SO/ Berlin Das Stue Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.7/5 1,076 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

SO/ Berlin Das Stue
See on a map
+ 23 Services

Hotel extras

  • Exclusive entrance to the Berlin Zoo via the Stue Terrasse (for a fee)

  • An ALLSAFE certified hotel.

  • Holistic beauty treatments at the Susanne Kaufmann Boutique SPA

  • Contemporary design with an elegant lounge atmosphere

  • View of Berlin Zoo and the Tiergarten park

Hotel location

SO/ Berlin Das Stue

Drakestrasse 1
10787 berlin
germany

Fax: (+49)30/31172290

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Bus 100:  Nordische Botschaften

  • Bus 200:  Nordische Botschaften

  • U2:  Wittenbergplatz

  • By plane

    BERLIN TEGEL At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By plane

    SCHOENEFELD At 23km / 14.29 miles

  • By train

    HAUPTBAHNHOF At 4km / 2.49 miles

GPS:52.509991, 13.345841

Companies

  • ALEPA REAL ESTATE GMBH 2.9 km / 1.8 mi
  • BLAIN SOUTHERN 1.8 km / 1.12 mi
  • BNP PARISBAS REAL ESTATE 1.8 km / 1.12 mi
  • CDU BUNDESGESCHAFTSSTELLE 0.6 km / 0.37 mi
  • DELOITTE 1.9 km / 1.18 mi
  • GREENBERG TRAURIG GERMANY LLP 2.5 km / 1.55 mi
  • JO SCHMID FILMPRODUKTION 0.5 km / 0.31 mi
  • KMPG AG 0.75 km / 0.47 mi
  • RAUE LLP 2.5 km / 1.55 mi
  • SANOFI AVENTIS 2.7 km / 1.68 mi
  • SONY PICTURES RELEASING GMBH 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • THE KADEWE GROUP GMBH 0.65 km / 0.4 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

THE CASUAL RESTAURANT

What could be better than celebrating life with loved ones? At The Casual restaurant, prime ingredients meet honest craftsmanship and guests can also enjoy dining on the terrace in the green courtyard.

Your meetings and events

In a central location between East and West Berlin, the SO Berlin Das Stue is the perfect location for your event in the capital. Our unique rooms offer you creative freedom to host exceptional events.Invite guests for cocktails or a private dinner in the Bel Etage Salon. The reception rooms of the former Danish embassy still exude a distinctive flair and are perfect for prestigious events.Our event planners will design your entire event exactly to your wishes and from a single source, whether an intimate cocktail reception in the glamourous bar, a press conference in the Salon or inspirational creative meetings in our historic library.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 40 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Overhead projector

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Unique furnishings and color accents add an individual touch to our modern rooms and suites. Views from the floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows will inspire your creativity. You can then relax in the large rain shower. With high ceilings measuring 16 feet (five meters), free-standing bathtubs and exclusive materials, the 754-sq.-ft. (70-m²) Stue Suites exude all the flair of a lavish urban villa. The 861-sq.-ft. (80-m²) Penthouse Suite offers a unique view of the zoo.

Our guest reviews for
SO/ Berlin Das Stue

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.7/5

1,076 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

1,951 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

wonderful to ne back in berlin

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After having previously stayed at Sofitel am Ku'damm for more than 20 times, we had to look for a "new home" and Das Stue - despite being a bit overpriced and unconveniently located - felt right efter having had to cancel several trips the last two years. Having read some critical reviews, I was a bit concerned about on what to expect. I called you with some requests and questions beforehand and got excellent service! Both friendly and professional. We arrived already in the morning but were happily welcomed to register. Getting the room was slightly delayed (probably due to my requests) but was handled very nicely and with an eye for good customer care. The room was both a pleasant surprise and much what I had requested. The only thing missing was the "altbau ambiance" but was of course present in the hotel elsewhere. Slight wear and tear in the room was to be seen, not expected in at a SO/ quality level (compared to SO/ St Petersburg which was flawless a few years ago ). The only bigger problem occured with the shower drainage as it was clogged and needed urgent attention before one could use the shower properly. Luckily housekeeping managed to somehow clear it in the evening while we were out, but the problem obviously will need further attention. Generally, overall cleanliness was very good and we felt comfortable and safe. Breakfast was of a slight concern - as the expectations were high and we wanted to avoid crowds. We usually like to sleep late, but now being very early we were fortunate to enjoy a perfect breakfast. The menu was nice and covered the most. Service was very friendly and without any excess waiting. By the time we left, the restaurant was already busier and the pace had become somewhat different. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Was thinking of giving you an 8, but your staff is worth much more.

Dear Kaj, thank you SO/ much for the great review and your helpful personal feedback. While it is a pleasure to read that you had a great time with us I also appreciate the hints regarding the drain and the toilet paper holder. I have already spoken to our maintenance manager and will have a look into it by tomorrow. The team was very happy to receive your praise and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon back to Berlin. Warm regards, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Love the hotel, you MUST replace the room service and bar food menu!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

H. Business - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I love the hotel, but you guys really need to replace your food offering at the Bar and room service. This is the same menu for well over a year.

Dear H., thank you so much for your kind review and the personal feedback. I have already forwarded your suggestions to our Food and Beverage manager and the Head Chef. Please excuse the inconvenience and the missing alternatives. Kind regards and all the best, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Beautiful hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jasmin Couples - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice decoration and interior, beautiful lightening. The very special and unique point is the location, next to the Zoologische Garten. If you look outside the window, you can directly see some ostriches and antipopes.

Dear Jasmin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Customer review rating 3.5/5

M Couples - 13/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice and stylish hotel. Great location. Pleasant staff. But not high on room cleanliness

Dear M, thank you so much for your kind review and the important personal feedback. As already explained in my seperate email I want to honestly excuse for the lack of cleanliness - this is certainly not our standard and may not happen at all. In addition I want to kindly explain that our hotel rooms in the 2nd floor, our so called "belle etage" are the most liked ones and that is probably the reason why my colleague decided to allocate this room to you. However I have already made a note in your profile, that you would rather like to have a room on our 5th and highest floor. On behalf of the team I would love to get another chance to fully convince you of our SO/ Berlin Das Stue. Kind regards and all the best, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Kais Couples - 10/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The experience was great and your in house restaurant is amazing. However, a few issues which I pointed out to your reception. 1. Housekeeping should give you more than three seconds before busting your door open. Sometimes they wouldn't even ask if anyone was inside before breaking the door open. 2. Air condition wasn't working at all 3. Safety box stopped working on three occasion because I pushed a wrong button. I had to get the mechanic to come a fix it, which is inconvenient. 3. We kept having mirroring issues with our phones to the TV. 4. We booked a spa appointment for our last day and had it confirmed. I even called the reception that morning to confirm and you said it was confirmed. When we showed up to the appointment, and the spa was clueless about the appointment.

Dear Kais, thank you so much for your kind feedback and the important personal review. First of all I want to honestly excuse for the many inconveniences during your stay with us. This may certainly not happen and it is certainly not our standard or what you may expect from our hotel. I have had the possibility to speak to our head housekeeper and chief engineer already and together we will work even harder to prevent this from further happening Again I want to beg your pardon and on behalf of the team I hope we may get another chance to further convince you of our SO/ Berlin Das Stue. Kind regards and all the best, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Perfection

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Carlos M. Couples - 09/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice place in a good location The staff was very friendly and helpful always there for us Thank you

Dear Carlos M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

One of the best hotels in Eurpoe

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kraig N. Families - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From start to finish the staff made my time in Berlin one of the most memorable trips of my life.

Dear Kraig N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Exquisite hotel at wonderful location, but with some hiccups

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Magnus Couples - 02/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at a SO Suite, and the room was incredible. Check-in and support during our stay was also as good as expected from a 5 star hotel. The spa was incredible as well, albeit with a very complicated booking process involving a lot of calls back and forth with the reception. Breakfast service was the biggest disappointment. On Sat and Sun mornings they were clearly overwhelmed, and waiting times were up to one hour to be served. Food was fantastic, though. Despite the hiccups, we would very much recommend the hotel!

Dear Magnus, thank you so much for your kind review and the important personal feedback. On behalf of the team I am sorry for the delay during the breakfast on the weekend. It honors us that you are satisfied with your stay nontheless but we are clearly looking to further improve and convince you even further upon your next possible stay at SO/ Berlin Das Stue. Kind regards, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Great stay !

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Raghav G. Business - 02/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Extremely nice staff , great service and room. Loved the bar!! Will be back soon !

Dear Raghav G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Feels like home away from home

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tina S. Families - 27/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The intimate setting and the friendly staff made our stay most pleasant

Dear Tina S, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Beautiful building and great service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Katrin Solo - 26/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a very relaxing stay at Das Stue without any complaints.

Dear Katrin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

A wonderful way to spend our first few days in Berlin, at Das Stue, a great, quiet, peaceful hotel on the edge of the Tiergarten park.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul Couples - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed in Berlin for a week, with our first three days at Das Stue...on purpose, to recover from jet lag, get some "green" next to the park, and enjoy a quiet, off-the-beaten track hotel. Das Stue met all our expectations, and then some, with surprisingly good food and a great, "small hotel" atmosphere and feel.

Dear Paul, thank you so much for your kind review and the important personal feedback. On behalf of the team I am happy to read that you had a great and relaxing time with us. In addition thank you so much for giving us a chance to further improve and for letting us know, what details you think have room for improvement - this is greatly welcome. I certainly hope you had a great week in Berlin in general and were able to explore the city just fine. Kind regards and all the best, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Not as expected

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Prof K. Solo - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is a rather expensive hotel, but the service was sometimes "overdone" and at other times not enough. The installations (electricity and water) at the room are very difficult to use. Simple things are made complicated. I asked for a small pillow but never got any.

Dear Prof K., thank you so much for your personal feedback and the important review from your recent stay at SO/ Berlin Das Stue. First of all I want to honestly beg your pardon. This is certainly not our standard and I can only promise to serve you better in the future. We clearly missed the opportunity to convince you of our quality and services Again please excuse the inconvenience and for not making you feel totally welcome at our hotel. Together with the team I will work hard to further improve and hopefully get a chance to convince you in the future. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Second visit to a favourite

Customer review rating 4.0/5

N H. Couples - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was very enjoyable. The rooms comfortable and the food, breakfast in particular very good

Dear N H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the SO/ Berlin Das Stue. It is always a pleasure to receive helpful and thoughtful feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

A Business - 17/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

we enjoyed our stay but we have to say we miss the old staff pre covid. there was a level of experience and professionalism in times past that was missing this time with the new staff. we missed the doormen, the familiar faces, the attentiveness. The hotel stay itself was lovely as always. We had a very bad incident that almost ruined our stay though when my husband and baby were trying to get in from the zoo and were ignored for 15 minutes by staff that had waited on us earlier that day, and then questioned if we were guests, and then further ignored. He rang the bell repeatedly and was very visible standing with the baby in his arms waiting for assistance. I think this would have never happened before and it was obvious everyone thought it was someone else's job but there is no excuse to just leave a man and his child waiting like that. We hope the new staff get trained quickly and that they get some of the old staff back as well.

Dear A, thank you so much for your honest review and the important personal feedback from your recent stay with us at SO/ Berlin Das Stue. I want to honestly beg your pardon for the mentioned inconvenience. Indeed I have no words why this waiting time with the zoo entrance has happened - this is certainly not acceptable has should never happen. In general we as the hotel are trying to recover from covid and are still recruiting new and old talents, especially for our doormen. On behalf of the team I would love to get another chance to welcome you soon back in order to convince you of our services and staffing. Kind regards, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Average

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Eedmtl Solo - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check-in and suite were fine. I had used suite awards but no additional upgrade was offered from what was booked. Hmmm? But my main issue was with breakfast the first morning. Very slow service (waited 10 minutes for my first coffee, although I had ordered it while being seated). The items for my breakfast also did not arrive until I kept asking. Afterwards when I called for a bucket of ice in my room, nothing arrived for 20 minutes, called again, and then a glass with a few ice cubes in it arrived; I gave them the bucket from the night before to refill! When I called reception about these two incidents they were very understanding and the person offered to "wir werden es schon recht machen", but nothing ever transpired or was done after this unsolicited promise. Hmmm. I had dinner in the evening and the service was friendly and good food, but very slow (waited 15 minutes for my soup and then another 20 minutes for my fish). Breakfast the next morning had good service and my thanks that the 2nd morning breakfast was more what one would normally expect (thanks!) I had written by e-mail and received a reply to arrange a number of preference, so as not to be disturbed by housekeeping during my stay, but these seemed to be unknown at check-in and I had to arrange them once arrived. As well, while requesting no housekeeping, this was not known to the housekeeping staff who came in (except when I had the "do not disturb" light on). This was my first SO brand of Sofitel experience and it was not as exquisite as many experiences at regular Sofitel's. The housekeeping staff were great and the reception staff friendly, but I wondered about the various mix-ups. I had looked forward to a high level of service based on it being SO but found I've enjoyed better service at most all other regular Sofitel hotels both in Germany and around the world.

Dear EEDMtl, thank you so much for your personal review and the important feedback from your recent stay with us. First of all I want to beg your pardon as we have clearly missed to convince you of our high standards. The suite night upgrade indeed results in a double upgrade, in this case to our SO/ Suite category. Upgrades in regards from loyalty programs or consortia programs are not possible to upgrade any higher than this. In addition I want to excuse for the mentioned waiting times and the delay in service. In and after the covid19 pandemic we are still facing big challenges and we are constantly training and educating our newly recruited talents. Still this is certainly not our standard and what you may expect from us. I would greatly appreciate to get another chance in order to convince you of our efforts and that our new team is capable of serving you better. Kind regards and all the best, Dennis Mischlewitz Quality Manager & Personal Assistant to the General Manager

The living rooms of Berlin

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

CCallert Business - 06/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

So, finally another, and amuch awaited stay at Das Stue in Berlin. Even tough the jaws of a crocodile welcomes you in the entrance it is a warm and heartfelt welcome. Care for details are immediately noticeable, like the sombre colors, the clever lightning and relaxing ambience, manifested in the personal check in. Never find any complains about the rooms but I would rather have had a Zoo-view which I ordered. But this was a short stay (two nights) so I let it be. Everyone is kind and discreet at this hotel so you can work in a corner without anyone bothering you, except for the occasional question from staff if you will need anything. Breakfast is top notch, however 5€ for each coffee seams unnecessary when you are a returning guest. Regardless of those minor flaws Das Stue remains my favorite stay in Berlin. I will be back.

Dear CCallert, on behalf of the team I want to thank you for your lovely recommendation and your great review. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great time in general. Your additional feedback helps us with further improving our services and procedures. Just like the team I hope to welcome you soon back to Berlin and further convince you of our services. Warm regards, Dennis

Perfect!!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mde2100 02/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Such a nice stay! Hotel and rooms are amazing! The staff SO service minded and professional! Definitely coming back! Food was excellent and the location was perfect! We asked for a room with balcony which was even more perfect!

Dear mde2100, thank you SO/ much for the kind review and the lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great experience with us and on behalf of the team I certainly hope to welcoming you soon back to Berlin. Warm regards, Dennis

Another pleasant stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

MarkusNorbert Business - 14/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

The management and the staff at the STUE succeeded to make this stay again a very pleasant one, despite the current redtrictions due to the Corona crisis. Very flexible room service and a high level of attention for their guests !

Dear Mr. Norbert, We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience following your recent stay here at the SO/Berlin Das Stue. It is wonderful to read that the team here succeeded to make your stay a pleasant one again. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future and to be able to offer our full range of service again. Stay stafe and best wishes for a Happy New Year. Warm regards Julia Sturm Quality Manager

Absolutely perfect

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

zahraemmanuell Solo travel - 12/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

The building itself is a treat for the eyes, my bedroom was so stunning, a mix of design and total comfort! Welcome drink and fresh fruit were such a lovely touch. Location was very good and enjoyed being so close to the park. Staff was very friendly and professional

Dear zahraemmanuell, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the SO/Berlin Das Stue, starting with the welcome drink and fresh fruit to our friendly and professional staff. Rest assured that we have shared your kind words with the team. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. With warm regards for a wonderful festive season. Julia Sturm Quality Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby