Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.5/5 1,143 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • Six function rooms for up to 700 people, ideal for events

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • 22 acres of landscaped gardens and woodlands

  • Complimentary parking with 350 spaces on-site

  • Feeling stressed? Relax and have a swim in our indoor heated swimming pool.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00


Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel

Essex Lane
WD4 8PN watford
united kingdom

Tel: +441923277700

Fax: (+44)1923/224808

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00


  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 31.22km / 19.4 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 31.22km / 19.4 miles

  • By train

    WATFORD JUNCTION At 6.76km / 4.2 miles

GPS :51.693192, -0.425027


  • AXIS 24.46 km / 15.2 mi
  • BOURNE LEISURE 8.69 km / 5.4 mi
  • CAMELOT 9.01 km / 5.6 mi
  • ELSTREE STUDIOS 15.77 km / 9.8 mi
  • GALDERMA 22.0 km / 14.0 mi
  • MEDTRONIC 8.69 km / 5.4 mi
  • MOTHERCARE 5.15 km / 3.2 mi
  • SIGMA PHARMCEUTICAL 6.44 km / 4.0 mi
  • WARNER BROS STUDIOS 2.74 km / 1.7 mi

Your meetings and events

Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel has 11 meeting rooms and 13 syndicate rooms. With all of our Day Delegate and 24hr Delegate rates we offer complimentary WiFi, audio visual equipment and space for up to 200 delegates.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 500 


Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Contemporary style double bedroom with en suite, Freeview TV, hairdryer, telephone, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary parking and free WIFI - sleeps 2 adults

Our restaurants and bars


Type of cuisine: Brasserie

No matter what the occasion, The Courtyard Restaurant at Hunton Park, Hertfordshire is the ideal gathering spot.


The bar is a relaxing environment to enjoy a drink at the end of your day or to catch up with friends and family

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.5/5

1,143 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,236 reviews

An overnight stay for Harry Potter World

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Stephen S. Couples - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was lovely and all the staff were very polite, welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and tidy although a little hot with a small amount of window ventilation via restrictors given we were on the first floor. What marred our stay was being awoken at 1.30am by a huge arguement and fight in the corridor with no respect for other guests and the language was appalling but that was no fault of the hotel as you just don't know who or what the guests are going to be like

Very shabby

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Michael B. Couples - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We thought from the website we would be staying in a beautiful house instead we stayed in a horrid building. We were questioned on if we had booked breakfast on numerous times even though the price reflected we had. The breakfast was awful. We usually stay at the premier Inn in Watford Premier Inn and to be honest compared to the Mercury it was four star. Will never stay at a Mercury again.

Quite disappointed

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Mr A. G. Couples - 15/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We thought we were staying at a beautiful period building, but discovered that we were staying in a building attached to the period property, and to add insult to injury, we had a car wash right outside our window, very misleading and disappointing.

Cancelled the booking well in advance, still waiting for the refund

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Jon C. Families - 15/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked on the book with confidence rate, cancelled in plenty of time, but despite telephoning a number of times, I am still waiting for the refund.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

As Families - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We attended for a family wedding. Was very disappointed with the long and drawn check in process, despite explaining that we had to be at a wedding ceremony in the next half an hour - we were informed that the rooms had not been cleaned yet (at 3.30pm) and that we would have to wait. The room itself was clean and comfortable, however the service felt very cumbersome and inaccessible

Hotel well situated for our visit and plans (Warner Bros Studio Tour)and comfortable.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

David J. S. Families - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel well situated for our visit and plans and comfortable. Experience was not all we hoped due to severe staff shortages, badly stocked bar and basic menus devoid of real choices.

Lovely hotel - staff not so great

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Matt W. Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Carpets stained, miserable staff, not welcoming at all. Asked for 2 champagne glasses and 2 extra pillows (was my 20th wedding anniversary). Took 4 hours to arrive. Glasses where not champagne glasses. We did however enjoy a meal in the hotel restaurant. We wanted room service but after 8 attempts calling and nobody picking up we went to the restaurant. Also wanted a coffee, but machine was broken. Next day no room at tables for breakfast so had to walk to and from the restaurant to the bar. Asked for a bucket of ice to be sent to the room. You would have thought I had asked for her kidneys! Anyway no bucket arrived after 3 hours so went to bar to get it myself. Paid for dinner at the restaurant as part of wowcher deal. However restaurant was closed. Ended up having dinner at the bar. Very disappointing way to spend our 20th wedding anniversary to be honest. Will not be coming back

Great wedding location but less great to stay overnight

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We attended a lovely wedding, but found the hotel stay overnight less than enjoyable. We were surprised at the standard of accommodation which seemed more budget hotel suited than Mercure should be. The rooms were tiny, dusty and not overly comfortable. There was zero sound deadening and in particular the thin doors allow all corridor noise in overnight. You can hear conversations (and even toilets!!) from adjacent rooms. Some rowdy guests on the first night had us awake half the night and we had to attend the wedding exhausted the next day. Breakfast was quite poor - limited selection, no fresh fruit, and kept running out of supplies, including coffee. It’s a shame - it’s a stunning main building and grounds, but the annexe rooms, hygiene and noise really let the place down.

Short staffed

Customer review rating 3.0/5

P. D. Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Generally a good stay, but from booking to check out it’s apparent that the hotel is short staffed and staff aren’t adequately trained. When I tried to book the room on the phone no one at reception knew how to book a room using the wedding discount and were extremely slow to respond to emails if at all. I eventually had to book through Laura, the booking coordinator. Breakfast was chaos - the small breakfast room was not big enough to accommodate the number of guests - we had to take our food abd eat elsewhere. The one member of staff who was managing the breakfast service was a bit frazzled dealing with the number of guests albeit she was doing her best. She also wasn’t aware of when breakfast service finished. Check in/check out was quite time consuming and a large queue had formed as a result. We also would have liked to enjoy the pool on Saturday morning, however a swimming class was in progress and no one on reception knew how to book a slot in the pool. The room was fine - had everything we needed. The one thing I would say is that the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on in the hallway. Overall a good stay, but could be greatly improved with a few tweaks.


Customer review rating 0.5/5

M. F. Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First of all they use pictures of the Manor House to draw you in, the rooms are not in the Manor House they are in a small building next to it. The room I payed for was the ‘Superior Double Barn Block’ which on the website looks lovely, well.. I wish I could attach photos to show you all what it’s really like because it is criminal to have rooms that small especially for the prices they are charging. Not only was the room tiny and absolutely not what they are advertising, but it was FILTHY! The bathroom had so much dirt on the floor, Mark’s where people had left toothbrushes dripping in multiple places, there was hair both in the shower tray and on the bathroom floor, mascara marks and hair in and on the bed sheets, sick stains on the carpet in multiple places, the room was also overlooked by the car park and main road into the reception area so we had to have the blinds down the whole time as everyone walking past just stare into your room. After being absolutely disgusted I took photos and went to show the receptionist, who then called the manager, after seeing the evidence of this they offered to try and get the room cleaned. At this point we didn’t want to be there so we went out for dinner, came back around 9pm and the room had not been cleaned, I went to reception and asked for fresh bed sheets, the receptionist looked confused but he got them and offered to change the sheets for us. The next morning we decided to leave (was supposed to be staying for 2 nights but didn’t want to after our experience). The manager offered us a 75% refund and a complimentary stay at a later date, I took the refund (The money is not back in my account as of writing this review, but it has only been 2 days since the refund was supposedly issued) and we refused the free stay, we will never go back even if it was free & there was no way I was going to sell the stay into someone else! Luckily for the hotel the managers and receptionist are very kind, understanding and helpful but apart from that it is an absolute joke. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE DISAPPOINTED! Such a shame, I booked this hotel as me and my partner was going to Harry Potter world for her birthday and this looked the nicest in the area, i can assure you that it’s not. The Manor House is lovely (but you can’t go in/around there unless you are part of an event), the hotel is awful. I think if the room was at least clean we would have stayed the extra night, but everything adds up and we just didn’t want to be there anymore. Another thing, when we first arrived and tried to check-in the receptionist asked me to sit in the bar area as she was super busy and would come to get me as soon as she was ready to check us in, so we did.. 50 mins later we decided to go back to reception only to find that the girl that told us to do that had left her shift early and not told the receptionist that was replacing her that there was people waiting at the bar area, of course when we explained this to the receptionist who took over from her she was very shocked and apologetic, it was not her fault so we just dealt with it but as you can imagine I was pissed off from this point and then everything else from our experience added on top of this makes it a 0 star rating from me. I will add that the receptionist’s that did deal with us, day time and night time shifts were amazing.

Could do better!

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Cazza Families - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Every member of staff we encountered was polite and welcoming. The wedding areas of the hotel are well presented but the same can’t be said for the hotel. Carpets are old and stained, bedrooms are in need of updating as doors and units are marked or stained. The bathroom although small, had all we needed and the shower was excellent. The restaurant was closed and we were offered the full menu in the bar. Again waiting and bar staff were polite and welcoming. The food goes as follows: and tasty Salad with feta, watermelon and a couple of other ingredients.....totally tasteless as no dressing and very little bits apart from rocket. Chips....lukewarm Beetroot and goats cheese pizza......most of this cardboard pizza as left. It was totally tasteless with one piece of goats cheese per slice that had the consistency of rubber. Eton mess.....never could you call this defrosted meringue with a bit of cream and runny fruit an Eton Mess. I spoke to a member of management about my experience the next day and she said she would pass it on to her manager and offered us dinner that night. I politely refused....we ate in an excellent pub nearby. I spoke to her later that evening and she said the manager had spoken to the chef but no recompense could be offered as we had used an outside voucher. My concern was that no one else received the awful food experience we had. She dealt professionally and politely with my complaint.

Still waiting for a refund

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay got cancelled a few days before we were due to stay with you as the hotel decided to host a wedding instead that was moved from the sister property. Instead of booking and paying for the alternative hotel that was offered and refunding me the difference. I had to pay for the new stay and have been chasing a full refund for our original stay.

Well located but not how it looks online…

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Lindsay Couples - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

- no big towels in room and nobody on reception to raise this with. - told big towels would be brought down to pool; they weren’t so had to run through hotel in my swimsuit. - Pool changing rooms were horrible, no lockers and unisex. - No jacuzzi or steam room as per website description. - Staff at dinner were highly unprofessional, one girl kept boasting about it being her last night. - Spent over 2 hours at dinner for a starter and a main - 1 hour for starter and 40 minutes waiting on our mains being cleared and getting the bill. - Ordered a second round of drinks, never came. Starter came out wrong as well as my partners main. - Not asked once how our food was. - When we checked out we weren’t even asked how our stay was and I’ve been trying to find a complaints procedure since we came home with no luck. - Hygiene and cleaning need work; condom wrapper on floor of bedroom from previous guests.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

S S. Families - 04/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

nice hotel, but not very clean. food good need more selection

A really nice room.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - 03/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice stay, expected for the wedding guest staying in the rooms around us as they knocked on doors and shouting until 3 in the morning.

Great Stay, Conveniently located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bnk Families - 03/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Came for one night with my 13 year old daughter. I was looking for a hotel with comforts of a hotel and that is what I got. A lovely room, modern and clean, modern bathroom, dinner in a restaurant and breakfast. I would come again.

Lovely get away together

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lucy Couples - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After reading all the reviews online I was very worried about our booking. I booked this through the Wowcher deal website and when I couldn't get through to the hotel themselves I was also very worried. However I emailed someone who booked us in and away we went. It was actually a really nice get away, breakfast and dinner included in our voucher, staff were helpful and polite. Our room was clean and comfortable for the two of us. We were nervous about using the pool as it was the summer holidays but it was completely empty. We overall had a lovely break.

Amazing Hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kay D. Couples - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a fantastic stay at your hotel. The staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, clean had a great view of the grounds at the back of the hotel the bathroom was well designed with a fantastic shower. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious. we used the on site indoor swimming pool which was lovely.

Very disappointed

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

gracestorey4 29/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Very disappointed. When arriving an hour and a half after our check in time our hotel still wasn’t available as it was getting cleaned still. We were then relocated to a room with two single beds in. Which we were not happy about as this was intended to be a romantic weekend away. After going to the front desk they then apologised and we were asked to wait until our room was cleaned. We were given a complimentary drink for this inconvenience. 30 minutes later when we finally checked into our room there were no clothes hangers in the wardrobe so we couldn’t hang anything up. On the back of our bathroom door was a clothed hanger for a towel that fell off bringing the wall plugs with it as well. The whole cleanliness of the room was very below average. Our room was right next to the door which went into the main hallway which made our sleep awful and very disrupted! I tried to change the temperature of the room as it was very hot but couldn’t seem to work the thermostat which interrupted my sleep even further! I booked a bed and breakfast which the website told me I would have the choice of many breads, pastries, smoothies, yogurts, cereal, musli and all of these had been used up we went an hour before the breakfast closed which I was very unimpressed by. I would expect the hotel to supply what they so proudly offer. They also on their website offer a swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The only thing the hotel had was a small swimming pool which the changing rooms were unisex and had no lockers for your possessions. The showers over flooded in the very small cubicles supplied. The unisex changing rooms made me feel very uncomfortable as they weren’t ever big enough for everyone to spread out. It was cramped and again unclean and unpleasant. The website was very good at making the hotel look beautiful and outstanding but this is brilliant marketing the hotel has the potential to be beautiful but quite frankly , The whole place seemed quite cheap which surprised me due to location. The cleanliness of the hotel in my opinion was below average. Also the staff are very untrained and don’t have a clue where things are located between them. All and all this hotel is okay for a stay where you’re not expecting much at all but a place to sleep. But due to circumstances, false advertisement, and poor up keep of the rooms I am unfortunately writing this review.

Hello gracestorey4, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience. Kind regards, The General Manager

Dont book

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Peter G 20/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

We were due to stay for a birthday but the event was cancelled. We still intended to stay and contacted the hotel for a food menu, never bothered getting back to us so we cancelled. Had too wait nearly a month for the refund. Hotel didnt take calls and 3 calls to customer services whonwerent that helpful. Hotel then claimed not to have bank details for refund. Now they ask for a review of my stay when we cancelled drinks of incompetence.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby