Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters 4.5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 406 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • The hotel is located next to Sunshine Coast University Hospitals.

  • Open 24 by 7, with complimentary parking for hotel guests.

  • The award winning restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week.

  • Our lakeside function rooms are perfect for events, meetings and weddings.

  • A short walk to Nightquarter - Sunshine Coast newest entertainment offer!

Hotel location

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters

9 Florey Boulevard
4575 birtinya

Fax: (+61)7/53349590

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 10h00

  • By plane

    BRISBANE At 93km / 57.79 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    SUNSHINE COAST At 22km / 13.67 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By helicopter

    SUNSHINE COAST At 22km / 13.67 miles

  • By car

    BRUCE HWY 188 At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By train

    LANDSBOROUGH At 20km / 12.43 miles

  • By train

    LANDSBOROUGH At 20km / 12.43 miles

GPS:-26.746001, 153.116362


  • AUTO GENERAL 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • HELIMOD 9.0 km / 5.59 mi
  • KILCOY 2.0 km / 1.24 mi
  • SC STADIUM 2.9 km / 1.8 mi
  • SPORTS HUB 2.5 km / 1.55 mi
  • STOCKLAND 1.0 km / 0.62 mi
  • YOUI 11.0 km / 6.84 mi

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms


Enjoy an exciting culinary experience by the award winning Wildflower Restaurant and Bar at the edge of the lake. Open 7 days a week for Breakfast and Dinner. Lunch open in February We-Fr. It features modern cuisine and spectacular lakeview.

Your meetings and events

Room descriptions and layouts

meeting rooms

From 1 to 80 


Configuration is not available for these requirements
  • Unsure of the capacity needed for your event?

  • This hotel is not suitable for your event?

    Look for another hotel
  • Convert different units of measurement and make organising your events easier.

  • Podium

  • Day light

  • WIFI access

  • Syndicate rooms

  • Airconditioned meeting room

When organizing your meeting, the hotel will be happy to discuss the availability of its facilities and services with you.

Our accommodation(s)

Each room features a King bed, 50inch TV, Foxtel with movie channels, free fast WiFi, spacious work desk, mini bar, individually controlled air conditioning and heating. Every suite has a private balcony with lake views and kitchen facilities.

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

406 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Last minute booking...good job it was cheap!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

paulered 17/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

Had to book accommodation at last minute and this was reasonable given in the mid school holidays ($170/night). However, disappointed to find black hairs in the bathrom and a food container in the fridge that was like a biology experiment with the mould! Also disappointed that the normal ACCOR benefit of a free bar drink was only to one person...yet we have always had this as a free drink for the booked couple (booked in as a couple and so is the ACCOR membership). Convenient location if you are going to the Sunshine Coast Hospital.

Thanks Paul for staying with us and for taking the time to review us. I'm really sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations, and not our either. Something in our routines hasn't worked and we will work with housekeeping to hopefully avoid this in the future. The free drink is for the Accor member, as per Accor membership rules. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you back another time, so we can prove we can do better. //John Orning

3 night stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Ray380 12/12/2021 TripAdvisor review

very happy staff always helpful, rooms clean and tidy, happy to stay again. useful hotel for all the sunshine coast area plenty to do and see, also close to sunshine coast hospital for overnight stays

Thank You Ray, We are really happy for your kind words and love that you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward seeing you back another time //John Orning

Hospital Handy

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

mollymooksarge 26/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

Well located within a 5 minute walk to SCUHospital. Well kept , clean & with a restaurant nicely situated with lake views. Friendly staff at reception & also in the bar/restaurant. Ample parking available ( free)

Dear Mollymooksarge, Thanks for your your kind review, we are rely happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward seeing you back another time. All the best //John Orning

Birthday Break

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Chronicle13 20/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

The first impression is why here and then is that the car park . After booking in it was where is the pool. The room was very quiet and large TV a hoot. The service by the staff at booking in desk may need a bit more of a effort.A question was asked about location of local attraction and the response was a glib response with hand pointing in the general direction of the moon. Not understanding travelers being in a alien location and not understanding your local knowledge would be a basic requirement for booking in desk duties.

Dear Chronicle, Thanks for your review and feedback. I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations and I will take this with the team and make sure we do better for the future. All the best //John

Excellence in practice

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Jennie B 13/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

What a refreshing culture of service and the genuine value of all members of the hotel team! This flows over into the way clients are cared for by staff. One of the most repeated phrases I heard was "we are all here to help", by management and floor staff.

Dear Jennie, Thank you for your kind words, staying with us and for taking the time to review us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward seeing you back some other time. All the best //John Orning

Comfortable stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Loretta663 Business - 14/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Very comfortable stay at the Mercure for business trip Location was great for what I needed Beds were very comfy, had a great sleep ! I ordered room service for breakfast and was nicely surprised , perfectly cooked , healthy , fresh and delivered quickly Staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean , great stay , thank you

Thank You Loretta, for your kind review and for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward seeing you back another time. All the best //John Orning

Clean and Tidy

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Thermie C 10/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The room was basic and very clean and tidy, all the staff were lovely. I feel its probably a tad over priced. The shower was a shocker and all the water went into the whole bathroom. We also paid for breakfast both days, 9.00am on the Sunday and most things were old and cold, the Monday it was closed at 9am so missed out all together.

Thank You Thermine, for taking the time to review us and happy that your enjoyed our hospitality. We are sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations with the breakfast and the room, we will do our best to do better in the future. We have had some issues with the shower floors and have trades people looking into how to rectify it. All the best //John

Comfortable stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Erin163521 Business - 17/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

I stay regularly and can't fault this hotel. Has everything you need, beds are extremely comfortable, very clean and staff fantastic. Is a great place if you are needing to visit the hospital, more of a business hotel than a holiday destination though. Wi-fi and smart TV excellent. Restaurant small but meals well priced and while menu is small the meals are excellent. Is one of my favourite hotels to stay at when on the coast for work.

Thank you Erin, We are over the moon happy for your review and thank your for your kind words. We look forward to your next stay! //John Orning

Great stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

andreashaw0312 28/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Booked this hotel for its close location to Sunshine Coast stadium. Early checkin, lovely clean room and really nice walk along the pretty lake to stadium and back. Close to hospital, a few eateries and some shopping. Staff were very pleasant and hospitable. Would definitely stay again if going to Sunshine Coast stadium.

Thank You Andreashaw, for your kind review and for staying with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward seeing you back next time! All the best //John Orning

Nice Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MM1959 14/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

First time stayers at this hotel, it wasn't the best location for what we wanted but the hotel appeared full which is a good sign. Located in a hospital precinct. Staff, rooms, dining was all VERY good especially the breakfast.

Thanks you MM1959, for taking the time to review us and for your great feedback. We hope to see you back some other time. All the best //John Orning

Very disappointing

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

oztravellers1 Couples - 01/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

As Gold members we have stayed in many Accor properties so have plenty to compare. We were booked in for 3 nights. Our first room had a large section of black mould on the ceiling that had clearly not just appeared that day so obviously housekeeping had not noted it and done anything about it. We asked for a change of room and the Receptionist arranged a new room but explained that they were fully booked and we might have to change rooms again. Fortunately the next morning the Manager had decided to leave us in the same room for the rest of our stay but when we returned to the hotel at 4.30pm our room had not been serviced. Once again a trip to Reception who said that housekeeping were finished for the day and she would bring some new towels. Really not good enough given we passed housekeeping in the hall on our way out at 10.30 that morning. Rooms are pretty basic more like an IBIS - with a very uncomfortable single bed/lounge that was hard to sit on. Just glad we weren't there for any longer!

Dear OzTravellers, Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We are very sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. The first room should have been rectified well before you checked in, a clear oversight from us. You should also have got a service and I can only apologise that we missed it. I will take the feedback with housekeeping and we will make sure we do better in the future. Again I'm very sorry that you didn't have the stay you were expected. All the best //John Orning

Great Service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Mark P Business - 29/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

I have stayed at the Mercure at Kawana Waters since it opened. From my very first stay, I was impressed with the great service that John and his team have provided. This is exemplified by the provision of a special flat pillow I require which is delivered to my room on each occasion. The staff always remember my name and greet me in a friendly manner. They make my business trip a home away from home.

Thank You Mark, Its always a pleasure to have you here and we were so happy to see you back last week. Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. See you next time! //John

Great value

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Sharon F 23/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

We had a disabled access room and found it well suited to our needs, the one problem encountered was clearance for a hoist, but this was solved in an innovative manner. The bed was super comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.and offered assistance to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The food and service in the restaurant were great too. The hotel is ideally located in the hospital precinct with plenty of parking, and overlooks the lake. I would definitely recommend it and will stay again when visiting the area.

Thank You Sharon, for you kind review and for staying with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are also happy that he innovation worked. We look forward seeing you back another time. //John Orning

Very satisfactory overnight stop

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

longfellow2017 10/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

A comfortable, clean room with friendly and helpful staff was all we really needed for our four night stay at Kawana Waters. But, as we so often find at Accor hotels, the restaurant fare was of a high standard and very welcome during our three visits. Many thanks to restaurant staff with whom we shared some friendly conversation. Free parking rounded off a pleasant visit but we were surprised by the number of cars staying each night. Under cover parks were snapped up early.

Dear Longfellow2017, Thank you for your very kind review and for staying with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward seeing you back another time. //John Orning

Finally a Trip Away

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

RobeMans 04/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters is a quieter location bust still handy to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer, sight seeing, restaurants and shopping. The staff were all very accommodating and the room we had was excellent. However I do prefer Nespresso to Caffitaly?? The hotel has a good restaurant on site which has excellent food.

Thank You RobeMans, for staying with us and your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward seeing you back another time. //John Orning

Great, relaxing stay away from hustle & bustle

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

travelloverover50 01/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

Stayed for couple of nights on way up Sunshine Coast.Rooms clean & comfortable.Very quiet in hotel. Staff were friendly & aimed to please.Food in restaurant was delicious & beautifully presented. Good walk ways around lake & shopping centre close enough to walk to.Not much to do in immediate area but great if you just want to chill out away from busy tourist areas.Woukd stay again.

Dear Travellerover50, Thank You for your kind words and that you stayed with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. Welcome back! //John Orning

Delightful break on the river

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Juliebrisvegas Business - 28/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Overnight while attending the hospital. Very convenient location on the river, pretty views across the horizon, many walking trails for a stroll. Quiet and clean, reasonable value for price paid for the room.

Dear Julie, We love that you enjoyed our hospitality and thank you for your kind words. Welcome back //John Orning

Overnight Stay for Work

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

tonytownson Business - 28/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

My go to Accommodation when travelling for work on the Sunshine Coast! Ideal location close to all my Customers with great rooms & friendly staff. Top Restaurant with daily specials that I can not resist.

Thank You Tony, We are really happy that you enjoy our hospitality and look forward to your next stay! All the best //John Orning

Great location, profession al friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

TKrieg 26/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Really enjoyed a few days at Kawanan Waters. The Mercure was in a great location. We had breakfast in the restaurant most mornings and it was great. We found all the staff very professional and friendly and the facilities excellent.

Thanks TKrieg, we really appreciate your kind works and that you took the time to review your experience. Welcome back! //John

days away no reason

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Graham C 22/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

We were on our way elsewhere and remembered our previous stay at this property, so we decided to stay again. It is relatively new, very clean and staff are always happy and helpful. Here we go again, need to get 200 characters...

Thanks Graham, both for staying with us and your kind review. We are really happy that you enjoyed it and look forward seeing you again. //John

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby