Hotel Mercure Oostende

Hotel Mercure Oostende 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 1,054 reviews

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Oostend Beach at 250 meters

  • In the city centre

  • Free WIFI

  • Private paid car park

  • Oostend Airport at 10 mins by car

Hotel location

Hotel Mercure Oostende

Leopold II laan 20
8400 Ostend
Belgium

  • MARIE JOSE PLEIN:  LINE 1 AND 4 MARIE JOSEPLEIN

  • By plane

    OSTEND BRUGES At 5km / 3 miles

  • By train

    OOSTENDE At 1km / 0 miles

GPS:51.230344, 2.91345

Companies

  • DAIKIN EUROPE NV 4 km / 2 mi
  • HAVEN OOSTENDE 2 km / 1 mi
  • HOPPE SHIPPING 3 km / 1 mi
  • JAN DE NUL 90 km / 55 mi
  • JETAIR 2 km / 1 mi
  • MHI VESTAS 2 km / 1 mi
  • MUTOH 4 km / 2 mi
  • NOORDZEEHELIKOPTERS 7 km / 4 mi
  • ORAC 4 km / 2 mi
  • PARKWIND 145 km / 90 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

RESTAURANT

Our restaurant offers a great selection of food in a relaxed, informal setting. For groups we can serve a buffet dinner or buffet lunch on request.

Your meetings and events

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 25 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Whether you choose the Standard, Superior or Privilege Rooms, all of them offer a welcoming and modern atmosphere. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a telephone, a laptop safe, TV, USB charge point and a fridge for your convenience.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Hotel Mercure Oostende

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  1,054 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  779 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked twin rooms, we were given double rooms, with 7 men, I asked if the rooms could be changed to twins and was told no as the rooms had been used.

Nice seaside location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Smcl Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel with pleasant staff except the lady who was very aggressive to me on my last morning because I was 15 minutes late checking out of my room. I find 11h early to check out! I asked the cleaning staff if I could have an extra 20 minutes and they told me no problem but still this lady from reception was very unpleasant on the phone at 11h10 ordering me to vacate the room. However, that aside the rest of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is ideally located close to the centre of Ostend and minutes from the beautiful Ostend beach & coastal walk. I recommend this hotel but remember yo check out by 11h on the dot or you will be told off!!

alles OK

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

alles OK

A simple hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Alex Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Just a simple hotel, if you don't expect much this is your hotel.

Great hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Pete W. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent position in City, staff go that extra mile to make your stay good

Technical problems and inadequate reaction form the staff

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Jmm Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The first evening and night and following morning, we suffered 6 power cuts and a false alarm. The staff present even did not know the importance and duration of the cuts and did not provided any useful information. The following the card system for opening room doors was faulty, still without any information an/or preventive measures provided by the staff. The electricity cuts make the heating system in the rooms inoperative unless restarted, and the staff did not provide this information (it is not sure they even know this) therefore a night was spent without heating in the room. Finally, at the very last minute when it was time to pay (!), one sentence of excuse, no discount and the gift of 4 small water bottles.

Disappointing

Customer review rating 1.5/5

D Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Privilege room is dirty (stains on the floor, and curtains). Size really small and balcony with direct view on back emergency stairs and other rooms.

Perfect

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sergiy Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

All ok

Nice seaside location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Smc Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was a little small & I could hear my neighbour's TV but the balcony was lovely, the bed very comfortable & the staff very friendly & helpful.

well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Alain D. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

friendly welcome and check out from reception staff. breakfast ok room to small for me Bathroom out dated

Great location!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

JMT459 TripAdvisor review

Everything at the Mercure was great for my short stay. I could walk the coast within minutes and get to good restaurants easily. The staff were very helpful and each one went out of their way with any question I had. I would definitely return to this hotel when in Oostende again!

Nice stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

C S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel, great staff, good location in the city. Really nothing to complain about.

Dear CRISTINA, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Oostende. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Bert Degryse - General manager

Agreable, cosy and easy access

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Sabrina Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room clean and cozy, perfect location. Breakfast a bit disappointing. Eggs and sausages were dry. The crepes were purchased and not home made. the rest was nice and varied. staff was very friendly

Superb location and fit to purpose!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

carinekeppens TripAdvisor review

This is a nice modern hotel, well located near the beach and the city. Rooms are tidy and clean, bedding very good and the parking service is practical and fluid. This will definitely be my place to stay when i am in Ostend.

Dear Guest, Thank you for this kind feedback concerning your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that our convenient location got your thumbs up! We can't wait to see you on your next visit! Kind regards, Bert Degryse, General Manager

Always pleasant to stay in this hotel !

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DidierD99 TripAdvisor review

This was not our first stay in this hotel; it has become our favourite choice for a short trip in Ostende. Personnel attentive and friendly. Reasonably spacious room and confortable bed. Good bar, very good breakfast buffet. Perfect location close to the sea side. This time the price was a bit high (but we choose a free cancellation option, just in case of). Minor good points in this time of Covid-19: 1) we are not against having no bedroom cleaning until our departure (we spent only 2 nights), but cleaning the bathroom still remains a must in our opinion. And then at least make a brush available to clean the toilet. 2) for the breakfast buffet, single use service cutlery is available for most of the parts, but not for the biscuits table. Not very clean to serve with own hands. At least provide some napkins at this table. Nevertheless, we recommend this hotel; when we will come back to Ostende, it will be our first choice.

Dear Didier. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and a reward to know that we will be your top choice for any further visits to Ostende. Your feedback concerning the new measures we have implemented for the welfare of our guests as well as our team is appreciated as it helps us to highlight possible areas for improvement, and your suggestions have been noted. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Best regards, Bert Degryse, General Manager

Very nice hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, only steps from the vibrant beach area

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

slieve2020 TripAdvisor review

Last weekend my husband and I stayed in Mercure Oostende, The hotel is well located, close to restaurants and beach. The staff was very friendly. Especially Alexandra (Foccina??) the front desk manager on duty was so nice and supportive. We want to thank her for going the extra mile to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was a VERY nice room- with a terrace and an open view. Thank you Alexandra. The breakfast was delicious and varied. The hotel had opened only a couple of days earlier and we experienced that they were stil trying to cope with Covid -19 measurements.. The rooms were not kept on a daily basis as the housekeepers were not allowed to enter the room during the guests' stay (which we fully understand), and fresh towels and RITUAL amenities were available at the reception. However, we didn't understand that there was no bodymilk available in a 4-star hotel. I had to give my sore feet a treat with Estee Lauder day cream. tWhat I even missed more were the slippers in the room. Slippers were not available because of hygienic reasons. But the floor was not very clean, so I think a pair of slippers you use and throw away after your stay would be more hygienic than no slippers at all. But we want to give it a second try. So we return to the hotel next weekend.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay. It's a real pleasure to know that you chose our hotel and are delighted our team members had such a positive impact on your stay. Alexandra will be very pleased that her efforts were so appreciated. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience during this period of adaptation to the new measures being implemented for your well-being and are very grateful for your valuable feedback which will be used to address these issues. It also helps us to know the areas that may need some more attention. We look forward to having you return and hope your next stay will be greatly improved. Best regards, Bert Degryse, General Manager

very pleasant and relax

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Trek37564924774 TripAdvisor review

we loved our stay in Mercure Ostend, opposite to Het Kursaal, where we enjoyed Herman Van Veen. We found the hotel offers excellent price/quality balance; rooms are quite small though, and the view was "industrial"; the cosy woodfire at the bar seduces to a post concert drink; last but not least: very friendly reception.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to know that our location was ideal for you. Whilst our room sizes are fairly standard for the area, our PRIVILEGE rooms do have large balconies and our superior rooms offer a better view of the city; may we assist you with booking one of these rooms during your next stay? Otherwise, we are delighted that our quality service and bar facilities met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Bert Degryse, General Manager

Remarkable New Year Eve

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

dee032020 TripAdvisor review

I spent one night here with my family, room is big enough for 5, location super.. near restaurant, beach and attraction, we saw the fireworks at the beach, winter at the park attaction just next door, breakfast fabulous, got free Snack and drinks at the lobby. Also wine compliment at the room

Dear Dee, Thank you for positively reviewing your visit to Mercure Oostende Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and to hear that everything met your expectations from our convenient location to the feeling of space in your room. We are also pleased to know that we were able to help start your day off right with our tasty breakfast; A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for us to continue with our efforts to uphold our high standards. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Bert Degryse, General Manager

Not the service I am used to at Accor hotels!

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

ericvanderh0even Business - TripAdvisor review

When arriving at the front desk, no one their. Waited 10 min and decided to walk thru the hotel and ask if someone could help me. Finally someone came from a room in the back, stopped at the bar and made a talk with the bartender, then had time for me. Instead of helping first the client. Room was small, but must say room was clean. Normally the rooms are larger at Mecure hotels. Because of work I needed to leave early and I mentioned this at the desk. No breakfast package was offered due to breakfast not open yet. No parking options were possible and had to park my van at the casino parking. Checked out in the early morning. I booked the next morning thru Accor app again a room because my work needed me to stay a day longer. I nines that I would be late for check in so I sent a email to the correct email adres letting them know that I would check in around 24:00. When arriving at hotel, there was no room booked. And no room available. Also no effort made to help me. I showed her my reservation and email I sent. Her answer has, I can not help you. I asked her if she received my email that I would arrive late, she then walked to the computer and put it on. I would think that the computer would be on 24/7. I left hotel and will never ever come back.

Dear Guest, We are grateful to you for taking the time to send us your review and can only offer our sincere apologies once again this visit that fell short of the standards expected of us. We hope that our recent emails, as well as the compensation offered, will mean that we may have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. With our best wishes for the festive season, Bert Degryse, General Manager

Avoid this hotel with it rude staff

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Myroslava A Families - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is very good located (5 minutes from the sea) and breakfast is very tasty. These are the only pluses. In all other - hotel is overprices, with small rooms where you even cannot open the window for some fresh air, strange system of food provision (there is a schedule of work of restaurant and menu, but when we tried to ask for dinner the answer was - 'the hotel is fully booked so it is impossible The most terrible things are cleaning and rude attitude of the staff. I made special request for early check-in, but when we arrived we had to wait on terrible heat till 3 pm, despite my member status allowed me early check-in. When we finally received the room it was not clean - the floor was full of sand and dust. On the next day I put the sign 'Please clean the room' at 10 am, When we returned back at 5.30 pm the room still was not cleaned. The receptionist told that the hotel is fully booked and that's why our room is not cleaned. He also stressed that if I want it to be cleaned he may give me all the necessary things and I can do it by myself (in 4 star hotel!). As I was still repeating my complains he said that the room will be cleaned - and in 5 minuted told that all is done. It was a surprise that it is possible to clean the hotel room in 5 minutes - and I was right, the floor was still dirty, full of dust and sand. So I had to go downstairs again, asking finally to clean our room. The next days were some kind of revenge of the staff to us - one day we were not able to leave the room because of cleaning stuff just under the door of our room, the cleaning was terrible - even the beds were not made. Of course there were no excuses from the side of the staff. I'm a frequent traveler and I saw different hotels, but it was a surprise that it is possible to receive such service in the 4-star hotel in the resort. Try to avoid it if possible!

Dear Myroslava, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our breakfast buffet, We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise that we were not able to accommodate your request for an early check-in; regrettably, now that we are in high season, we cannot guarantee an early check-in even if one is requested and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We are disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and especially that these issues were not reported to us at check-out. Nevertheless, would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We also regret to hear that the service you received was not to our usual standards; we will speak to our Reception and housekeeping teams in this regard. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience in the future.. Best wishes, Kristoffel Verdonckt, General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby