Information message

Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 500 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Companies

  • AMAZON WAREHOUSE NOT OPEN YET 4.18 km / 2.6 mi
  • HANDEPAY 8.21 km / 5.1 mi
  • KNAUF INSULATION 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
  • KUEHNE NAGEL 7.56 km / 4.7 mi
  • PILKINGTONS 2.0 km / 1.0 mi
  • SAINSBURYS 7.24 km / 4.5 mi
  • SPEEDY 9.01 km / 5.6 mi
  • YORKSHIRE REPAK 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Hotel services

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • No Restaurant
  • No Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
Meetings/Events
  • No Meeting room
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 84 rooms
    • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 3 family rooms
    • 2 connecting rooms
    • 84 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-in
    • Express check-out
Access to property
  • Car Park
    • On site
Well-being
  • Pyramid Leisure
    • Covered
    • On site
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels

Your meetings and events

Chalon Suite can hold upto 200 delegates, located on the ground floor, natural daylight and airconditioning. This room is versitle with a closing partition to section the room in half.

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 300 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • Podium

  • Overhead projector

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

500 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

69 reviews

Location was very good

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anup V. Friends - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pre-booking for 20 rooms accommodation for 5 nights stay was handled well.

Dear Anup V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

staff very pleasant, courteous & professional, The room was clean tidy & comfortable

Comfortable room, very quiet

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Margaret Couples - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff, comfortable beds, and very quiet at night. Restaurant served our starters and main course together. This seemed to be because a big group was coming in and the chef wanted us done with.

Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 13/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Good Location, Sensible Price, Functional Corporate Hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Louise S. Couples - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We experienced an ok stay - all in all very average. First allocated room had been smoked in so had to ask for an alternative room, which was issued but key wouldn't work so needed to return to reception for another key to be programmed. Then had to get key reprogrammed a second time the next day as it wasn't working again - very frustrating to be backwards and forwards to reception! Room was averagely 'corporate' nothing to comment on really other than temperature - air conditioning didn't work, couldn't get temp any lower than 26c for our entire stay which made it incredibly uncomfortable at night considering the windows do not open. Rereported this to reception - who did nothing for the duration of our stay. On checking out, it appears this was also a problem for many other rooms. Bed was comfortable though. A very functional hotel - definitely more business than leisure, would not choose to stay here for leisure - it's a bed for the night and nothing more. Convenient location and more sensibly priced than Liverpool hotels. Breakfast overpriced at £10pp for continental so we went to the nearby McDonalds/Wetherspoons instead!!

Dear LOUISE S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nhm Solo - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had an average stay at this hotel. The room was slightly dusty and only two pillows were provided.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a good stay no member welcome or drink vouchers but no accommodation issues.

Air con not working room unbearable

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Families - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel and staff lovely but room unbearably hot and couldn’t move as hotel is full .. no windows to open either .. air con system needs sorting 30 degrees is totally unacceptable..

Dear AMANDA H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

All good again.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Another great stay,I asked for early check in was accommodated no problem.Only negative was safe not working again had to keep car keys on me .Otherwise lovely hotel.

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Graham Couples - 08/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only stayed one night the privilege rooms were well kitted out. The bed was so comfortable, had a great night's sleep. And the breakfast was fine and plenty of it.

Very clean, great location, friendly staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

M.k. Business - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I love staying at the Mercure as its food is very good and all rooms very clean

Good room and sttay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gary C. Couples - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleased with the room, nice king size bed and great temperature control in the room that made it even more comfortable. Had breakfast in the morning and it was piping hot and a good selection.

ideal location with everything to hand for an enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

B. M. Couples - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

What can i say, it was a wedding (not mine) catered for well and every request granted. The hotel receptionists was warm and welcoming and the hotels manager went out of his way to ensure everyone enjoyed the experience. Bar staff on the night were humoruous and polite and the bar prices wasnt to be really considering what others charge in similar venues. The manager at this hotel is an asset the company and made the stay what it was and memorable event. All i have spoken to have praised the efforts of the hotel but espiecally the manager

Too hot

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Ben Couples - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Whilst I was there the AC in my room wouldn't work so I was moved to another room, this too had no AC and both rooms ended up being 28/29 degrees all night making it extremely uncomfortable.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ryan D. Couples - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Used as a base for the rugby league semi final, (used previously when it was the hilton) perfect location as everything is within walking distance.

So welcoming

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lesley R. Friends - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Receptionists where above and beyond, so pleasant . Felt very welcome. Nothing too much trouble Nice large room and value for money

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sarah Families - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We really enjoyed our stay until it was time to check out. I feel the way you take payment of the room is very confusing. We used a card to secure the booking. We then used a card when we checked in and again when we checked out. We were told that we'd paid a £50 deposit but then when we checked out we didn't. It also didn't help that when we were explaining our confusion the reception staff were very abrupt.

Fabulous hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Christine P. Business - 02/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were conscientious, diligent and most attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and made good use of the leisure facilities, a welcome change after our busy day.

Friendly hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Debbie Families - 29/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed at the. Mecure for my neices wedding along with my children and other family members. The hotel was very welcoming, the staff were lovely, the rooms clean, lots of shops nearby and the wedding was beautiful. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L 29/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby