Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 6,321 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 10 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Companies

  • ALLIANZ 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • BAE SYSTEMS 7.08 km / 4.4 mi
  • BBC 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • BT 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • DIRECT LINE 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • G4S 4.67 km / 2.9 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LLOYDS BANKING 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • RBS 0.48 km / 0.3 mi
  • REGISTRY OFFICES 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • ROYAL MAIL 13.68 km / 8.5 mi
  • SANTANDER 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Your meetings and events

We have a choice of well-appointed function rooms, all easily adapted to suit any occasion from a large corporate event to a small private party.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 600 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Videoconferencing

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

With 182 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites, leisure and beauty facilities, and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our restaurants and bars

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

KEEPERS

Chill-out and relax in Keepers bar, enjoy our comfortable seating and variety of working spaces. Our drinks menu features an extensive selection of wines, beers, cocktails, soft drinks, coffees and teas.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,321 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,097 reviews

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

L. H. Families - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed overnight and loved the hotel. Loved everything about Bristol. We will defo be back

Hi L., Thanks for this feedback of your recent stay. We appreciate your thumbs up for our hotel; we aim to give the best experience possible to all our guests. We can't wait to see you again. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Good location, comfortable stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

located in a great area, great amenities in the hotel, great sized room really clean and comfortable!

Dear Guest, Thanks for the kind review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed so much of your stay with us and found our central location great for getting around the city. Please do tell us what else we could have done to make your stay perfect, we love to hear from our guests so that we can continue raising our game. We'd love to see you back again soon. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Good central location.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Kevin Couples - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our first stay. Breakfasts were very good. Staff efficient and friendly. Room OK and bed comfortable, but more storage space for clothes and a wardrobe, rather than just an open hanging rail would be useful. That maybe OK for a 1 or 2 night stay, but for 5 nights or more for 2 people it was just about adequate. Quirky and eccentric artwork and upholstery to chairs contrasted with functional/industria-stylel lighting and made for an odd mix. No extractor fan in the bathroom and no heated towel rail made drying towels difficult.

Bad stay

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Business - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor hygiene, had to move rooms twice, breakfast is substandard and having to pay extra for car park.

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We try to ensure all our guests have a pleasant experience and we're sorry to learn of the issues you had. We are very sorry for this and we'll get our maintenance team to check the air conditioning system hotel-wide. It is disappointing that you felt our breakfast didn't quite hit the mark for you, as while we are following all heath measures we are still offering two breakfast options, one cooked to order or a continental buffet to suit all tastes. We hope we can provide you with an improved stay in the future. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

cool stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 23/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

stayed for work, nice central location with updated modern rooms. Air con worked a treat during the hottest week so slept great for once. No complimentary water though and the fridge was turned off despite my colleagues having the same room and all the benefits.

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kim R. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always enjoy your hotels, on this occasion air con unit was dripping constantly overnight causing us not to sleep very good. did report to reception in morning who said they would look at it and apologised.

Hi Kim, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry that your night's sleep was not perfect. Please accept our apologies again and know our maintenance team is taking care of the issue. We hope your next stay is just around the corner. All the best. Michael, General Manager

Fabulous Hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Keith R. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Hotel was very well situated. Our room as a member was excellent with king size bed . Breakfast was a choice of Full English or continental very nice . No issues at all.

Dear Keith, We are glad to receive such a positive review! We are very delighted to know that your recent stay with us was a good experience and our location and room were convenient for you. It is very rewarding that you were able to make the most of our tasty breakfast buffet, which we hope was an ideal way to help start your day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SQUIZZLE25 22/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is in a great location. Only a 5 minute walk leads you to the river which is lined with loads of restaurants and bars. The room itself was lovely and stylish - although the walls do need a refresh as there were a few marks in places. Unfortunately we were in a room right next to a generator which made a bit of noise during the night. I expect as we booked last minute that's why we were placed in that room which is understandable, however luckily we did still manage to sleep quite well in the very comfortable bed. Each member of staff we dealt with were very helpful, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Mrs B. Friends - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointed with our stay this time, was given a room with no window and very small, we asked to change rooms which we did, but the couple we were with had problems with their room too. They did not have any shower curtain and water went everywhere when they showered, the bathroom door would not open very wide and they had trouble getting in. We did report this but we’re told did not have any maintenance until Monday and this was Friday which is not really acceptable.

Dear Mrs B., Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry that your most recent experience with us was not as good as usual and we would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. so that we may address them and ensure your next visit is much improved. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

Good location for attending court.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Ms R. Business - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I found the reception area bright and modern with great staff. The room on the third floor was clean but décor was poorly maintained. Plaster missing on walls, stained carpet. The breakfast was very poor but the evening meal was good.

Dear Ms R., Thanks for taking the time to send us your review. We're pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be handy. We've taken note of your remarks and will address them with our teams. We always read comments from our guests with interest and your feedback is valued. We're looking forward to welcoming you again. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Great location and service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Frank O. Business - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Apart from the somewhat difficult to understand parking arrangements, a very pleasant stay. Though the toaster in the breakfast room could do with replacing. Staff very polite and attentive

Hi Frank, Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit. It's great to know your stay met your expectations although we are sorry you had issues locating our car park and will look into the directions we give to guests. We appreciate the head's up about the toaster and will get that looked at. We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Not so good

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Colin B. Business - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hmm well parking. I called to enquire about parking a van. No issue. Well it was the entrance was just suitable for a car. Also why was the restaurant closed just because if some football ‘game’?. Leaving on Monday the barrier failed and getting it open was not easy. Whoever answered the intercom was most rude and said, i suppose i’ll get someone to open the barrier then.

Hi Colin, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your recent stay with us. We regret that there were aspects of your visit which didn't meet your expectations. Regrettably, due to the England football final, our restaurant and bar were fully booked and we understand that you were disappointed. We're located in the heart of the city so there's a great selection of bars and restaurants to choose from nearby and so hope that you managed a great evening nevertheless. Please accept our apologies for the information provided, this was clearly an oversight and will be addressed with our team. Our aim is that our guests have the best possible experience while staying with us. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anita Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was in a good position but the bed was very uncomfortable, the breakfast was mediocre and there were pigeons nesting outside the window which were very noisy

Dear Anita, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are really sorry that your experience wasn't as great as we would have liked. All your comments are appreciated as listening and learning from our guests is key to us and our constant pursuit in meeting our guests’ expectations. We will be looking into the issues you have raised in our customer satisfaction survey. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Take care, Michael, General Manager

Tiny room, nosiy air-con, no hot water

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Paula Couples - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was described as a compact double and it was certainly compact. The double bed wasn't a full sized double bed. There was only room for one bedside table and only just enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was a good size but unfortunately on the first day we had no hot water so had to have a cold shower. This was rectified for the second day. The room was very hot so needed to have air-con on but that was so noisy you couldn't actually sleep. The main requirements for a hotel stay are a good night's sleep and a nice shower in the morning and neither of these requirements were satisfied unfortunately. On the positive side, the hotel was clean, the restaurant was nice, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

Hi Paula, Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased your dining experiences were good and that our standards met with your approval. We apologise for the lack of hot water on your first night and we will check out the noise from the air conditioner. There are different categories of rooms with different bed sizes which are all explained on our website and our team are always ready to assist when booking to find the ideal room for your needs. It would be great to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Marcel R. Families - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff and good location. Unfortunately continental breakfast didn’t meet expectations - poor quality of croissants & juice. Family room is a plus - it would be great if they were available on higher room categories too.

Hi Marcel, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It's really great to know that our location was ideal for all that Bristol had to offer. Your positive comments about our family rooms are really appreciated as we love to know what our guests are looking for. We are sorry that our breakfast didn't live up to expectations and are open to any suggestions that you may have. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

It was okay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Riley Couples - 10/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I mean it was okay. The lobby was pretty. However I had called up a week before to ask about room service and was told that it was fine and the menu was the same. However, turns out they were using a limited menu and that room service wasn’t really available as I had to go collect it. So a bit disappointing. Most staff were pleasant bar one woman at reception who was very rude to my girlfriend. The room itself was nicely decorated with a good size bathroom. However it was tiny, I’m not sure I was given the standard room as it was so small I thought it could be the compact room. For the size I wouldn’t say it was worth the money. We had a view of a car park which was well just lovely…I would potentially stay here in the future when restrictions were lessened and if prices were reduced.

Hi Riley, Thanks for your review. We're sorry that we didn't get to give you that perfect experience. Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding with the information given on covid restrictions, which are constantly changing and we are doing our best to keep up. We will be checking that our team are brought up to date. If there is something about your room that is not quite as expected, please let us know so we can check and if necessary, change you to one you may prefer, depending on availability of course. Our team are here to help and we regret if you felt that was not the case, and don't worry we will be talking to our reception about your comments. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Unsatisfactory stay

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Richard G. Families - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were left very disappointed after our stay. We have stayed in many hotels of various star ratings around the world - and the standard during this stay was not what we have come to expect from a 4 star hotel. Overall we were very unimpressed with our stay - Some specific examples include; - The room was very dark and didn't feel very homely. The lighting is poor and not what you need in a 'family room'. - We arrived to find the sofa had been made up into a double bed. The hotel staff should have been aware from our check-in details that my son was 1 year old and therefore would not be able to sleep in a double bed. It was an annoyance to have to disassemble all of this to make space for our cot (we did ask for this to be done by the hotel staff, but they didn't arrive to do so until very late, but which point my son was in bed). - The air conditioning in the room was a very old machine - this made temperature control in the room very erratic. - The TV remote had the back missing, leaving the batteries exposed. This is very dangerous with small children around (these being a choking and ingestion hazard). - The breakfast was of very poor quality and far below what we would expect in a 4 star hotel. I have had better breakfasts in cheap budget hotels. Both myself and my wife have Coeliac disease so require a gluten free diet - the options for this were very limited and not worth the additional money we paid for breakfast. - The fire alarm went off at approximately 0100 hrs on our second night. When we went down to reception (having woken our 1 yr old son) there were no members of staff explaining what had happened. We had to take word of mouth from other guests that it was a false alarm. This is a significant safety issue and I do not believe the correct procedures were followed for when a fire alarm is raised. Having said this - in general the reception staff and waiting staff at breakfast were attentive and tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Hi Richard, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your stay. We regret that we did not meet all your expectations and are very sorry to learn of your concerns as the safety and well-being of our guests is a top priority. We can assure you that all protocols were followed and can only assume that at the time our reception team were occupied in ensuring all our guests were safe. We have taken note of your comments and will be reviewing our procedures as our aim is to ensure that you have the best possible experience with us, We hope we can welcome you back. Kind regards, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jordan Couples - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is nice and is in a great location in the Old City of Bristol. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well presented. The bed was super comfortable and large however the pillows were very firm and for us we would have preferred a softer kind of pillow. We had breakfast one morning which was disappointing and really not worth the money we paid for it. My eggs arrived uncooked and had to be sent back and overall the breakfast was just not good. There was also an issue of people smoking in their rooms which we felt the staff should have been on top off. Especially as it smelt like weed and later that night at 1am the fire alarm went off which we later found out was due to someone smoking in their room on our floor. I would recommend staying here although i'd go somewhere else for breakfast.

Hi Jordan, Thanks for sharing your review. We are here to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible; we have 2 soft and 2 firmer pillows in each room and are happy to let you know which is which. We're sorry that we weren't; on top of the issues you mention, please just let us know so we can take the action needed. Any suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast are gratefully received. We all hope to welcome you back. Take care, Michael, General Manager

Good service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

BobbyVegasEngland Business - 17/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

Good service as always. Been staying here for the past couple of months. Have been upgraded on occasions as well, which has been nice. Will be soon a gold member so will be expecting regular upgrades which will be reported on.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for you wonderful feedback on your recent visits with us. I am so pleased to read that you are a returning guest time and time again. You will indeed be a gold member before we know it, we look forward to recognising your status upgrade on your future visits. Until we meet again soon, take care. Michael General Manager

Lack of communication

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Alyson P 05/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

Whilst I totally understand the challenges in the current climate, I feel customers should have been made aware of of amendments to specific services prior to booking so they can make an informed decision as to whether to book. -The take away breakfast was not highlighted until check in and certainly not worth the money. I would have booked room only and made alternative arrangements -hiding the bar opening hours (5pm -9pm)in a QR code not available until you’re in your room wasn’t helpful. Even then, in amongst all the other information, I didn’t notice the closing time. It also didn’t state that there was a very reduced range of beverages. We had arranged to meet family at 8pm in the bar, this was the actual reason for our visit. Again we would have made alternative arrangements had we known. - bar staff not highlighting that the bar was closing at all. We went to order a round of drinks to be informed that the bar was closed. Not in the least customer friendly. In all we were made to feel like an inconvenience. This could have been avoided if the website had stated that there was no reception/lounge seating areas, takeaway pre packed breakfast only and very limited bar service. None of these are deal breakers but allow customers to plan their stay accordingly.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby