Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.7/5 6,530 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+44)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Companies

  • ALLIANZ 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • BAE SYSTEMS 7.08 km / 4.4 mi
  • BBC 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • BT 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • DIRECT LINE 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • G4S 4.67 km / 2.9 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LLOYDS BANKING 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • RBS 0.48 km / 0.3 mi
  • REGISTRY OFFICES 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • ROYAL MAIL 13.68 km / 8.5 mi
  • SANTANDER 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Hotel services

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • 2 Bars
  • Breakfast Currently unavailable
    • Express
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 11 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 186 rooms
    • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • No family room
    • 3 connecting rooms
    • 186 non-smoking rooms
    • 4 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Express check-out
  • Porter
    • Porter
  • Concierge
    • Concierge
Access to property
  • Car Park Additional charge
    • On site
    • 150 parking spaces
    • Private

Your meetings and events

We have a choice of well-appointed function rooms, all easily adapted to suit any occasion from a large corporate event to a small private party.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 600 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Videoconferencing

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,530 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.0/5

1,142 reviews

Well located, nice room, fell short on small things.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Dawn G. Families - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We paid for 2 'privilege rooms ' which were nicely decorated n had nice outlook. We were on 2nd floor 3rd floor outlook was not v good. Website stated mini bar with free soft drinks - actually its just a fridge. Both were empty when we checked in so I got in touch with house keeping to asked them to stock n they forgot. Chased again following day n it was stocked with 2 cans and 2 bottles of water so misleading. Shower rms nice but we had to stop shower half way through for tray to drain. Advertised with toiletries but they had run out of shower gel, again a promise to pop up with some but that did not appear either which resulted in a supermarket trip for me; not ideal. It sounds like we had awful stay we didn't, it just felt like we had paid extra for 'privileges that were none existent. This was a treat for us and our daughter n partner for her graduation so it was disappointing that I had to complain about anything. The receptionist was quick to apologise but did not follow up on promise...not even a drink at the bar to compensate- really turned put to b lip service.

Hi Dawn, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you chose to celebrate your daughter's special occasion with us and while it is great to know that our location was handy for you and that you enjoyed your comfy room, we are sorry that not everything was as you hoped for. As mentioned on our website and all booking sites our minibars are usually stocked with complimentary soft drinks and we apologise for this oversight. We're sorry you felt you didn't receive the usual helpful and responsive service expected from our team; be sure that we will be addressing your comments with them to ensure that we up our game in this area. We hope that you will return in the future. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Average stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mr S. L. Families - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have to be honest I was dissapointed. I am originally from Bristol and booked the Grand because it always had a good reputation many years ago. I was very much looking forward to my stay. The room was very cold that night The heater was not functioning correctly but at 11.30 pm when I returned to my room and after 20mins establishing it was faulty it was to late to do anything about it. The window in the side bay was mouldy caused by the secondary glazed panel beening removed which added to the temperature issues on a cold night. I'm not the type of person to complain but a trip that I was looking forward to to meet my Brother after a few years was slightly spoilt by this. However I wish your hotel a successful future. Regards S L.

Hi there, Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We're sorry to hear that things didn't quite match your hopes and we'll be sure to pass on your comments to our maintenance team. We would have found you an alternative room had we known of your issue, so please let us know on the spot so that we can quickly sort out any bothers, however big or small. We hope that you'll come and see us again. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

overpriced, poor food, and not allowing for conference networking and socialising

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Marcus K. Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor, the brief mentioned a gym, but its wasn't so much it was closed but I was told it no longer advertised it was my fault I didn't know. How did I find about about it then. Rooms expensive and only reason I stayed was to meet delegates, but they stopped serving right on the dot of 1030 not acceptable for a conference / Food at the conference meal was cold and uninspired, overpriced. although service was polite and friendly. really very disappointed have complained to conference about venue

Hi Marcus, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your recent stay with us. While we're glad that our team looked after you, we're sorry that things weren't completely perfect for you. We no longer have gym facility on our website but it is proving more difficult to get it removed from some booking sites, and are very sorry if you felt let down. We do our best to offer competitive prices; however, we have noted your comments and thank you for letting us know what you think. We're sorry that your meal was cold, just let our restaurant team know of any such issues at the time; they would happily warm the food for you. We hope we can welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Very Poor Stay

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Matt Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I did send an email dated 12/11 to ha… explaining everythinfg along with photos but it was unanswered.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was comfortable and well appointed. Lifts were slightly scary, on one lift I could only go as far as floor 3 then had to walk, the other lift you could not go to one of the other floors. I liked the sanitising hand gel dispensers around the hotel but they were mostly empty, so I had to use my own. Hotel was generally clean and staff were very present. I would stay again.

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled to read that you loved our comfortable rooms, however, we're sorry that not all of your stay met your expectations. Thanks for appreciating the dedicated work of our housekeeping team, nevertheless we will be sure to look into the issue you have raised as we try to ensure that our guests enjoy a relaxing visit in a safe environment. We're sorry to hear you felt inconvenienced by our elevators and have also noted your comment in your guests' satisfaction survey about the internet. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location. The room was lovely, but I had issues where my door key was disabled on the second day, there was a massive queue at reception following a conference ending so I couldn't get back in my room for an hour. I also kept getting phone calls to my room from people trying to get through to reception which woke me up at night. Also whilst the breakfast tasted nice none of it was hot which I found a bit offputting

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your stay. It's great to hear that our location was handy for you and that you enjoyed the variety of our breakfast offerings. We are sorry to hear that not all parts of your stay met your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will get our technicians to check the key management system, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused at the time. Likewise with our phone systems, we will have them double-checked. Sorry to know that breakfast wasn't completely perfect for you; next time let us know there and then and we'll make sure we get it exactly to your taste. We would be pleased to welcome you back. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Height restricted parking

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Ian T. Business - 18/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is fine although the windows locks were broken in the room I had and the key card kept wiping itself. My main frustration was that nowhere on the mobile website did it state the car park was height restricted to 1.8m meaning I couldn’t use the car park. A number of other vans and high vehicles had the same issue so they were double parked in an alley at the side of the hotel or in the loading bay out front. One night I ended up driving round the city centre after work trying to find a space. Please advertise clearly these restrictions on your mobile website to avoid disappointment and frustration for future guests.

Customer review rating 1.0/5

P Business - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

worst hotel experience, unclean, staff not friendly, restaurant service appalling Took pictures of unclean bathroom and brought to the attention of manager, He blamed covid

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and it is disappointing to hear things weren't what you were hoping for. We're sorry to read about the issues you had, we will be sure to look into your comments, please accept our apologies for this blip in our high standards. We hope we can welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Poor Quality Hotel

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Rp Solo - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really poor hotel! I stayed for a friend’s wedding. My room was quite scruffy especially for a 4 star hotel. Shabby scratched paint, bits of tissue and feathers all over floor, evidently unhoovered and marked upholstery. There was no shower gel, two shampoos but no conditioner and really cheap instant coffee. Again, for a 4 star hotel, not good! Premier inn is much better value with a guaranteed good night sleep, shower gel and kenco coffee. Rooms might not be as ‘boutique’ but quality of stay is better. Very disappointing. First stay with a mercure. Stayed at Marriott, Hilton, radisson before. Wedding food was a disaster and the bride had to order in Dominoes! Breakfast was SO basic. Only 3 cereals (coco pops, cornflakes and plain granola) and white or brown sliced bread. No fresh bread to slice. Had to ask for alternative milk but no alternative soya yoghurt available.

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're sorry that things weren't spot on for you this time and we'll be sure to look into this and address it with our team. Please know that we want all our guests to have a special time and we'll be making sure we get it right next visit. We hope you'll be back for a more memorable stay. Take care, Mahesh, General Manager

Excellent location, perfect inner city base!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Louise Couples - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was excellently located near everything we needed. The room was a great size and had all the amenities required plus a few nice touches. It was a clean and comfortable stay for running round Bristol and felt a nice safe base to return to. Parking next door was also great!

Dear Louise, Thank you for this review of your time at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience and that our standards met your expectations. We can't wait to see you again. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Beautiful building, well hosted

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Gavin M. Business - 13/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were friendly and polite, facilities were clean, and room was comfortable. The building itself is really deserving of the name Grand

Dear Gavin, It was such a pleasure to receive your kind review. We're thrilled to read that you loved our hotel and that our team looked after you well. Thank you for mentioning the high standards we set ourselves. We hope your next stay is just around the corner! See you soon, Mahesh, General Manager

Difficult access due to bus gates

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Andrew Couples - 11/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel staff friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately no heating in room but again staff helpful and provided a portable heater. However, access is so difficult now with bus gates and we have probably incurred a penalty charge. Warnings on your website would really help.

Hi Andrew, Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your time here. We're happy to hear that our team stepped up to the mark and helped you out with the room issue and you felt welcomed and at home with us. Sorry to hear you had a spot of bother in getting to us, thanks for the warning we will look into this and see what can be done and your feedback is noted. We'd all love you to come and see us again soon. Kindest regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Good location - rubbish breakfast

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Mike Couples - 10/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms and comfort are good - breakfast is terrible, cold, badly prepared and very expensive. Better to go outside and buy quality for much lower cost.

Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's nice to hear that our central location was great for you and that you found your room to be comfy, but we're really sorry to know that breakfast wasn't what you were hoping for and we have taken your comments on board. We do look into our pricing regularly and feel that we're about right for our market but we're grateful for you telling us what you feel, as we want to get things spot on. We hope that you'll come back and see us and give us a chance to put things right. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located hotel with good carpark.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was nice, staff friendly, and helpful. The only thing which let our stay down was the mediocre breakfast, which was lukewarm. Next time we will find somewhere else in St Nic's or Corn Street to have breakfast.

Hi, Thanks for letting us know about your stay. It's great to know that our team looked after you well and you found your room to be comfy. We're really sorry that our breakfast did not live up to your hopes, do tell us at the time if anything isn't quite right as we'll jump to it and make it right immediately. We want you to leave us feeling happy so please come back and see us so that we can make it right next time. We really hope you'll come again soon. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Good Location but some issues

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Carl Business - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

When using the hotel post code in my Sat-Nav, the hotel is impossible to find. You need to update your site to include a post code that doesn't take your guests to an no through road. The rooms are sparse and there is very little room to store clothing. In addition, there are no hooks in the bathroom for towels, which make getting out of the shower a real chore. I tried calling reception from my room multiple times but the call was never answered.

Hi Carl, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased our convenient location was just what you were looking for, however, we are sorry that you found it hard to locate us. Please don't hesitate to phone us before your next stay, our team are more than happy to provide directions. We do have larger rooms, just let us know before your next visit and we can sort out one more suitable for you. We have taken note of your comments and will be sure to look into them, particularly with our reception team. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Poor experience

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Neil Y. Couples - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Already commented on two reviews

Hi Neil, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to read that not everything was exactly as you had hoped during your stay. Thanks for completing our customer satisfaction survey; we've taken on board what you're telling us and appreciate this so that we can make your next stay top-notch. We hope that you will come and see us again so that we can make it up to you. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Basic errors

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Tim W. Business - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

At check in, the receptionist took a card balance for possible use in the bar later, but at check out it transpired this had actually been charged to my account even though I did not use it, so my receipt had to be forwarded by email. The room was freezing on arrival and took at least half an hour to start warming up. The heating system was noisy and kept waking me up. There was also a very large maintenance man in the shower when I walked in, which obviously took me by surprise and could have terrified a female guest. The cooked breakfast was tasty but spoilt be being but tepid at best, and I would have expected table service at least for a pot of tea. Overall really disappointing, sorry.

Hi Tim, Thanks for letting us know what you thought of your stay. We are very sorry that your time here was not entirely as you had hoped and we do sincerely apologise for the charge error. We regret the incident you mention, and apologise for the inconvenience. We have listened to what you are saying to us and are grateful for your comments as this will assist us in upping our game in these areas. We hope that you'll give us another opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable next time round. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Great Location - old and tired hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

L D. Business - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location is absolutely brilliant and the room I had was a nice size and comfortable. However, the room smelt really damp as well as another odd smell like vomit. The carpet was damp so I dont know if someone had an accident that was not cleaned thoroughly afterwards. Breakfast not the best either and I elected to eat breakfast out even though I paid for it on the second morning.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate it. We're pleased our convenient location was just what you were looking for and our spacious rooms hit the mark. We're sorry to read about the issues you had and to hear that things were not exactly as you had hoped. Please tell us at the time if you have any concerns, we'd have had our housekeeping to you on the spot and found you another room, if available. We understand that our breakfast may not have been up to your taste, we have noted your comments and will be looking into the matter. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Nice room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

977cliffb Business - 22/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The rooms are nicely furnished, a good size and always clean. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The staff are always kind and friendly and help out with any queries.

Hi there, Thanks for such an amazing review! We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and it's great that you were pleased with our comfortable, spacious rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SQUIZZLE25 22/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is in a great location. Only a 5 minute walk leads you to the river which is lined with loads of restaurants and bars. The room itself was lovely and stylish - although the walls do need a refresh as there were a few marks in places. Unfortunately we were in a room right next to a generator which made a bit of noise during the night. I expect as we booked last minute that's why we were placed in that room which is understandable, however luckily we did still manage to sleep quite well in the very comfortable bed. Each member of staff we dealt with were very helpful, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby