Information message

Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.7/5 255 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Welcome back to all our guests!

  • Full English Breakfast

  • 24hr Food and Beverage inc Full Dinner Menu

  • Onsite carpark

  • Laundry Service

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Porter
  • Room for hearing impaired guests
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel

2 St Marys Street
MK42 0AR bedford
united kingdom

Tel: +4401234799988

Fax: (+44)1234/799902

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON LUTON At 51.5km / 32 miles

  • By boat

    FELIXSTOWE At 173.81km / 108 miles

  • By helicopter

    BEDFORD AERODROME At 16.09km / 10 miles

  • By car

    M1 JUNCTION 13 At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By train

    BEDFORD At 2.41km / 1.5 miles

GPS :52.133977, -0.465752

Your meetings and events

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 450 

attendees

Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Flipchart

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Airconditioned meeting room

  • High speed transmission line

  • Hotel connected to conv. centre

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Our restaurants and bars

Riverside Restaurant

Type of cuisine: International

Our Restaurant overlooks the river Ouse, we pride ourselves on offering a good choice of quality dishes using the finest local British ingredients where possible. We always try to source produce from sustainable sources.

Pilgrim Bar

Enjoy panaramic views from our Pilgrim bar in a quite setting.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.7/5

255 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

49 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

GOOD LOCATION AND FELT SAFE

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Djk Couples - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Felt safe in these Covid times. Some corridors may need a spruce up but room and general areas were acceptable. Riverfront and town location is excellent. Staff professional and friendly. Relaxed atmosphere.

FELT PERFECTLY SAFE

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

djk3816 10/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Nice hotel. Corridors will need a spruce up soon but room and general areas all acceptable. Staff all friendly and efficient. Riverfront position and closeness of park and town excellent. Importantly during these Covid times we felt safe

Good stayover

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Peter Business - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very helpful great stay

Dear Peter, We very much appreciate your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am thrilled that you found our staff very helpful, I will share your comments and scores with our team which I am sure will motivate and encourage them. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Simone

Good location, great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Clare R. Families - 06/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Although there was an issue at check-in as one of my reservations couldn’t be found, it was all resolved satisfactorily. Reception staff were very helpful as was the restaurant staff at breakfast. It did seem to be a little short staffed, as the reception was also covering the bar, and there was only one member of the team in the restaurant at breakfast which meant it was very difficult for her to manage everything so there were times with no cups or plates, juices and milk ran out etc, but what with COVID it is understandable that there may be days when you are running short. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Could have had two easy chairs in the room as when there are two of you, was left fighting over the one chair.

Dear Clare, Thank you for your comments and high rating following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us. I apologise that you had an issue during check in with one of the reservations, please be rest assured that we will take action to ensure a smoother process in the future. I am thrilled to hear that this was resolved to your satisfaction when checking in. It is excellent to hear that you found our reception and restaurant staff very helpful, it is a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding our staff members and I will share your comments with our team which I am sure will motivate and encourage them. Thank you for your comments regarding how we could improve our services, I am very sorry if you were affected by any delays. We are continuously striving to improve the quality of our services so appropriate measures are being taken to address this. I am very glad that you found your room clean and comfortable, I will take your comment regarding the chair on board. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Simone

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mrs J. S. Families - 06/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived a little early for check in as we should have checked in at 1.30pm however when i went to register my car details our rooms were already ready for us. The whole family had rooms as we were attending my sons wedding. We were all located on different floors which wasnt a problem but would have been nice if we had all been on the same floor however as all the rooms were booked at different time that was no fault of the hotels. All staff extremely helpful provided extra towels when my son needed them and the breakfast was lovely with all you could want to eat and as much as your appetite could wish. Only slight downside was my room (608)was quite hot as unable to open the due to some issue with the window frame

Dear J., Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. It was a pleasure to have yourself and your family staying with us to celebrate such a joyous event. I would like to take the opportunity to wish your son a huge congratulations. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am thrilled to learn that you found our members of staff extremely helpful, I will share your comments with our team which I am sure will help to motivate and encourage them. I am very glad that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, I will pass your kind comments onto the breakfast team also. I apologise that you found your room quite hot and I hope that this did not cause discomfort during your stay. Due to the high rise structure of our hotel our windows cannot open as a health and safety measure, instead we have air conditioning in each room for the comfort of our guests. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and I am delighted that you had a good stay. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ylande E. Couples - 04/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely comfortable, quiet room. Very comfortable bed, we had a good nights sleep. Marked down a couple of stars because of the bathroom which could have done with a bit of tlc, a couple of mouldy bits around the corner of the bath and peeling paintwork. It was clean though. Also marked down because we paid £22 for 2 glasses of wine which was awful!

Dear Ylande, I very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and had a good nights sleep. It is wonderful that you found your room comfortable and quiet. I am pleased that you found the bathroom clean however do apologise that it did not meet your expectations overall, I will take your comments on board and take the appropriate measures to address the issues mentioned in your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the wine served in our bar, I will share your comments with the food and beverage team as we strive to improve the quality of our services. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Simone

Bank holiday weekend stop over

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Karhulanantti Business - 02/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Hotel location is city centre next by the river. Building is ugly and worse for wear condition. Room carpets are full of stain. windows sweating inside and there is mould around windows. AC unit keep rattling during night even it's switched off. Front desk clerk promise send me invoice by email... Never got. Next ask invoice by email... never got any answer.

Dear Karhulanantti, Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read all your comments that affected your stay and not even receiving your invoice. Please can you email as at hb541@accor.com so I can personally address your concerns and make things right.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Brian Friends - 30/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were comfortable except for morning fire alarm. And another morning cold water! Then when we arrived home a week later we received a parking fine although we had entered our car number at reception. I rang today hotel straight away, who, I am glad to say, told me you will deal with this and the fine will be cancelled. We have also written to the company. I was shocked when this arrived. Hope you will get this fine cancelled soon please,

Dear Brian, We very much appreciate your comments following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am thrilled that you found our hotel well located, I hope this allowed you to make the most of what Bedford has to offer. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies that you had cold water during your stay, we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services so I will take the appropriate measures to address this problem and ensure this does not occur in the future. I am very sorry that you received a parking ticket despite the correct process being carried out at check in and that this came as a shock to you, please be rest assured I have personally cancelled this for you on your behalf following our phone call. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we have the opportunity to better serve you. Warm regards, Simone

Conveniently Located with good river views

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Colin I. Families - 30/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a pleasant stay, but not without its problems. Staff were very welcoming, helpul and informative. Room was conmfortable, but had some irritating extraneous noise that were particularly noticable at night. They became a disturbance.

Dear Colin, We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I'm glad that your overall stay was pleasant. I am delighted to receive such positive comments about our members of staff, I will share your feedback with our team which I am sure will serve as an act of encouragement to them. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the noises that occurred when using the air conditioning and outside of your room. I am very sorry that this caused a disturbance during your stay. Unfortunately when this was looked into there was nothing that could be done to rectify the noises coming from the ceiling however I will continue to take the appropriate measures to address this problem. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Simone

Comfortable room and bed; good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Claire B. Couples - 30/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Apart from the Sunday 8 a.m. fire alarm (maybe the kitchen should have its own alarm just for the toaster; this could escalate to a full fire alarm only if needed!) it was peaceful. The breakfast room view is lovely and we had the best hash browns ever! Thank you.

Dear Claire, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you found your room and bed comfortable. I am thrilled that you had a good experience during breakfast and enjoyed the views from the breakfast room. It is brilliant to hear that you had the best hash browns ever with us, I will share your comments with our team with a special thanks to them. It is wonderful that the majority of your stay with us was peaceful, I apologise for any disturbance the fire alarm may have caused. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Simone

It was Excellent, if you like this type of hotel!!!!

Customer review rating 0.5/5

A V. D. C. Couples - 29/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hi I made a mistake and reserved two rooms and forgot to cancel one, and was charged 50%, no discretion. This would have been fine if the room we was given wasn't filthy! No phone in the room, I was told I should have been told when I checked in. Ordered dinner for two only one order was taken so we couldn't eat together. A fridge in our room which looked random where it was placed next to the bed with nothing in it! They seemed extremely short of staff. The bathroom was extremely awkward badly designed and brown bits in the grout, tiles coming away. The whole hotel from the naked eye looked ok, but on closer inspection, it needs a lot of TLC and some paint and a good deep clean. It's probably the worst hotel I've stayed in and it was suppose to be a surprise for my partner who was well surprised! Would I stay again? I would stay again if the reception staff who booked us in, had a little bit more discretion and the hotel was clean, apart from that it was fine

Poor

Customer review rating 1.5/5

L. N. Solo - 28/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really didn't enjoy my stay with the mecure qt Bedford, had people running around and shouting in the early hours, as well as from the street. Breakfast was the only decent thing!

Dear L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am deeply sorry that you experienced someone in the next room to you smoking and that this affected your stay. We do not tolerate smoking within the hotel both in our hotel rooms and communal areas so I will take the appropriate measures to address this. I apologise that there was disturbance with noise which contributed to you being unsatisfied with your stay with us. We have staff at reception 24/7 as well as security within our hotel to rectify any issues that may arise. I am sorry that you experienced this and I will take your comments on board to ensure that this problem does not occur in the future. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us, I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Great breakfast and superb location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David J. M. Business - 26/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect position and good parking.

Dear David We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am delighted that you found the location of the hotel superb and were happy with the parking facilities. I am thrilled that you had a great breakfast, I will share your comments with our team as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services and I'm sure your comments will serve as an act of encouragement to our staff members. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Simone

Town centre

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 25/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very close to the town centre within walking distance. My room was clean and had such a good view of the river. All the staff was polite and friendly.

Dear Danny, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the view of the river and that you found your room clean, we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services so it is a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the cleanliness of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff members polite and friendly, I will share your comments with our team. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Simone

Everything was good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Holly M. Friends - 25/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is big and nicely decorated. Has been through through refurb I believe. The room we got was good size and nice pillows. Everything was perfect. Will definitely come back.

Dear Holly, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you found everything perfect and will return to the hotel! I'm thrilled to hear that you felt our hotel is nicely decorated and you were happy with the size of your room and the pillows provided, we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services so it is a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! Warm Regards, Simone

Good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Dan M. Friends - 25/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in good and fast. Staff very help and will help with all the requests. My room was good and has got big TV. Comfy beds and sofa.

Dear Dan, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am delighted that you found our staff members helpful and that we were able to help with any requests, we always strive to continuously improve the quality of our services so it is a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for your comments regarding your room, I am thrilled that you liked the room, the bed and the sofa and enjoyed the facilities within the room. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Simone

Good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Danny C. Friends - 24/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good walking distant to town. Room was clean and very big. Everything was good. Will definitely return

Dear Danny, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I'm delighted that you found that everything was good during your stay and your room was clean, we strive to exceed high standards throughout the hotel so it is wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I appreciate your comments on the location of the hotel, I hope this allowed you to make the most of Bedford town centre. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I am overjoyed that you will definitely return to the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul Couples - 24/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay was perfect. From check in to my departure. Room was good and staff was great. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am overjoyed that you had a perfect stay with us! It is wonderful to hear that your room was good and that you found the staff great. We always strive to improve the quality of our services so it is great to receive positive feedback, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Relax stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jennifer W. Couples - 24/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay was very relaxed. Soft pillow with comfortable bed. Air-conditioning was very good with amazing view of the river ouse. I had a seemless experience.

Dear Jennifer, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel, I am overjoyed that you had a relaxing stay with us. I am thrilled that you found your bed and pillows comfortable and the air conditioning was very good in your room. We continuously strive to improve the quality of our services so it is a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the view of the river and I hope this enhanced your stay with us even further. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Alright

Customer review rating 5.0/5

J. F. Solo - 24/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff friendly and polite. Hotel was good and gorgeous decoration. Our room was spacious and good view of the river.

Dear Jack, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. I am thrilled that you found the decoration of the hotel gorgeous and enjoyed a spacious room and a good view of the river during your stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback both about our hotel itself and our staff members so it was a joy to see that you found our staff friendly and polite. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel in the future. Warm Regards, Simone

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby