • 85 stylishly appointed rooms and apartments

  • Complimentary high speed WIFI, parking, bikes, gym & sauna

  • Floor to ceiling windows for natural lighting

  • Governors serving regional cuisine featuring local produce

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • NEW PLYMOUTHPaying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AMPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

Cnr Of Hobson And Leach Streets
4312
new plymouth
new zealand

Tel: +6467699579

Fax: (+64)6/7699072

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    NEW PLYMOUTH At 11km / 7 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS :-39.056161, 174.087325

Your meetings and events

  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Screen

  • Flipchart

  • Audio and video equipment

  • Videoconferencing

  • Lectern

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Video equipment

Go back to tab

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs.

Accessible room

Studio Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)
Accessible room

Executive Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)
Accessible room

Executive Room with two Queen Beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior One Bedroom Apartment with King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Two Bedroom Apartment with two King Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 62
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

GOVERNORS EATERY + BAR

Type of cuisine: Regional

Governors Eatery and Bar focuses on regional cuisine that highlights the best local produce from the Taranaki region. Featuring indoor and outdoor dining areas, it is the perfect place to relax with a meal accompanied by a fine New Zealand wine.

Lunch

11:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:30 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOVERNORS BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

With its large, street facing windows, the bar is the ideal place to unwind or conduct an informal business meeting over an espresso. Open daily with a wide selection of tantalising snacks and an international selection of beer, wine and spirits.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.6/5

4,251 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

396 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

good stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Couples - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great

Kia Ora Gerald, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Very good

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Grant Couples - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All was well, but the internet was a total disaster. i wasn't trying to upload or anything like that but it just kept disconnecting. Other than that we enjoyed our stay there

Kia Ora Mr A., Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. We will certainly look into the connection problem and hope it did not affect your overall stay with us too much. Our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Karen Couples - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

There for an over night stay to attend a wedding.

Kia Ora Morris & Karen, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We hope you enjoyed the wedding! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are visiting Taranaki! Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Relaxing environment

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Steve Business - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Relaxing environment for a busy week; bedroom clean and comfortable, meeting room comfortable, restaurant had good food - liked that the hotel does not feel too crowded or busy.

Kia Ora Steve, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our hotel and service. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another stay with us. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

It was well located for our needs.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Raelene W. Families - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were brilliant and treated us very well. However, I rang the reservation team to book the hotel as we were coming to New Plymouth for a funeral, it took two day for someone to get back to me, as an Accor member I was not happy with the late response.

Kia Ora Raelene, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel New Plymouth. We are thrilled to hear our staff looked after you during your stay. I am sorry that your booking experience did not meet our usual expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will be following up with the reservations team and passing on your comments. Our reception team are always there to help 24 hours, so please don't hesitate to contact them directly on +6… to get an immediate booking in the future, should you wish to stay with us again. Again our sincerest apologies for the delay in getting back to you. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Modern and efficient and clean.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Duncan Friends - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was perfect exceptthe shower was cold on the morning that I vacated the hotel.

Kia Ora Duncan, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth Hobson. It is great to hear you enjoyed your room and facilities overall. I am sorry to hear you did not have hot water in the morning of your stay. It appears we had a boiler malfunction that particular morning, our electricians were called and immediately started working on this. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and do hope our staff were of some assistance during this malfunction. We appreciate your sharing your feedback, and do hope you return to our hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Good location, excellent front of house staff, ample parking, clean, tidy and peaceful

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Durry Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Out of our three week visit to North Island, this was our best Hotel or Motel stay and only second to a great B&B in the Bay of Islands.

Kia Ora Mr & Mrs M., Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear we were your best hotel on your travels, what a fantastic achievement for us! I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your feedback will serve as encouragement to everyone. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope if you are ever visiting Taranaki again, we get to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Paul B. Families - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

From a great reception to a beautiful room it was a pleasure to stay at the Novotel New Plymouth!

Kia Ora Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review Novotel New Plymouth. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Spacious room, modern hotel close to city centre

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Curt203 13/03/2020 TripAdvisor review

We enjoyed our brief one night stay in a spacious room, and our dinner in the restaurant downstairs was very good. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Easy parking undercover with direct access to the lift was also useful. The only annoying thing -- on checkout I was asked if we had used the mini-bar and I replied that we had not (as we never use these on trips ever!) Upon arriving home a separate charge for a mini-bar item was made on my credit card which of course I had not approved. Obviously I am not going to complain about an incorrect $4 charge, but it is frustrating to be charged after departure. Over the years this has happened to me many times worldwide. Too bad we cannot ask for a lock to be put on the mini-bar door if we know we are not going to use it or even better, have the items removed on arrival and allow us to use the refrigerator for our water!

Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments and I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. I am terribly sorry to hear there was some confusion over your mini bar and bill. I will be sure to look into this to make sure we avoid this happening in the future. We do regularly receive requests for mini bar to be taken from the fridges, so please don't hesitate to call reception and request this, if you are ever staying with us again. Thank you again for your feedback, if you are ever in the region again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Kind regards, Sarah Toon Marketing Manager

Comfortable and quiet.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Karen B. A. Couples - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were professional and friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable.

Kia Ora Karen, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Great stay very friendly

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anne M. Business - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always a great stay with Novotel

Kia Ora Anne, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with the team, particularly your special mention to Vaughn. He will be thrilled! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Great location

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Moises V. Friends - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Hotel was better than I expected and very well maintained.

Dear Moises V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Not bad .

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always good rooms And service, probably just the food menu pretty tired selection not breakfast and dinner.

Kia Ora Carl, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience with our restaurant, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I will pass your comments onto the food and beverage department for their consideration. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the room and service. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jill H. Couples - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a cataract removal during the afternoon, sp relaxing in our beauiful room was just wonderful.

Kia Ora Ms H., We thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is always a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a speedy recovery! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Nola Couples - 11/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception very friendly, room lovely, restaurant food very nice but fish was the only choice for me eating low carb. Handy location. Would stay again.

Dear Nola, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and also pass on your comments regarding the menu choices to our head chef and kitchen team. We are always looking at ways we can improve for guest satisfaction. We do hope you enjoyed the fish dish you had. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Mark B. Couples - 11/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean and tidy room well presented but was let down by having no hot water in the morning for a shower

Kia Ora Mark, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is great to hear you enjoyed your room and facilities overall. I am sorry to hear you did not have hot water in the morning of your stay. It appears we had a boiler malfunction that particular morning, our electricians were called and immediately started working on this. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and do hope our staff were of some assistance during this malfunction. We appreciate your sharing your feedback, and do hope you return to our hotel in the future and have a more pleasant stay. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Awesome staff .most helpful at Breakfast.thanks

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Daniel D. Families - 11/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always up to top quality and a pleasure to stay there

Dear Mr D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay here. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our breakfast team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Esme Couples - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Short stay but enjoyable, staff were very helpful

Kia Ora Esme, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay here. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Marius Business - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good Stay.

Dear Marius, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Sarah Toon Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Well located and comfortable

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Chloe Couples - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were fortunate to win a night here, and it was exactly what we needed. The bed was incredible!

Dear Chloe, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Congratulations on your win again, hopefully we see you again sometime soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Sarah Crossley Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor