BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach 3.5 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 729 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach
See on a map
+ 11 Services

Hotel extras

  • 100m to the Beach

  • 500m to Pacific Fair (Shops)

  • 50m to Public Transport

  • Close to Resuarants and cafes in Broadbeach Area

  • Advantage 5

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 10h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet AccessPaying
  • Parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Thermal Spa
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
Business services
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach

10 16 Alexandra Avenue
4218
broadbeach
australia

Tel: +611300092878

Fax: (+61)7/55702222

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 10h00

  • By plane

    GOLD COAST AIRPORT At 18km / 11 miles

GPS :-28.036189, 153.434223

Our accommodation(s)

A fantastic Gold Coast holiday awaits you in affordable self-contained 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments set amongst tropical gardens. The apartments have everything you'll need for your stay, with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living area, cable TV, and a large private balcony to relax on after a hard day at the beach.

1 Bedroom Apartment

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 65 / 700 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

1 Bedroom

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 65 / 700 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

2 Bedroom

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: From 89 / 958 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

2 Bedroom Deluxe

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: From 89 / 958 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

3 Bedroom

  • Max. number of persons: 7
  • Area: From 165 / 1776 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

3 Bedroom Deluxe

  • Max. number of persons: 7
  • Area: From 165 / 1776 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

4 Bedroom

  • Max. number of persons: 8
  • Area: From 165 / 1776 sq ft
  • Views: Pool side *
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
Apartments

Our guest reviews for
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

729 reviews

Well located easy access

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Friends - 25/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our dealings with the staff was positive and and queries dealt with promptly

Dear Jean, Thank you for leaving feedback from your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Bad stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Muhammad A. H. Business - 21/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

TV didn’t work. No refilling of coffee, milk etc. Dirty/

Dear Muhammad, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am extremely sorry to read that you did not have a pleasent stay with us, especially as one of our valued Accor Plus members! As you have mentioned within the comments in your feedback, you did not receive daily housekeeping here at the resort. This is because at BreakFree Diamond Beach our rooms are serviced apartments and as such they are serviced on a weekly basis. This means that a weekly service & change of linen is only received once a week, and only when staying 8 nights or more. We are a little different to the other Accor Brands in this regard. I have been over to the apartment since your departure and the TV seems to working okay, but I am sorry to read that you encounted trouble during your stay. Again, I am sorry to read that you didnt have an enjoyable stay with us. I hope that we do have the chance to welcome you back in the future. If you are looking to return in the future, please do not hesistate to contact me directly. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Gloria J. Families - 20/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice place kids loved the pool

Hi Gloria, Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay; I am pleased you enjoyed your time here. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Great value and location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Neets Families - 20/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic pool facilities, renovated bathrooms and kitchen, large rooms and great service at reception. Received late check-out for special circumstance for no cost on request with no disdain and only a smile.

Dear Neets, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable short stay with us at the resort. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Disgusting!

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Louise Families - 18/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disgraceful! Filthy units, disgusting carpets, things broken, mattress protectors covered in blood and who knows what else. Couches full of sand. Dirty floors on arrival. We had to stay for 14 nights and no change of any linen at all!!!!! Don’t expect your car space to be available either. People just park anywhere and if you phone them after hours to ask where to park cause your space is taken, they tell you to park on the street. How this place is Covid safe or Covid compliant is beyond me. No evidence of any cleaning being done around the place at all. Wishing all future guests the best of luck with your stay and health!

Dear Louise, Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am sorry to read that you have had such an unpleasant stay with us at the resort, especially to do with the comments made about the cleanliness of the unit. We do take COVID extremely serious here at the resort and do take many additional steps to ensure our units are COVID safe between each arrival and departure, which includes but is not limited to using a hospital grade disinfectant (Oxivir Tb) to disinfect all major touch points within the rooms. Further to this, we also have increased cleaning schedules in our public areas (stairwells & BBQ area) and reception foyer as well as the signage, floor markings and screens you see in place. I am sorry to read that during your stay you did not receive the scheduled weekly service. Over the past 6 months, this has not been a service we have offered in an attempt to ensure we are being "COVID SAFE" by reducing the likelihood of contracting and spreading the virus if it had in fact made its way into our complex. We have only at the beginning on October (At the same time as the relaxing of restrictions in QLD on 1st Oct) resumed these weekly services. I do apologise that yours was missed. Lastly, our reception desk here at the resort is open from 9am to 5pm. I would always recommend going and seeing the reception team whenever you are staying anywhere, especially if you are having issues such as those you have listed. We would, as any hotel would, do everything in our power to resolve the issues you are facing. Again, I am sorry to read that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. I hope that we do have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if you are ever looking to return. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager
Customer review rating 4.1/5

Steve Families - 15/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A little more problematic than usual. We come and stay every year. Although this time around provided a few extra challenges with the room (no foxtel, water leak, broken front door, really firm bed), the staff were amazing and sorted everything quickly and with a smile. Surprisingly, the three construction sites surrounding the resort provide minimal disturbance.

Hi Steve, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach; I pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry to read that you had some issues throughout your stay, in particular the Foxtel. During Covid we unfortuntely lost our connection with Foxtel due to zero numbers in the complex, I am happy to let you know that it is returning in November 2020. Understanding that it has impacted you during your recent visit, I would like to offer to you a discounted stay next time you are on the Gold Coast. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Amazing staff and location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

B M. Families - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Luke at the front desk was super accomadating and helpful, the location was perfect for our wee family and the property and facilties were great!

Dear Becky, Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read I was able to assist you on the desk. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Relaxing

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Sonya Friends - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice location, Very neat and tidy rooms and pool.

Dear Sonya, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, however do apologise that you seem to have had trouble accessing the after hours safe. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the resort soon! Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Such a good place

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Chantelle P. Families - 10/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The apartment was great, the pool and BBQ area was amazing location was perfect.

Dear Chantelle, Thank you for leaving feedback from your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Proximity to beach great

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Andrew G. Families - 09/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Resort has a lot of potential, needs a makeover and the cleaning needs to be reviewed.

Dear Andrew, Thank you for providing feedback from your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach I am pleased that you found the location of the resort suitable for your stay on the Coast; however am sorry to ready that you encounted some cleanliness issues during your stay. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team. I hope we do have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Jayden Families - 09/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Kids loved the pools, great location. Mattresses could do with a change and Foxtel was supposed to be in the room but wasn’t. We had a great time and we will be back

Dear Jayden, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Relaxing

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Kylie Families - 09/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great break. The staff promised me at booking a room away from the construction noise & they were true to their word. The grounds & pool upkeep is impeccable. Was disappointed to not have any pots for cooking in the room - had to use an electric frypan to boil. The doors are a bit difficult to slide & lock. The location is amazing.

Dear Kylie, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet your request with regards to the construction site. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Disappointed

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Mary K. Friends - 08/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unit was very dirty Rubbish and detritus behind the sofa cushions from years by the look of it Dirty and stained doonah on the bed Tv only receiving 3 channels despite being a smart tv, ABC constantly pixellating No wi-fi No DVD player

Hi Mary, Thank you for leaving feedback from your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am sorry to read that you have had issues with the cleanliness of the unit, I have shared your reiview with my housekeeping team to ensure these items are rectified. I am also looking into your comments around the TV signal as I have not received any other comments with regards to this at all and on attending the room in which you stayed all seems to be working okay. I am sorry to read that you had trouble during your stay here. I hope we do have the chance to welcome you back in the future, If we do please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager
Customer review rating 4.1/5

Jess Families - 07/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely place, great facilities and price. Only thing I would bring up is cleaning and appliances in apartment. We stayed in room 144. There was minimal cooking equipment and no vacuum cleaner, the room was carpeted in the lounge room and bedrooms. We stayed 3 nights, I would not like to stay any longer without been able to go over the floors as they got quite dirty with all of us coming and going. Upkeep for cleaning needs to be done, can hardly move the wardrobe and sliding doors due to build up of dirt and dust.

Dear Jessica, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will certainly have the sliding door looked into following your comments. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Excellent Location - Family Friendly Resort

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Rachael Families - 06/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spacious Clean Apartments, Pool was fantastic

Dear Rachael, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Good pool area for the kids

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Sharon Families - 06/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay, close to the beach. Kids had a great time in the pool areas. Apartments very spacious however no lifts to top floor apartments so needed to walk up and down stairs with luggage.

Dear Sharon, Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at the complex. Please come and visit us again soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Not worth the deluxe title

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Storm C. Families - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My bad experience started at check in. As the booking agent, I specifically booked two rooms together and followed this up with a phone to reservations to confirm. When checking in, I was advised my room was not located near my sisters room, in fact on opposite sides of the resort. The room was dirty. There were marks on linen, grease all over the range hood, someone had put away the toasted sandwich maker without cleaning at all, the dishwasher drawer was broken, clock didn’t work, remote control batteries dead. The dryer was filled with sand...... We paid extra for the deluxe rooms however they were old and tired. Many marks on the walls. As a travel agent, I am reluctant to recommend this property to my clients.

Dear Storm, Thank you for providing feedback from your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience with us, which seems to have all stemmed from being allocated away from your sisters room. I have double checked in our resevation system, and it appears that the bookings were made as seperate reservations, and unfortunately there are no booking requests what so ever on them. You comment that you had spoken to someone in person with regards to these requests, can you recall who this might have been by any chance, and when this communication took place. I can see that both you and your sister had however been allocated into our popular pool side units, which are in extremely high demend, particularly over holidays periods. So I pleased that you where able to experience our pool side units, as many people request them and are unsuccessful simply due to the limited number we have. I am addressing the cleanliness items you had raised with our housekeeping team, I do apologise that these items were not rectified and cleaned prior to your arrival. Again, I am sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience with us. I hope this experience will not discourage you from utilising the BreakFree Brand in the future, and I hope that we do have the experience to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Good location, good price

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Families - 04/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was adequate but needs a lot of maintainence broken unlockable balcony door, toaster and fans broken. Pool area great for kids. Price was low due to construction noise but even after hours many noise disturbances from drunken neighbours.

Dear Zoe, Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, I am passed on your comments surrounding the maintenance in the room to our team for repair. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Richard F. Families - 28/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always enjoy staying at diamond beach resort and the swimming pool area is great and kept nice but the rooms need to be refurbished as they are getting old and a bit knocked about .

Dear Richard, Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed yet another stay at the resort. I look forward to welcoming you back next time. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Couples - 28/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The accommodation was ok sadly we needed to wash the cups before we could use them. We were going to cook breakfast But again the frying pan was dirty so didn’t bother. The beds were comfortable but the shower in the twin room only trickledown and the patio screen door didn’t lock. The resort itself was lovely but typical of the Gold Coast and Brisbane there was a lot of noise from the builders.

Dear Ian, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for providing information on how the stay could have been improved. I have passed on your comments to my housekeeping team to ensure they are rectified immediately. Best regards, Luke Shore General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

Our other hotels nearby