Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.6/5 688 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL BRISTOL
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS:51.455372, -2.593519

Companies

  • ALLIANZ 11.27 km / 7 mi
  • BAE SYSTEMS 7.08 km / 4.4 mi
  • BBC 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • BT 11.27 km / 7 mi
  • DIRECT LINE 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • G4S 4.67 km / 2.9 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LLOYDS BANKING 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • RBS 0.48 km / 0.3 mi
  • REGISTRY OFFICES 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • ROYAL MAIL 13.68 km / 8.5 mi
  • SANTANDER 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Your meetings and events

We have a choice of well-appointed function rooms, all easily adapted to suit any occasion from a large corporate event to a small private party.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 600 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.6/5  688 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  1,230 reviews

Not satisfied

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

One night stay at the hotel... Issues started when checking in. Had to query why price had gone up, told that I hadn't booked a package parking stay (when I actually did... Only settled when able to find an email). Key card to room failed to work. Room itself, was basic with single beds (only I booked and requested a double).

Hi Anthony, Thanks for this review about your recent stay. We're sorry that your stay wasn't up to the standards expected. We will follow up on your experience at reception as excellent customer service is what we are all about. When informed there's an issue with a room, we do try our best to resolve this or to find an alternate room, whenever possible. You can be assured we'll be addressing all the points you've raised. We hope to see you again for an improved stay in future. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Generally good, room a bit tired - window not fitting properly

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased that overall your stay was pleasant. However, we are sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We carry out maintenance whenever necessary to keep our rooms up to date, however, we have noted your feedback and will use it as we plan future refurbishments. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Very convenient place to stay. Well located.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

A O. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good hotel. Bed was brilliant and staff were very good

Hi there Ayo, Thanks for sharing your review. We're happy you enjoyed our ideal location and appreciate your kind comments about our team members. We have noted your comments and truly appreciate all feedback that helps us raise our game. Please do tell us of your concerns while still here with us so that we can do our best to find a suitable solution. We would be delighted to welcome you back for a better stay soon. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Everything was there, but a lack of the personal touch; I felt processed, not welcomed

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room facilities were adequate but the chair upholstery and the carpet did not look clean. The restaurant staff were kind to my disabled friend after I had requested their help; it was not spontaneous. The worst was having to ask for things that should have been there - eggs for breakfast, for instance - and then being turned away from the restaurant on Sunday evening because the next group/conference was there.

Dear Alison, Thanks for letting us know your opinion of your stay. We're happy to hear that you liked our hotel and you felt well looked after by our restaurant team. We do regret that not everything about your stay met your expectations, please know that we have noted your comments concerning our team as our guest's feedback is useful for us to identify areas to improve. Additionally, we will be sure to have our housekeeping team look into the issue you mention with your carpet, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back for an improved stay soon. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Pleasant bijou hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Todd L. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable and clean, good food and value for money.

Dear Adam, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your time at our hotel. We work hard to make sure our guests are happy and so your positive comments mean the world to us. We are, however, concerned we did not meet all your expectations, please accept our apologies for any disturbance during your stay. We do have earplugs available on request and wish that we'd known of your concerns while you were here; we'll always do everything that we can to make sure that you're as comfortable as possible. Rest assured that we have noted your concerns regarding your shower and our team and will be sure to take these into review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Good location and stay.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Chose the hotel as hosted Crimefest. Had a good stay. Staff were efficient and friendly.

Dear Fiona, Thank you for positively reviewing your stay. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. We can't wait to see you on your next visit! Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Friendly, polite and helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was clean and comfortable although a couple more cliffhangers would have been helpful. Staff were excellent.

Dear Pippa Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Our dedicated team works very hard to make sure that all our guests have the best experience possible and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. We're sorry that the sausage and bacon weren't to your liking. We will make sure to address this with our restaurant team. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

Enjoyable Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Janet L. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable, attended CrimeFest, stayed in room 411, which was a great location, enjoyed room service, however, Saturday morning the dirty coffee cup was not cleared away, leaving the shelf below the TV untidy. But the bed was beautifully looked after.

Dear Janet, Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We are so happy to have hit the mark for you and we really appreciate your kind words about our team who work very hard to provide you with the best experience possible. We're sorry for the issue with the check-in and the cleaning; we assure you that we will convey this to the relevant teams. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Wrlcoming staff and good service all round

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

We attended the Crimefest book festival which was held at the hotel.

Hi there, Thanks for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. Our guests' satisfaction is our highest reward. It would be fantastic to welcome you back. Cheers! Mahesh, General Manager

Well located excellent twin room

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Eva W. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Relaxing twin room quiet friendly staff lovely walks for strolling around

Hi Eda, Thanks for this review of your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our ideal location and appreciate your kind comments about our team members. Please know that we have noted your comments as our guest's feedback is useful for us to identify areas to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Badly managed, under-staffed, poor quality rooms

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Paul G. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor. The room (4th floor) was cheap and shoddy. No wardrobe, just open piping. No fridge. Window frames had cracked and peeling paint. There wasn't even a proper bedside table with drawers. The double bed was shoved in the corner, against the wall so if there were 2 guests, one would have to physically climb over the other. This would not be acceptable in the cheapest halls of residence. The place was very poorly managed. Too few staff. Despite it only being the first night of a 4 day convention, with only a fraction of the delegates present, the bar ran out of several drinks on the Thursday night. This happened repeatedly over the next few days. This is even more unforgivable, given that the same thing happened the last time we came in 2019. Those staff that were present were untrained (that was their repeated excuse as queues built up). On the Saturday night, the Keepers bar was closed all night due to the lack of staff, since they had to prioritise the gala dinner (doubtless there will be many complaints about this shambles also). This meant that delegates, WHO COME TO THIS FESTIVAL TO MINGLE AND MEET FRIENDS were dispersed across the city, which ruined the whole point of the weekend for many. I sincerely hope that next year's festival is better organised, or even better, we find another venue, as you aren't up to the job.

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so sorry that your stay with us did not match your expectations and we sincerely regret any inconvenience. We work very hard to provide our guests with the best experience possible and unfortunately, it seems that we fell short in this instance. Nevertheless, it is feedback such as yours that allows us to improve our services and facilities and rest assured that we have noted all your comments for our consideration. We hope we can welcome you back in the future for an improved stay. Kind regards, Michael, General Manager

Poor service

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Happy T. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The positives are that the hotel is well located and the room was nice and clean. However overall the levels of service were appalling. Bar and restaurant chaotic, breakfast service a joke. I appreciate the pressures on the hospitality industry, but having stayed in different hotels recently I would say this was well below par sadly, especially given the prices charged. Much better hotels available nearby.

Dear Janette, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you found our location great for getting around Bristol, and our rooms got the thumbs up. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and we're sorry to hear things weren't exactly what you were hoping for. We'd like to assure you that we have taken note of your comments, and your feedback will help us get it right in the future. We hope to see you again for a better stay. Cheers, Michael, General Manager

Overwhelmed and understaffed

Customer review rating 1.0/5

David P. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I have never stayed in a hotel which exhibited so much chaos and confusion. It felt as if the entire operation, from management down to temporary staff, had no idea what they were doing, and constantly firefighting. The refurbishment of the rooms in "industrial chic" has resulted in nowhere to hang clothes without distrubing the tea-making facilities, and a secret weapon of a shelf beneath the narrow desk which has sharp metal edges which results in a deep cut to my finger.

Hi there David, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and it is disappointing to hear things weren't what you were hoping for. We're sorry that our usual top-notch standards weren't obvious on this occasion and we'll be discussing your comments with team to make sure we get back to the high level our guests are used to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident you mentioned. Thanks for telling us your thoughts, we always take your comments seriously and we'll be making sure we use your feedback to get things right for your next visit. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Best for Crimefest

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Hilary R. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room with no view (132) but lots of hot water although limited clothes space - we lived out of our suitcases. Not one drawer! Good breakfast but the plates needed to be hot! Carbonara in Keepers better than in the posh Italian restaurant.

Hi Hilary, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we will be sure to let our team members know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We do have rooms of different sizes, next time you're visiting let us know and we'll find you a room that gets your thumbs up. Sorry about any inconvenience with the Wi-Fi, always be sure to let us know about issues while staying, we've got a team ready to help and want your stay to be as perfect as possible. Please know that we've taken good note of your comments on breakfast for us to consider for the future. The whole team hopes that we may see you again soon. Cheers, Michael, General Manager

Extraordinary service at a difficult time

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Matt C. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Whilst staying at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, I attended CrimeFest - the crime writing festival taking place at the hotel - and can say that when under pressure, the hotel team thrived and provided an extraordinary service. I was impressed by how kind, friendly, and attentive every member of the team was, and I was even more delighted by the quality of the room and hotel facilities. I will gladly stay at the hotel again.

Dear Matthew, We really appreciate this positive review about your stay. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible, so it is rewarding to know that everything met your expectations. Your feedback inspires us to continue upholding our high standards of service! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

It was well located, and I enjoyed my conference, but not the hotel.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Sue C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

On three separate occasions you tried to over charge me. The restaurant had run out of food, or couldn’t cook it. When I asked for my bill in the restaurant they tried three times before they brought me the right one. At our Gala dinner, they told us they had run out of drink and were having to go to Tesco to get more, at least they had the initiative to do that, and then forgot they were supposed to be serving tea and coffee at the end, so didn’t even when they realised. We did not get any type of refund. Having said all that, the staff were friendly if confused and the place was clean.

Hi Susan, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we appreciate your thumbs up for our location, we regret that not everything was as you expected. Regrettably, we can't change your experience but we'll be learning from any mistakes and will make sure we raise our game to its usual level in the future. Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Room poor and follow up experience non existent

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

StevenLee1981 Business - TripAdvisor review

Room was awful. Should not have been sold. Was promised by the supervisor on checking out that the the room rate would be refunded however it was not. On following this up people are in-responsive even the General Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're sorry to hear not everything got full marks and your room was not as you'd expected. We have many categories of rooms and perhaps we can help you find one that's better suited to your taste and budget for your next visit? Please know your feedback is always helpful to us in reviewing and improving our services. Please contact us on either of the below methods regarding the refund issue you mention so that we can look into this. Email: ha0i2-gm@accor.com We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Shabby and overpriced!

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jessatkins0n TripAdvisor review

Although staff were great and extremely friendly, the hotel itself was shabby and needed renovating. Our room had condensation stains all over the walls, marks, cracked paint and stank of wee! On the surface decor was nice but I'd rather a clean room than nice lights. We also woke up to a big pile of cheesy chips on the carpet outside the lifts, it was 10am so I thought the cleaners would have started by this time but apparently not! Will not be booking again, I've stayed in better hotels charging £50 a night.

Hi Jess, Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion. While we're glad that our great team took good care of you we're so sorry to know that your recent stay at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We regret you didn't make us aware of any issues at the time so that we could have taken action but please know we will be assessing the situation. We're sorry that our usual top-notch standards weren't obvious on this occasion and we'll be discussing your comments with housekeeping to make sure we get back to the high level our guests are used to. Thanks for telling us your thoughts, we do try to remain competitive in our pricing but this may vary due to demand and time of the year and your feedback helps us know where to improve our services. We hope you'll be back for a better stay in the future. Take care, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Worst night in hotel

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

RACEHLB TripAdvisor review

While I understand it was not the fault of the hotel, I can honestly say I spent the worst night I have had in 30 years of staying in hotels in this place. We stayed for a long weekend over Easter and on Friday night, we were woken up at around 1pm by a group of men in the room next doors to ours. They shouted, played music and banged around the room until 6pm. We had NO sleep. If I had been a lone in the room, I would have felt very scared and vulnerable they were shouting unpleasant comments about women. I had to call reception twice to ask them to tell the men to stop it but it made no difference. Staff were all very helpful and polite, but this was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. A good location though and nicely decorated. But I wold not stay there again.

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled by your kind comments about our team, it's always a great boost for them to hear that they've made a difference. We do, however, regret to read that you were disturbed. As soon as you made us aware of your concern, we tried to talk to the guests, but they did not stop and we apologise for any inconvenience. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Cheers. Mahesh Jay General Manager

Nice Stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Tugmaster62 TripAdvisor review

Have stayed at this hotel in Bristol before and was very pleased with it so booked again. Great location, nice room, comfortable bed and what I considered a good breakfast. Staff very polite and check-in and check-out were a breeze...

Hi there, Thanks for reviewing your stay. It is always a pleasure for us to welcome a returning guest and we are glad you had another great stay. We're glad you found our location suited your needs and appreciated our fantastic team. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby