Mercure St Helens

Information message

Mercure St Helens

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.0/5 445 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West, St Helens, Merseyside
WA101NG ST HELENS
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22km / 13 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46km / 28 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27km / 16 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3km / 2 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:53.44994, -2.73679

Companies

  • AMAZON WAREHOUSE NOT OPEN YET 4.18 km / 2.6 mi
  • HANDEPAY 8.21 km / 5.1 mi
  • KNAUF INSULATION 3.06 km / 1.9 mi
  • KUEHNE NAGEL 7.56 km / 4.7 mi
  • PILKINGTONS 2 km / 1 mi
  • SAINSBURYS 7.24 km / 4.5 mi
  • SPEEDY 9.01 km / 5.6 mi
  • YORKSHIRE REPAK 2.57 km / 1.6 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.0/5  445 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  90 reviews

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Carol A. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Suite room was good size . But tired and dated

Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

David A. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Really enjoyed the stay. Staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely use the hotel again.

Great service by the whole team!!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John L. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had my wedding with you on Saturday 14th. All my guests complimented the venue.

Comfortable rooms

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Julie S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly receptionists and comfortable rooms

Average but good staff

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff good. Cons were air con hard to adjust downward (in spite of help from Reception) and poor dining experience as dinner on the first night lasted about 90 minutes as the chef discovered that he/ she had the 'wrong sort of potatoes' for the dish concerned resulting in a late change of one meal.

Slow service at breakfast

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mrsh Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for one night whilst attending a party locally. We went for breakfast at 9 o'clock to find all hot ingredients and bread needed replenishing. We were told bacon was on the way then had to wait another 15 minutes for it to appear. There were only 2 staff members working and we were told it had suddenly got busy. Surely they should have been told how many had booked in for breakfast and realised there were many to come during that last hour. We did enjoy the breakfast eventually but feel more staff were needed to cope with demand.

Well located and great hotel facilities

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mjw Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice room and good facilities and breakfast. Chose this hotel because of quality and price. Hotel cost and taxi to Anfield for a match was much cheaper and easier than staying in a much more expensive Liverpool city centre.

Every good about it

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sean B. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff nothing was a problem rooms clean breakfast excellent location for what we need brilliant

Good Hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for Haydock races and to meat up with family that live in St Helens. Nice hotel I didn't get chance to try the pool etc though. The breakfast was nice what was available but unfortunately the cooked food didn't get replenished quick enough. I went up to find no bacon or eggs asked for it to be replenished went back again after they had brought it out to find no mushrooms or tomatoes now. Not really what you expect .

Not as expected for price.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

M K. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Bedroom okay. Breakfast frankly awful. Eggs totally over cooked like eating rubber balls. Bacon fatty and undercooked. Sausages made of wood dust. Spa not very good. Freezing cold changing room. Steam room hot at top cold at bottom. Extractor whining constantly. Jacuzzi Luke warm at best. Won’t be returning.

Not great

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

No toilet paper in the room - had to ask at reception Towel was stained Staff were friendly & helpful

Great staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Allison Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Another great visit, staff are all lovely

Amazing stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Toni M. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We have 2 rooms for 2 nights the children loved it and we enjoyed our stay

Staff great.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Justin C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The women on reception was really lovely, I forget her name but she made a real impression on everyone we were with (15 of us).

Relaxing stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

E. H. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a very relaxing stay. Room and en-suite very comfortable. Everything great. Especially enjoyed the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room which I used every day for 3 days. Breakfast was excellent apart from the use of cheap nasty frozen sausages. That was really the only negative about my stay. Would happily stay here again.

Awful

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anthony D. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I wasn't impressed at all with there system for cancellation and i will not look at staying in any of your hotels again

Dear ANTHONEY D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I'm really sorry as I can see you have made 2 bookings but you only cancelled one of them. Both bookings were made online. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Excellent Customer Service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Catherine Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

It is the first time we have stayed at the Mercure St Helens and we hope it won't be our last. The entire staff are so welcoming, professional, helpful and extremely happy in their work. We experienced some minor issues with our room but all were swiftly rectified and done so with good grace and a smile from everyone. We would definitely stay there again.

A clean hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Sarah S TripAdvisor review

We stayed for two separate nights. The hotel was clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast was a disappointment on both stays. On the first visit we were not handed a fact sheet but this was provided on our second visit.

Dear Sarah Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Dear Donna We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby