Novotel Christchurch Airport

Novotel Christchurch Airport 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 8 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • ALLSAFE Certified

  • 24-Hour Reception

  • Flexible conference options with floor to ceiling windows

  • On-site fitness centre

  • Parking available with valet parking option

Hotel location

Novotel Christchurch Airport

30 Durey Road, Christchurch Airport, PO Box 14041
8053 CHRISTCHURCH
New Zealand

  • By plane

    CHRISTCHURCH INTL At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By train

    CHRISTCHURCH At 9.1km / 5.65 miles

GPS:-43.486398, 172.53687

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Near the property
  • Car park

Your meetings and events

Room descriptions and layouts

11 

meeting rooms

From 1 to 260 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Christchurch Airport

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  8 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  111 reviews

Great experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Iosefo T. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

2 weeks in managed isolation and you guys did everything to make us feel comfortable!!

Dear Iosefo T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and hope you will visit us again under normal circumstances. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Nice Rooms, Bad Food

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kaz, B. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent rooms with great amenities, staff were please take and always helpful, however being in a managed facility In isolation for two weeks isn’t a holiday or a walk in the park. The food was mostly bad during the stay. Not sure why as I know other manage facilities had choices of what 3 meals they wanted daily during there stay. I wondered why we never got a choice and served a whole lot of rice and curry dishes and lots of carbs as in pastas. We probably had a handful of good meals which usually arrived at the very end of service, which I actually had to ring guest service asking if they had missed my meal. I think if the food had been much better then what It was I would of had a much more pleasant stay at the facility. Overall my stay was below average.

Dear Caroline W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Christchurch Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Based on your feedback we have altered our menu making it more balanced, incorporating vegetables with every meal and bigger portions of salads. We have also made changes to ensure the meals are not heavy on carbs as we do understand that our guests are spending most of their time in rooms. We understand that it is a difficult time for our guests and would like to do everything we can do to make their stay most comfortable. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you, under different circumstances. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good

Dear Joanne Maree R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, under different circumstances of course. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rachel Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed at the Novotel for managed isolation after returning to New Zealand. I had a beautiful room with plenty of space.

Dear Rachel Mary H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for writing and we hope you will visit us again under different circumstances. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Lovely hotel, nice rooms

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jaimee Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel staff were all very friendly and would go above and beyond to ensure you have a comfortable stay! Hotel rooms are very clean and modern. Had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay here!

Dear Jaimee C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and hope that you will visit us again under different circumstances. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Friendly and helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Cathie Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The dry cleaning agency however wasn't the best. They didn't return items till 5 days after and some items were shrunk.

Dear Catherine P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our team helpful. I apologize regarding the delay and quality of laundry. We are currently working with our supplier to get the issues rectified. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit (under different circumstances) will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Very nice hotel.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Aaron Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Meals were very good, room was excellent.

Dear Aaron J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will visit us again under different circumstances Sincerely, Varun Bhatia Rooms Division Manager

Airport Stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Raewyn K TripAdvisor review

I stayed the night with my son for his 9th birthday. We booked an executive room and had a great view of the planes landing & taking off. We headed up stairs to the restuartant and watched the mighty Emirates a380 take off in the evening. As we are both vegetarian the staff we very accommodating with our meal. The room was clean & my son loved the lay out. For a parent looking for a special something for a kid that loves planes - I highly recommend. For the big kid I also recommend. Thank you for a special stay.

Dear Raewyn, reading your review is so rewarding. Thank you so much on behalf of the whole team for your compliments. We are so glad that we have contributed in some way to the happiness of your son on his birthday! The Emirates flight taking off at 6.45pm is a memorable moment indeed, in particular for plane lovers. Thank you again for staying at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. We will always be happy to welcome you! Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Location Location Location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

883traceyn TripAdvisor review

Great place to stay if you have an early morning flight out of Christchurch. Well just a great place to stay anyway. We loved the resturant, room was very spacious and the bed just so cosy. After an assortment of AirB&Bs for three weeks it was is fantastic to spend our last night in luxury. You really cant beat the extra lengths this chain of hotels go to to make you free special and enjoy your stay.

Thank you very much for staying at the Novotel Christchurch Airport on your last night. I am delighted to read that you have had an impression of luxury and we have managed to make you feel special as a guest. Your review is a true reward for our team who is passionate about service. Thank you again for your compliments about our rooms and about our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Very comfortable stay-great location!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

johnhillock Business - TripAdvisor review

The hotel has only recently opened and this was my first stay. Very friendly and efficient reception staff and room was very comfortable and the triple glazing meant that there was negligible airport noise. Just one small matter in that the room service crew were very persistently noisy in the corridor and this is not great for an airport hotel, when some people will be trying to sleep during the day! The restaurant is excellent and obviously popular, with one small grouch in that the background music is not really background! Am I getting more easily irritated? I don't think so; just comparing with other Accor hotels, such as the Novotel in the city. Otherwise, would thoroughly recommend and will stay again!

It is hard to rate this properly due to different experiences.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

staywas0k TripAdvisor review

Our first stay with Novotel Christchurch was excellent. The staff welcomed us at 2am after flight delays. We had a lovely breakfast after a refreshing night in very comfy beds. The second stay was average. We used the property because of a 6:30am international flight. The plan was to arrive, eat and early dinner get an early night and do the best on minimal rest the next day. This plan was foiled when our waitress left during her shift, we waited for in excess of 2 hours to eat, and at least 30 mins for drinks during the ordeal. Needless to say the 6yr old suffered and so did we the next day when this put us behind massively. We were offered dessert for our daughter in our room to expedite the dinner and that was it. I unfortunately was forced to return to the ground floor because my card no longer worked (which occurred on the first visit also) so voiced my concerns to the Manager on Duty as we were charged full price for the experience. His reaction was initially to dismiss then he provided at 20% discount. Over all the facilities are great, the location is superb and I know that teething issues like this will be resolved, but it wasn't our usual Novotel experience. Overall I would stay again, for the convenience.

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your loyalty to the Novotel Christchurch Airport. Please accept my heartfelt apologies for the unacceptable slow service at our Food Exchange Bar and Restaurant. I will monitor this issue with our Restaurant team as a shift change should not affect our guests, especially when there are young children. Again thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. I hope that your third stay will be as pleasant as the first one. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Perfect for the Airport

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

IonaPenguine TripAdvisor review

The staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the food at the breakfast buffet was almost cold. Scrambled eggs was almost empty and not replenished. I found the room layout odd with the sink in the room. Watch out for a VERY expensive mini bar.

Dear Iona, Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. I am glad that your overall impression is positive even though our bathroom design, that is very innovative and can disconcert at first glance, did not appeal to you. Please accept our apologies for the scarce and disappointing breakfast buffet. It is something we will address and I have passed your comments onto our chefs. About the minibar prices, they are in line with our competition's prices. Thank you again for the good rating and for sharing your concerns with me. I hope to welcome you again soon at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Comfortable one night stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Leonard G TripAdvisor review

Stayed one night to catch an early flight. Quite comfortable and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. in the evening. Second stay in this new hotel. Very convenient location but there is no on-site parking and the adjacent airport parking is very expensive.

Dear Leonard, Thank you very much for your loyalty. I am very pleased to read that you have chosen to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Airport for a second time. Thanks for your very positive comments about our restaurant and room comfort. Sorry about the car parking cost. As you know all car spaces are operated by the Aiport. You may want to book online in advance next time you have to catch a flight as they offer discounted rates for early bookings. Thanks again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager Delete Response

Excellent hotel location and beautiful new hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Annetteh6373 Business - TripAdvisor review

Less than a five minute walk from international arrivals to this lovely hotel. The rooms are beautiful and well thought out. I wish I had more reasons to stay here often. Great spacious shower, comfortable bed, complete blackout curtains. Well thought out. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Dear Annette, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so grateful to read that you wished you could stay longer. It is very rewarding for us to see guests happy through the effort and the passion we put in our daily jobs. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA

Best location and excellent service

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

shystar0610 TripAdvisor review

The best accommodation for those who would take a early flight. The hotel is actually located opposite of door 9 of CHC. Just 100m walks, without crossing intersection, will bring you to the airport terminal. Not to mention 24/7 reception.

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. Our hotel was initially designed to accommodate early morning and late night travellers' needs. It is always rewarding to read that the Novotel Christchurh Airport answers the purpose to our guests' complete satisfaction. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA, General Manager

Thank you!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

jillianfordyce TripAdvisor review

Excellent room . Check in was a little slow. Excellent service from Concierge around parking. Loved our stay. We invited friends to join us for dinner- all was fine. We will definitely be using this Hotel for those early morning flights. Thank you

Thank you so much for staying with us. Sorry about the slow check in upon arrival. I am glad to read that this did not affect your overall impression and that your stay was so pleasant that you have made the decision to use the Novotel Christchurch Airport as your base for early morning flights. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA Generl Manager

Accommodation At Christchurch Airport

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Steve7242 TripAdvisor review

We chose this hotel as being the closest to the airport when we had a late evening arrival. Our plane was delayed and we arrived at 2-30 am. Hotel has 24 hour desk, let us have a noon check out which was much appreciated. Although hotel is walking distance to terminal the room were quiet and we were not disturbed by airport noise.

Dear Steve Thank you very much for your review and your excellent rating of the Novotel Chirstchurch Airport. It is our duty and pleasure to provide good service to tired travellers. I am glad your stay was enjoyable in spite of the fatigue. The team and I are looking forward to welcoming again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA, General Manager.

Novotel Christchurch

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Anne C TripAdvisor review

We were very excited to stay in this new property which is situated just outside the entrance to Christchurch Airport. The 6th floor restaurant has fantastic views of the Airport runways and is a great place to relax and dine

Thank you so much for the great review you shared about your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with both the accomodation and the restaurant. Thanks again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Novotel Chirstchurch Airport. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA, General Manager

Strategic location, excellent service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Nsoriano TripAdvisor review

The facility is modern and new. It is literally steps away from the airport. The only down side to this hotel is that it doesn't have free parking. Nonetheless, the room was clean. The sound proofing was excellent, despite being so close to the airport. We had a restful sleep. The staff had also been marvelous. They have been very kind, helpful and thoughful. Both the aduls and the kids in my family were given 5-star treatment. We will definitely be booking there again!

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the comfort of our sound-proof accomodations. Many thanks also for your praises about our team. The Car Parks are managed directly by the Airport and their fees and conditions apply. They regularly offer special or disounted rates for online bookings. The team and I hope to see you again very soon at the Novotel Christchurch Aiport. Kind regards – Olivier Lacoua – General Manager

Christchurch Break

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

nakiemale TripAdvisor review

Really nice place to stay and staff were so good. The dining room had a nice view of the airport with very little sound from aircraft. The service was perfect and so friendly. Food presented and cooked to perfection, one of the best dinner we have had in a resturant for some time.

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback about your experience at our Food Exchange Bar and Restaurant. I am so pleased your evening was memorable and that we contributed to your happiness. I shall pass your compliments onto our Kitchen chefs to share with their brigade and onto the Food and Beverage team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA, General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby