Hotel - ibis Riga Centre
Ibis Hotel Hotel Ibis Hotel Hotel

ibis Riga Centre Hotel

4.0/5 506 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Well-lit parking  (Nearby)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • RIGA INTERNATIONAL
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Russian
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 9AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM (Paying)
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Business centre
    • Business center with support staff
    • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Companies and event centres nearby

Company

ELKO GROUP2 km / 1 mi LATVIAN RAILWAYS0 km / 0 mi MAERSK1 km / 0 mi NORDIC COUNCIL1 km / 0 mi SAMSUNG5 km / 3 mi
LATTELECOM1 km / 0 mi LATVIJAS GAZE2 km / 1 mi MCDONALDS5 km / 3 mi RIGAS PIENSAIMNIEKS2 km / 1 mi

Congress centre

CONGRESS CENTRE1 km / 0 mi

Our rooms

  • 125 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 4 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Telephone
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.4/5 ALL Rating 3,111 reviews

Our guest reviews for
ibis Riga Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 506 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2019
Charlene Solo - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Excellent »

Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Hotel room and breakfast was good.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Charlene, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Josh P. Solo - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Always again »

This Ibis is probably the best Ibis hotel that I have stayed at, perhaps because it’s so new. Bigger rooms than usual, better amenities, breakfast included and very rich in selection, top notch location. It is certainly worth 4 stars, even though it only has 3.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Janis, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Charlotte T. Families - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Great stay »

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Ibis Hotel in Riga. It was clean and modern, and staff were friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble. Only 2 small issues with our stay, the shower head was faulty causing a loss of pressure. Additionally there was no tea or coffee facility in room. But otherwise we were very happy, thank you.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Charlotte, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are sorry about Your problems with shower. We will give this information to Maintanance department. Ibis Riga Centre hotel is budget hotel. That's why we do not have extra amenities in standard rooms. But we do have Premium rooms which have tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary water and fridge, slippers. For the future you can book this room type and you will have all extra amenities. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Evgeny Couples - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« thank you for the very good time! »

initially, I was a bit disappointed by the room - it had not a double bed but 2 twin beds close each to other with the shared bedsheet - it wasn't good to me, so I decided to find something else, some another hotel close to the center and railway station. But then, Sanata (hope it is the correct name), the receptionist found a free Premium room - the same twin beds with the shared bedsheet, but with the additional mattress on the top of it so it was much (MUCH) better to us and we decided to stay. Thank you for the good rest. p.s. Please change the description on Booking.com - in some cases, you provide two twin-beds and not one double bed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Evgeny, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for highlighting Santana's work! We will inform her about your feedback and I am sure that she will be as happy as we are that she was able to make your stay more comfortable! We are sorry to hear about Your experience with bed, but in all room we have two connected bed and it's Double bed. In Premium rooms we also have two connected bed, but there is additional mattress on the top of it, that's why it's more comfortable. Unfortunately, it is not possible to change this information on booking.com, but if you have some additional questions, you can always contact reception and we will answer to all of them honestly! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Sofia Couples - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Advantage: The hotel is well located. disadvantage: the rooms are very small, no locks in the bathrooms, very poor quality of pillows (the seem to be very old and soft like jellyfish) , very slow cleaning service during breakfast - all the tables are dirty and occupied with dirty dishes.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sofya, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. All rooms in Ibis Riga Centre hotel are standard size. But we do have Premium rooms which are bigger rooms and have tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary water and fridge, slippers. For the future you can book this room type and you will have all extra amenities and bigger space. Based on Hotel Union standards as we are 3 star budget hotel, we do not need to have locks in bathrooms. We are sorry that it was not comfortable for You. We are sorry that You didn't like our pillows. If You need extra pillow you can ask reception about it or we can also change your pillow to a different one! Please do not hesitate to ask reception about things you are interested in, we are here to help you! About Your experience with dirty tables and dishes during breakfast, we will give this information to Food&Beverage department manager and also talk with waiters about that. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Friends getaway - 04/01/2020 TripAdvisor review
« Disappointing »

Staff all spoke fluent English, which was great. On checking in I was informed that there was a fault with the room, but there were no other rooms available so I had to have the room assigned. I went up to the room and discovered that the toilet wouldn’t flush. I went downstairs to report the concern and the reception staff told me they would be up in 15 minutes. The member of staff came upstairs, to try and flush the toilet l, to which they were unable to do so. I was then told that there was nothing they could do and I would have to remain in the room as the hotel was fully booked. I raised that the toilet not functioning was a problem and that it did need to be resolved. At this point the member of staff stated that there was one room available. This room was exceptionally small, cramped and poor decor. However the toilet did work. The staff were poor and did not reflect the Ibis reputation, which I found disappointing. I do not believe I should have been checked into a room with a known fault. It took longer than the 15 minute satisfaction guarantee.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Marie, Thank You for taking the time to share Your experience. We are sorry to read that you received a bad service. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service that we offer. We do appreciate You sharing your recent experience and we sincerely apologize. Please accept my apologies, but I would like to let you know that we do not offer guest's rooms which have some kind of problem, we offer our guests only rooms which are in proper condition. Perhaps you had some kind of misunderstanding with receptionist, but be sure that if we know that a room has any kind of problem, we offer it only after the problem is solved! We also appreciate if our guest's inform us about some issues and in that case we can solve them as soon as possible! Thank you for your feedback, we will take it on board to better improve the services that we offer. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Riga Centre in future. Kind regards, Lana Grinberga

Ru… Families - 03/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Good staff and the place in the city. »

The Place is good. Unfortunately in room always can hear noise from other room, from corridor. The floor is always crunching. Breakfast place is somewhere in cellar and all morning is the same. Place to sit down is the very low. But, Good staff, place in the city. Near is market place, city center.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ruta, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Unfortunately house is old, that's why the floors are little bit creaky. We are sorry to hear about Your experience with this sound and Your neighbors, but You always can ask about possibility to change the room to more quiet side. Unfortunately we do not have another space for breakfast room. We are sorry that You do not like our breakfast room, but we are trying our best to make it cozy and comfortable for every one. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast, but we would like to let you know that breakfast offer has been changed for several times as we are doing everything to satisfy our guests! We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Luiza Families - 03/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Very excellent »

I enjoyed my staying in this hotel. The service was very excellent.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Luiza, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Vigintas Families - 02/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL
« A rating hotel »

A rating hotel. Neat and clean. Nice service. Very convenient location

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Vigintas, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Olga G. Solo - 31/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Very helpful and attentive personal! »

Hotel stuff qas extremely friendly and made my stay in the hotel very comfortable. Allways with pleasure

Lily Solo - 30/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very cozy But it has several problems. First - noise. You can hear everything behind the door. Especially someone who lives next to your room. Second - very tiny kitchen. Even in early hours you have to stand in a crowd waiting for your turn. Third - showers. When you take shower, water doesn’t go away properly. The only feeling is that you have flood disaster in the bath room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Liliia, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We are sorry about noise in the room. The sound insulation in all rooms meets standards. We are sorry to hear about Your experience with the sound, but You always can ask about possibility to change the room to more quiet side. Unfortunately we do not have another space for breakfast room. We are sorry that You do not like our breakfast room. We are sorry about Your problems with shower. We will give this information to Housekeeping supervisor and Maintanance department. But we would like to inform You, that if there is some problem no matter what time it is, please immediately call reception, and we will solve this situation. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Espen Couples - 29/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Nice room, staff was helpful and kind »

Good experiense, maybe the break fast could be better

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Espen, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Riga Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are very sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We try to serve huge variety of food so all guest can choose what they like the most. Please be sure that we will learn from your concerns as we aim to improve our services in order to make all our guests happy. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Kristel Couples - 28/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« too noisy »

Our room was on the 1rst floor, at the of the hallway. (Room 111) We stay there 2 nights and both night was impossible to sleep. Very near was problaby some kind of tehnical room, because all the time there were so noisy that we could not sleep!! We were specifically looking for a soundproof hotel room!! The breakfast room was in the basement, narrow. The breakfast was not good. Very little choice.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kristel, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We are sorry about Your experience during this stay time. You can always ask about possibility to change room or request a more quiet room. Unfortunately we do not have another space for breakfast room. We are sorry that You do not like our breakfast room, but we are trying our best to make it cozy and comfortable for every one. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast, but we would like to let you know that breakfast offer has been changed for several times as we are doing everything to satisfy our guests! We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Christopher G. Families - 25/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Bad nights sleep »

Poor pillows they were too soft and no alternative. Breakfast was very poor and not ideal especially for children.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We are sorry to hear that the pillows was not as good as you expected. But You always can ask reception about some options to change pillows or ask some extra pillows. We are sorry that You didn't know that. We are very sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We try to serve huge variety of food so all guest can choose what they like the most. Please be sure that we will learn from your concerns as we aim to improve our services in order to make all our guests happy. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Zane Solo - 23/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location of hotel and great breakfast.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dzintra, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Solo travel - 19/12/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Opposite the train station »

The hotel is located opposite the main train station and about 10 minutes away from the bus terminal. The staff at the reception is friendly and helpful. The rooms are ibis standard. Clean and functional. Breakfast selection is ok with plenty of local food in addition to the usual hotel fare.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of ibis Riga Centre hotel! We really appreciate Your comments and it's great to hear that we were able to provide your a comfortable experience during your stay! I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Lana Grinberga

GordonK601 Business - 17/12/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Experience in Riga »

It’s not safe in Riga since when I come out for dinner . I saw pickpocket by three guys surrounded suddenly the old woman and ran away. A policeman came out right away and caught one. But wonder there is no CCTV inside the tunnel. Then we take cab going back hotel after dinner to keep us away danger. The corridor has no light until you pass through saving the power. However, I have travelled 30+ countries , this is the first time and the first impression is very poor since LED in power consumption is pretty low at all.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gordon, Thank You for taking your time to write a review about Ibis Riga Centre hotel! Unfortunately, there are situations like this in the tunnels of the center of Riga. The police is informed and Riga Municipality is doing everything to prevent such occurrences. Accor group hotels are involved in sustainable development program. According in order to save energy, the hotel corridors are equipped with light sensors. I'm sorry to hear that you found the LED power consumption to be very slow. I have already informed Maintenance department manager to find a solution to this problem. Once again thank you for your feedback. We will hope that You will give us a opportunity to look after You again in the future. Kind regards, Lana Grinberga

Maris Business - 15/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Good location, good service »

I was very satisfied, stayed in this hotel already few times before. However, please do something with your kitchen! Ventilations doesn’t really work there, so entire breakfast room stinks...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Maris, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Mr G. Solo - 14/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« Bouncy floors »

It was great, but the floors are connected to the corridors, so when someone walks down the corridor they shake your room

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Unfortunately house is old, that's why the floors are little bit creaky. We are sorry to hear about Your experience with this sound, but You always can ask about possibility to change the room to more quiet side. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Anonymous Business - 14/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL
« It's ok »

Cleanliness was ok, wifi too, but registration was somehow extremely long, the breakfast selection is very small and i really missed some tea or at least glasses for water in the room

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sarune, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Riga Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We are sorry about Your experience with long registration. We will remind all staff about our standards and rules. We are very sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We try to serve huge variety of food so all guest can choose what they like the most. Please be sure that we will learn from your concerns as we aim to improve our services in order to make all our guests happy. As Ibis hotels are economy class hotels, we do not have any extra amenities in the standard rooms. But we do have Premium rooms which have tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary water and fridge. For the future you can book this room type and you will have all extra amenities. We are sorry about cold room. Maybe in the room the heater was not turned on ''5'' which is maximum for this heater. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely Ibis Riga Centre Hotel Team

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
Your loyalty is rewarded
ALL - Accor Live Limitless
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into ALL - Accor Live Limitless points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates