Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 314 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • GolfPaying
  • TennisPaying
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG
st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Companies

  • AMAZON WAREHOUSE NOT OPEN YET 4.18 km / 2.6 mi
  • HANDEPAY 8.21 km / 5.1 mi
  • KNAUF INSULATION 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
  • KUEHNE NAGEL 7.56 km / 4.7 mi
  • PILKINGTONS 2.0 km / 1.0 mi
  • SAINSBURYS 7.24 km / 4.5 mi
  • SPEEDY 9.01 km / 5.6 mi
  • YORKSHIRE REPAK 2.57 km / 1.6 mi
Companies

Your meetings and events

Chalon Suite can hold upto 200 delegates, located on the ground floor, natural daylight and airconditioning. This room is versitle with a closing partition to section the room in half.

meeting rooms

From 1 to 300 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

General equipment

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Podium

  • Overhead projector

General equipment

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Classic Room with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic Room with two Single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Privilege Room with one King Size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

92 RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1552 SPORTS BAR

Non contractual photo

Our Sports Bar boasts a great location to sit back and relax with a drink in hand. With Sky Sports and BT Sports on the big screen, you are sure not to miss any big sporting event.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

314 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

41 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

Saints

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anymons Families - 22/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My pet hate to see rinsed out cups in the room instead of fresh ones with coffee stained spoons and flimsy towels.

cheap pillows gave me sore neck

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Hotel B. Families - 19/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel setting is beautiful in a great location we opted out of breakfast as it would come in a bag for £10 each. It is such a disappointment that you would use cheap flat £2 ikea pillows that offer zero support for your guests when sleeping the shower was very difficult to control at first only ice cold water coming out spent 15 minutes before warm water came on then it was either streaming scorching hot water one second and ice cold water the next the taps in the basin splashed water everywhere bathroom and room felt dated compared to what you see when you walk through the doors at reception

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. All of the pillows which we use are hotel standard which we haven't had issues with before however I will discuss your feedback with the senior management team. I will ask our maintenance team to investigate the issues that you had experienced o ensure that this is resolved. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Wel located

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Michael B. Couples - 14/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

St Helens is my home town always lovely to go back and visit family and friends stayed in this hotel 3/4 times now, but its looking rather dated now, we expected to of had the queen's size bed but instead we were left with 2 pushed together bit uncomfortable knowing theirs a crease come join down the centre of your bed. The staff I found to be courteous and helpful. The skirting round the bath could do with changing as it's cracked and paint flaking, the shower door requires a new seal as the one was torn, chips in the desk fitting, the fridge needs to be defrosted and maybe the rooms carpets could do with a deep clean, very little natural light coming into the room due to the frosted appearance of the glass and the what I presume to be signage obscuring the light also.

Dear MICHAEL B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

A good stay and everything went according to plan.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

A J. C. Couples - 14/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were good and the room clean and tidy. I had to request that the handwash basin outflow bee unblocked and this was done immediately.

Dear ANTHONY C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Everything Perfect apart from the Bed....

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Paul Business - 12/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing staff on front desk, bar staff were great.... But the bed was on a slope.... It was so annoying...

Dear PAUL D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback gets passed to our maintenance to make sure he follow up on your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

I had a great stay and the location was great

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anthony E. Solo - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

they was very helpful

Dear ANTHONY E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 3.8/5

Keith S. Business - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Over priced take away breakfast.

Dear KEITH S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are working on a way to improve our breakfast service within the government guidelines restrictions. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Mediocre hotel, priced too high

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Dissatisffied Business - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor food, bought a breakfast which was in a bag included in room rate, would not have done if I’d known prior to booking, room keys playing up, pillows disgusting rubber. Would not stay again

Dear MELVYN D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Sami Couples - 04/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a really nice stay at this modern looking hotel. Located on a busy road, it is very close to many amenities and retail parks. Reception staff were good. The room was clean, but the bathroom looked dated, and the basin wasn't good at maintaining water as it splashed out causing a mess. The bed was comfortable and had a quiet night sleep.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Good shower

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Rbrboltz Families - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice rooms reasonably priced with excellent shower

Dear Rbrboltz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

Well located for visit and as ever great stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Suzy M. Couples - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was very clean and comfortable

Dear SUSAN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Perfect location !

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Stuart D. Business - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for one night , brilliant for the train,comfy room nicely decorated , good facilities ,we stay again

Dear STUART D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Amazing staff, pleasant stay.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Gemima Families - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Can not fault the staff or the hotel. Had to move rooms due to a faulty air con unit, staff were fantastic about moving us and couldn’t have been more helpful. Checked in quite late, receptionist was cheerful and very helpful. Restaurant staff were busy but still professional and always helpful, same for the leisure facility staff. Nightly recommend.

Dear GARDNER G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great Customer Service

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Business - 28/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A spotless hotel, definitely value for money, and it was well located for my business trip. What stood out for me was the brilliant customer service, nothing was too much trouble, even when there was only a skeleton crew. The hotel its self could do with a maintenance refresh, as a little tired in places but I am sure once it is back on its feet, then this will get done.

Dear SARAH B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good location

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A positive stay. Staff excellent. When items needed replenishing it was done quickly. Very quiet room. Cleaning in public areas was good.

Dear JANET F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mark C. Business - 12/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

polite friendley staff

Things could have been better

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DazBarber 15/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed after paying for B&B only a continental take out was provided half of which i could not eat. Beer in bar had an awful vinegary test. Room was only set up for one person even though booked as a couple

good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Daniel T. Business - 24/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good and helpful

Dear Daniel, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

relaxed comfortable stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Alan Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very good, will use again

Dear ALAN S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mark Couples - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel and staff where great

Dear MARK C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby