Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 6,454 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Companies

  • ALLIANZ 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • BAE SYSTEMS 7.08 km / 4.4 mi
  • BBC 2.41 km / 1.5 mi
  • BT 11.27 km / 7.0 mi
  • DIRECT LINE 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • G4S 4.67 km / 2.9 mi
  • KPMG 0.8 km / 0.5 mi
  • LLOYDS BANKING 1.13 km / 0.7 mi
  • RBS 0.48 km / 0.3 mi
  • REGISTRY OFFICES 0.03 km / 0.02 mi
  • ROYAL MAIL 13.68 km / 8.5 mi
  • SANTANDER 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Hotel services

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • 2 Bars
  • Breakfast Currently unavailable
    • Express
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 11 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 186 rooms
    • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • No family room
    • 3 connecting rooms
    • 186 non-smoking rooms
    • 4 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Express check-out
  • Porter
    • Porter
  • Concierge
    • Concierge
Access to property
  • Car Park Additional charge
    • On site
    • 150 parking spaces
    • Private

Your meetings and events

We have a choice of well-appointed function rooms, all easily adapted to suit any occasion from a large corporate event to a small private party.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 600 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Videoconferencing

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Video equipment

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,454 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.0/5

1,126 reviews

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Steven K. Business - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms need decorating very thin walls you can hear everything going on in the next room breakfast was cold even though it was under hot lamps plus the plates for breakfast were stone cold.

Hi Steven, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We really regret any concerns that you had while you were here, and we're sorry that you didn't tell us of this issue while on-site so that we could have looked into a change of room. We'd have had our team put things right for your breakfast there and then if we'd known but please accept our apologies. Please come back and see us for a much better time in the future. Many thanks, Mahesh, General Manager

Good location, adequate room (but in need of some TLC)

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Roy B. Friends - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were excellent during my stay. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Bristol. Unfortunately, although my room was adequate the paint work was in need of renovation and the mattress had seen better days!

Hi Roy, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's great to hear that our central location was perfect for you and you felt well looked after by our team. We're so sorry for the issue with your bed; please rest assured that we've looked into the matter. We would have happily given you another room if you had told us at the time. Thanks for your feedback and your comments have been noted for consideration. We hope to see you back in the future. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Great location, interesting decor and nice breakfast

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Regina T. Business - 09/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was all a bit of a rush as we arrived late and had to get ready for a black tie dinner in the hotel next door, so to be honest, I did not see much of the hotel or the room. One thing - I kept on getting lost in the long corridors as the signage to get back to reception was not clear. Lovely big bar and good choice for breakfast. Would stay again.

Hi Regina, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. It's great that you loved our location and our unique design. We appreciate knowing that our breakfast set you up perfectly for the day. We are sorry for the issue you had and wish that you had contacted our team, as they would have come for you or helped you locate our reception. Nevertheless, we're always grateful to hear what our guests think as it helps us to highlight areas where action may need to be taken. It is a reward to know that you intend to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Perfect For Our Needs - But Inconsistent Service

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ray, T. Families - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed at the Mercure Grand Bristol for 5 nights as we were attending a weekend event there. Had booked a Privilege Room with a member discount (so good facilities up from basic room), and requested a shower (rather than a bath) due to mobility issues - a request which was met with no problem. Location is good for sightseeing in Bristol, shopping, nightlife etc. Parking is pretty good for a city-centre - spaces a little tight but fairly easy to manoeuvre if you are patient. The reception staff were.s pleasant on arrival and we built quite a rapport with some of the young ladies who served us in the bar and during our function. They were amazing, worked long hours but were always chatty and smiling. Special mention for the team on duty during the fire alarm evacuation in the early hours of Friday morning. They acted swiftly, offered us blankets outside if necessary and worked with the fire service to get us back in as quickly as possible - outstanding teamwork :) The room was big, quirkily decorated with so many different lights and lamps. Generally clean on arrival though we found toothpaste on one of the glasses in the bathroom and the sink still had toothpaste around the plughole. Curiously we had a phone in our room which was not attached to anything. Despite questioning this with reception, it was never fixed, nor were they able to confirm it was just for decoration! Having said the room was generally cleaned, it was not serviced once during our 5 night stay. This may be a post-Covid policy (although we run a B&B and still service rooms) but if it is, this was not communicated on arrival, and we were certainly not told where to take rubbish etc. For such a big hotel in a city centre- this lack of service is not really acceptable, especially having to request more toilet rolls at reception. My wife did query the lack of daily servicing on day 3 - and the whole room (bed/towels etc) were changed unnecessarily - all we needed were empty bins, clean cups and toilet rolls! We used the bar but with no draught beer available (not the hotel's fault) £5 for a small bottle of beer is expensive, even for a city centre hotel. Our function was brilliant - food good quality - staff as previously mentioned, were outstanding, except the ladies toilets adjacent to the ballroom, which were not checked regularly, and took 4 complaints to check and put in more towels for hand drying. On the whole - really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back next year for the same event.

Dear Ray, Thanks very much for letting us know in such detail how you got on with your recent stay. It's great to know that you were pleased with your room and the function you attended, and that our team looked after you so well. Currently we're sending housekeeping into rooms on request only and we're sorry this wasn't communicated to you. Your comments are valuable to us and we'll make sure we'll address the points you've made. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Great rooms, service average - at best

Customer review rating 3.0/5

C. Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel room was lovely. Staff however were either overworked or under motivated. On almost every interaction the staff did not come across as welcoming or interested. Of particular note, during a fire alarm at around 1am on my first night - outside staff were chatting with a DJ company, and doing nothing to provide information, clarity or assistance to the hotel guests stood outside.

Dear C., Thanks a lot for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased that you loved your room but really sorry that you felt let down by our team. We try hard to give our guests great service so we're disappointed by your comments, and please note that we'll be addressing the points you've made. We hope you'll come back to stay here again. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Poor quality

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Phil H. Couples - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The air conditioning in our room didn't work. There was an electric fan instead, but we had to have this on full blast to keep cool at night. There was no wardrobe to hang clothes, just a rail which left them hanging over the tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel wifi had no internet connection after the first day. We had an event in the ballroom. There were holes in the ceiling where the rain came in.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

O. Couples - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A comfortable stay in a hotel with character. Its perfectly situated for exploring the centre of Bristol and for shopping too.

Dear O., We are glad to receive such a positive review! We are delighted to hear that you had a truly memorable experience and that our central location was ideal for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Obviously still dealing with Covid impacts

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Matt Solo - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was fine, hotel and services are clearly still suffering in the covid backdrop. Not enough staff, room was not perfect, some cobwebs and the bathroom was not clean. Bar food was under par, service in the bar was slow, we were told three times the lady working was "on her own and asked for help" . The room was not turned round overnight, bins were full and crockery left overnight. Not ideal Its not a complaint, it's an understanding of the situation. The staff were, however, very helpful, and clearly trying their best under the stressed situation, most very happy to serve and help. Tough times and I wish you all the best in a return to normality

Hi Matt, Thank you for sharing your candid review. It's good to know that overall you enjoyed yourself here and we're happy to know that our team looked after you well; we'll pass on your kind comment. Just let us know if there are any issues while you're still here and we'll be with you to put it right there and then. We are still following government guidelines and so we can only service rooms if you ask at our reception, sorry if this was a bother for you but thanks, we do appreciate your understanding during this time. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Good hotel with great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Andy Couples - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in a privilege room for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was particularly tasty and well organised. Great location right in the centre of Bristol.

Hi Andy, Thanks for taking the time to complete our Customer Satisfaction Survey. We're happy to know that you were so comfortable during your stay and that our hearty breakfast hit the spot. Sorry about the issue that you had and if we fell short in any way, please know that we'll address this with the team. However, we're pleased that our location was just perfect for you. We really hope that you'll be back to see us soon. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Great location but a little faded

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Bryan T. Friends - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is ideally placed and easy to reach. The room was clean and comfortable but I was surprised to find that it was not serviced after the first night's stay: it emerged that you had to make a request to have the room cleaned, which is something I have never heard of before and something about which I was certainly not informed upon arrival. The room also seemed to be in need of some TLC (despite being an upgrade): the desk was scuffed, the shower tray overflowed and the safe had to be exchanged for a new one as it did not work. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the event I attended went very well - although whoever was controlling the air conditioning in the ballroom appeared to believe that sub-zero temperatures were the norm.

Hi Bryan, Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. We are happy to know that our location was perfect for your stay and that you appreciated your comfy room and our high standards. We are still following government guidelines and so we can only service rooms if you ask at our reception, sorry if this was not mentioned to you upon check-in. Please know that your comments will be looked into and we're always grateful to hear what our guests think so that we can make improvements if needed. We do ask you to tell us if there are any issues while you're still here and we will try and sort them out right away. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Just incredibly under whelmed and very disappointed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

I. T. Couples - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Calls itself 4stars, but more like 2stars. I wanted a nice experience for myself and my wife after a difficult year so booked a Privilege room. Room was ordinary without any touches, had bathrobes but no slippers and no hotel information in the room. Had to ‘beg’ for extra Nespresso pods and to get the room cleaned. Breakfast was very samey, no nice fresh fruit and juices were watered down. Paid a lot for the stay poor value, no luxury missed special touches. I asked for something and either the messages got lost or was ignored . A full fire alarm at 2am one night no explanations Not up to any standards, items on drinks lists were missing, no cocktails available I feel robbed of a decent stay, the hotel calls itself GRAND but this was not evident, should be called BOG STANDARD Our stay left us very upset, a missed opportunity all we wanted was a pleasant 4 star stay for the money we spent....not up to Accor standards Positives - a good shower and one night refunded. Overall our break was marred by the hotel

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Neill C. Couples - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel lovely room the only downside for us was the noisy electric car park shutter doors which was located just outside of our window

Hello Neill, Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We are glad that you enjoyed much of your stay, although we regret any disturbance during your stay. Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we can look into the matter and better ensure the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Disrupted

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Neil Solo - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel, nice location, but I would have preferred to have been informed of the loud event going on in the ballroom till midnight before my stay rather than as I arrived.

Hi Neil, Thanks very much for your feedback. It's great to know that you found our location convenient. However, we sincerely apologize for any disturbance. Your comfort is of the utmost importance to us and we are always on hand to assist with any concerns. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Nice hotel with parking

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Dg Couples - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel, staff were great, bonus having its own car park.

Dear Kevin, Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your recognition of our team's excellent service. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our private parking so convenient. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on another occasion. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

Disappointing

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Lucy L. Families - 01/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

One of the rooms had an unpleasant odour, the shower in the second room didn’t work (no hot water), Reception area looked like it needed hoovering.

Hi Lucy, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're so sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect. We do ask you to tell us when of any concerns you may have while you are staying so that we can put these right on the spot. The comfort and happiness of our guests are of the utmost importance to us, and we are always open to feedback and suggestions for improvement. We hope we can welcome you back for an improved experience. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Nice stay, helpful staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Alex Business - 29/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Helpful and attentive staff. Clean and decorative public areas. Clean and well presented room

Dear Alex, Thank you for such a positive review. We do our best to ensure that guests feel welcome and it is very rewarding to know that you appreciated the high standards we strive to uphold. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

Nice enough

Customer review rating 3.5/5

N. Couples - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was pleasant enough. My only negatives were that we paid for the supreme double and with out a comparison of seeing the more basic room I personally didn't get the wow factor or supreme bit. I was also annoyed that after having to request the room being refeshed and reporting the shower screen was faulty, no-one visited the room as I was told they would.

Nice room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

977cliffb Business - 22/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The rooms are nicely furnished, a good size and always clean. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The staff are always kind and friendly and help out with any queries.

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SQUIZZLE25 22/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is in a great location. Only a 5 minute walk leads you to the river which is lined with loads of restaurants and bars. The room itself was lovely and stylish - although the walls do need a refresh as there were a few marks in places. Unfortunately we were in a room right next to a generator which made a bit of noise during the night. I expect as we booked last minute that's why we were placed in that room which is understandable, however luckily we did still manage to sleep quite well in the very comfortable bed. Each member of staff we dealt with were very helpful, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Good service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

BobbyVegasEngland Business - 17/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

Good service as always. Been staying here for the past couple of months. Have been upgraded on occasions as well, which has been nice. Will be soon a gold member so will be expecting regular upgrades which will be reported on.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for you wonderful feedback on your recent visits with us. I am so pleased to read that you are a returning guest time and time again. You will indeed be a gold member before we know it, we look forward to recognising your status upgrade on your future visits. Until we meet again soon, take care. Michael General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby